Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater

Layer for cooler fall weather with these handsome wool quarter-zip sweaters for men. We use the finest merino wool available to create a soft, warm jersey-knit sweater that doesn't add unnecessary weight or bulk. Rib-knit trim and genuine leather appointments for distinctive looks and long wear. Sweaters for men are made of pure merino wool. Personalization with embroidery up to 3 letters available for this item. Initials will be listed as first, last, middle with the last initial in larger font. Embroidery on left chest in Orvis green thread. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.707 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (256 reviews)
5 stars
207
4 stars
32
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
3
246 of 256(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sweater,
20 December 2014
By: Npas
from Alexandria VA
"My husband had this sweater in brown and it is frequently worn, so Santa is bringing him 2 more colors! It is the best, most handsome sweater. Warm, but not bulky and casual, but a wearable to the office. Great value for the quality."
Review 2 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hits the Jackpot!!,
20 December 2014
By: ChampagneSLS
from Midlothian, VA
"This is the most flattering sweater on all people, especially my husband.
He now has 2 and next year, I shall buy him another. Please continue to carry this item. IT is fabulous;
"
Review 3 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and Versatile,
19 December 2014
By: Wayne101
from Nashville,,TN
"So far this season I have purchased four of these, one for a gift in wine, and for myself; Royal, Purple and the Autumn which I have not received yet. I like the weight and I can wear it with a long sleeve shirt or with a short sleeve slip on. It is soft and warm. 100% wool, it is nice and worth the money."
Review 4 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift for my husband and son,
19 December 2014
By: pattybowers
from Ellicott City, MD
"I have purchased the 1/4 zip sweaters from Orvis year after year. This is my husbands goto sweater! It washes great and looks awesome and never wears out! Excellent quality!"
Review 5 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Everyday Sweaters,
19 December 2014
By: Tevere
from Small Point, Maine
"These are my favorite sweaters ever. I own four now (three, really, since the closet moths ate one of them!) They're a perfect weight for everyday wear fall through spring, hold their shape well, and the design and detailing are very clean and handsome. Just as nice with old jeans as with dress pants and a necktie."
Review 6 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sweater,
19 December 2014
By: DavidMc6
from Kincardineshire
"Fine Sweater,easy care. So good I bought a second one."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
An Excellent Product,
18 December 2014
By: windwardeight8
from Oxford, Ct
"This was a gift for our very particular son who has everything. He loved it!! Why? Because of the weight of the wool, it fit beautifully over his shirts and the detailing was masculine, yet sophisticated. Also, it is offered in a variety of excellent colors. I and he would purchase another."
Review 8 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & nice fitting sweater,
18 December 2014
By: JLbassman1213
from Duluth, Mn
"This Merino wool sweater is dressy, stylish, comfortable & warm.
Not bulky like many sweaters are.
This is a well made product.
I would highly recommend this sweater.
"
Review 9 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
18 December 2014
By: DebraB
"This is the second of these sweaters I have purchased for my 18 year old son. They are beautifully constructed with handsome detailing on the zipper. Can be worn with jeans or nice slacks. Reasonably priced, especially if you have a coupon. I would recommend this sweater for all ages."
Review 10 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cover boy,
18 December 2014
By: Sink
from Thousand Oaks, CA
"Excellent product, well made. Makes
me look like the catalog cover.
Warm without bulk.
Received on day indicated.
Plastic bag with sweater was jammed
in mail box, but no apparent damage.
A box would be better.
"
Review 11 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
18 December 2014
By: JC15
from Quebec, Canada
"Great product,warm & soft,I wear XLarge and that fit well . Overall it a very good garment."
Review 12 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought as a gift.,
17 December 2014
By: Sandiapple
"It arrived on time. Was really well accepted. Person called to thank us immediately. Never ordered from Orvis before. Couldn't be more satisfied with the results. Thanks"
Review 13 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome!,
17 December 2014
By: Scott112
from Wisconsin
"This is now my favorite sweater. It is very light and thin so it's comfortable all day in the office without overheating. A very well made, sharp looking sweater."
Review 14 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
17 December 2014
By: Axel1955
from Alberta, Canada
"I purchased my first Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater just over a year ago. I now have 3 for me and have purchased my son 4; and he asked for a couple from Santa this year. My son works in accounting and wears one to the office most winter days."
Review 15 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
17 December 2014
By: ASTROBOB
from Crown Point IN
"They don't get any better than this sweater -- top notch styling, roomy, comfortable and good to go anywhere. Just had to buy another one. Might continue buying."
Review 16 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater Ever,
17 December 2014
By: Willie30
from Ada, MI
"Love the color; is lightweight but very warm. Liked it so much, ordered a second."
Review 17 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
16 December 2014
By: luvmylabzeke
from Columbia, SC
"Great sweater, not too heavy. Can be worn casual or dressed up."
Review 18 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Standout Among Many,
16 December 2014
By: Onevolt
from Edmonds, Wa
"There are many zipneck sweaters now offered by many companies, but the texture of the wool, the leather accent at the zipper, and the vividness of the color (purple) make mine the clear winner!"
Review 19 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
16 December 2014
By: lmws
"Bought as a gift for a very picky brother and he loves it!"
Review 20 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality,
16 December 2014
By: Kenan
from Scranton, Pa
"This sweater is exceptional quality. The medium size for me fits perfect and allows free arm movement while maintaining its sleek look. My only hesitation on it is it is lighter weight than I had though for a wool sweater. It is however a perfect sweater for all occasions especially where a the attire required is more formal."