Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots

Zippered flats bootie features heavy-duty, comfortable, breathable Airprene uppers. Nonslip, nonmarking hard-rubber soles provide lateral stability and protection. The cuff is snug enough to keep out sand and debris. Delrin® side zippers. Great with fins in a float tube. In tan. Imported.Men's whole sizes: 5-13. Women should order two sizes down. For example, a woman with a size 7 shoe should order the men's size 5 wading boots. 47 ounces in size 10.
Average Customer Rating:
4.222 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
19
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
48 of 54(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Review 1 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
They Work!,
21 October 2014
By: BillM24fish
"Having used this shoe in two generations over twenty years, they've never failed me. Thank you Orvis."
Review 2 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Flats" Out Perfect,
08 September 2014
By: mjfarrow
from Houston, TX
"If I could wade barefoot I would, but since that's not an option 95% of the time, I decided to give the Orvis flats boots a try. Obviously they're not a fashion statement, but they do what they were designed to do! Lightweight, easy on and off and the perfect amount of protection. Well built and durable, I foresee having these with me for a very long time."
Review 3 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great wading boot,
31 July 2014
By: lowcountrypete
"have used these boots in both sandy flats of bahamas and mucky mud filled salt marshes of south carolina, perfect for the job. nice and snug at the top so no shells get in the boot"
Review 4 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 July 2014
By: Hesvy
"Excellent wading boots, second pair I've owned and first pair lasted 10 years."
Review 5 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great to wear a fight to get on,
27 July 2014
By: marcusw
from Nova Scotia, Canada - now living in BVI
"Bought them slightly large and when on they are a comfortable slightly loose fit and great for the marine terrain round here. But they are a fight to get on. There must be a technique but a long shoehorn probably is the answer."
Review 6 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Design change needed,
12 July 2014
By: jaeger
"Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots have a design problem. The covered toe box extends backward toward the ankle too far. During a step the top bends inward exactly at the edge of the toe box into the top of the foot and inch or two behind the toes . After a few steps the top of the foot gets very sore.
To test what I'm saying properly, please have someone with a size 13 foot give the size 13 boot a try.
I'm very disappointed. My previous wading boots lasted 12 years and were very comfortable.
There is no need to tell me you won't publish this. Its not intended for distribution except to whoever is in charge of the boot. If he/she says nothing is wrong, investigate the person that says nothing Is wrong.
This was a primo wading boot and can be again.
Chuck
"
Review 7 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
close but no cigar,
19 June 2014
By: WilliamB
"I recently took a pair of the Orvis Christmas Island wading boots on a one-week flats fishing trip to the Bahamas. I found them to be heavy for what they are and they caused a number of blisters due to where they bend (a rather odd mid-foot spot). The zipper worked well enough but at the end of the trip I left them at the lodge in case someone else wanted to give them a try, I will need to find some other option as these are not it."
Review 8 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good purchase,
04 June 2014
By: rick1776
from Boston, Ma.
"These boots fit the exact purpose as to the reason for my buying them. The quality is superb and these should last forever. I plan to wear them surfing the coastline in New England as well as being on the jetty's. Absolutely love them. I bought the size 13 and they fit like a size 13, maybe 13 1/4 but not enough to exchange them."
Review 9 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ripped boots,
02 February 2014
By: Jwilly
"The seem tore after I used them once. Terrible product!!"
