Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™

Carry everything you need for a three-day trip—all in our rolling carry-on luggage. New features include signature plaid lining, main compartment with locking zipper design with double-knotted leather pulls. Includes a 10"x 8" clear PVC zippered TSA compliant bag for carrying on 3.5 oz. or less liquids. Smaller zippered compartment on front has leather trimmed neoprene slash pocket for laptop/iPad. Smooth-rolling ball-bearing wheels. Single-hand retractable handle. Three exterior pockets. Detachable cargo hook and leather luggage tag included. Rolling carry-on luggage in green/brown. 22"H x 14"W x 9"D; 2,772 cu. in. Pure cotton canvas and genuine leather. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
41
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
47 of 56(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Review 1 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Carry-On,
15 December 2014
By: michaelfromidaho7
from Hailey, Idaho
"This is the second battenkill carry on that I have purchased from Orvis. This carry-on is perfect with plenty of room for your travel. It has convenient pockets and easy access to get to items you need while traveling. It fits in the overhead on airlines with ease and it nice to rest your briefcase on while traveling.
I am giving the Battenkill carry on as a gift knowing it will be the perfect gift that will last for years.
"
Review 2 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Never Buy Anything Else but Orvis Luggage,
22 October 2014
By: MarthaJ
from TN
"We have several pieces of Orvis Luggage and are exceedingly happy with all of them, and we travel a great deal. You cannot beat the quality, selection and warranty! I just sent my 15 year old plus roller bag back, and they are sending me a new one since it cannot be repaired. They are a little more expensive than some luggage, but you will be happy for a long, long, long time!!"
Review 3 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
trade in,
20 October 2014
By: frank22
from gainesville Ga
"BK roll-on i had for over 15 years was perfect!! why did you shrink the new model. never had problem getting older model on as carry on but new model has lesss space and seems more like overnight bag which you alredy have a small carry duffel type (i have one) older model outside pocket also was expandable where this one is not? one question WHY?"
Review 4 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best ever,
13 October 2014
By: Johnathan
from Florida
"I have had this carry-on for ten years and decided to buy another for a frien who kept talking about it. Great for airlines and great Orvis durability."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TEAM ORVIS - TRUE TO THEIR WORD!,
01 October 2014
By: TRANSITIONPRO
from Washington, D.C.
"I had a Battenkill Carry-on Rollacase that had YEARS of travel on countless trips across the country on planes, trains and everything else - commercial and non-commercial. It still had a ton of trips left. Unfortunately, it was severely damaged on one trip. I went onto the ORVIS site, filled out the repair form and sent it in for repair since it had become my "go to" perfect travel bag. Well, the process worked great, I received a confirmation email shortly after I sent it in and then a few days later Jimmy from customer service called me directly on my cell. The bad news - the bag could not be repaired adequately - the amazing news - Jimmy asked that I call back customer service and let them know if a brand new equivalent replacement Battenkill Carry-on Rollacase would be acceptable to me. Don't get me wrong - I loved the old bag - but the new bag is the same high quality, will do the same job and now meet all the TSA requirements. I called back customer service and talked to Donna - she reviewed my service request and all the notes from Jimmy and confirmed that the new bag would be shipped to my home address.
In this day and age - hats off to ORVIS - great products, great guarantee and straight up answers to a customer request - and a solution that surpassed expectations.
So - thank you Jimmy and Donna and the whole ORVIS team - you set the standard for an American business and this regular customer plans to repeat this story about quality and service!"
Review 6 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too short,
05 September 2014
By: ThomasGibb
from Longwood
"Shorter than my other older Orvis roll-on bags. Several things do not fit this bag that do fit in my older Orvis roll-on. It is coming apart after just a few uses. It separated at the roll-on handle and frayed on top."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this suitcase!!!,
16 June 2014
By: MiamiTraveler
"The suitcase is so perfect for carry on. I dropped it in the metal frame and there was room to pack full and still fit within the frame at the gate.
The suitcase is so well built, built to last. Definitely recommend to anyone.
"
Review 8 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Attractive carry on,
11 June 2014
By: SeamusL
from Brooklyn, NY
"I bought this as a replacement for an earlier model that after 15 years or so had had it. I have only used it once. It is slightly smaller than the original. It seems well-made and it is certainly attractive."
