Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket

Built to last, this substantial leather jacket is expertly crafted from genuine American bison leather—one of the most durable of all leathers. Through years of faithful service, this jacket will attain a handsome patina, ensuring each heirloom-caliber jacket is singular in appearance. Versatile two-way front zip closure with snap-closed wind flap. Two cotton-lined exterior pockets; four interior pockets, one with secure zip closure. Adjustable cuffs. Fully lined in classic tartan. In dark brown. Genuine American bison leather. Professionally clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 40-48. About 27½" long in size 44.
Average Customer Rating:
4.491 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (57 reviews)
5 stars
34
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
0
48 of 57(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Leather Jacket,
13 December 2014
By: dpmmn
"I replaced my 30 year old lambskin jacket with the Coronado American Bison jacket I'am sure that I will get the same amount of use from this one. the fit is great, and my son will get another great jacket in 30 years."
Review 2 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding jacket,
12 December 2014
By: jduane
from Peoria, IL
"LOVE this jacket. Everything you would expect from Orvis - very good quality. After reading the reviews I had some reservations given the cost. This jacket fits well and is true to size. I am 6' 1" and 210 pounds - the 42 was a little snug across the shoulders/back so I returned it for a 44 that fits perfectly. The return process worked flawlessly and service people were excellent.
The reports about zipper, collar an styling issues stood out in other reviews. These issues were not a problem for me - the zipper is just fine, the collar is no problem, it is not 'boxy'. This 'bad boy' will be perfect for riding the old motorcycle when I haul it out in the spring. Ive also worn it to church and to business functions - in short…everywhere you go. I love the styling and weight of the jacket. I am wearing this 'beauty' everywhere I go with a smile on my face - it is now my new favorite."
Review 3 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Qaulity Leather Coat,
23 November 2014
By: MCK40
from Northern Virginia
"I read all of the reviews before making this purchase and I had very high hopes for this coat in spite of some of its short comings. Like others have noted, it is very high quality leather and I can see me wearing it for many decades to come. I have no doubts that it will look better and better over the years as it develops a nice patina. I will say though that I was surprised at just how heavy the coat is. I don't say that as a good or bad quality, I was just not expecting it as my old leather coat was much lighter. For the first week I had the coat I was still not completely sold on it. the coat is very "boxy" as others have pointed out and I thought it fit a bit "snug", especially compared to my old coat. However, as I have worn it more and more and started to slowly break it in, it is getting better. As far as all of the comments regarding the zipper go, I don't consider it to be inferior or cheap, but it is a little cumbersome and awkward trying to get zipped up. I have just used the buttons and they have worked just fine. I also love the tartan linking the four inside pockets. The bottom line for me is that the coat is very warm and looks great and I have not doubts that once I have it completely broken in, I will consider the best coat I have every owned!"
Review 4 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality Leather Jacket,
21 November 2014
By: davidLeikam
from Palo Alto, CA
"I've been wanting a good leather jacket for years but not your run of the mill motorcycle or other jacket style. I have been wearing Orvis for awhile so when I saw this jacket, I was excited though a bit expensive for my planned budget so after a few months I decided to make the investment. Great, unique grain, and heavy duty though the zipper could of been a little more.
This is the best leather jacket I've worn with a great fit and three medium sized breast pockets."
Review 5 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
5 stars!,
18 November 2014
By: Shall43
from Leesburg, GA
"what a handsome jacket with excellent quality and style! This is going to be a wonderful Christmas gift. Thank you for your excellent customer service and quick shipping!"
Review 6 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Choice Jacket that will Last 4-Ever,
17 November 2014
By: RobTheKayaker
from Chicago, Illinois
"This Bison jacket is one of the finest leather jackets I have ever seen. The bison is soft yet robust and you know as soon as you try it on that it is an heirloom product that will last for fifty to a hundred years.
I found that the 48 size was just a tad too small and all but cried when I had to send it back. There's something about bison that is iconic and a "had to have" item; sadly there is no size 50. For all you who can fit in it, consider yourself lucky!"
Review 7 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Charley01,
25 October 2014
By: Charley01
from upstate NY
"I was not sure about this jacket from the beginning. Having difficulty of finding a suitable alternative I decided to order it; even paid for the quick delivery. First, about good things: very nice brown color of good quality leather. But, as some other reviews pointed it out, the collar was not most comfortable and the zipper indeed, flimsy. And on addition, the snap button fell off after only few days of wear ("conveniently" they provided "extra buttons" , so I hope, it will be fixed for now. At this point I don't have too much confidence in this jacket"
Review 8 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very large!!!,
16 October 2014
By: DRBauer
"I found this to be very large around the middle. From the chest up & the arms I loved it, but then it just went straight down or maybe even out from the chest down. I literally swam in it. I ordered the 40 hoping, (I usually wear a 40 or 42 depending on the cut) and I easily wear 32" waist. I think that this was cut for someone with a LOT more midsection than me. Sent it back within hours of receipt."
Review 9 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mixed Bag,
27 August 2014
By: Anton88
from Upstate New York
"OK: The leather is gorgeous for those of us who love bison. The cut,
well there is no cut; its a straight shot from the shoulders to your waist which means the waist is too wide, by a lot.I am a 44 but ordered a 42 to compensate for the waist issue. The jacket fits a little snug but if the bottom was an inch wider (I am a 36) it would have been a deal breaker.
