Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Strung Marabou

High-quality quill strung marabou. Best used for saltwater patterns, marabou spey. In white, black, red, yellow, gray, brown, orange, pink, purple, olive, tan, dark olive, Fluorescent colors: chartreuse, fuchsia, green, orange, blue. ¼ oz. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.529 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (17 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
2
1 star
0
16 of 17(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Strung Marabou
Review 1 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliabilit and quality,
18 August 2014
By: MickeyLawrence
from Central North Carolina
"I need or can't find locally. I try to go to the local store as often as I can just because of the "drool" factor involved and being up close and personal with the merchandise. They are always a big help when I need something or I am not sure of what I need and I know that I am getting great quality in my purchases."
Review 2 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love This Product,
07 March 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Ties great, convenient packaging. Great color saturation."
Review 3 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality Marabou,
18 February 2014
By: Stephen85
from Decatur, AL
"Good quality marabou that ties in great. Great quality!"
Review 4 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Almos,
11 February 2014
By: Almos
from Pa.
"Just starting out in the fly tying world and have order all I needed from the company that specializes in Fly Fishing and was not disappointed. The Marabou was very nice with deep color put together very well and very easy to work with. Thanks Orvis for helping me get started."
Review 5 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
msrabou,
27 January 2014
By: Troutman1
from Addison, Vermont
"marabou purchsed on-line can be tricky- but orvis products are always top quality."
Review 6 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marabou,
24 October 2013
By: Spartacus
from Upstate, SC
"Great color, very clean and nicely packaged. Long flowing fibers and good amount of feathers for price. Will shop here again."
Review 7 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Check your feathers before you buy,
24 September 2013
By: Ts47
from MD suburbs of DC
"I purchased 3 packs of marabou - white, olive and black. In all fairness, the white and olive were worthy of 4 stars or better. The black however, was just terrible and not worthy of 1 star. This one pack should have been caught by quality control. I opened the bag to basically find an explosion of little feather fragments. What was left was almost completely unusable for a woolly bugger tail. I recommend you check the package before you buy it. As I already stated, two out of the three packs of marabou were fine. Unfortunately, a 66% satisfaction ratio is cause for concern."
Review 8 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marabou a bit short,
01 March 2013
By: WoollyBugger
from Cleveland, Ohio
"The marabou feathers have nice color and good webbing, but they were a little short in length. In the past, I have found longer feathers which allow for better hackle collars. These are still good for tails."
Review 9 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality Feathers,
01 March 2013
By: mcuzino
from Fort Mill, SC
"These are quality feathers and I will order again. The Olive is a great deep color"
Review 10 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
21 December 2012
By: Flytier14
from Virginia
"This marabou is of the highest quality. It is an excellent buy for everyone who ties flies, whether they have just begun or have been tying for many years. It works great for all types of flies. For the quality and quantity of the marabou in the bag, it is definitely worth buying."
Review 11 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
11 May 2012
By: S4ndy
from Buckinghamshire
"This product is exactly what I was looking for. It is authentic, light and fluffy, handles well when tying. It can be successfully used as dubbing. It provides an excellent presentation when fishing as a fly or lure giving a life like and fluid movement. It mixes well with a few fine strands of Angel Hair making it sparkle as it catches the light. There is no substitute. The package contains a suitable quantity and exceeded my expectations."
Review 12 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strung Marabou,
04 March 2012
By: FireFly2
"Have been using this strung marabou in 4 different colors. All have tied and worked perfectly. Feathers are full and work great on streamers."
Review 13 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marabou Medium,
14 August 2011
By: Michael1
from Germany
"I recently tied a modern version of the Gray Ghost with marabou as a wing for better action. I used an ORVIS 4x Streamer Hook in size 8. Opening a marabou bag from another famous feather supplier dissapointed me: all marabou fibers were way too short for this application. I ordered this marabou and must say it is very good regarding its fiber length.
Also I disagree with the comment of the other reviewer, saying the amount was dissapointing: my bag contains more than enough feathers for the money. Actually the bags are stuffed! I bought several colors which are all very well dyed as well.
Highly recommended ORVIS fly tying material.
"
Review 14 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whats up orvis,
28 November 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from FLORIDA ,RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO, BOCA GRANDE
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I DONT QUITE GET IT,SO I GUESS ILL EXPLAIN THE PICTURES IM GOING TO ATTACH TO THIS, AS ALL KNOW IM A DIEHARD ORVIS FAN LOVE EVERYTHING ABOUT THERE COMPANY BUT WHAT IS THE DEAL WITH THE MARABOU PACKAGE BEING SO SMALL? ANYWAY I WAS WRITING THIS REVEIW TO SHOW OTHERS THAT ORVIS DOES ONE VERY NICE JOB ON DYING THERE PRODUCTS TO MATCH,PLEASE NOTE THE HACKLE AND MARABOU ON THE RIGHT SIDE ARE FROM ORVIS AND THE CLOR MATCH IS PERFECT THE MARABOU ON THE LEFT I BOUGHT AT CLOSING SALE HERE IN THE AREA FOR CHEAP BUT STILL IT IS OLIVE AS IS THE ORVIS MATERIAL ONT THE RIGHT AND IT IS NOT EVEN CLOSE TO MATCHING ORVIS'S OLIVE MARABOU AND HACKLE. AND THATS ONE THING I LIKE ABOUT ORVIS IS THEY HAVE SOME OF THE BEST COLORS AND 90% OF THE TIME IF ITS ORVIS MARABOU SUCH AS IN THE PICTURE IT WILL MATCH THE ORVIS STRUNG HACKLE GREAT FOR TYING BUGGERS HAVING AND IDENTICAL COLORS I HAVE NOT SEEN THIS QUALITY ANYWHERE ELSE,OTHERS COME CLOSE BUT ORVIS NAILS IT.
BUT ORVIS I HAVE TO SAY THIS PACKAGE OF MARABOU IS DEFINATELY SUBPAR IN SIZE BUT AS MY REVEIW WAS FOR WAS THE EXCELLENTJOB IN HOW YOUR COLORS MATCH FROM PRODUCT TO PRODUCT AND PEOPLE CAN EXPECT THAT I HOPE THIS ONCE IN A MILLION THING DOESNT DETRACT PEOPLE FROM BUYING IT MY GRAMPS AND I HAVE USE ORVISFOR YEARS AND ITS ALWAYS GREAT PRODUCTS,IM SURE THAT THIS PACKAGE JUST SLIPPED BY THE Q.C. GUY WHERE EVER ITS MADE AGAIN ORCIS HAS THE MOST RELIABLE AND TRUE MATCHING DYED PRODUCTS AROUND"
Review 15 for Strung Marabou
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
30 January 2009
By: Craigb
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"This is the smallest bag of marabou I have ever purchased for 3 dollars. I have received great tying products from Orvis, but this is not one."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team27 February 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for any disappointment caused by the quantity of marabou provided. Orvis thanked the customer for providing this feedback and offered to send some additional marabou to the customer. Orvis would like to point out that this product is sold by weight, and that this is stated at the end of the product description.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Strung Marabou
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
4.5 / 5
4.5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2