Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam

A loyal friend and faithful companion, your older dog deserves to be comfortable. As your dog ages, joint pain and incontinence often become problems. This orthopedic dog bed addresses both issues with a 4"-thick cushion of supportive memory foam covered by a highly absorbent fabric on the sleeping area and bolster. Orthopedic dog bed cover is removable and washable. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.613 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (80 reviews)
5 stars
64
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
1
74 of 80(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Review 1 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
25 January 2014
By: SkeeterDog
from New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I purchased the Medium bed in Sage. The color is beautiful! It is a light sage and looks great in our living room. Our boxer is 75 lbs and our Beago (Beagle/Golden Mix) is 45 lbs. They both fit on the bed if they are curled up. Either dog has ample room to stretch out if they are on the bed alone. However, neither one of them will get off the bed. I go back and forth on size regret. The medium is good because it is not overwhelming in my living room and fits both dogs but the large would have been nice so both dogs could stretch out at the same time - but it is just too big. I am very happy with the purchase and highly recommend this bed - my dogs concur. Pic attached."
Review 2 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Bed but buy the right size,
04 December 2013
By: BHLabs
from Leesburg, VA
"I just received my dog bed today and immediately put it back in the box to exchange for a larger size since I trusted the reviews and not the size suggested by Orvis. I have 2 75lb+ Labs and many of the reviews said the bed runs big and a medium is more than big enough for that size of a dog but not if the dog wants to stretch out. The bed has a curve to it and the medium will only work for a large dog if he's curled up all night and that rarely happens. Take the Orvis guidelines on the sizes and not the reviewers and you'll be in great shape. This is a very nice dog bed."
Review 3 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
13 November 2013
By: siwel
from Chelmsford, MA
"Our Border Collie/Chow and Plott hound take turns on this bed. It is one of three Orvis beds in our house. The cover on this bed is excellent, the same on another of our Orvis beds. this bed is only used for late night sleeping and after a year looks in perfect condition. It is expensive, but when I wake up in the morning and find them fast asleep it makes it worth every penny."
Review 4 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
13 November 2013
By: siwel
from Chelmsford, MA
"Of the three beds we have purchased this bed/cover combination is excellent; our girls equally love their Orvis Tempur-Pedic® Deep Dish Dog Bed. Purchased this bed at the same time we purchased the Fleecelock; this bed is used 10X as much and is in almost perfect condition almost a year later. The bed is perfect for our Plott Hound in the winter she always chooses a memory foam or tempurpedic bed. It is expensive, but when they use it more than any other bed for me that makes it worth every penny."
Review 5 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase ever,
21 October 2013
By: Monty123
from Worcestershire, UK
"Our 12yr old Chocolate Lab - Monty suffers from arthritis and could not get comfortable in his old bed and spent most of the night getting up and turning round and trying to get into a comfortable position. He would never go in his bed during the day and had to be coaxed into it at night. Since buying the Orvis Bolster bed he now goes in it during the day without any coaxing and snuggles down and looks really comfy. As it is slightly raised off the floor it is so much easier for him to get in and out of which makes his life much easier, hence the reason that he doesnt need any encouragement to go in it. Monty is a big Lab and i purchased the medium bed which is just the right size for him."
Review 6 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Update over 3 years later,
15 October 2013
By: Maineveterinarian
from Maine
"Still, the dogs' most loved beds. Have held up really well after close to 4 years of constant use. Have had other brands, nothing holds up like these. Also, this is the dogs' favorite, and who can argue with that? After all this time, the foam retains it's total loft. The dogs really enjoy the bolster part as well. It provides a draft block and is a useful and enjoyed pillow. One dog tends to like to dig before he settles down, and the cover doesn't even show a loose thread. The dog we purchased our first bed for, has since passed on, but it greatly improved her quality of life. No pressure points and the cover would wick away accidents, but the core remained dry. Also excellent post swim so the dog isn't laying in a puddle. Only criticism would be it is a bit of a bear to get back together after washing the cover, but the newer ones may be slightly different in design. Both of the beds we have were bought roughly 4 years ago."
