Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foothills Cargo Pants

Conquer the hills in your backyard or afar. Our 6.2-oz. pure cotton pants are equal to your every adventure. Pure cotton has advantages over other fabrics: It breathes well, is durable, and becomes even more comfortable year after year. Two secure cargo pockets on the left side offer plenty of storage; a zip-secured flat pocket keeps cash safe. Double front pockets, with secure zip on each side. Two rear zip-closed pockets. Mock-leather reinforcement on pocket edges. Pleated front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-46. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.433 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (134 reviews)
5 stars
88
4 stars
25
3 stars
14
2 stars
5
1 star
2
119 of 134(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foothills Cargo Pants
Review 1 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Pants,
31 March 2015
By: Bobra
from IL
"Really enjoy these pants. Just took a trip to Calif and wore them both ways and loved them. Comfortable to wear and plenty of secure pocket space."
Review 2 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Travel Pants,
24 March 2015
By: Jerome1
"The pants are handsome and arrived pressed. Travelers will like the many zippered pockets to secure currencies and wallets. I would rate these trousers at 5 but am waiting to register final judgement until after a few washings"
Review 3 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exactly what I was seeking,
09 March 2015
By: dwc309
from Boulder, Colorado area
"These pants were exactly as described in the product description. The zippered pockets behind the main pockets were bigger than hoped. The only thing about them is maybe they would be better if they zipped up instead of down.
The only reason for not a 5 star rating is that I've only had them for a week. So far they've been 5 stars. Will try to remember to follow up."
Review 4 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Follow-up after road trip,
27 February 2015
By: Tourist1
"I wrote a review after I first received these pants, and am now following up after it's first "big" test.
Still love the fit, and the material was very light and comfortable for my holiday in India.
However, it seems the weight of just my compact camera and guide book in the left sided pockets put a bit of a strain on the zip seam. A half-inch length of stretch/run has appeared along the stitching of the pants's zip. I like a loose fit, so I can only assume the drag happens when I'm sitting.
The other problem was found when I got home and put them in the wash. The colour of the faux leather trimming ran, leaving some stains on my khaki pair.
I'll still wear both pairs though, as they really are very comfortable and practical while looking reasonably classy.
"
Review 5 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable,
27 February 2015
By: Racey2076
from Darlington, UK.
"A good fit and very comfortable. They have that "worn in " feel from the start."
Review 6 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
May Be,
26 February 2015
By: Oz1985
from London/Italy
"Material good, enough pockets for once, but the pleated front a big no no too old fashioned even for me at seventy plus, very sad that I had to return them. My good lady's description fitted very around the bum but not so nice in front the pleats spoilt the trousers completely.
SHAME
"
Review 7 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Looking Pants,
18 February 2015
By: zip111
from western Colorado
""Leather" trim gives these pants an upscale look. Fit is good. Can't go wrong with Orvis quality and service."
Review 8 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favourite trousers,
11 February 2015
By: SimonFunge
from Warwick, UK
"I like these so much that I have just bought 2 pairs. I don't know of any other trousers that offer 2 full size pockets on the side, so useful. I don't know why Orvis never offer trousers in black but no problem. Buy a packet of Dylon black dye from the supermarket and put it with them in the washing machine & they come out jet black, apart from the stitching which makes a nice contrast as that stays white."
Review 9 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Fitting Slacks,
06 February 2015
By: DWBryan
from Atlanta, GA
"The Foothills Cargo Pants are good looking. Compliments came unsolicited the first time worn. They fit well to size and comfortable to wear. I will purchase it in the second color offered."
Review 10 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holiday trousers,
06 February 2015
By: Hairymick
from Stratford upon Avon
"Excellent quality trousers,
Comfortable and secure. Ideal for those visits to towns and countries where one can be surprised by the ability of young ladies to get into ones pockets unawares.
"
Review 11 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cargo Pants,
05 February 2015
By: regiduer
from EAST MEREDITH,NY
"Out of approx. 17 pair the best I
ever bought. Love all the zippers
to close the pockets.
"
Review 12 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 January 2015
By: RWG21
from Windsor uk.
"Excellent. And very comfy fit. Easy care and not much need to iron. Great size pockets."
Review 13 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding...as expected!,
20 January 2015
By: SeaMammal
from San Francisco, California
"The trousers are comfortable and well made. Their design is practical and well thought out....both stylish AND functional. The zippered pockets provide added security while the faux leather trim adds a touch of masculinity."
Review 14 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My all time favourite trousers,
09 January 2015
By: SimonFunge
from Warwick, UK
"These are so comfortable, go straight from the washer to the dryer, and always look and feel great."
Review 15 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Even classier than 14 pocket cargo's!,
24 December 2014
By: Anzio
from Brookline, MA
"Love these slacks! Great fit, use them for the office or hanging out or yard work! Fit is great! I love them cuffed for dressy occasions! The little leather strip is very cool. Like the 14 pocket cargo's, I just wish these came in more colors and I would buy up the store!
AE Haley
Brookline, MA
"
Review 16 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Could Be Great,
14 December 2014
By: VXero
"I really like the weight and softness of the cotton material. The mock leather reinforcements are a nice touch. I'm not that fond of pleated pants; I wish Orvis would offer a flat front version. But having the cargo pockets on only one side looks and feels weird. With my pocket knife, flashlight, pen, and wallet all in the cargo pockets, I feel lopsided. Why aren't there cargo pockets on the right side?"
Review 17 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, not great,
07 December 2014
By: Tourist1
"Bought one of each color for upcoming trip to India. I was pleasantly surprised with the comfortable fit. The number of pockets is great, but as one reviewer noted, the back and cargo pockets are a bit shallow. Also, the cargo pocket does weigh heavy even when empty. I would have preferred fabric zips especially for the back pockets as the metal ones are a bit "scratchy" on the hands. Love the khaki pair, but the "olive" is closer to "dark brown". Overall fairly happy with the pants, albeit rather pricey."
Review 18 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for Travel,
03 December 2014
By: Entroute72
from Ulaanbaatar Mongoloia
"These pants are a blessing on long flights where you need to protect your documents and have comfortable wear for sleep"
Review 19 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
22,000 feet down or up,
14 November 2014
By: Miquel
from UK
"My role requires me to visit gold mining sites. Whether 14,000 feet underground in South Africa or 8,000 feet up in Colorado, these "Foothills" cargo pants always go with me. Rugged, practical and comfortable always."
Review 20 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Had to buy another pair!,
03 November 2014
By: JohnR1217
from Chicago
"I bought a pair of these pants earlier this year in anticipation of a trip to Italy. I got so many nice comments about them on the trip, I just had to get another pair. They are great for traveling due to the secure pockets. They are a little more dressy than traditional cargo pants and have a great fit as well."