Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pheasant Tail

One of the most useful feathers a nymph tier can have—use it for tails, legs, and herl bodies. Now it comes in a wide variety of colors to match many different aquatic insects. Pheasant feathers in natural brown, black, yellow, olive, green, orange, ginger, red. Two tails per pack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.818 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
28
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
32 of 33(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pheasant Tail
Review 1 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Consistently Dyed Pheasant Tail,
14 November 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"Includes two swords in each package. I use these for nymphs. The colors between these PT and the Orvis hare's mask seem to go well together"
Review 2 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality Pheasant Tail,
02 October 2014
By: KevinAZ
from Bothell, WA
"Dyed to a very consistent color. Long barbs make it easier to tie. Very little unusable material on this tail."
Review 3 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
24 July 2014
By: Gary1001
from Avondale, PA
"The tails are quality and shipped quickly with undamageable box. The price was right and color choices were available."
Review 4 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Stuff!!,
17 May 2014
By: LoyalhannaDave
from East of Pittsburgh Pa
"My first use of this to produce bead head pheasant tail nymph. Nice product, good\easy to work with."
Review 5 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Everything As Described,
31 March 2014
By: NewFlyTyer
from Gult Coast, Florida
"Before discovering these pheasant tails I was apprehensive about trying to tie pheasant tail nymph patterns. I still have a l-o-n-g way to go before I can tie tiny patterns with the quality of more experienced tiers, but at least I know these feathers are not at fault. Shipping was fast and secure and the feathers arrived in perfect shape. Now I just need to pay my dues at the bench!"
Review 6 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Nice,
26 March 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"I was delighted with the quality of the two tails I received."
Review 7 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seeing red,
10 February 2014
By: fredfish
from Branson, MO
"I always liked using pheasant tail in flies. Maybe it goes back to my childhood days of seeing all the feathers my grandfather had from his hunting trips. I also always like to have alittle red on my flies. Just sems to make a difference. By using dyed tails I can now add the red in a new way that the fish seem to like."
Review 8 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Product Quality,
13 February 2013
By: Sandbarsal
from Scotch Plains, NJ
"The fly was exactly as picture in the catalog. Materials used were of high quality and the proportions of the fly were exact. If I do not catch fish with this it certainly will not be the flies fault."
Review 9 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
No tall tale,
04 February 2013
By: Chuch
from Somerset, Pa.
"Ties great nymphs. I especially like the color of these tails when used in tying a Jaggar native nymph as well as the PT. Durable and strong. Some fibers ares sometimes a little short but not too often."
Review 10 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy,
21 December 2012
By: Flytier14
from Virginia
"The pheasant tail is sold at an excellent price for the quality and quantity of pheasant tail in the bag. Great for pheasant tail nymphs and many more flies. Great product and I am sure to buy more."
Review 11 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Feather,
21 December 2012
By: fleafly
from Clyde, South Lanarkshire
"Excellent feather for tying those nymphs, great colour and strength. You won't be disappointed if your looking for a high standard of quality from a feather."
Review 12 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good quality product,
30 September 2012
By: kelvin
"perfect feathers for nymphs and a good colour too."
Review 13 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flawless,
10 September 2012
By: cpl1775
"This is some of the best pheasant tail I've used. The fibers are strong and full unlike others I have used."
Review 14 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not bad,
25 August 2012
By: troutflyer
"there were two fieathers in the pack one was in good shape and the not so much"
Review 15 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
50 percent chance/Beautiful Dye Job,
22 June 2012
By: Michael1
from Germany
"First: I prefer these ORVIS Pheasant Tails above all others, except those natural ones from a small company in Britain ...
The other reviewers are correct. As this is a natural product the fiber length varies. This is why I give also only 4 stars here.
BUT: I have not yet seen a bag that did not allow to tie a Frank Sawyer original style Pheasant Tail Nymph (as shown by Oliver Edwards in his DVDs) just with the tail fibers and the fine (0,2 mm) copper wire on a size 14 hook (usually i use a size 16 here).
I went to a local fly shop and controlled 30 bags of different ORVIS PT bags in different colours. The result was that 30% of them had fibers as long as 6 cm, 70% where in the 4 cm range which is ok.
The dying job of these PTs is stunning and also includes difficult to find colours like black. I like the Red and Ginger also."
Review 16 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pheasant tail,
23 April 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"As with anything like this the product will differ from time to time, the tails I
received the fibres weren't long enough to wrap a size 14 nymph hook, I guess it is your luck to what you get, i Would have given this five stars if not for this
"
Review 17 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Long, Strong Barbs for PT Nymphs,
08 July 2011
By: elkomike
from Elko, NV
"With Charlie Craven's process PT nymphs are tied with 4 pheasant-tail barbs. To do this this requires long, strong barbs -- exactly what these tails provide. Besides this the colors work well for PT nymph patterns.
That is why Orvis is my source for pheasant tails."
Review 18 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pheasant Feathers,
25 January 2011
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"These feathers are great for both wet and nymph tails. Good color with good durability. Another Great Orvis product."
Review 19 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good buy,
29 March 2010
By: flyfish
from Pa.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great tail feathers, reminds me of the good old days when I use to harvest the wild pheasants in my state."
Review 20 for Pheasant Tail
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VERY NICE FEATHERS,BEST I HAVE SEEN YET,
21 November 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"PHEASENT FEATHERS SEEM TO BE A DIFFICULT FEATHER TO FIND THE RIGHT ONES,I MYSELF LIKE THE LONGER WIDER FEATHERS THE PROBLEM WITH THAT IS THEY ARE USUALLY TO STIFF TO USE FOR ANYTHING BUT TAIL FIBERS,HOWEVER LOOK AT THESE BEAUTYS BELOW LONG AND WIDE WITH SOFT FIBERS FROM TIP TO BASE AND THEY BEND NOT BREAK LIKE THE CHEAPER COMPANIES FEATHERS DO. I SEEN THIS THE LAST TRIP TO GA. AND SAID THE HECK WITH IT ILL GET THESE AND SEE HOW THEY WORK OUT.WELL THEYRE PERFECT, EXTREMELY LONG,NICE WIDE BASE TO TIP RATIO AND FOR $3 AND 8 COLORS TO CHOOSE FROM DING,DING,DING, WE GOT OURSELVES A WINNER HERE,ALL THE FLIES I TIE USING THESE FEATHERS SEEM TO LOOK BETTER TIE EASIER AND HOPEFULLY THE FISH WILL NOTICE THE BETTER QUALITY TO AND WANT TO GET A PIECE FOR THEMSELVES ANYWAY THESE ARE VERY NICE PHEASENT TAIL FEATHERS AND AS I SAID THEY ARE VERY HIGH QUALITY AND ARE PERFECT FOR ALL THE DIFFERENT STYLES OF TYING I DO A REAL WINNER HERE BROUGHT TO YOU BY THE BEST, ORVIS"