Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (646 reviews)
5 stars
474
4 stars
105
3 stars
40
2 stars
18
1 star
9
597 of 646(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Fit,
30 July 2015
By: Pantiles
from Worcestershire
"Very poor fit sleeves ridiculously too long at least 4" too long, body poor fit"
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Color Not Even Close to Picture,
29 July 2015
By: Sandro
"I ordered and will be returning the "Dark Khaki" version of this jacket because the color appeared grey in the picture--a color you don't see at all in field coats. When the jacket arrived it was a dull, dark brown.
I have a tan version of this jacket which I love despite it looking like every other tan field coat in America. Orvis should get imaginative and produce a light grey version. They already have the picture."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waiting for hunting season,
05 July 2015
By: Tappari
from Helsinki, Finland
"The coat seems very good even it's quite warm to really test it - so far so good"
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Annoying trifles,
26 April 2015
By: RossshireBuff
from Scottish Highlands
"This jacket can be used for both rifle & gun shooting; & isn't too hot & heavy (but can be used with the layer concept in colder weather).
However, a number of other reviewers have had the same problem I experienced - viz., two buttons came away after less than two months light wear. This is disappointing in what is otherwise such an admirable coat.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Product,
21 April 2015
By: DavidTN
from Gippsland Australia
"I ordered this jacket and it arrived in perfect condition in Australia within a week. It is very hard to find this sort of quality in Australia without paying huge sums of money and impossible to find service this good. I am 6'1 and 100kg - the Large fits perfectly. I suspect this jacket will last a lifetime and it certainly won't be the last item of Orvis clothing I buy. Congratulations on your levels of quality and service"
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did not meet my expectations...,
20 April 2015
By: Walkerguy
from Georgia, USA
"Barely acceptable for cold, wet, windy weather. Very sturdy and solid coat, but the bottom button came off. The coat's a bit difficult to "get into", with all the buttons and zipper, once it's on, you're in for the duration if you are wearing gloves. The collar flaps around and offers little or no protection, so to protect my neck I bring along a scarf. Hope I can talk my wife into letting me buy something better next fall!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality,
17 April 2015
By: VanIsle3549
from Sidney, British Columbia
"I received this jacket about 2 weeks ago--just as we are having a long spell of warm weather. May have to wait until the fall and winter to really put this coat through it's paces.
One thing I can do is comment on sizing. Reading other reviews, finding the right size crops up quite a bit. Overall, I find Orvis clothing tends to fit on the large size.
I am 5'9" and am fit, I have a 44" chest and a 36 waist. My sleeve size is 34- 34 1/2"
Size Large has fit me perfectly in the shirts and coats I have purchased from Orvis. I usually wear an XL on most clothing bought in local stores. Hope that helps a little.
I'll check back in October and November when our damp and breezy west coast weather sets in
"
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
16 April 2015
By: BBAR2002
from Kentucky
"This is a well built, stylish and comfortable coat. As others have mentioned - the only downside is how poorly the buttons are sewn on. Other than that, I love it."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
06 April 2015
By: Cattrax
from Virginia
"Very pleased with coat. Repels rain and snow without the thick oily feel. Several people have complimented it as compared to the "other"brand."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Anglo-American Hybrid,
31 March 2015
By: Geodesy
from Hudson Valley, NY
"Imagine a cross between the sturdy simplicity of the American Carhartt work jacket and the style and features of the British Barbour Field and shooting jackets. Excellent materials that feel like you've worn the jacket for years. Water and wind resistant and cut with room for a heavy sweater for colder fall days. A Comfortable corduroy collar and trim. Generous outside pockets and separate and softly lined hand warmers. A zipped large interior pocket and a smaller pocket perfect for cell phones.
The perfect three season jacket with enough style for the club and rugged and utilitarian for fishing and bird hunting. The perfect balance of style and utility. Good looking and comfortable and suitable for most occasions. My favorite non-technical jacket.
"
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
field jacket,
31 March 2015
By: hornhead
"you will need a heavy sweater for cool hunting days in autumn.
it's a nice jacket BUT you would think Orvis would know how to sew on a button. I have had to redo all of mine and I haven't had it that long.
