Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.584 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (637 reviews)
5 stars
469
4 stars
104
3 stars
39
2 stars
17
1 star
8
591 of 637(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Anglo-American Hybrid,
31 March 2015
By: Geodesy
from Hudson Valley, NY
"Imagine a cross between the sturdy simplicity of the American Carhartt work jacket and the style and features of the British Barbour Field and shooting jackets. Excellent materials that feel like you've worn the jacket for years. Water and wind resistant and cut with room for a heavy sweater for colder fall days. A Comfortable corduroy collar and trim. Generous outside pockets and separate and softly lined hand warmers. A zipped large interior pocket and a smaller pocket perfect for cell phones.
The perfect three season jacket with enough style for the club and rugged and utilitarian for fishing and bird hunting. The perfect balance of style and utility. Good looking and comfortable and suitable for most occasions. My favorite non-technical jacket.
"
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
field jacket,
31 March 2015
By: hornhead
"you will need a heavy sweater for cool hunting days in autumn.
it's a nice jacket BUT you would think Orvis would know how to sew on a button. I have had to redo all of mine and I haven't had it that long.
SNAPS would be preferable as working these tiny buttons with gloves is impossible.
it is not a heavy duty hunting jacket, it's more of a dog walking jacket."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best field coat for the money,
26 March 2015
By: robs92648
from southern california
"highly versatile and so very wearable for all occasions. I searched a long time to find a replacement for my last field jacket.they were either to slim or too full cut. this jacket has the perfect classic fit and is made of soft materials. from the first time you put it on it feels as if you have been wearing it for years. couldn't be happier with this purchase."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Brown not olive,
25 March 2015
By: MikeLach
from Phila PA
"Nice fabric, solid construction and strong zipper, but this is not olive, not even close. Dark chocolate brown. Sleeves are little short in the medium for me too, but I am 5' 10", and wear a 35" dress shirt sleeve. Sadly, will return."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Somewhat Dissappointing,
25 March 2015
By: abc6900
"This coat is not for : really cold weather; really wet weather; hunting anywhere but a city park. It is : a very stylish coat; a nice cool weather coat and even cold with fleece or down undergarment. The major flaw is the wind flap closure. Note other reviews about the buttons and be prepared to re-attach every one. You are sunk if you plan to find a duplicate if you happen to loose the button. Velcro or snap closure would be a great improvement. I like Orvis and have been a long time customer. They generally have top of the line products, but this time they overlooked important details. Style vanquished function. Nevertheless, with style in mind and layering and a seamstress I will thoroughly enjoy the coat."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Third coat,
25 March 2015
By: Gabby802
from Virginia
"This is the third field coat I've ordered. The first one had hand warmer pockets sewn in backward. The second had a sleeve lining that came apart in less than a year. So, hopefully this one will be the charm. Despite these mishaps, I still like the coat. It's warm, roomy, with big pockets inside and out. I liked this coat because it's different from other field costs I've seen. I would recommend it. Customer service was fantastic throughout the return process. Very courteous. No questions asked."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat,
19 March 2015
By: Abbeyroad
from Front Range of Rockies
"I am on the Orvis website to order another one of these coats The thought of wearing this coat out and then not having another to replace it is overwhelming This is by far the best coat/jacket I have ever owned It is warm yet light weight, it is stylish and still built with excellence in mind. It is cool in warmer days when I just need some wind protection I highly recommend this coat to anyone looking for a great coat."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field coat,
13 March 2015
By: silhouetteman
"I have been looking for this type of Feild coat design for some time, and was delighted when I found it in orvis. I preffer the traditional clothing of orvis and many people have said how the coat looks good on me, I would certainly recomened this field coat to friend and family."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Poor finishing,
13 March 2015
By: Dick60
from Jersey
"You can always tell the quality of a garment by the quality of the buttons and the robustness ( or not ! ) of the way they are stitched on. In the case of my field jacket all I can say is that the worker responsible for sewing on the buttons couldn't have been particularly interested as they are already falling off after 2 or 3 months of wear. A lack of attention to detail has let this garment down."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
In the Field or On the Street,
10 March 2015
By: BinFshn
from Dayton, OH
"This coat just can't be beat. And I know because I've already worn it in rain, snow, and sleet. It keeps me and all my electronic gadgets warm and dry.