Review 7 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth every dollar,
30 August 2013
By: Bigblacklab
from Ann Arbor, Mi
"I have had 2 of these beds for over 2 years for my 100 lb lab. There is no other quality dog bed on the market worth your money. This bed has held up perfectly, the cover is easy to clean and put back on. The foam mattress literally has not compressed at all and the bolsters stay in place AND fluffy. Buy this bed, U will not regret. I've tried them all ($50-$300), only to replace them all within a year, and spent WAY more combined than the cost of this one bed. This has the quality u are paying for and deserve! Orvis thank you! However please remember the modern families and come up w some prettier colors/ fabric :). Oh. I also love the quilted top as opposed to the shearling. Furry dogs get hot!"
Review 8 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terriffic bed,
23 August 2013
By: Raichu
from Dudley,Ga.
"My 14 yr.old girl Scooby became incontinent due to inoperable cancer and needed a bed that was comfortable and easy to change and launder. This bed is all she and I could ask for. She was comfortable and the cover is so absorbent that even when she wet the bed the interior stayed dry. She was asleep in it the morning she died and I am so glad I spent the money on this bed for her. Buy an extra cover if you can, that makes it even easier when you need to change and wash it. The cover is easy to take off and put back on, and is machine wash and dry. My other fur kids love to sleep on it now and It will see a lot more use, but even if I had bought it only for Scooby's last days, it would have been worth it. The only thing that would make it better would be for there to be different shaped beds with the absorbent cover. Otherwise this is perfect."
Review 9 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
05 July 2013
By: GRinMpls
from Minneapolis, MN
"We bought this bed two years ago for our older, arthritic dog and he just loves it. It supports his joints, keeps him comfortable, and has held up wonderfully. The cover is easy to remove and clean. While the bed is expensive, it is one of the best investments we've made."
Review 10 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PURE COMFORT !,
14 January 2013
By: Chelsea325
from Houston, Texas
"My 13 yr old cat has arthritis in her hips. I ordered the small dog bed and put a fleece blanket on top. She is in heaven ! She spends most of the day in her bed. My new kitten went to the vet for her vaccinations. When she came home, she crawled into the bed with my older cat and together they slept in total comfort. I only wish the bed came in sizes for cats. It holds several cats with room to spare but takes up a lot of my bed.
I thought twice about spending this amount of money but it is well worth every penny . My pets are my family and knowing I can ease their pain and improve their quality of life makes it a good investment. Thanks !
"
Review 11 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
heavy load,
06 January 2013
By: samuelle
from west coast
"This bed is handsome & my elderly Lab likes it but it weighs so much that I can barely lift it. It's really a difficult chore to wash it & get it back together again which I seem to have to do every day. It doesn't seem as watertight as advertised. If I ( & my Lab ) were younger maybe I could lift it with ease but I really wish I'd bought a lighter one."
Review 12 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit for a queen!,
04 October 2012
By: Barbinmich
from Dearborn, MI
"Wow. My son bought this bed for my dog when i complained she was taking up all the room on MY bed. We needed something large and comfortable (belle is 65 lbs), and something she couldn't destroy. Well this bed is definitely large, and no way can she drag it around. She has not even tried to chew on it. Though she would still rather sleep with me, she seems very very happy in her new bed, especially since she now gets a good nights rest without someone constantly kicking her. The bed is very heavy and very big. we bought the large but i think the medium would have been fine. She takes up only about a third of the bed when she sleeps. but its nice, because sometimes she just likes to spread out rather than curl up. This bed was a lot of money, but for me, its priceless. i have my own bed back. btw, the large is big enough for two good sized dog or a dog and a small child! if youre looking for a comfy bed thats well made, and you have the room for it, this is the one for you."
