Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater

Layer for cooler fall weather with these handsome wool quarter-zip sweaters for men. We use the finest merino wool available to create a soft, warm jersey-knit sweater that doesn't add unnecessary weight or bulk. Rib-knit trim and genuine leather appointments for distinctive looks and long wear. Sweaters for men are made of pure merino wool. Personalization with embroidery up to 3 letters available for this item. Initials will be listed as first, last, middle with the last initial in larger font. Embroidery on left chest in Orvis green thread. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.67 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (176 reviews)
5 stars
139
4 stars
23
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
2
168 of 176(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally,
15 October 2014
By: Redlt4
from St Clair Shores, Michigan
"Been waiting for the color black to be offered with this garment. Could not be more pleased, layer it or wear it solo, great year round sweater!"
Review 2 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite sweater...hands down,
09 October 2014
By: Gojushiho
"In short, I picked this sweater up when I was traveling and the weather was much cooler and rainy than expected. I walked into an Orvis retail outlet and bought this sweater in charcoal gray. That was a few years ago and I find that I wear it most everyday (in the appropriate season). More than that, it keeps me warm yet is not very heavy. Last, it seems to be indestructible as evidenced by my wife and son wearing it as well. You will not regret adding this sweater to your wardrobe."
Review 3 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Style,
08 October 2014
By: ReturningOrvisCustomer
from Long Island
"A classic sweater made of great light weight wool. Great to wear under a sport jacket ---I have all but two colors which I intend on getting soon."
Review 4 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
07 October 2014
By: Bigsky01234
from Denver, CO
"I own this sweater in several different colors. It's soft and warm and fits extremely well. Good value at the price."
Review 5 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good casual dress aweater,
03 October 2014
By: gerryj19
from Marblehead, MA
"This and it's V-neck sibling are lightweight sweaters that are ideal casual dress clothing. You can wear this on casual days at the office, but it's not for very cold weather in my view."
Review 6 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful sweater,
27 September 2014
By: mwest
"This is a sweater everyone should have. As expected the quality is exceptional. This sweater is made to wear, it is a light fabric but I can see it is going to hold up very well to a lot of winter use. Just what an Orvis customer would expect."
Review 7 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
08 September 2014
By: stumacd
from Arvada CO
"Great product: handsome, fits just right, and I expect years of wear because it is exceptionally well designed and built"
Review 8 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
31 July 2014
By: sooner1950
from Knoxville Tn
"I have this sweater in 4 of the colors offered and it is great for any season but i love it over a shirt int he winter!!! Light weight but warm and very versatile and comfortable. Orvis products are great but i love the service i get with Orvis at the store or on the phone. In the unlikely event i have a problem, it is taken care of immediatly with absolutly no problems!!! Many stores or Companies could learn from Orvis and their products and service."
Review 9 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great customer service,
04 April 2014
By: Dubrubber
from Chicago, Il
"Purchased two of these sweaters for Christmas gifts. One was worn several times over a dress shirt and the stitching in the armpit unraveled about 6 inches. I returned the sweater to the store in mid March and there was no hesitation to replace the sweater at no cost. Orvis definitely stands behind the products they sell. Both gift recipients loved the sweaters and the person who received the one that subsequently unraveled requested another just like it."
Review 10 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful & Warm,
03 March 2014
By: Z456
from Beverly Hills, MI
"This sweater is beautiful with subtle color variations only possible in fine wools. It is very warm although not at all bulky. I look forward to many years of compliments."
Review 11 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect fit and comfort,
03 March 2014
By: Wolfpack74
from Raleigh, NC
"Comfortable and suitable for any number of occasions. This sweater works well at the office, ball game or a gathering with friends."
Review 12 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Couldnt be better,
13 February 2014
By: Bradcaster
from Dallas
"Recently discovered Orvis' line and have revamped my wardrobe. Sweaters and sweatshirts are versatile, INCREDIBLY comfy and generously sized. Would give 10 stars if I could."
Review 13 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
first purchase,
12 February 2014
By: Joneth
from my location is Scottsdale AZ
"This was a gift for my best friend. He loved it and frequents your store. I will also check out your store for future purchases"
Review 14 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too Soon To Tell,
12 February 2014
By: Michael101
"Received this item less than 2 weeks ago. Haven't worn it yet, but looks good in my closet. Seems Orvis would give a little time to actually wear it."
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice Sweater, but Too Thin,
04 February 2014
By: Neotsu
from Oregon
"I was looking for a slightly heavier sweater when I ordered this one. Feel is nice, but the thin finish works better for layering than warming, and it clings tighter -- something not flattering to my physique. Had to send them back."
Review 16 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Sweater and Great Customer Service,
04 February 2014
By: XavierCt
from Connecticut
"I had an older version that shrunk but Orvis replaced it with no questions asked. This is why I will always come back Orivs, regardless of price"
Review 17 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
30 January 2014
By: Tudi
from Fremont, CA
"The sweater I ordered fit perfectly
and I love the color. I received it in
a timely order. Thank you.
"
Review 18 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!,
29 January 2014
By: PhilQ
"I have really enjoyed this sweater as it's both comfortable and stylish. Highly recommend it!"
Review 19 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Attractive sweater,
27 January 2014
By: redwine
"Sweater was very attractive. The fabric is soft and the fit is great."
Review 20 for Merino Wool Zip-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb for the price,
27 January 2014
By: IdahoBound
from Sun Valley, ID
"Comfortable. Warm. Easy to maintain and good looking. What more could you ask for Merino Wool."