Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket

Built to last, this substantial leather jacket is expertly crafted from genuine American bison leather—one of the most durable of all leathers. Through years of faithful service, this jacket will attain a handsome patina, ensuring each heirloom-caliber jacket is singular in appearance. Versatile two-way front zip closure with snap-closed wind flap. Two cotton-lined exterior pockets; four interior pockets, one with secure zip closure. Adjustable cuffs. Fully lined in classic tartan. In dark brown. Genuine American bison leather. Professionally clean. Imported.Regular even sizes: 40-48. About 27½" long in size 44.
Average Customer Rating:
4.5 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (50 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
15
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
0
42 of 50(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Review 1 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very large!!!,
16 October 2014
By: DRBauer
"I found this to be very large around the middle. From the chest up & the arms I loved it, but then it just went straight down or maybe even out from the chest down. I literally swam in it. I ordered the 40 hoping, (I usually wear a 40 or 42 depending on the cut) and I easily wear 32" waist. I think that this was cut for someone with a LOT more midsection than me. Sent it back within hours of receipt."
Review 2 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mixed Bag,
27 August 2014
By: Anton88
from Upstate New York
"OK: The leather is gorgeous for those of us who love bison. The cut,
well there is no cut; its a straight shot from the shoulders to your waist which means the waist is too wide, by a lot.I am a 44 but ordered a 42 to compensate for the waist issue. The jacket fits a little snug but if the bottom was an inch wider (I am a 36) it would have been a deal breaker.
The colllar is really a non-issue; you bend the points away from your chin and over time they will get the message. A bit overpriced given its short comings but will do for now.
"
Review 3 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top quality leather jacket,
19 August 2014
By: HansonC
from England
"I wanted a top quality leather jacket and, after carrying out some research, established that the Coronado jacket is best suited to me.
This is a heavy, hard wearing garment suited to most European/US weather. I bought a 42" chest and, although I have a slim waist, this is a really good fit."
Review 4 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite Coat,
08 August 2014
By: gardengun
from Western Colorado
"So happy with my Coronado Jacket it's now my new favorite coat. Very well made of one of the best leathers on the planet. Was not told when ordering that the fit is somewhat "snug" , however does not detract from overall high quality."
Review 5 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is it!!,
04 August 2014
By: Baruch
from Adelaide SA
"If Davy Crockett was alive, this is the jacket he would be wearing! From the supple, genuine bison leather, made to last to the tartan lining inside with 4 functional pockets; this is it! From the high quality zip with additional button closure this it! From the lovely high collar to keep the wind out, to the 2 suede outer pockets this is it! This jacket does not restrict movement, and has the most fantastic brown color to it, none can compare. The best jacket I have ever bought, This is it!!!"
Review 6 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleased,
14 April 2014
By: stanZZ
from Amherst, Ohio
"Very supple! I like how it still looks masculine with the excellent quality. Also like another very well made jacket I've owned over twenty five years. (this one also has suede pockets). My old bomber jacket is still in very good condition. I'm sure this jacket will out last me. I'm very pleased....."
Review 7 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it,
17 March 2014
By: CD77
from Gainesville, GA
"I like the style very much and it fits perfect. The jacket is very heavy in weight but then it is thick Bison leather and will last forever."
Review 8 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jacket,
10 February 2014
By: DenG
"A must have for those who love nature and wildlife. Leather of the finest quality representing an American icon, the American bison."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best leather jacket evah!,
15 January 2014
By: Sandlapper
"I bought this as a gift for my husband and he absolutely adores this coat. The leather is luxurious. The lining is well done and professional. If there is a down side it would be in weight only. It is a heavy coat."
Review 10 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality-Not Form Fitting,
03 January 2014
By: InspectorGadget
from Ft. Lauderdale, Fl
"This jacket is an extremely nice one. You can't ask for a better quality. I was so looking forward to enjoying this Christmas gift, however the 42 was too loose at the waist line so I ordered the 40 and found the waist line to be perfect but the chest was too tight and the sleeves too short. I am 6'1" with 35" sleeves and a 34" waist. The 42 fit fine everywhere except the waist...it was way too big and looked like a skirt. A taper would have made this a perfect fit for me. I returned both of them and will continue to look for another leather jacket. Others made comments about the zipper and I found it slightly lacking in heft/quality for a jacket costing this much."
Review 11 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fine jacket,
27 December 2013
By: Beatnikgoesclassic
from Charlottesville, VA
"Another reviewer mentioned the jacket was a bit boxy, and this is not my opinion. I wear a 42 short dress jacket and my terrific sales lady encouraged me to order a 40. It fits really quite well and there's room for a light sweater underneath. Maybe I'm already boxy, and immune. The jacket is heavier than I imagined, so wearing it into late Spring is unlikely in the mid-Atlantic. I don't get the reverse zipper in terms of it's intent. And my jacket arrived without the zipper broken in and it wouldn't separate--easy fix, it just needed a little shove. To get the snaps to keep snapped you do need to employ the zip.
This is a very well made jacket and I recommend it."
