Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.546 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (416 reviews)
5 stars
300
4 stars
68
3 stars
29
2 stars
13
1 star
6
381 of 416(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Color is somewhat strange.,
11 September 2014
By: AndrewHoya88
"Generally a very nice jacket, solidly built, sturdy materials, great fall jacket.
Two things: a The olive coat doesn't really look olive, it's more of a brown with an olive sheen. I know that these jackets are meant to fit loosely, but the medium still seems gigantic (I wear a 38R jacket). May be worth sizing down. I'm going to exchange for a small."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what I wanted,
11 September 2014
By: Tunabird
from Wilmington Delaware
"Was a little worried after reading a handful of reviews but the jacket is outstanding.Among the complaints were the zipper,lining, weight (too heavy) and sizing. The zipper is well made and easy to use. Maybe Orvis upgraded it. Lining is soft and well stitched and the weight is what I expected for a foul weather jacket.
I am 6'3" 225 and the XXL fits my shoulders and arms perfectly still with room to layer.
I am sure I will get many years out of it
"
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field hunting coat,
09 September 2014
By: Deetrees
from Memphis, TN
"Only my second on line purchase form Orvis. It is first class in quality and I will continue to order from Orvis."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis field coat,
05 September 2014
By: Spikejfh22
from Maine
"Was exactly as advertised. It fits well and constructed ruggedly. I expect many years of hunting comfort."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Field Coat,
04 September 2014
By: Gander
from Chester, Va
"A top quality field coat in every way. Warm enough for mild days, roomy enough for layering during layering on really cold days. Ideal for casual use from fall through early spring."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOP PRODUCT,
03 September 2014
By: Wekaweka
from New Zealand
"This is the complete jacket for me. It is smart enough to wear inside for work but has enough pockets to let me pack everything i need outside or when traveling. A grand jacket."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice,
01 September 2014
By: RobertaM
from Cranston, RI
"The field coat is really nice with a lot of attention paid to detail. The jacket is cut true to size."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Best Purchase Ever?,
31 August 2014
By: Expert100
"Nice look and feel. Be prepared to take it right away to your taylor to fix broken seams and attach the buttons properly. Mine came with a smell reminiscent of a cheap chewing gum ... maybe the dry wax? Had to be laundered after the taylor. There seems to be a poor quality control by Orvis. All in all a quite costly experience."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
30 August 2014
By: chucklennon
from Laguna Beach, CA
"Perfect weight and style in this nearly all-year-round jacket. Looks great on and the fit is very true to size."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Heritage Field Coat,
27 August 2014
By: Eru1
from South Carolina
"This multipocketed barn/field coat is excellent for cool/cold weather but not freezing cold. It is not a parka but a stylish coat made for the Fall season in the north and Winters in the southeast. Quality is excellent.Coat has many pockets supposedly for hunting but they come in handy especially if you are biking."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanted One for a Longtime,
26 August 2014
By: tazmansd
from South Dakota
"I jumped when I saw the Heritage Field Coat went on sale. The coat is very well made, but... an XL fits more like a Large. It does not have the generous cut of most of Orvis's products. I've reordereda XXL to see if that fits better. I hope so, since I really like how this coat looks."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat.....Great Price!,
25 August 2014
By: ChingChing
from Myrtle Beach SC
"ORVIS HERITAGE FIELD COAT!....for the money you can't beat this one......sized large......full of pockets...durable ...no shrink washing....non wrinkle material ......field tan exterior....classic red lining......quintessential birding equipment.....love it!"
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Slim Guys Watch Out,
21 August 2014
By: AMG1016
from Boston, MA
"My review is focused primarily on fit. I am 5'9", 180 lbs, 32 inch waist, athletic build. I went into an Orvis store to try on the field jacket after researching online. Unfortunately there were none in the store (weird, given this is a flagship product). The store associate used a Barbour to size me and said a medium would be great. I order online and the medium was enormous. The shoulders fit but everything else was huge. I don't think I could size down to a small given the shoulders. My dad has some more "girth" than I do so I gave it to him but for anyone who is in good shape, you are going to have a tough time with this jacket. It's way too generously cut."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New Favorite Coat,
20 August 2014
By: cking52
from Missouri Ozarks
"Just received my new field coat and I love it. Fits well, good construction and Orvis quality. Same quality that I have been used to from Orvis. Gave my 20 year old Orvis "old field coat" to my brother since it still has many good years left in it."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Huntin' season 'round the corner !,
19 August 2014
By: gwev
from West Tennessee
"I purchased this jacket anticipating foul weather during fowl season! It appears to be exactly what I'll need..hope I fill it full of fowl and not foul out ! ...Let you know after season."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great value, great quality,
18 August 2014
By: nickname123
from North Carolina
"Can't wait for cold weather to get here. Good solid quality as one would expect from Orvis."
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like it out of the box,
13 August 2014
By: Bart625
from Cincinnati Ohio
"Although I won't use the game pouch in back, I think it is a weight that will be right for two seasons. I like the look and feel of the jacket. Should shed rain well."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
13 August 2014
By: EricVA
from Virginia
"Exceptional quality, speedy shipping, fair sale price - Great coat! Not sure why the color is called "olive" though, as it appears to be more of a dark brown color rather than green in color."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
12 August 2014
By: tallgirltoo
from Milwaukee, WI
"This jacket is awesome! I ordered it for my husband and it fit perfectly! Great quality too. He loves to see Orvis bags at the door. He knows it's for him!"
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product!,
12 August 2014
By: Mint427
from Seattle, WA
"I have searched for the "perfect" coat for Northwest and discovered this gem offered by Orvis. The jacket has plenty of pockets, solid zippers and is lined for warmth. I have used it outside during rainy weather around Seattle and stayed dry & warm. It comes a bit large - I usually wear XL and it was a perfect fit. This is an outstanding company with solid products."