Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots

Zippered flats bootie features heavy-duty, comfortable, breathable Airprene uppers. Nonslip, nonmarking hard-rubber soles provide lateral stability and protection. The cuff is snug enough to keep out sand and debris. Delrin® side zippers. Great with fins in a float tube. In tan. Imported.Men's whole sizes: 5-13. Women should order two sizes down. For example, a woman with a size 7 shoe should order the men's size 5 wading boots. 47 ounces in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.279 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (61 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
21
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
55 of 61(90%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Review 1 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mud,
27 May 2015
By: buckaroobugs
"fished wyo. mud lakes near cody,,much better than boots,,a little hard to get on with waders,,but way worth it tite lines"
Review 2 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding customer service.,
19 February 2015
By: folklohr
from Richmond, VA
"To whom it may concern,
I am a long term Orvis customer and virtually every article of clothing I own has come from Orvis. Most of my fly fishing equipment is from Orvis as well. The particular purchase that I am reviewing now, was for my wife. I managed to talk my wife into joining me on a bonefish adventure in the Cayman Islands. Before she could go, we had to find some wading boots for her. I ordered the first pair from Orvis online. They arrived and did not fit. My wife took the wading boots to our Orvis store in Richmond, VA to return them. The store attendant gladly ordered a second pair, which did not fit either. She returned to the store to find out what to do and the store attendant located the 3rd pair gladly, once again. Several days later, she had a pair that fit perfectly. As always, the people at the Orvis store were incredibly accommodating and assisted us every step of the way. This level of service has always been the same in my 20+ years of doing business with the store. Now my wife and I are off on another adventure to catch bonefish with a multitude of Orvis clothing and gear.
Best regards,
David
"
Review 3 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great flats walkers,
05 February 2015
By: takeitezAR
from sarasota fl.
"these zippered booties were used for walking over sandy areas and small shell banks. they did a very good job protecting the feet and were excellent for keeping the sand out of the boot. just what i was looking for."
Review 4 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Flats Boots Ever,
17 January 2015
By: FlyKingUSA
from New York, NY
"I purchased these boots for my fly fishing trip to Bonefish Point in Turks and Caicos. They fit very comfortable and are very flexible. I already referred a friend to buy them to join me on my next Bonefishing trip."
Review 5 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Fishin' for Moms!,
09 January 2015
By: PollyPocket
from Seabrook Island, SC
"Love my new Orvis Christmas Island Wading Boots and Orvis fly rod I received for Christmas! Now that we are empty nesters, fishing has become my new endeavor! LOVE IT!!! Thanks Orivs!"
Review 6 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
25 December 2014
By: Johansen
from Central Texas
"I've owned them for years. I use them for summertime wet wading. They are snug but that's why they work. Gravel etc stays out. It's enough protection without being heavy and cumbersome. There is an art to taking them off. The "seal" needs broken so air slides in. After that they peel right off. They have lasted for over 10 yrs and I am finally needing to replace them."
Review 7 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sizing update,
16 November 2014
By: capefisherman
from Wellfleet, MA
"These are a durable wader boot, but the zipper sticks with sand. I use mine on Cape Cod. I bought my last pair 3y ago and although I wear a size 11 dress shoe, the size 9 boot fit best. They have redone the sizing, so now the 11 fits. Just in case you, like me, are re-ordering based on an older one.
The return service was excellent though, fine customer service.
"
Review 8 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They Work!,
21 October 2014
By: BillM24fish
"Having used this shoe in two generations over twenty years, they've never failed me. Thank you Orvis."
Review 9 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Flats" Out Perfect,
08 September 2014
By: mjfarrow
from Houston, TX
"If I could wade barefoot I would, but since that's not an option 95% of the time, I decided to give the Orvis flats boots a try. Obviously they're not a fashion statement, but they do what they were designed to do! Lightweight, easy on and off and the perfect amount of protection. Well built and durable, I foresee having these with me for a very long time."