Review 9 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Carry-On!!,
12 May 2014
By: Zach901
from Memphis, TN
"This is the last carry-on I will ever have to purchase. The quality is unmatched to other carry-on’s I have had in the past. This is the second piece of luggage I have purchase from Orvis and 5 years later it still matches my new carry-on."
Review 10 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry On with style,
06 May 2014
By: Traveller72
from Massachusetts
"I have owned several other Battenkill pieces for years. This was a natural addition to my collection for weekend trips or longer trips where my larger suitcase is not enough. I love the compartment for my laptop with outside zippers which make going thru security a breeze. Identification with my initials engraved on a brass plate makes ownership plain if the bag were to be checked. Fits overhead compartments without any trouble. Love this suitcase."
Review 11 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04 May 2014
By: Kjfgrsdg
"The wife gave this to me as a bday gift-- it's the perfect size or weekend trips or work trips. Very rugged and stylish."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
photos,
24 April 2014
By: mkwatty
from Minneapolis, MN
"The Orvis website needs to post a photo of the INSIDE of the bag instead of the 3 luggage tags. The inside has changed from prior offerings of the same bag (i.e., 2011 model) and buyers need to know the difference. Aside from that, the bag, as configured, is not as functional as before but still a great overnight."
Review 13 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right size,
23 April 2014
By: BRlikesOrvis
from Left Coast of MI
"I do multiple overnight trips and this works very well as non-checked bag on an airliner. It's durable and easy to spot on a carrousel when I do check it. It has a system to connect to other Orvis luggage I have so I can expand its capacity. Nice!!"
Review 14 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Luggage,
18 April 2014
By: Striker2014
from Walterboro, SC
"I now have several pieces of the Battenkill Luggage. Not only does it look good, it is functional. I use this luggage almost on a daily basis and it looks as good today as it did 6yrs ago when I bought it. The quality and durability is well worth the price."
Review 15 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Carry-on,
21 March 2014
By: JedZeke
from Chestertown, MD
"I got my wife one of these carry-ons several years ago. She raved about it so much I broke down and got one for myself. What a pleasure to use, and it carries a surprising amount of clothes.
The pull-out handle and wheels make it very easy to get around the airports and to transport in general
"
Review 16 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bag is too small,
13 March 2014
By: familytraveler
from Long Island, NY
"i already own the entire battenkill set. I decided to get another carry on. Everyone seems to use carry on bags instead of checking luggage when going on a short trip. I was very disappointed to discover that the updated version is about 1-2inches smaller all around. This adds up to a big difference. My new luggage can fit inside the old one. This is too bad because if this is the only bag I use for the weekend, I will not be taking much with me. We will be fighting over the old bag, which I never had trouble as a carry on before. It always fits in the overhead bin. If I realized the difference, I would not have bought it. I may still return it."
Review 17 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag,
25 February 2014
By: Tbwilcox
from San Francisco, CA
""Once" it got here (4days past
Promised delivery date)
Bag itself is extremely well made
And handsome! I have the larger
One (same style & color) 7 yrs old
Which still looks great!
"
Review 18 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product!,
20 February 2014
By: OleMissFan
from University, MS
"We just started our second son on this Battenkill luggage collection. Our older son has been using his for several years. This size is perfect for weekend travel."
Review 19 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Caution,
20 January 2014
By: onthestream
from Dallas,TX
"Bought this piece as a gift for my son who travels a bit for work. On the first trip(flight), the back of the case separated from the extended handle and frame. Not sure exactly how this happened but hoping for an exchange."
Review 20 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built,
13 January 2014
By: Atchimo
from Portland, OR
"I've had this bag about 5 years and have never regretted getting it, although with the price I thought about it for a long time before I bought it. Compared to other brands of bags the lining has a softer yet more durable feel, outside doesn't seem to pick up dirt, and the wheels still turn like new. Easy to handle. Fits overhead compartments with end (as opposed to side) facing the aisle. Overall, a well built high quality product. Needs repair after airline somehow tore aluminum in the side handle."