Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™

Carry everything you need for a three-day trip—all in our rolling carry-on luggage. New features include signature plaid lining, main compartment with locking zipper design with double-knotted leather pulls. Includes a 10"x 8" clear PVC zippered TSA compliant bag for carrying on 3.5 oz. or less liquids. Smaller zippered compartment on front has leather trimmed neoprene slash pocket for laptop/iPad. Smooth-rolling ball-bearing wheels. Single-hand retractable handle. Three exterior pockets. Detachable cargo hook and leather luggage tag included. Rolling carry-on luggage in green/brown. 22"H x 14"W x 9"D; 2,772 cu. in. Pure cotton canvas and genuine leather. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.392 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
37
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 star
3
43 of 51(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Review 1 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Too short,
05 September 2014
By: ThomasGibb
from Longwood
"Shorter than my other older Orvis roll-on bags. Several things do not fit this bag that do fit in my older Orvis roll-on. It is coming apart after just a few uses. It separated at the roll-on handle and frayed on top."
Review 2 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this suitcase!!!,
16 June 2014
By: MiamiTraveler
"The suitcase is so perfect for carry on. I dropped it in the metal frame and there was room to pack full and still fit within the frame at the gate.
The suitcase is so well built, built to last. Definitely recommend to anyone.
"
Review 3 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Attractive carry on,
11 June 2014
By: SeamusL
from Brooklyn, NY
"I bought this as a replacement for an earlier model that after 15 years or so had had it. I have only used it once. It is slightly smaller than the original. It seems well-made and it is certainly attractive."
Review 4 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Carry-On!!,
12 May 2014
By: Zach901
from Memphis, TN
"This is the last carry-on I will ever have to purchase. The quality is unmatched to other carry-on’s I have had in the past. This is the second piece of luggage I have purchase from Orvis and 5 years later it still matches my new carry-on."
Review 5 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry On with style,
06 May 2014
By: Traveller72
from Massachusetts
"I have owned several other Battenkill pieces for years. This was a natural addition to my collection for weekend trips or longer trips where my larger suitcase is not enough. I love the compartment for my laptop with outside zippers which make going thru security a breeze. Identification with my initials engraved on a brass plate makes ownership plain if the bag were to be checked. Fits overhead compartments without any trouble. Love this suitcase."
Review 6 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04 May 2014
By: Kjfgrsdg
"The wife gave this to me as a bday gift-- it's the perfect size or weekend trips or work trips. Very rugged and stylish."
Review 7 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
photos,
24 April 2014
By: mkwatty
from Minneapolis, MN
"The Orvis website needs to post a photo of the INSIDE of the bag instead of the 3 luggage tags. The inside has changed from prior offerings of the same bag (i.e., 2011 model) and buyers need to know the difference. Aside from that, the bag, as configured, is not as functional as before but still a great overnight."
Review 8 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The right size,
23 April 2014
By: BRlikesOrvis
from Left Coast of MI
"I do multiple overnight trips and this works very well as non-checked bag on an airliner. It's durable and easy to spot on a carrousel when I do check it. It has a system to connect to other Orvis luggage I have so I can expand its capacity. Nice!!"
Review 9 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Luggage,
18 April 2014
By: Striker2014
from Walterboro, SC
"I now have several pieces of the Battenkill Luggage. Not only does it look good, it is functional. I use this luggage almost on a daily basis and it looks as good today as it did 6yrs ago when I bought it. The quality and durability is well worth the price."
Review 10 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Carry-on,
21 March 2014
By: JedZeke
from Chestertown, MD
"I got my wife one of these carry-ons several years ago. She raved about it so much I broke down and got one for myself. What a pleasure to use, and it carries a surprising amount of clothes.
The pull-out handle and wheels make it very easy to get around the airports and to transport in general
"
Review 11 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
bag is too small,
13 March 2014
By: familytraveler
from Long Island, NY
"i already own the entire battenkill set. I decided to get another carry on. Everyone seems to use carry on bags instead of checking luggage when going on a short trip. I was very disappointed to discover that the updated version is about 1-2inches smaller all around. This adds up to a big difference. My new luggage can fit inside the old one. This is too bad because if this is the only bag I use for the weekend, I will not be taking much with me. We will be fighting over the old bag, which I never had trouble as a carry on before. It always fits in the overhead bin. If I realized the difference, I would not have bought it. I may still return it."
Review 12 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great bag,
25 February 2014
By: Tbwilcox
from San Francisco, CA
""Once" it got here (4days past
Promised delivery date)
Bag itself is extremely well made
And handsome! I have the larger
One (same style & color) 7 yrs old
Which still looks great!
"
Review 13 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product!,
20 February 2014
By: OleMissFan
from University, MS
"We just started our second son on this Battenkill luggage collection. Our older son has been using his for several years. This size is perfect for weekend travel."
Review 14 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Caution,
20 January 2014
By: onthestream
from Dallas,TX
"Bought this piece as a gift for my son who travels a bit for work. On the first trip(flight), the back of the case separated from the extended handle and frame. Not sure exactly how this happened but hoping for an exchange."
Review 15 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well built,
13 January 2014
By: Atchimo
from Portland, OR
"I've had this bag about 5 years and have never regretted getting it, although with the price I thought about it for a long time before I bought it. Compared to other brands of bags the lining has a softer yet more durable feel, outside doesn't seem to pick up dirt, and the wheels still turn like new. Easy to handle. Fits overhead compartments with end (as opposed to side) facing the aisle. Overall, a well built high quality product. Needs repair after airline somehow tore aluminum in the side handle."
Review 16 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful bag,
17 December 2013
By: dejapa682
from Staten Island, NY
"I have yet to find an Orvis/Gokey product that was not exceptional. I have Gokey Sauvage Oxfords and Hikers purchased in the '70s that have been repaired (soles and heels) several times and each time they are returned, they are in an almost brand-new condition. This Battenkill Carry-on is of the same high quality. The items may seem pricey, but you get what you pay for."
Review 17 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
18 November 2013
By: chbieder
"I have owned this case for 19 years and although fading, all the zippers, wheels, and handle still work without problems. i couldn't be happier.
We prchased Orvis's largerst suitcase as well, unfortunately it's zipper broke on the first use. Orvis replaced it very promptly and it has been fine for the last 8 years of regular use by our daughter who overstuffs it every time."
Review 18 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good little bag!,
11 September 2013
By: Anonymous
from Breckenridge
"I got this bag within 24 hours at a cost but that cost was cheaper than driving to Orvis shop in Denver and back. Good job shipping!
I have used it twice and will use it two more times in the next month. It is sturdy and attactive as the rest of our Orvis bags are. I have been particulary happy about how much stuff I am able to cram into it thanks to the many extra pockets. I am really happy with the bag!
"
Review 19 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Contender not a pretender!,
30 August 2013
By: fsuRoss
from orlando, fl
"Best carryon out there. I've had 2 roller duffles bite the dust since I bought this one. I travel all over the south and no zipper, wheel issues at all. I liked it so much I bought its larger cousin too!"
Review 20 for Battenkill® Carry-on Rollacase™
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carry on,
19 August 2013
By: 04javaxt
from Boca Raton, Fl
"Great efficient bag I liked it so much I bought one also for my wife"