Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.801 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (181 reviews)
5 stars
155
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
177 of 181(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
08 October 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel by far,
17 December 2014
By: StrictlyOrvis93
from Salladasburg, PA
"everyone has complained about how reels break and have flaws I have dropped my rod and reel of a rock where I fish it is about 10 feet high it dropped onto more rocks I thought for sure my Clearwater rod and my access reel were destroyed I hurried up and got to them nothing was wrong with either both still performed good, there was a minor ding in the frame of my reel, other than the ding not one other problem very impressed with this reel and the rod, my friends have already been recommended."
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit,
17 November 2014
By: ronp605
from Cedar Park, TX
"After purchasing an Encounter outfit and using it in Missouri, Colorado, and Wyoming on an extended fishing journey, I realized how much I appreciated the quality of Sage products and ordered an Access rod and reel upon my return. The Access reel has meet all my expectations. It is light, has a smooth drag system, and it looks great! I'm looking forward to years of great fishing experiences with it."
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access Mid-Arbor Reels,
13 November 2014
By: Robjcm14
from Brentwood Essex
"Reels at this price hardly break the bank, especially when Orvis so often provide a little helper in the shape of a price reduction.
A Mid-Arbor is a sensible size reel to have on a rod for the kind of fishing I do, which is mostly on lakes and reservoirs in the UK, using a rod between a 5 and 7 weight. Those huge Large Arbors, made from aircraft engine bits, or whatever it is, are pure overkill. The Access reel holds sufficient backing behind your main line; the drag is easy and comfortable to adjust and works very well; the overall appearance of the reel is one of quality. All in all, one of the best Orvis reels I've ever bought in this particular price range.
"
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love my Access V Mid-Arbor Reel,
07 November 2014
By: makrebs
from Dover, NH
"Bought it to go with my 8 wt. switch rod. It's a beautiful piece of machinery. Great drag, durability and fine looking. Just purchased a spare spool to go with it. Look forward to using it for years to come, and if my experience with other Orvis products is any indication, I will continue to be a very happy and satisfied customer."
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No GAO Reasoning Involved,
29 October 2014
By: Becket
from Southern Virginia
"Purchased my Orvis Access Mid Arbor I without a cost benefit analysis. Bought it to compliment a nine foot two weight that I use for my local waters in South East Virginia (Bream and Crappie). Own several Orvis Battenkill Barstock mid arbor reels and believed the Access fit a pattern that I like. As with the older reels it is a little mechanical jewel. It looks wonderful, sounds better, and has the smoothness of something machined to close tolerances. My favorite feature is the indexing marks placed on the drag knob and the bezel that surrounds it. This means I really can dial in my drag. Will be building a Five-weight rod for my wife. I’ll fit it with an Access reel."
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent reel.,
22 October 2014
By: Dimond
"Stepping up on my fly gear and just used my new Access Mid Arbor Reel. Great reel and so much better than the entry level reels that I used previously. Affordable but sure seems like a reel that should have cost much more."
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
word well,
22 October 2014
By: fisherman61
"OK......so went for the big ones.....worked very well......smooooooooooth drag and not to hard on the wrists.......landed quite a few :)"
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my Access III,
30 September 2014
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"I own an Access II, III and VI now and love them all. The three is the prefect size for my new Access 9'6" 6wt. It perfectly balances the road and while I've never been a fan of gold before it's a perfect match."
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
18 September 2014
By: EFDIII
from Greensboro, NC, USA
"Great drag, smooth action, cannot beat this reel for the price."
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gift,
18 September 2014
By: ShirleyG
"This was an anniversary gift that my husband very much appreciated. He can't wait to take it for a spin! The personalization was a plus!"
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent reel for the price,
25 August 2014
By: grindstonecreek1
from new york
"I've used my Access mid-arbor V for two king salmon seasons and its never let me down. The drag is very smooth, even after a dunk in the river. This reel is a beautiful piece of craftsmanship. I highly recommend this reel."
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweet reel,
20 August 2014
By: Jimmie61
from Nor Cal
"light weight and rugged. easy to adjust drag. inexpensive for the quality"
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just One Problem,
06 August 2014
By: UncleBuster
from Virginia
"An excellent reel and a perfect compliment to my Access 9' 5wt. It balances the rod perfectly and the gold finish just looks classy. Drag is smooth and I'm pleased.
4 stars because of the reel pouch: the darned thing is so tight that inserting or removing the reel is a definite struggle. I've even tried slitting the elastic band at the opening but with no result. I'm so frustrated with it that I'm just going to chuck the darned thing and buy a case from another manufacturer."
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New favorite reel!,
04 August 2014
By: Camer0n
from Minneapolis, MN
"I recently purchased the gold version of the orvis access reel and took it out to Yellowstone on a week long fly fishing trip! It worked perfectly the whole time and got some compliments from a few other fishermen on the river! I would recommend this reel to anyone looking for great performance, durability, and a beautiful design."
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access II gold,
21 July 2014
By: Tomsk
from England
"I bought this for my #4 7'2" split cane rod, and it balances the rod perfectly.
The drag is excellent, and has really made my set up perfect
"
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
18 July 2014
By: TroutRaider
from Northern New Mexico/So. Colorado
"Looks great, works perfect, excellent size, easy to use drag control, light weight, and high quality. Hard to beat this reel for the money or even for a couple hundred dollars more.
What more can I say, I Love It!
Plus the Orvis Lifetime Guarantee!!
How can you beat all that!
"
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth spinning reel great purchase,
16 July 2014
By: HJT603
from Temple, NH
"Bought to go with my 4 weight rod, it feels comfortable in my hand and is very smooth in the casting and reeling in."
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access to Excellence,
01 July 2014
By: Woodsound
from Summit, NJ
"What a charming reel! Light weight and a superb drag system. I purchased mine in gold and had my name engraved also. I paired this reel with the Orvis superfine hydros 5wt line and for a mid arbour, it looks and feels fantastic. It also has a very fine tuned drag system for any circumstance you'll need. If you're looking for beauty and durability, then the Access is for you. -Brian"
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best reel I've ever had!,
20 June 2014
By: stukel5577
from Scotland
"I got the access ii to hold a 5WT line. I use this reel for river fishing and loch fishing when the wind isn't too crazy (I'm in Scotland). The reel is lightweight and the drag is fantastic. I've landed big brown trout, with every confidence in the smooth drag. The numbering system is a good feature, so you know which number suits various tippet strengths. It's very durable, I have bashed it on riverbeds submerged it when changing flies, and dropped it with no damage. I will be getting the iv size soon for salmon fishing. Great reel at a great price!!"