The colllar is really a non-issue; you bend the points away from your chin and over time they will get the message. A bit overpriced given its short comings but will do for now.
"
Review 10 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality leather jacket,
19 August 2014
By: HansonC
from England
"I wanted a top quality leather jacket and, after carrying out some research, established that the Coronado jacket is best suited to me.
This is a heavy, hard wearing garment suited to most European/US weather. I bought a 42" chest and, although I have a slim waist, this is a really good fit."
Review 11 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite Coat,
08 August 2014
By: gardengun
from Western Colorado
"So happy with my Coronado Jacket it's now my new favorite coat. Very well made of one of the best leathers on the planet. Was not told when ordering that the fit is somewhat "snug" , however does not detract from overall high quality."
Review 12 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is it!!,
04 August 2014
By: Baruch
from Adelaide SA
"If Davy Crockett was alive, this is the jacket he would be wearing! From the supple, genuine bison leather, made to last to the tartan lining inside with 4 functional pockets; this is it! From the high quality zip with additional button closure this it! From the lovely high collar to keep the wind out, to the 2 suede outer pockets this is it! This jacket does not restrict movement, and has the most fantastic brown color to it, none can compare. The best jacket I have ever bought, This is it!!!"
Review 13 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased,
14 April 2014
By: stanZZ
from Amherst, Ohio
"Very supple! I like how it still looks masculine with the excellent quality. Also like another very well made jacket I've owned over twenty five years. (this one also has suede pockets). My old bomber jacket is still in very good condition. I'm sure this jacket will out last me. I'm very pleased....."
Review 14 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
17 March 2014
By: CD77
from Gainesville, GA
"I like the style very much and it fits perfect. The jacket is very heavy in weight but then it is thick Bison leather and will last forever."
Review 15 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
10 February 2014
By: DenG
"A must have for those who love nature and wildlife. Leather of the finest quality representing an American icon, the American bison."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leather jacket evah!,
15 January 2014
By: Sandlapper
"I bought this as a gift for my husband and he absolutely adores this coat. The leather is luxurious. The lining is well done and professional. If there is a down side it would be in weight only. It is a heavy coat."
Review 17 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality-Not Form Fitting,
03 January 2014
By: InspectorGadget
from Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
"This jacket is an extremely nice one. You can't ask for a better quality. I was so looking forward to enjoying this Christmas gift, however the 42 was too loose at the waist line so I ordered the 40 and found the waist line to be perfect but the chest was too tight and the sleeves too short. I am 6'1" with 35" sleeves and a 34" waist. The 42 fit fine everywhere except the waist...it was way too big and looked like a skirt. A taper would have made this a perfect fit for me. I returned both of them and will continue to look for another leather jacket. Others made comments about the zipper and I found it slightly lacking in heft/quality for a jacket costing this much."
Review 18 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fine jacket,
27 December 2013
By: Beatnikgoesclassic
from Charlottesville, VA
"Another reviewer mentioned the jacket was a bit boxy, and this is not my opinion. I wear a 42 short dress jacket and my terrific sales lady encouraged me to order a 40. It fits really quite well and there's room for a light sweater underneath. Maybe I'm already boxy, and immune. The jacket is heavier than I imagined, so wearing it into late Spring is unlikely in the mid-Atlantic. I don't get the reverse zipper in terms of it's intent. And my jacket arrived without the zipper broken in and it wouldn't separate--easy fix, it just needed a little shove. To get the snaps to keep snapped you do need to employ the zip.
This is a very well made jacket and I recommend it."
Review 19 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quality jacket,
11 December 2013
By: James5000
from Lincoln, Ca
"Almost returned because zipper seemed insubstantial for quality and heft of jacket, also for the collar which didn't seem to know whether to stand up or lie down. All this before I read the reviews online. I'm glad I kept the jacket. The collar eventually settles down and the zipper is adequate (but still should be bigger and easier to grasp). Unique leather and excellent craftsmanship. Not too bulky, nice weight for N. California winter."
Review 20 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Jacket,
13 November 2013
By: charlee33
from NYC
"I read many reviews before visiting my local Orvis store, and the average Orvis shopper seems to be a bit picky.
Fortunately, my store had a few sizes in stock.
- I am a true 44 suit and the 44 jacket fit me, but was a bit form fitting and restricting in arm movement, so I opted for the size 46.
I was surprised, as I thought it would be cut a bit more generous as their other products.
Wonderful leather that gets more supple over time.
A few notes:
- The collar is a bit high, but has softened over time and is a non issue as it folds down or stands up depending on how you want to wear it.
-The zipper is fine, I don't know what type of zipper people want, more like a Barbour jacket zipper? - Not needed.
-The jacket could be slightly taped to the waist as it appears a bit boxy and hangs just slightly loose.
-One other note: the color variation between the 44 and 46 was quite noticeable. The 46 was a dark rich chestnut brown, as the internet picture seems to me to be. The 44 was much lighter and more reddish, not as attractive and quite different."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.