Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.804 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (209 reviews)
5 stars
180
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
204 of 209(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
08 October 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
23 April 2015
By: Doubledd
"This reel have a great drag and appears to be durable"
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice little reel,
17 April 2015
By: TWHart
from Northern California
"Nice drag. Nice action. Feels sturdy. Went well with a brand new rod. Great for drifting."
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid All-Around Performer,
15 April 2015
By: CarbonJ
"Met all expectations! Great build quality, performance and appearance for the price. The only gripe I had was the shipping time due to item being on back-order."
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Reel,
14 April 2015
By: DavidRainwater
from Huntsville, Al
"I purchased the Access Mid-Arbor Reel to be used on my handmade Bamboo rod. Together, they will become a family heirloom."
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome reel,
07 April 2015
By: exnhlo
from Gillette Wyoming
"I have had the same Orvis reel for twenty years and felt it was time to upgrade. This reel is wonderful. Such a difference from what I had been using. Makes me realize I should have upgraded long ago. Caught four rainbow the first time I used it, the larges of which was 12lbs plus. I set the drag and it worked to perfection. Would have never landed this fish on the old reel. Great purchase."
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class Act,
07 April 2015
By: JayDubs
from Northville, NY
"I haven't had a chance to get out and enjoy my new reel but the quality feels and looks great. Matches my gold reel seat on my fly rod perfectly! The Access III is small, solid, light weight, has a sealed drag, you can't ask for much more. Customer service is also top notch!"
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel; Great Price,
06 April 2015
By: FlyFishVA
from Washington, DC
"I looked all around for a reel of this quality, and the Access Mid-Arbor was the best value hands down. Great feel, fit and finish. Well constructed. Can't go wrong with the quality and price."
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
?,
05 April 2015
By: Amberman
"Just purchased this reel..........very lightweight and certainly looks nice, but notice there seems to be a little bit of play between spool and cage. I was not expecting this on a reel this price. It is small, but concerns me will get worse with use.
A reel this price, I would have thought would be totally solid."
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Reel,
03 April 2015
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"Looks good, nice sound, sturdy feeling, smooth drag. Several 20" fish on the San Juan using 6X with no break offs due to reel catching / slow start up. What more can you ask for!"
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome reel!,
24 March 2015
By: MadDog58
from Locust Grove, VA
"Bought this reel specifically for my 3-wt rod to hunt brookies in small mountain streams, and it didn't disappoint! Very smooth, super fast retrieve and it looks great - worth much more than the price I paid."
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use, easy on your wallet,
23 March 2015
By: Ryan1024m
from spring, tx
"This reel has been great for me. the drag system is very easy to use and i have not had any issues with it. i would highly recommend it to any user."
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
19 March 2015
By: Rowens967
from Ringgold, GA
"Absolutely great reel, it truly helped my fight the biggest rainbow the other day, a 18.5", 2.4 pound chunk. Great drag, easy to adjust while fighting a big fish like this."
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Access Mid-Arbor lll Reel,
11 March 2015
By: carrotfly
from Cornwall.
"perfectly balanced on my 6wt rod, solid build, smooth drag and looks great. Orvis customer service here in UK is outstanding, cannot rate them highly enough."
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FINE PRODUCT!,
10 March 2015
By: Jordan1
from Kaneohe, HI
"I have been around fly fishing for a while now. I recently relocated to Hawaii with the military and have since become completely obsessed with the Bonefish in the area. After some research online, I purchased and 8 weight rod and the Orvis Access IV reel to match it. What an outstanding product, especially given its price point! The drag system compares to that of reels twice as much. And to top it off, the cosmetics are flawless (I own the gold model and it is gorgeous!) Blown Away! Thanks Orvis for a quality product, and also thanks for the superior customer service I received over the phone regarding product assistance in choosing this. Top Notch all around!"
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first choice,
26 February 2015
By: sparraofcornwall
from southwest cornwall
"my ollection of reels contains 2 bfr system 11, 1 battenkill, 3 battenkill 11 large arbour and now 2 access midarbour, and having fished with them all on the same rod i have concluded that the access reels are the best balance and the best compromise for size and line retreival, the access reels are now my go to reels, now to save up for another one"
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Buy Out There,
18 February 2015
By: 2Lancet
from Pacific Northwest
"After reading some reviews on the Orvis Access Mid-Arbor reel I went ahead and ordered a Size IV in black. Given its incredibly low price, the quality of this reel is outstanding. The build is solid, the finish rivals that on reels costing two or three times as much, and the drag is silk-smooth. It comes with a sturdy, handsome protective case. I'll post a follow-up as soon as I've had a chance to try it out."
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Reel,
17 February 2015
By: RovingFlyFisher
from Siesta Key, FL
"My 2nd Access Reel. Beautiful workmanship & performance on my 9 wt Recon. Large & easy drag setting. NIce nickle finish."
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this reel,
13 February 2015
By: PoolTrout
from Seward, AK.
"have used Battenkill reels since 1985. I have fished the tailwaters of Tennessee and guided in Alaska, one time being the owner of Bob's Walkabut Fly Fishing. These reels have never let me down and have been instrumental in the landing of many a salmon (all 5 species of Paciifc) rainbow trout, steehead, brown trout, pike, and grayling in temperatures below 20 degrees"
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
11 February 2015
By: James7
"Used this reel for winter steelhead, reel is beautiful, balanced my 11 foot switch rod perfectly (I bought the V). Holds tons of backing, drag is great and easy to adjust. Only issue was with the hydros salmon/steelhead line I purchased with the reel. The welded loop snapped on my first hook up. Had to tie a make shift loop for my remaining fishing. Must've been a defect, Ive never had that happen. Emailed Orvis but still haven't heard back from them. I replaced with wulff ambush line to finish my trip."