Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed

More than twice as strong as our original outdoor dog beds, our WaterShed outdoor beds are crafted with a durable 600-denier polyester/canvas cover, specially treated to prevent water absorption. Inside, you'll find a hydrophobic-mesh channeled liner—engineered to eliminate clumping while allowing water to quickly pass through.Styled after our popular indoor favorite, this is the ultimate in outdoor comfort. A plush bolster provides coziness and security. In brick stripe, grey/blue stripe, blue/green stripe, sunburst, cabana stripe. Polyester. Cover is removable and washable.
Average Customer Rating:
3.875 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
3
12 of 16(75%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Review 1 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality bed!,
21 March 2014
By: Pepper05
from Louisville, KY
"I have purchased two of these dog beds from Orvis for use on our covered porch and both have torn apart at the seams. My dog likes the beds, but I keep having to take them to my seamstress to have her sew them up yet again. I will not be purchasing a third and wouldn't recommend them, as they are seriously lacking in quality."
Review 2 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis dog beds are the best!,
14 January 2014
By: Buffy417
from Dallas, TX
"My Golden Retriever loves this bed! It's been on our patio for years and it's her favorite. The only drawback is I would like to replace the cover every year without buying the whole bed! C'mon Orvis, we need the replacement cover option!! The bed just doesn't wear out."
Review 3 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
great BUT,
29 December 2013
By: windyga
"fantastic beds but I followed the size chart-both dogs weigh at least 70 pounds so I ordered bigger bed Sadly they are too big for them The dogs cant curl up and get cozy against them-They are going to their crates-order but be sure you really need bigger bed"
Review 4 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bed ever!,
23 June 2013
By: Buffy417
from Dallas, TX
"My Golden Retriever loves this bed! She's loves the bolster and is perfect for a "leaner." So much we have to get her one for inside as she now won't sleep on any of her other beds!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dog won't use,
25 May 2013
By: jazzi
from Northwoods of Minnesota
"The dog bed seems just fine, but my labradoodle refuses to sit or lie in it. In fact, he will walk AROUND it rather than step into it.
Any suggestions would be helpful.
"
Review 6 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
03 September 2012
By: CharleyGirl
from Maryland
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I bought a Watershed dog bed a few years back and absolutely loved it until it finally fell apart after long years in rough weather. So of course I wanted to get the same bed again, the first being so fantastic.
This bed is nothing like the old version. So much so that this is the first bad review I have ever written for a dog bed. I have two dogs who do very little damage to beds. We got the bed and the dogs took to it right away and did the usual three circles and laid down. Just doing this put runs in the fabric all over the bed. The seams are also starting to pull apart. I attached two pictured of this from less than a minute of use. I put it down and immediately there were runs in the fabric. I couldn't get a very good picture with the iphone, it looks worse in person. The look doesnt bother me but if just walking onto the bed damages the fabric it bodes poorly for the longevity of the bed. The fabric is flimsy and brittle and will not last very long. It is also smaller than I expected but that isn't such a big deal.
Problem #2 happened when my older dog had an accident on the bed. (we hadn't put it outside yet) If this had been the previous version the liquid would have run right through to floor but this bed is super absorbent. not a drop touched the floor. This would be great if it wasn't meant to be a watershed outdoor bed. I went to rinse the bed off in the shower and it just absorbed more water. It took forever to get the urine out of the bed. Then I hung the bed up on my (very strong) shower curtain rod to dry and it is still not dry after 3 days.
An outdoor bed that absorbs a great deal of water and wont dry out for days is a breeding ground for mold and bacteria.
The only reason I haven't decided to return the bed yet is the dog does really love the comfort of the bed. I'd just keep it as an inside bed but I fear the poor quality of the construction will mean the bed will fall apart too fast.
I love Orvis and was really surprised with this bad experience. I do know they will replace the bed, and this makes things better. I'm just disappointed that something of such poor quality would come from Orvis.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Immediate Hit,
02 August 2012
By: Perromore
from New Mexico
"The deep-dish outdoor dog bed was an instant success. Our small dogs love it.
Only issue was the pattern. I thought I was ordering the blue-green pattern (which looks brown and gray on the photo), so assumed it must be the cabana. My mistake. The cabana is a rather jarring multi -color pattern. So, be careful."