Review 10 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great wading boot,
31 July 2014
By: lowcountrypete
"have used these boots in both sandy flats of bahamas and mucky mud filled salt marshes of south carolina, perfect for the job. nice and snug at the top so no shells get in the boot"
Review 11 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 July 2014
By: Hesvy
"Excellent wading boots, second pair I've owned and first pair lasted 10 years."
Review 12 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great to wear a fight to get on,
27 July 2014
By: marcusw
from Nova Scotia, Canada - now living in BVI
"Bought them slightly large and when on they are a comfortable slightly loose fit and great for the marine terrain round here. But they are a fight to get on. There must be a technique but a long shoehorn probably is the answer."
Review 13 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design change needed,
12 July 2014
By: jaeger
"Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots have a design problem. The covered toe box extends backward toward the ankle too far. During a step the top bends inward exactly at the edge of the toe box into the top of the foot and inch or two behind the toes . After a few steps the top of the foot gets very sore.
To test what I'm saying properly, please have someone with a size 13 foot give the size 13 boot a try.
I'm very disappointed. My previous wading boots lasted 12 years and were very comfortable.
There is no need to tell me you won't publish this. Its not intended for distribution except to whoever is in charge of the boot. If he/she says nothing is wrong, investigate the person that says nothing Is wrong.
This was a primo wading boot and can be again.
Chuck
"
Review 14 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
close but no cigar,
19 June 2014
By: WilliamB
"I recently took a pair of the Orvis Christmas Island wading boots on a one-week flats fishing trip to the Bahamas. I found them to be heavy for what they are and they caused a number of blisters due to where they bend (a rather odd mid-foot spot). The zipper worked well enough but at the end of the trip I left them at the lodge in case someone else wanted to give them a try, I will need to find some other option as these are not it."
Review 15 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good purchase,
04 June 2014
By: rick1776
from Boston, Ma.
"These boots fit the exact purpose as to the reason for my buying them. The quality is superb and these should last forever. I plan to wear them surfing the coastline in New England as well as being on the jetty's. Absolutely love them. I bought the size 13 and they fit like a size 13, maybe 13 1/4 but not enough to exchange them."
Review 16 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ripped boots,
02 February 2014
By: Jwilly
"The seem tore after I used them once. Terrible product!!"
Review 17 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good, women buyers beware though,
29 January 2014
By: Mattyo
from Salt Lake City, UT
"We haven't left for our trip to Ambergris Caye yet but my size 12s fit perfectly from what I can tell. I love the feel and the construction, I think they'll be a great addition. The web site says that women should order 2 sizes down. My wife is a perfect size 7. She can order shoes from anywhere and the size 7 fits in any type of shoe. So, we ordered the mens size 5 as instructed. They were exactly half a size too small. If you put them sole to sole with any of her size 7 shoes, they were half a size too short. We're awaiting the size 6."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speedy but nice product,
15 January 2014
By: crockett1974
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
"My old cold water dive booties were so thin in the soles that I could feel every pebble, so I shelled out for these before a Christmas trip to the flats. I followed the advice of other reviewers and ordered a size smaller than my shoe size, which turned out just right, so I can confirm that they run large. First, they are way cooler than black cold water neoprene dive booties, so that was nice. Second, the have a more extensive protective rand that come up quite high around the foot to protect the boot and ultimately the foot. Sole thickness seems like a good balance of weight/flexibility and protection. Zippers worked well and didn't jam with sand. I only fished three half-days, so hard to tell how durable they will be, but so far so good. The price is high relative to the quality and features of the product though, so I'm giving them four stars on that basis."
Review 19 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good boot,
13 January 2014
By: Tightloop
from Northeast Oh.
"Bought this boot for a recent trip to Andros for Bonefish. The boot itself worked great. Decent support, great feel but still sturdy for coral. My only drawback was I discovered that the boots yellowed to a dark yellow color and that I am allergic to the rubber used. Feet swelled up, so boots were donated to a local guide."
Review 20 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Island Wading Boots,
08 January 2014
By: ace641
from Shaw, Ms.
"Excellent Product as are all of the Orvis line!!!!"