SNAPS would be preferable as working these tiny buttons with gloves is impossible.
it is not a heavy duty hunting jacket, it's more of a dog walking jacket."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best field coat for the money,
26 March 2015
By: robs92648
from southern california
"highly versatile and so very wearable for all occasions. I searched a long time to find a replacement for my last field jacket.they were either to slim or too full cut. this jacket has the perfect classic fit and is made of soft materials. from the first time you put it on it feels as if you have been wearing it for years. couldn't be happier with this purchase."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brown not olive,
25 March 2015
By: MikeLach
from Phila PA
"Nice fabric, solid construction and strong zipper, but this is not olive, not even close. Dark chocolate brown. Sleeves are little short in the medium for me too, but I am 5' 10", and wear a 35" dress shirt sleeve. Sadly, will return."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Somewhat Dissappointing,
25 March 2015
By: abc6900
"This coat is not for : really cold weather; really wet weather; hunting anywhere but a city park. It is : a very stylish coat; a nice cool weather coat and even cold with fleece or down undergarment. The major flaw is the wind flap closure. Note other reviews about the buttons and be prepared to re-attach every one. You are sunk if you plan to find a duplicate if you happen to loose the button. Velcro or snap closure would be a great improvement. I like Orvis and have been a long time customer. They generally have top of the line products, but this time they overlooked important details. Style vanquished function. Nevertheless, with style in mind and layering and a seamstress I will thoroughly enjoy the coat."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Third coat,
25 March 2015
By: Gabby802
from Virginia
"This is the third field coat I've ordered. The first one had hand warmer pockets sewn in backward. The second had a sleeve lining that came apart in less than a year. So, hopefully this one will be the charm. Despite these mishaps, I still like the coat. It's warm, roomy, with big pockets inside and out. I liked this coat because it's different from other field costs I've seen. I would recommend it. Customer service was fantastic throughout the return process. Very courteous. No questions asked."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat,
19 March 2015
By: Abbeyroad
from Front Range of Rockies
"I am on the Orvis website to order another one of these coats The thought of wearing this coat out and then not having another to replace it is overwhelming This is by far the best coat/jacket I have ever owned It is warm yet light weight, it is stylish and still built with excellence in mind. It is cool in warmer days when I just need some wind protection I highly recommend this coat to anyone looking for a great coat."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field coat,
13 March 2015
By: silhouetteman
"I have been looking for this type of Feild coat design for some time, and was delighted when I found it in orvis. I preffer the traditional clothing of orvis and many people have said how the coat looks good on me, I would certainly recomened this field coat to friend and family."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor finishing,
13 March 2015
By: Dick60
from Jersey
"You can always tell the quality of a garment by the quality of the buttons and the robustness ( or not ! ) of the way they are stitched on. In the case of my field jacket all I can say is that the worker responsible for sewing on the buttons couldn't have been particularly interested as they are already falling off after 2 or 3 months of wear. A lack of attention to detail has let this garment down."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the Field or On the Street,
10 March 2015
By: BinFshn
from Dayton, OH
"This coat just can't be beat. And I know because I've already worn it in rain, snow, and sleet. It keeps me and all my electronic gadgets warm and dry.
Thank you Orvis for the excellent service and product."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Field Coat,
06 March 2015
By: kehac
from Dayton, OH
"I have a Orvis ultimate field coat and it's a great coat. The only thing it was lacking was a zipper. So when I saw the new Heritage Field Coat has a zipper I had to have it. It's a great coat as well. I'm just alittle surprised that it fits tighter than the Ultimate version which I like to layer with a fleece jacket. This Heritage is again abit tighter and I can't fit the fleece jacket in it without it feeling cramped. I do have the Montana Morning cardigan which works well with it though. Otherwise it's another great product from Orvis. BTW, I'm 5'11" and a 180 pounds and I wear a medium. I wish everyone doing the reviews on Orvis clothing would state their sizes so it could help others to decide their own size needed."