Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.592 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (625 reviews)
5 stars
463
4 stars
102
3 stars
35
2 stars
17
1 star
8
580 of 625(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb jacket,
26 February 2015
By: Confiturejam
from Utrecht, the Netherlands
"The look and feel of this jacket is superb. The one comment i have to make is that the sleaves may be a bit longer, while the bellysize can be one or two inches tighter. That is the reason that i swapped the jacket and will change it for the summer version."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best value available,
26 February 2015
By: Thebiminitwist
"I owned a similar coat for 40 years. Needles to say got my money out of it. I bought a similar coat from another company. It was ok but not quite that old coat. Sent it back. Bought this coat from Orvis. It was a much better coat for a few dollars more. The best I could find. I will let you know in 40 years how it works out."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Orvis Purchase,
23 February 2015
By: Scattergunner
from Toronto, Canada
"Received this coat for Christmas.
Had such confident in the coat that I wanted to show it off over the holidays, so I left my winter coat at home and went to Northern Ontario with this as my only coat.
No second thoughts.
As mentioned by other reviews, a button did come loose. But this doesn't make me take a star away.
Initially ordered an XL but upon reading the reviews and talking to the order desk, I changed just in time to a large. Glad I did.
I'm 6ft and 185lbs and fits perfect.
I can shoot with no binding in the underarms.
I'm now hinting at the raincoat for Fathers Day.
"
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Orvis Heritage Field Coat,
23 February 2015
By: Hirzs
from Brentwood, England
"I've had the coat months & basically quite a good coat but every button has had to be resewn on, some even before the coat could be worn first time!
Not the quality I've come to expect from Orvis.
"
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
19 February 2015
By: ThosA
"I really liked the jacket when I first wore it. Perfect on a cold rainy day! I just wished it had separate hand warmer pockets. Lo and behold, magically, they appeared when I further explored the various options.
The dry dressing makes it water proof, but not the same as a Barbour. Application of their dressing would bump it up when needed. Save $150 and get this delight instead!"
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
16 February 2015
By: flashy
from Maryland
"Bought this for v day gift for Hubby.
He loves it, nice color-roomy fit ..Would recommend it to anyone.
"
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis quality,
16 February 2015
By: blueridgeangler24
"This jacket fits great and has all the features you could want from a sturdy field jacket. Quality construction, great materials, underarm gussets, warm hand pockets and plenty of storage pockets. I purchased the olive color and couldn't be happier. Definitely worthy of the Orvis brand."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good decision,
13 February 2015
By: MyPopeye2571foru
"I have been looking at this Field Coat for quite some time. My nephew was wearing his last year and I liked the look. I took special note of the warm pockets above the bellow pockets and the pleated back and the game pouch. Heavy and warm.
Good decision!"
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Coat!!,
13 February 2015
By: Mitw0005
"I can't get over how great this coat looks. You can wear it as intended in the field or dress it up and wear it to the office. The size runs a little big. I'm 6'7" 225lbs and the Large fits me perfect."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Coat - Lousy Buttons,
10 February 2015
By: JayP
from Columbus, OH
"No question but that this coat would get an unqualified five starts were it not for the fact that virtually every button on the thing has fallen off, or is in the process of doing so. Great material. Great looks. Great pockets. Great zipper. But every time I look, there's another button about to fall off. Most of these have never even been buttoned! It's enough to make you crazy."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So good I bought 2,
09 February 2015
By: 875Manager
from Portland, OR
"I have been wanting one of these jackets for a very long time and finally pulled the trigger and made the on-line purchase when the coat was on sale. After the delivery was made, I tried it on and happy I made the purchase. Fits true and has a big enough game bag to hold 3 pheasant. Maybe 4 if you work at it. I was so impressed with it that I bought another one at the Portland, OR store that was on sale. One to hunt in and one to wear around town. So far, the construction seems well made but the buttons do seem loosely sewn on. I can have my wife remedy that. Now since I have 2, I am confident that these jackets will last me the rest of my life."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Barn Coat,
09 February 2015
By: DC65
from Louisiana
"What can I say, the barn coat is awesome! Well made, nice weight and the inner lining soft red cotton. You will not be disappointed."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great deal,
03 February 2015
By: SimonWinch
from Callaway, VA
"Perfect field jacket for around the farm. Rugged, warm and well made. This is my "Go-to" jacket."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
heritage field coat-great,
03 February 2015
By: jam123
"Purchased this past month. I was looking for a good looking jacket that was warm in cold and damp weather. This was it. Get a lot of glances when worn. Great buy."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis thinks it through,
27 January 2015
By: MrMRF
from West (by God) Virginia
"This coat represents the quality I've learned to expect from Orvis thru the 40 years of being a customer."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
27 January 2015
By: Th20s
"This is a great coat. I was on the fence with purchasing until I just decided and I'm glad I did. Received several compliments with this coat and it was due to the quality and character, this coat just isn't seen in your typical mall store."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stylish coat,
26 January 2015
By: Mrkrehbrew
from Ohio
"Great looking jacket. Hangs slightly longer than your everyday jacket. Cuts wind well, but I wouldn't wear it under 25 degrees."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific Garment,
26 January 2015
By: Rocky5
from Centre County, Pa.
"The Heritage Field Coat is a rugged, yet classy, well made, comfortable garment that will see more use off the field ,from me, because it looks so good. That said, I am sure it would hold up after many upland excursions. I would recommend this product. A side note: ORVIS customer service is second to none."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Quality,
26 January 2015
By: Cvilleshopper
from Charlottesville, VA
"As with all Orvis clothing, this jacket is top quality. Additional detail, great weight and nice fabric."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket!,
22 January 2015
By: Lnelson2011
from Houston, TX
"I bought this jacket for my husband and he absolutely loves it! It's well made, quality materials and the design is super "hunter-friendly".
Orvis quality just cannot be beat. We have enjoyed every Orvis product we have ever purchased.
Their customer service is outstanding as well."