Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Foothills Cargo Pants

Conquer the hills in your backyard or afar. Our 6.2-oz. pure cotton pants are equal to your every adventure. Pure cotton has advantages over other fabrics: It breathes well, is durable, and becomes even more comfortable year after year. Two secure cargo pockets on the left side offer plenty of storage; a zip-secured flat pocket keeps cash safe. Double front pockets, with secure zip on each side. Two rear zip-closed pockets. Mock-leather reinforcement on pocket edges. Pleated front. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Even waist sizes 32-42. Cuffed up to 34" or plain finished up to 35" at no extra charge.
Average Customer Rating:
4.436 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (149 reviews)
5 stars
98
4 stars
27
3 stars
17
2 stars
5
1 star
2
133 of 149(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Foothills Cargo Pants
Review 1 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect buy,
18 July 2015
By: Wyleen22
from Isle of Wight
"Since wearing this garment my husband has not lost anything, a miracle. Zippered pockets designed along with the normal trouser pocket are wonderful"
Review 2 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great travel pants,
17 July 2015
By: SapphireBlue
from Port Townsend WA
"I bought the cargo pants for my husband, who likes zippered pockets for travel. He's very happy with the purchase -- likes the style, color and fit."
Review 3 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Could be better,
03 July 2015
By: Tain
from Scottish Highlands
"Fine quality, as one might expect from Orvis, but the fit is too baggy and not helped by the pleated front. I returned them."
Review 4 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cargo pants,
02 July 2015
By: Robert1935
from Cheshire - UK
"I have tried various makes of cargo pants but the Orvis product is by far the best yet. I am very pleased with the construction and fit."
Review 5 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice pants,
26 June 2015
By: gholley
"These are very comfortable, with lots of pockets. was nice to get the correct length as it was custom tailored. I must say the zippers are a little rough on the hands going in and out of zippered pockets. They feel like laying in expensive sheets to wear though. My wife likes the way they look too!"
Review 6 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 3 OF A KIND,
16 June 2015
By: KRAUTHEAD
from DALLAS,TX
"THIS IS THE THIRD CONSECUTIVE
TIME I HAVE BOUGHT THESE PANTS. WHY? BECAUSE THEY ARE GREAT!
"
Review 7 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great multi- purpose product,
08 June 2015
By: Jsdone
from Greensboro, NC
"Purchased the Foothills pants and the 14 pocket expedition pants on one order because I could not decide which I liked the best. Both pants are nice and light weight, both fit well and are well made and typical Orvis quality. The Foothills product have a more tailored fit and appearance from a general cut standpoint, the leather trim features are an upgrade in look as well. The cargo pockets are nice and clean and not baggy, the best thing about the pants are the wonderful zippered pockets in front and backwhich are easy to open and close using the leather tabs. The 14 pocket expedition pants are a looser cut and easy to move around in and travel in due to the slightly fuller cut. I will keep both pair because both are great additions to my wardrobe."
Review 8 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best cargo pants i ever had,
26 May 2015
By: florent29
from Melbourne Australia
"I really like all pockets , really light and strong as well. Perfect when i go for hiking and fishing ."
Review 9 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pants,
14 May 2015
By: GaryOrvis6262
from Bloomfield Hills, MI
"I initially ordered the wrong size and they were quickly credited and exchanged. Great fabric, great fit. Love the pants."
Review 10 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Purchase,
14 May 2015
By: Stokie73
from Derbyshire
"I selected these pants because I wanted quality plus secure pockets for travelling.They fulfill all my requirements including being an excellent fit."
Review 11 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
06 May 2015
By: Billnfk213
from lincolnshire uk
"lots of lovely pockets, light weight, ideal for traveling. fit very well. just what I was looking for. Well done Orvis"
Review 12 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was a hit,
06 May 2015
By: NanaJuJu
"I purchased these for a birthday present for my husband. The sizing is very accurate - they fit perfectly. He is pleased with the look and the presence of so many secure pockets. The color and feel of the fabric also met his approval."
Review 13 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like the style,
24 April 2015
By: Franklin123
"Nice pockets with zippers.
Nice style and comfortable to wear"
Review 14 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
consistency,
22 April 2015
By: sea7gull4
"of my purchases since 1997(?)
reflects the pleasure and confidence
I have enjoyed to wear and be seen
in my Orvis wardrobe.."
Review 15 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not enough selvage to adjust the waist,
16 April 2015
By: Designman
from Chadds Ford, Pa
"I ordered these pants because I wanted a light cool pair for hot weather and I liked the faux leather trim. Sadly my local store did not carry the item. The largest size is 42. Whether I can wear a 42 or not depends on the cut of the pants. I emphasized this when I ordered. The pants were just tight enough to be uncomfortable. I wanted to adjust the waist at a tailor's but could not because there was no selvage to let them out a bit. To me that is poor design. Also all Orvis's pants should be made at least up to 44. Why do all the very cool weight pants stop at 40 or 42 at the most? Orvis graciously accepted the return."
Review 16 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Pants,
31 March 2015
By: Bobra
from IL
"Really enjoy these pants. Just took a trip to Calif and wore them both ways and loved them. Comfortable to wear and plenty of secure pocket space."
Review 17 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Good Travel Pants,
24 March 2015
By: Jerome1
"The pants are handsome and arrived pressed. Travelers will like the many zippered pockets to secure currencies and wallets. I would rate these trousers at 5 but am waiting to register final judgement until after a few washings"
Review 18 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Exactly what I was seeking,
09 March 2015
By: dwc309
from Boulder, Colorado area
"These pants were exactly as described in the product description. The zippered pockets behind the main pockets were bigger than hoped. The only thing about them is maybe they would be better if they zipped up instead of down.
The only reason for not a 5 star rating is that I've only had them for a week. So far they've been 5 stars. Will try to remember to follow up."
Review 19 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Follow-up after road trip,
27 February 2015
By: Tourist1
"I wrote a review after I first received these pants, and am now following up after it's first "big" test.
Still love the fit, and the material was very light and comfortable for my holiday in India.
However, it seems the weight of just my compact camera and guide book in the left sided pockets put a bit of a strain on the zip seam. A half-inch length of stretch/run has appeared along the stitching of the pants's zip. I like a loose fit, so I can only assume the drag happens when I'm sitting.
The other problem was found when I got home and put them in the wash. The colour of the faux leather trimming ran, leaving some stains on my khaki pair.
I'll still wear both pairs though, as they really are very comfortable and practical while looking reasonably classy.
"
Review 20 for Foothills Cargo Pants
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable,
27 February 2015
By: Racey2076
from Darlington, UK.
"A good fit and very comfortable. They have that "worn in " feel from the start."