Review 10 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
So far so good, women buyers beware though,
29 January 2014
By: Mattyo
from Salt Lake City, UT
"We haven't left for our trip to Ambergris Caye yet but my size 12s fit perfectly from what I can tell. I love the feel and the construction, I think they'll be a great addition. The web site says that women should order 2 sizes down. My wife is a perfect size 7. She can order shoes from anywhere and the size 7 fits in any type of shoe. So, we ordered the mens size 5 as instructed. They were exactly half a size too small. If you put them sole to sole with any of her size 7 shoes, they were half a size too short. We're awaiting the size 6."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Speedy but nice product,
15 January 2014
By: crockett1974
from Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
"My old cold water dive booties were so thin in the soles that I could feel every pebble, so I shelled out for these before a Christmas trip to the flats. I followed the advice of other reviewers and ordered a size smaller than my shoe size, which turned out just right, so I can confirm that they run large. First, they are way cooler than black cold water neoprene dive booties, so that was nice. Second, the have a more extensive protective rand that come up quite high around the foot to protect the boot and ultimately the foot. Sole thickness seems like a good balance of weight/flexibility and protection. Zippers worked well and didn't jam with sand. I only fished three half-days, so hard to tell how durable they will be, but so far so good. The price is high relative to the quality and features of the product though, so I'm giving them four stars on that basis."
Review 12 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good boot,
13 January 2014
By: Tightloop
from Northeast Oh.
"Bought this boot for a recent trip to Andros for Bonefish. The boot itself worked great. Decent support, great feel but still sturdy for coral. My only drawback was I discovered that the boots yellowed to a dark yellow color and that I am allergic to the rubber used. Feet swelled up, so boots were donated to a local guide."
Review 13 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christmas Island Wading Boots,
08 January 2014
By: ace641
from Shaw, Ms.
"Excellent Product as are all of the Orvis line!!!!"
Review 14 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic value,
03 January 2014
By: Bigmass
from Westborough, MA
"I bought these boots 12 years ago for a trip to the Bahamas. I have worn them every year since in both salt and fresh water. After 12 years, they are finally showing a little wear and tear, but are still going strong. These boots are as advertised and are a fantastic value. I have slightly wider feet than average and have no issues with the width. I bought the same size as my running/athletic shoes and they fit very comfortably. On my trips to the Bahamas, I wear them for 8-10 hours at a stretch for 3-4 days in a row and have no issues with callouses or abrasions. From shuffling through sandy flats to walking over rough limestone and coral, to navigating slippery river and lake bottoms, these boots protect my feet and provide great traction. I'll buy another pair in a couple of years when these inevitably wear out. I can't imagine a better deal for my money."
Review 15 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sloppy Manufacturing,
11 December 2013
By: SanFranFlyFish
"Glue leaking at seams, zipper stops 1/2" from top. Problems seem cosmetic, but the boots haven't seen water yet, so....."
Review 16 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The thing I wanted to have ever!,
22 October 2013
By: Micca
from Belgrade,Serbia
"I'm fisherman amateur with a little time for my favourite hobby!I dreamed to have this kind of boots.A month ago I was in US for the first time and bought the excellent staff in Orvis.This is my first purchase online!I'm happy like my cats when eating their favourite snacks!!!"
Review 17 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Comfy,
11 October 2013
By: RonE
from Bigfork, MT
"Used sneakers last year, not good. Bought the wading boots on a friends recommendation and they worked beautifully. Very comfortable. Walked on oyster beds near Charleston, SC and never had a problem. A must have item if your wading or walking in dangerous territory. Thanks Orvis."
Review 18 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
misinformed,
01 October 2013
By: smallfish
from Charleston, SC
"many reviews had you downsizing from 9.5 to a nine. MISINFORMED. I thought my toes were going to come out the tips. I up sized to a 10 and my big toe still touches, but manageable. The toes are pointed or narrow at the toe.Still not sure how you would size these? If you are a wide foot don't buy, sorry!!!
They also were stained a little when they came, but one trip into the pluff mud and you could not tell.
"
Review 19 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
forgot to mention,
20 August 2013
By: aclphoto
from Durango CO
"In ref of the above review... the only reason I didn't give this a 5 star is due to the fact that I have not yet used these boots... I'm sure however after my Christmas Island trip I will return with a 5 star rating."
Review 20 for Premium Christmas Island Wading Boots
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sizing,
19 August 2013
By: aclphoto
from Durango CO
"I run a TRUE 9.5 size in most any shoe or boot... So I am always concerned when buying 'even only' sized shoes. I never know if I should get the 9 or a 10... in this case I choose the 9. they fit very well."