Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Flip Focal

This clip on fly tying magnifier attaches to the brim of your hat with clip and pin, flips easily out of the way, and gives you 2.25X magnification to thread even the finest tippets with ease. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.662 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (74 reviews)
5 stars
58
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
69 of 74(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Flip Focal
Review 1 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd pair,
11 October 2012
By: Wass1
"Bought a set of these about 17 years ago. Finally got too scratched to use. Liked them so much I bought a new set. Pleased with the improvments such as the pin to hold it in place. Makes my ancient eyes able to tie 18's with ease."
Review 2 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real Time Saver,
18 September 2014
By: Manydad01
from Central Sierras-California
"I recently had Lasik surgery to correct my nearsightedness. The surgery was great...I'm not 20/15. However, I can't see up close anymore. Tying a tippet onto anything smaller than a size 12 was impossible. So I tried these. They are great! I can see eye of the hook so easily, even with my sunglasses on. The other bonus is that they are not very wide. That helps them fit under the curved bill of a hat. These are must have if you can't see up close."
Review 3 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vision Aid EVER for on-river use,
16 September 2014
By: WriteFlier
"Forget switching glasses mid-stream. Don't even think about those ugly and awkward lens on your sunglasses. The absolute best solution for far-sighted anglers who need aid in tying their fly to their tippet are these Flip Focal lens. They move up out of hte way when not in use, but drop down in just the right position when you need them. Other brands tend to flip in too close your eyes and generally lack the keeper pin that secures the Flip Focal to your cap's brim. These are winners!"
Review 4 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT VISION,
03 September 2014
By: MFISHing
from MICHIGAN
"THE FLIP FOCALS ARE LIGHT AND WHAT A DIFFERENCE IN BEING ABLE TO TIE KNOTS"
Review 5 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
much needed,
29 August 2014
By: brut
from Dolores Colorado.
"made all the difference in my fly fishing experience. Old man can now change flies and also tie on new leader and tipett with ease."
Review 6 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
26 August 2014
By: dcjs
from Townsend MA
"I bought this for Archery, so I could see the marks on my tape without taking my glasses on and off, what a great product. SOOO useful"
Review 7 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can see clearly now,
15 August 2014
By: ChuchK
from Friedens, Pa.
"Clip these to my hat and I'm set. No more trouble tying those smaller 18-26 flies onto the tippet. I bought these before and they tend too loosen after awhile with the flip part, but what doesn't it? I still give it a 5."
Review 8 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Old eyes, new sight,
15 August 2014
By: WriteFlier
"I've used scores of options for improved close-in vision while fishing, including other flip-down 'readers' but nothing comes close to the performance of this one. It's position on a cap bill is perfect for clearly seeing your fly as you tie it on and is well out of the way when you aren't using it. Other brand's offerings tend to sit too far out when in use and don't securely lock to your cap's bill. This is the best of the best!"
Review 9 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
barrels of blood,
05 August 2014
By: bambooBDP
from Vermont
"When tying your blood knot (or barrel if you prefer) to repair that 5-0 tippet that is in the tree behind you, and while watching the browns rise to the end of the hatch, it pays to have an assistant to get that next fly out in time. Here he is. No more fumbling fingers and almost scooping up of glasses from a current just above the sipping zone."
Review 10 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can see size 22 flies,
31 July 2014
By: Brentpr
from On the water in the USA
"As I get older it becomes more difficult to see small flies. With these Flip Folcal's it makes threading much easier. When they are not in use they flip up out of your line of sight. I highly recommend these to anyone having a hard time seeing."
Review 11 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
26 July 2014
By: Tunes007
"I am a little late getting started fly fishing so these magnifiers really helped tremendously! One word of caution; I sugest you use the pin attachment to lock it on your hat. I was thigh deep in a river enjoying a tug with a nice brown when my rod brushed the magnifiers clipped on my hat. Ordering a new pair now!"
Review 12 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
dont like,
11 July 2014
By: reeltah
from meredith nh
"Didnt like whole concept of this from the start. Thought it would be easy but is awkward at least for me.
I plan on returning.
"
Review 13 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can see!!!,
11 June 2014
By: Jim0128
"My arms had shrunk sufficiently by my late 40''s to disallow unaided reading though I have never required a prescription.I'm new to fly fishing and it didn't take long to realize that tying on anything smaller than a #12 wasn't happening with my drug store magnifiers. This product was recommended by a friend/fly fishing mentor who was looking for a little piece of mind on our trips to the river. It solved the problem first time out. Takes some time getting used to the sight angles and hand to eye distances but makes it as easy as tying on a #2 unaided. Tucks away neatly under your hat brim."
Review 14 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flip Focal,
06 June 2014
By: DTflyfisherCalif49
from Los Angeles, Calif.
"A reorder of a pair that I bought years ago. This model is improved with the hold-in-place pin.
At my age I need these excellent magnifiers to help with the very small flies. I can't do without them.
"
Review 15 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Magnifiers,
04 June 2014
By: mvolpe31
from Allentown, PA
"Great magnifiers. I could never tie a fly on my tippet without them. They also flip up out the way very easy."
Review 16 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
big help,
31 May 2014
By: nevek
from Gloucester, MA
"My eyes are not what they used to be and threading flies 18 and under has become more difficult. the flip focal has been a huge help. easy to carry and use."
Review 17 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
10 May 2014
By: catchandrelease4ever
from Jonesville, MI
"Great item works the way I wanted. Flips out of the way and adds no noticeable weight to bill of hat. Wished size was slightly larger."
Review 18 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Must For Fly-Fishing,
29 April 2014
By: Engineers
from Austin, TX
"This small flip-down optical unit is ideal for tying flies to your leader. Especially if you are using a #20 or smaller fly. Or, and this is important, during some days when it's not exactly bright outside.
Very simple to attach to your hat with a clip-on feature that also allows for a more secure pin to ensure one won't lose it.
Never leave for a fly-fishing trip without this little gem. Actually I have two. Gotta have backup on everything when out in the wild."
Review 19 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seeing is believing,
08 April 2014
By: saintm89
from syracuse, ny
"So my close up eyesight isn't what it used to be. Seeing the eye of my fly well enough to tie the line was a squinting PITA nightmare. Decided to try these. Best purchase ever that added to my fishing enjoyment. In short they work great. These magnifiers are at the right focal length to easily see the fly you are tying and then flip out of the way handily. The only thing that puzzled me at first was my face in spots got warm. I realized the the sun was being magnified and the rays striking small portions of my face as I moved. Not unpleasant, just weird feeling."
Review 20 for Flip Focal
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Now I can see midge hook eyes,
24 March 2014
By: jt7602
"After 50, the 'ol eyes not liking the little/close stuff. These magnifiers work very well, and fold out of the way when not in use. Good product and reasonable price."