Thank you Orvis for the excellent service and product."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Field Coat,
06 March 2015
By: kehac
from Dayton, OH
"I have a Orvis ultimate field coat and it's a great coat. The only thing it was lacking was a zipper. So when I saw the new Heritage Field Coat has a zipper I had to have it. It's a great coat as well. I'm just alittle surprised that it fits tighter than the Ultimate version which I like to layer with a fleece jacket. This Heritage is again abit tighter and I can't fit the fleece jacket in it without it feeling cramped. I do have the Montana Morning cardigan which works well with it though. Otherwise it's another great product from Orvis. BTW, I'm 5'11" and a 180 pounds and I wear a medium. I wish everyone doing the reviews on Orvis clothing would state their sizes so it could help others to decide their own size needed."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made - Good Buy,
03 March 2015
By: Polardan
from Winchester VA
"Classic styling and well made product. One thought though - waist size is tailored for European fit and would be better larger for American sizes - Highly recommend jacket"
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb jacket,
26 February 2015
By: Confiturejam
from Utrecht, the Netherlands
"The look and feel of this jacket is superb. The one comment i have to make is that the sleaves may be a bit longer, while the bellysize can be one or two inches tighter. That is the reason that i swapped the jacket and will change it for the summer version."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value available,
26 February 2015
By: Thebiminitwist
"I owned a similar coat for 40 years. Needles to say got my money out of it. I bought a similar coat from another company. It was ok but not quite that old coat. Sent it back. Bought this coat from Orvis. It was a much better coat for a few dollars more. The best I could find. I will let you know in 40 years how it works out."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Orvis Purchase,
23 February 2015
By: Scattergunner
from Toronto, Canada
"Received this coat for Christmas.
Had such confident in the coat that I wanted to show it off over the holidays, so I left my winter coat at home and went to Northern Ontario with this as my only coat.
No second thoughts.
As mentioned by other reviews, a button did come loose. But this doesn't make me take a star away.
Initially ordered an XL but upon reading the reviews and talking to the order desk, I changed just in time to a large. Glad I did.
I'm 6ft and 185lbs and fits perfect.
I can shoot with no binding in the underarms.
I'm now hinting at the raincoat for Fathers Day.
"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Orvis Heritage Field Coat,
23 February 2015
By: Hirzs
from Brentwood, England
"I've had the coat months & basically quite a good coat but every button has had to be resewn on, some even before the coat could be worn first time!
Not the quality I've come to expect from Orvis.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
19 February 2015
By: ThosA
"I really liked the jacket when I first wore it. Perfect on a cold rainy day! I just wished it had separate hand warmer pockets. Lo and behold, magically, they appeared when I further explored the various options.
The dry dressing makes it water proof, but not the same as a Barbour. Application of their dressing would bump it up when needed. Save $150 and get this delight instead!"
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
16 February 2015
By: flashy
from Maryland
"Bought this for v day gift for Hubby.
He loves it, nice color-roomy fit ..Would recommend it to anyone.
"
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis quality,
16 February 2015
By: blueridgeangler24
"This jacket fits great and has all the features you could want from a sturdy field jacket. Quality construction, great materials, underarm gussets, warm hand pockets and plenty of storage pockets. I purchased the olive color and couldn't be happier. Definitely worthy of the Orvis brand."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good decision,
13 February 2015
By: MyPopeye2571foru
"I have been looking at this Field Coat for quite some time. My nephew was wearing his last year and I liked the look. I took special note of the warm pockets above the bellow pockets and the pleated back and the game pouch. Heavy and warm.
Good decision!"