Review 13 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OUTSTANDING!!,
20 August 2012
By: pawstrouble
from Omaha NE
"We have had this bed for 2 years and It is outstanding. It is definitely super absorbent. Our brittany has seizures with uncontrollable urination. This really works. I have washed the bed cover (which is very easy to remove and put back on) many times. It is still like new. As for the memory foam, the dogs love it. We actually have 2 of these beds and would not trade them for any other bed. We bought several cheaper ones before we invested in these. They lasted less than a year and if I took the cover off, I could never get it back on, They would always shrink. If you are on the fence about this purchase, all I can tell you is that it is definitely worth the price and you won't regret it. It is definitely one of the best purchases we have ever made."
Review 14 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
young dog,
23 July 2012
By: Ghillie
"We have a Golden Retriever who loves water and his bed. This bed is ideal for a water loving young dog. I love the fact that you can buy extra covers which are easy to remove and fit . They also dry quickly.
We are thinking of having another Golden and would certainly buy another bed.
"
Review 15 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic bed!,
27 April 2012
By: Olnan
"This is an bed is awesome, and the dogs love it! It is easy to wash, holds up very well, and we have had no issues with accidents seeping through. We bought this to replace a similar older Orvis bed which was still in fantastic shape after four years, however it was not the "super absorbent" style, and it became the favorite peeing spot of our new puppy once the liquid soaked into the memory foam. We have not had a problem with accidents on this bed, and it looks like it will hold up just as well to daily use. I would recommend buyers look carefully at the dimensions, as the medium size bed is plenty large enough to fit two Golden Retrievers."
Review 16 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best thing I ever bought,
26 April 2012
By: Patsy3
from switzerland
"I know this is an expensive item but can honestly say I feel it is the best value for money of anything I have ever bought. It has made such a difference to the quality of life for my old dog - what is money for if he can't spend it on the animals we love."
Review 17 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mr. Max,
01 April 2012
By: Cindy
from Trenton, Mi
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Terrific bed for my aging senior, Max. He is constantly snoozing away on it and it is big enough (medium size) to share with other foster Collies that we host."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bed we've ever owned,
04 February 2012
By: 2dogmomma
from Austin, TX
"We adopted a 10 yr old golden last summer. When we brought her home, it hurt us to hear her flop her body down on the floor. My best friend and owner of several goldens told me that this was the best bed she'd ever owned. My order arrived quickly and our golden loves it! It's so comfortable, I would sleep in it! I will say they run large - I ordered the medium and it's huge for our 70 lb girl."
Review 19 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm Bed for Michigan Winters,
22 January 2012
By: LuvMyGryhnd
from Michigan
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I have a retired Greyhound and purchased the medium (he is a small male - 67 lbs). He usually sleeps on the floor or on a 3 inch crate bed - stretched out in a full standing mode – unlike most dogs. I took a chance on this bed with it's rounded shape because the rectangle beds were just too big or too small. He did not like the feel of the memory foam days 1-3 and just when I was ready to return it....he started using it. Took him a week to figure out how best to sleep on it, and now he does every night....and every afternoon! What I like best about this bed (and why I chose it) is the warmth of the memory foam. My retired grey is from Florida and needs warmth on chilly Michigan nights. When I wake up, he is toasty in his bed and won’t come downstairs unless I call him!
If they had a size between the M and L in the rectangle bed - I would buy that instead of this bed for he doesn't use the bolster. That is why I give it 4 stars."
Review 20 for Super-Absorbent Bolster Dog Bed with Memory Foam
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I want to sleep on it!,
14 January 2012
By: LMDs
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"We've had the bed about a week and so far it is loved by all. I'm half tempted to crawl on it and cuddle with the dogs it seems so comfortable. Both our dogs are about 60lbs and we ordered a medium. It is plenty big enough and they could both fit on it if they wanted to cuddle."