Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater

Layer for cooler fall weather with these handsome wool quarter-zip sweaters for men. We use the finest merino wool available to create a soft, warm jersey-knit sweater that doesn't add unnecessary weight or bulk. Rib-knit trim and genuine leather appointments for distinctive looks and long wear. Sweaters for men are made of pure merino wool. Personalization with embroidery up to 3 letters available for this item. Initials will be listed as first, last, middle with the last initial in larger font. Embroidery on left chest in Orvis green thread. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (316 reviews)
5 stars
261
4 stars
38
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
3
306 of 316(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best sweater ever,
26 January 2015
By: JoeH1
from Stroudsburg, PA
"My Merino Zip-Neck Sweater is by far the sharpest sweater in my collection."
Review 2 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and comfy,
26 January 2015
By: EricNB
from Western Massachusetts
"Great for work or a day at home. Merino wool is soft and non-itchy, warm without being uncomfortable or cloying. Got the first one as a gift and ended up buying two more."
Review 3 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Definitely solid purchase,
23 January 2015
By: Jreview
"Firstly, I'm not exactly the typical Orvis purchaser, from what I've seen. I'm a younger person, of more slight build than many products are cut for. However, this pullover works out nicely for me. The fabric is very soft (a little thinner than anticipated, but quite nice), and drapes pretty well. I'm 6'3", 175 lbs, and the large is only slightly bigger than I'd prefer. Worth noting that the collar is a bit untraditional- it's hard to describe, but it's not by any means a negative."
Review 4 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat customer,
23 January 2015
By: Fabrizio
from New Jersey
"Received as a gift at Christmas and loved it so much ordered another. One. Great fit, not bulky , vey comfortable. And good price (especially when on sale!)"
Review 5 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really good sweater,
22 January 2015
By: WannabeOutdoorsyGuy
"I agree with the other reviewers that the sweater is extremely comfortable, warm and good looking. Every time I wear it, I receive positive comments and it gets noticed all day. While I normally wear a Medium, for Orvis sweaters I need to order Smalls to avoid swimming in them. Orvis does not always offer every sweater in Small - just noting."
Review 6 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit!,
20 January 2015
By: BJDW
from Greenville, SC
"My husband wears a size small and this sweater was a perfect fit for him. We would have bought more colors if they had been available. The sweater is lightweight, but warm."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
15 January 2015
By: McDRugby
from Latham, NY
"I received an Orvis Merino wool zip-neck sweater for Christmas and it was great right out of the box.
I've worn it several times, pairing it with various shirts and was complimented each time. I liked the sweater so much I ordered another one in dark green and my only regret is that I did not order it in navy before it sold out in my size.
I hope this is an Orvis staple for years to come.
"
Review 8 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Sweater,
14 January 2015
By: FourXFive
from Asheville, NC
"These sweaters are just perfect. The quality, the softness, the weight are just great. I have four in different colors."
Review 9 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loved it.,
07 January 2015
By: SEBC
"Fit very well. The material of this sweater was very soft. Will certainly make future purchases from Orvis. Was shipped in timely fashion."
Review 10 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous Product,
06 January 2015
By: Baxterpuppy1
from Richmond, VA
"Although I did not receive my sweater until after Christmas, I already consider it my favorite sweater. It is beautiful, soft, and quite comfortable. I wear it on every occasion I can."
Review 11 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made and functional,
05 January 2015
By: Sealman
from Long Island, NY
"Saw them in the store and thought they were very nice quality. Decided to give as a gift for Christmas."
Review 12 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality as usual,
05 January 2015
By: Jackaroo
from Richmond , VA
"This sweater was a gift for my father and I received nothing but high marks regarding the quality and the fit of this sweater. My dad is not easy to impress but he really went out of his way to let me know how much he enjoys wearing this sweater."
Review 13 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dress or Casual,
03 January 2015
By: jtfrance
from South Salem, NY
"very comfortable, collar works with tie or casual. great fabric, but prone to wear."
Review 14 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome sweater,
02 January 2015
By: Daveswife
from MN
"Super soft, great fit and color! Leather trim around the zipper adds alot. Dave loves it and I'm glad I bought it!"
Review 15 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, well made, perfect fit,
02 January 2015
By: saintlawrence
from The armpit of America
"This is the 3rd sweater of this type I've purchased from Orvis - each was a different color but quality and fit were the same - excellent."
Review 16 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High quality stuff,
02 January 2015
By: NYRandy
from internet
"Good value for the quality stuff. Not disappointed."
Review 17 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these sweaters,
02 January 2015
By: Esample
from Houston, TX
"Purchase these sweaters every year. Love the leather tag on zipper. Great with jeans or dressed up with slacks."
Review 18 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gift Item,
02 January 2015
By: TriciaS
from Nebraska
"We ordered these for the men who work outside. They look sharp and the sweater is great for layering."
Review 19 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love Orvis,
02 January 2015
By: susie681423
"Orvis has top quality merchandise and I am never disapointed when i receive their merchandise in the mail"
Review 20 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT COLD WEATHER GEAR,
01 January 2015
By: BINGS57
from Rochester,NY
"A SUPER SEATER FOR EVERY DAY AND OR EVEN A CASUAL NIGHT OUT OVER A DRESS SHIRT.
VERY WARM AND JUST FEELS GREAT ON.
HIGHLY RECOMMEND FOR ALL PURPOSES.
PLAN TO PURCHASE ANOTHER COLOR.
"