Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater

Layer for cooler fall weather with these handsome wool quarter-zip sweaters for men. We use the finest merino wool available to create a soft, warm jersey-knit sweater that doesn't add unnecessary weight or bulk. Rib-knit trim and genuine leather appointments for distinctive looks and long wear. Sweaters for men are made of pure merino wool. Personalization with embroidery up to 3 letters available for this item. Initials will be listed as first, last, middle with the last initial in larger font. Embroidery on left chest in Orvis green thread. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.653 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (199 reviews)
5 stars
156
4 stars
26
3 stars
11
2 stars
3
1 star
3
189 of 199(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great layering piece,
20 November 2014
By: Picknpop
from Connecticut
"A lightweight, yet warm, layering piece that I wear over an long-sleeved shirt when inside and throw a wool shirt, and/or vest, over when outside. A handsome, insulating layer of warmth."
Review 2 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
19 November 2014
By: SalieLou
from Williamsburg, VA
"I bought my husband one of these last year in green and he wore it so much I decided to get him another one. I love the leather trim! ORVIS never ceases to please!"
Review 3 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Delighted!,
15 November 2014
By: jaz5643
from Helensburgh, scotland
"looked at several zip neck sweaters before purchasing this one. Very happy, stylish, warm, comfortable, up to the usual Orvis high standard, you will not be disappointed."
Review 4 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Layer,
14 November 2014
By: Goose24
"I'm always impressed with the quality of Orvis' products and this one doesn't disappoint. I've never been much of a zip up sweater kind of guy but I love to wear this one, especially wearing it under the leather suede jacket I also purchased from Orvis. Keeps you warm and looking good."
Review 5 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
14 November 2014
By: egordon
from Memphis, TN
"I bought this sweater for my husband in Navy. It is such a great color and the fabric is very nice. The leather trim quarter-zip makes the sweater nice enough to wear under a sport coat but casual enough to wear with jeans. I am going to buy more colors for him. It was a great fit and true to size. We went one size up so he can wear dress shirts underneath, and it was a perfect fit."
Review 6 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best Sweater,
12 November 2014
By: Bondo3
from Newport, RI
"Excellent quality from top to bottom. The product is exactly as described on the web site. I would highly recommend it without hesitation."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sweater good....Ultra Ragg terrible,
10 November 2014
By: DeeBeeCee
"The sweater is nice. Not as good quality as others for the same price.
Ultra Rag sweatpants came with entire crotch seam torn.
"
Review 8 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice holiday sweater!,
08 November 2014
By: Travelingman44
from Plymouth, MA
"Just received the merino wool zip-neck in dark green. Great style, perfect fit for me in a medium, and great color for the holiday season. I especially like the leather rail along the zipper...adds a touch of style to a nice sweater!"
Review 9 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Merino Sweater - excellent fit and quality,
07 November 2014
By: jamesalastair
from Kincraig
"Superb quality jumper - the price is entirely justified. Quick and efficient delivery with good communication - Orvis are highly recommended."
Review 10 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
07 November 2014
By: Cmooredud
from St Paul, MN
"This is a beautiful sweater- warm, good looking and very comfortable. Bought is for my husband and he loves it!"
Review 11 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Merino Zip Neck,
07 November 2014
By: Bigray754
from Chicago, IL
"Nice weight, fit and quality. Just as advertised. I am happy with my purchase."
Review 12 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful Sweater,
03 November 2014
By: HMMJR
from PA
"Light weight but warm. Looks great. I own four of them. The only reason I didn't rate a 5 is because I wish they were a little more durable for the price. In my opinion many sweaters these days aren't made that durable. These are probably average to above average in terms of durability. Please note that I am picky."
Review 13 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice sweater,
03 November 2014
By: Rob1499
from Sacramento, CA
"I'm enjoying the sweater, seems to be a good value."
Review 14 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
A problem first time I wore it,
02 November 2014
By: greyfox999
from St Paul, MN
"I wore the sweater today for the first time and the left sleeve seam came apart starting at the cuff. I will be returning it."
Review 15 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful, but just not my style,
01 November 2014
By: theshot
from Indianapolis, IN
"Beautiful espresso color, soft fabric, but the zipper neckline just did not feel right to me. I will look for other items in the espresso color."
Review 16 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
31 October 2014
By: paulie68
from Syracuse, NY
"Lightweight, warm, good looking and in ten colors. Perfect for layering. I've got three, will probably get another."
Review 17 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lightweight Zip-Neck,
24 October 2014
By: GareC
from Bull Valley, IL
"Purchased this zip-neck for a trip overseas and it was perfect. Lightweight but warm and fit over everything nicely. Very comfortable and the color is deep and rich."
Review 18 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandson's favorite!,
23 October 2014
By: Gnome
"I gave this wonderful sweater to my oldest grandson, Robert for his birthday. We live on opposite coasts, Oregon and Massachusetts, but he called as soon as he opened his present SO excited. It was his first Orvis gift, after years of watching his Dad 's birthday Orvis gifts and Robert considers this beautiful sweater his "coming of age."
Gnome"
Review 19 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointing,
23 October 2014
By: oldergent
from Chicago, IL
"It looks good and it feels good but it is oh so skimpy. Very average and very disappointing. Not what I expect from Orvis."
Review 20 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A sweater for all occasions,
22 October 2014
By: Aaroncyn
from Longmeadow Ma.
"This merino wool zip neck sweater is wonderfully soft and light yet warm and comfortable."