Review 8 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best outdoor dog bed every - and indoor bed too!,
27 July 2012
By: kfouche
from Mooresville, NC
"The quality of the fabric and the overall making of this bed is so nice! I have 3 dogs and am rescuing a 4th, very big, lovable dog and I ordered this bed for her!! We already have several of your dog beds, but this one is the best! Fabric is great for outside and inside, easy to wash and the dogs love it!! I will order more of these!"
Review 9 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Apalling quality,
29 June 2012
By: Perks
from Geneseo NY
"This bed is described as twice as strong as the original dog beds. That's a joke. Our young poodle who does not chew her bed has destroyed 2 covers in 6 months.
The material is is not very durable - you can see her claw marks where she has jumped into the bed. The seams are incredibly badly made. The cover just comes apart."
Review 10 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
She loves it.,
04 April 2012
By: eqestrian
"I bought this bed last year for my Lab who spends most of her time lounging on the back porch watching for deer, turkeys and other assorted animals. She just loves this bed...she even lays on it when its wet. I am ready to buy another for the front porch but am dissapointed you no longer have the floral print of the first bed. Why not? I agree with the other reviewer...not crazy about stripes."
Review 11 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best. Bed. Ever.,
20 August 2011
By: pickofthelitter
from Maryland
"I just purchased my third indoor/outdoor bolster bed. The first one was so well loved outdoors that I moved it into the family room where the dogs would use it more. When I had to replace the living room bed, I just got another in/out one. Today I realized that one of the basement beds should be replaced.....bought the third one like this.
I realized with the first one that a bed that could be washed in its entirety was really convenient. With two dogs and a cat who sleeps in the dog beds and has occasional hairball issues....it's so much easier to wash these than to worry about non-washable fillers in regular beds, perhaps shrinking covers, etc. These are truly wash and wear and seem to resist getting smelly a lot better.
The best thing? My dogs absolutely love them. I have bedding rearrangers ("inferior decorators") and have had no problems with the covers holding up."
Review 12 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Outdoor Bed,
26 June 2011
By: CanineMom
from Danville, Vermont
"I purchased this bed last spring and it was a favorite with my dogs. The bed was on my deck all winter long through a harsh Vermont winter. It held up well, shed snow and was dry enough for our dogs to lounge in even in the coldest of weather. It's such a hit with my dogs I cam back to purchase another one today but the wonderful fabric choices are all gone. Sure wish you'd bring them back. Not all of us care for stripes. I'll delay my purchase in hopes you'll have some different patterns but if you like stripes or don't care about patterns and colors, this is a fabulous, comfortable outdoor bed."
Review 13 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best bed ever!,
17 May 2011
By: Kasem
from Fishersville, VA
"I purchased 2 of these several months ago to use at our house on the Lake. The dogs like to lay on the deck and I wanted something soft and waterproof.
I unpacked them and just put them in the house because we were not going to the Lake for several weeks. The dogs (I have 3-a big Collie and 2 Shelties), big or small, fell in love with the beds and prefer to sleep on them over the other beds we have in the house. I hate to interrupt their happiness, so I bought 2 more to be used exclusively at the Lake house. They are comfy, very easy to wash and clean. Love em!"
Review 14 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gus Loves his Outdoor bed,
13 May 2011
By: SteelOrdeal
from Pittsburgh, PA
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"This bed is perfect for the wet, active dog. The fill is constructed so that it does not absorb water. The cover can be wiped off or easily removed for washing. Gus loves to hang out with us all evening on the patio, in the garage or anywhere we are outdoors in this new bed. (he was really never quite satisfied lying on a throw rug). We highly recommend this bed to anyone needing an easily cleanable indoor - outdoor bed!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
11 May 2011
By: WCTex
from West Columbia, TX.
"My dog would rather sleep outside with this bed. We have another inside Orvis bed but she prefers this outdoor bed. It is comfortabe, thick but soft."
Review 16 for WaterShed® Deep Dish Outdoor Dog Bed
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
water logged,
03 May 2011
By: jettbed
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"Bought this bed for my Standard poodle. Kept the bed inside for several months. He slept on it occasionally. Just put it on pool deck 2 weeks ago. It looked saggy. Then it rained. The bed stuffing is not flow-thru! Very heavy to pick up. Had to hang it off corner of lounge chair so it would dry. I would not have spent over $200 for this bed if I had known the filler was not great. Does not look full like the one in the catalog. It is blu multi and faded looking. Looks ancient."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team24 May 2011
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the bed faded and filling was not as expected. Orvis offered to exchange this bed or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customer's concerns on to our product developers for further review.