Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Access Mid-Arbor Reels

The new Access Mid-Arbor fly fishing reels take the mid-arbor concept to a new level of performance and do it at a price that makes it accessible to everyone. Starting at just $145, the Access Reel Series offers a full-range of performance features from machined 6061 aircraft aluminum to a totally sealed carbon and stainless-steel drag surface. From the diminutive I to the big-game V, the Access offers the angler the benefits of large arbor; faster retrieve, less coiling, but at a diameter size that isn't quite as overwhelming as some large arbors. With a new larger handle, positive click drag adjustment, and three bold colors, the Access fly fishing reels are the best dollar for dollar reel value in the industry. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.807 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (218 reviews)
5 stars
188
4 stars
23
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
1
213 of 218(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Review 1 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Reel,
08 October 2012
By: TNBud
from Smokey Mountains, TN
"Purchased the Access MAII for my 4 weight to use in Smokey Mtns. Performed wonderfully for brutal day climbing upstream chasing brook and browns. Would recommend this for anyone."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
26 May 2015
By: mistybella67
from nj
"I chose this reel because of the numbering for the drag. It helps me remember where to set the drag. It works perfect with my Recon Rod."
Review 3 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Big bang for my buck,
08 May 2015
By: F385
from Long beach ca.
"The access mid Arbor reel.comes in a good variety of sizes with a drag system that works well for many different sizes of fish.it is light weight and has a very attractive design.with colors that go along with it's attractive design.from my rigorous use it seems to be extremely durable."
Review 4 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice reel for the $,
07 May 2015
By: Fishinfool21
"Smooth drag and easy casting, put it on my 5wt and took on great lakes steelhead with ease."
Review 5 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Delivered!,
05 May 2015
By: DLownds
from Lake Wylie, SC
"This reel meets every expectation I had for a superior brand like Orvis. The purchasing process and delivery also was extremely easy and quick. Its become tradition in the family, from my grandfather, my father, and me - to depend on quality gear supplied by Orvis!"
Review 6 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel,
05 May 2015
By: Taylr110
from York, PA
"I am very happy with my new Access II reel. The second time using it I hooked into a 23" wild brown trout and the reel handled him beautifully with no skipping or slipping in the drag setting. It can definitely handle bigger trout with no problem.
The reel is nice looking and balances my 9ft. 5wt. perfectly.
I plan on getting the III or IV for steelhead and salmon this Fall."
Review 7 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Incredible reel,
02 May 2015
By: DWMiddleton
from Southern Missouri
"Great drag and smooth,fast line pick up. Will buy for my next 5 wt setup."
Review 8 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great reel,
01 May 2015
By: Ralph6
from Mid Atlantic
"A newer purchase, fished it about 5x now and love it. High quality, smooth and nice finish.."
Review 9 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
25 April 2015
By: Siets
"Beautiful reel that I had engraved, balances my glass rod out nice and easy drag adjustment."
Review 10 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good value,
23 April 2015
By: Doubledd
"This reel have a great drag and appears to be durable"
Review 11 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice little reel,
17 April 2015
By: TWHart
from Northern California
"Nice drag. Nice action. Feels sturdy. Went well with a brand new rod. Great for drifting."
Review 12 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid All-Around Performer,
15 April 2015
By: CarbonJ
"Met all expectations! Great build quality, performance and appearance for the price. The only gripe I had was the shipping time due to item being on back-order."
Review 13 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Reel,
14 April 2015
By: DavidRainwater
from Huntsville, Al
"I purchased the Access Mid-Arbor Reel to be used on my handmade Bamboo rod. Together, they will become a family heirloom."
Review 14 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome reel,
07 April 2015
By: exnhlo
from Gillette Wyoming
"I have had the same Orvis reel for twenty years and felt it was time to upgrade. This reel is wonderful. Such a difference from what I had been using. Makes me realize I should have upgraded long ago. Caught four rainbow the first time I used it, the larges of which was 12lbs plus. I set the drag and it worked to perfection. Would have never landed this fish on the old reel. Great purchase."
Review 15 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Class Act,
07 April 2015
By: JayDubs
from Northville, NY
"I haven't had a chance to get out and enjoy my new reel but the quality feels and looks great. Matches my gold reel seat on my fly rod perfectly! The Access III is small, solid, light weight, has a sealed drag, you can't ask for much more. Customer service is also top notch!"
Review 16 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel; Great Price,
06 April 2015
By: FlyFishVA
from Washington, DC
"I looked all around for a reel of this quality, and the Access Mid-Arbor was the best value hands down. Great feel, fit and finish. Well constructed. Can't go wrong with the quality and price."
Review 17 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
?,
05 April 2015
By: Amberman
"Just purchased this reel..........very lightweight and certainly looks nice, but notice there seems to be a little bit of play between spool and cage. I was not expecting this on a reel this price. It is small, but concerns me will get worse with use.
A reel this price, I would have thought would be totally solid."
Review 18 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine Reel,
03 April 2015
By: razorbackdoc
from Crossett, AR
"Looks good, nice sound, sturdy feeling, smooth drag. Several 20" fish on the San Juan using 6X with no break offs due to reel catching / slow start up. What more can you ask for!"
Review 19 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome reel!,
24 March 2015
By: MadDog58
from Locust Grove, VA
"Bought this reel specifically for my 3-wt rod to hunt brookies in small mountain streams, and it didn't disappoint! Very smooth, super fast retrieve and it looks great - worth much more than the price I paid."
Review 20 for Access Mid-Arbor Reels
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to use, easy on your wallet,
23 March 2015
By: Ryan1024m
from spring, tx
"This reel has been great for me. the drag system is very easy to use and i have not had any issues with it. i would highly recommend it to any user."