Review 12 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great quality jacket,
11 December 2013
By: James5000
from Lincoln, Ca
"Almost returned because zipper seemed insubstantial for quality and heft of jacket, also for the collar which didn't seem to know whether to stand up or lie down. All this before I read the reviews online. I'm glad I kept the jacket. The collar eventually settles down and the zipper is adequate (but still should be bigger and easier to grasp). Unique leather and excellent craftsmanship. Not too bulky, nice weight for N. California winter."
Review 13 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Jacket,
13 November 2013
By: charlee33
from NYC
"I read many reviews before visiting my local Orvis store, and the average Orvis shopper seems to be a bit picky.
Fortunately, my store had a few sizes in stock.
- I am a true 44 suit and the 44 jacket fit me, but was a bit form fitting and restricting in arm movement, so I opted for the size 46.
I was surprised, as I thought it would be cut a bit more generous as their other products.
Wonderful leather that gets more supple over time.
A few notes:
- The collar is a bit high, but has softened over time and is a non issue as it folds down or stands up depending on how you want to wear it.
-The zipper is fine, I don't know what type of zipper people want, more like a Barbour jacket zipper? - Not needed.
-The jacket could be slightly taped to the waist as it appears a bit boxy and hangs just slightly loose.
-One other note: the color variation between the 44 and 46 was quite noticeable. The 46 was a dark rich chestnut brown, as the internet picture seems to me to be. The 44 was much lighter and more reddish, not as attractive and quite different."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ultimate leather jacket,
11 November 2013
By: Docdolittle
from Green Bay,WI.
"I researched a year before I purchased this jacket. I read the reviews about the obnoxious collar and the cheap quality zipper. I feel those reviews to be wrong on both. I've been around the block (on my third time) and this jacket is of supreme quality. When I hang this jacket I roll the collar under. It now lay's flat when I want that professional look, and when I slide into a pair of jeans, I have the collar up for that James Dean look. The zipper seems to be adequate with the heavy duty outside snaps. I look forward to testing this bad boy out in the Frozen Tundra of Green Bay, WI."
Review 15 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase - very satisfied,
04 November 2013
By: JDMoby
from Warrington - UK
"Originally ordered size 42 but when received found it a little too big, therefore used returns service to exchange for a 40 - found Orvis exchange service simple and efficient. The size 40 fits like a glove, I'm 5'11, average build. Leather simply exudes quality, I can envisage wearing this one for years to come. Oh! and by the way, the zip seems fine to me, and the perceived problem with high neck rubbing against cheek is easily remedied by folding down lapel area - eventually it re-educates leather to a folded down look and feel - simples!"
Review 16 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite jacket,
04 November 2013
By: AllenG
from Louisiana
"There is nothing like a great leather jacket and this one is my new favorite. I was impressed from the first time I put it on. It fit like it was made for me, which can be a problem for me. I love the look and feel of the Bison leather. The weight is perfect for me, living in the south where a lighter jacket is the norm. But, there is enough room to layer it as well. Some people have complained about the zipper - I don't see any issue there. It is what I expect to find on a jacket of this quality."
Review 17 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
can't wait,
14 August 2013
By: chrispy
from Cape Cod
"I can’t wait for cooler weather so I can show this thing off. No buyer’s remorse here, I love the jacket. Like most apparel I’ve purchased from Orvis it has a uniquely rugged, handsome look and feel that I feel very comfortable in.
For a grand I was concerned it might not “look” like an expensive jacket or that some of the previously mentioned issues might prove true. Not the case, the jacket exudes very well made. I’ve had no problem with the zipper. The collar folds back nicely and no issues with lapels hitting me in the cheek. And, maybe I got lucky but the fit is like tailor made, I ordered my standard size.
Real happy with my purchase."
Review 18 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Review Fear,
17 May 2013
By: MartyG
from Burns, TN (Nashville)
"I have delayed ordering this jacket due to reviews criticizing the 2-way zipper & the waist circumference. I ordered it 2 days ago and got it today. The zipper is plenty strong and is picky like 3 other 2-way zippered leather and non-leather jackets I own by other manufacturers. Once you figure out it's idiosyncrasy..you easily deal with it. The waist was just what I like, not too big & not too tight. I ordered a 42. My waist is 34 and I am not overweight. I am pleasantly surprised at how pleased I am considering the expense...I was looking for faults and found none...I am happy and I can see it will last the remainder of my days +/- 20 years & then on to my nephew."
Review 19 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A true classic,
10 May 2013
By: vsulov
"This is a great jacket. Heavy and thick but not rough leather. Gives you a bit of a "bad look". As others have noted - zipper looks somewhat fragile and is sometimes difficult to operate but nevertheless I give the jacket 5 stars because of its overall quality."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Coronado American Bison Leather Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good hunk of hide!,
08 April 2013
By: Bjorn
from Evergreen, Co
"Good weight, texture and drape for bison hide. A bit tight in the 48 but thats my problem not the coats. Zipper does not match the coat. It should be installed in a nylon windbreaker."