Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Battenkill Disc Drag Reel

This fly fishing reel is chosen by more fly fishermen than any other fly reel for one reason—best value. All Battenkill fly reels are backed by the Orvis 100% guarantee of satisfaction. You can never lose your fly reel investment. When you compare price, features, and guarantee to any other fly reel on the market, there's no question.This fly reel has a true disc drag, not inferior caliperThe drag has a wide, easily adjustable rangeThe Battenkill Fly Reel has more drag surface Easy fly reel conversion from right- to left-hand retrievePrecision-machined drag gear for the best retrieval
Average Customer Rating:
4.65 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (60 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
57 of 60(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Review 1 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great reel (4.5/5),
02 May 2013
By: GermanBrown
from Oregon
"Had mine for going on 14 years now and still works like a charm. Very smooth and I like that the drag is easy to reach with the fingers on my rod-hand. I would absolutely recommend this reel. You definitely get your money's worth. I use this reel the most. Great for beginners and experienced anglers alike. The only downside is due to the size, you can get spooled if you get into a runner that's in the double digits. Mostly not, but not a great reel for targeting trophy fish."
Review 2 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well engineered and good service,
10 January 2012
By: Anonymous
from North Yorkshire
"A new rod (Christmas present) required a no.3 line. Since I already had (for 15 years) the 5-6 size of this reel and have been absolutely delighted with it I naturally ordered the 'small brother'. It lives up to my expectations and is superbly enginnered. The delivery service from Orvis has been first-class. Top marks all round!"
Review 3 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Reel, Superb Price,
02 January 2012
By: FraserH
from Scotland
"This is my third Battenkill reel. The first two still give great service but I was looking for more spare spools to add to my collection.
I purchased another 2 spare spools but due to the price I added another reel as well.
I cannot fault these reels. The drag system is very flexible. I can play small brown trout through to double figure rainbows and there is still more in the drag. I am a regular fly fisher and have used the reels without fault.
They balance my Orvis Trident rods perfectly.
The Orvis guarantee is second to none.
I highly recommend these reels.
I am very pleased with them and for the price, they are excellent value for money."
Review 4 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality/Low Price,
07 December 2011
By: kenpen
from Warminster, PA
"I have owned this reel in the past and looked immediately to Orvis when it came time for a replacement. It's a proven, reliable, quality reel at a low price - perfect for the type of fishing that I do."
Review 5 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Disc Drag reel,
05 December 2011
By: MinneapolisMark
from Minneapolis, MN
"I own This Disc drag 5/6 and another in 7/8. They are a great reel for the $100 price. Easy to clean and lube. Looks like a more expensive reel.
Only flaws is that if it is dropped or banged on a rock the spool will bend easily and once out of round will no longer turn. Replacement or extra spools are about 1/2 the price of a new reel, $45 and now you can no longer even order on. Orvis will no longer carry replacement spools so once it bends throw the reel away.
Mark
"
Review 6 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
disappointing,
21 November 2011
By: flymog
from Norfolk, UK
"First class Orvis service however, there was a damaged screw head caused during assembly, the counter balance on the spool was pitted. If you want a line store, fine, if you want something to treasure dont bother. Not worthy of the Orvis name I'm afraid, I took it back to one of the Orvis shops and swapped it for an Access mid arbor, absolutely no problem in the shop, they couldn't have been more helpful. More money, but satisfying. A great pity"
Review 7 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drag adjustment,
16 November 2011
By: AngTheGreek
from Worcester, MA
"ease of adjusting the drag was surprising. I needed to make an adjustment while landing a fish, all I had to do was use one finger to do."
Review 8 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great solid reel for the price!,
28 October 2011
By: papjack
from West Newton, Pa
"This is the third one I have purchased. I am now buying them for my grandchildren hope they get a lot of years of great use as I have."
Review 9 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value and great product,
11 October 2011
By: Thomasbroncos
from Encinitas, CA
"I was pleasantly surprised at how good this reel is for its price. Considering I don't use my 3 wt rod that often I didn't want to spend over a $100 for a reel. But I was concerned that I may be disappointed with any reel under $100. Fortunately, I was wrong with this product. Highly recommend it if you don't want to or can't spend a lot of money on the higher end reels!"
Review 10 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comtinuing the Tradition,
11 October 2011
By: dryflyrod
from Washington/Oregon
"I have used the battenkill on my 3wt. for over 5 years now and love it. The balance and ease of casting has always impressed me. I bought this current battenkill for my 8 year old daughter who is starting to take an interest in fly fishing. This reel is working perfectly for her. It's light, easy for her to use and understand and (as she says) looks and sounds cool. I'm sure she will be as impressed for years to come. I know this reel will help create great memories for her and I."
Review 11 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid,
13 September 2011
By: Shaner
"I'm tough on my equipment so I look for a good balance of quality and value. It's not often you find a product that delivers deeply in both categories. This reel does. It showed up earlier than expected an enabled me to use it on the last trip of the season. After a 20 fish day including a 21 inch rainbow I can only say once again Orvis pulled through. Get one; you will be very pleased."
Review 12 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Design flaw,
23 August 2011
By: Flaco
"Really liked the finish and durability, loved the price, but the reel had a design flaw. The fly line would often catch on the line guard. Exchanged it at the Orvis store for the Access reel."
Review 13 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Reel,
05 July 2011
By: Airforce1706
"I purchased this reel a year and a half ago, and it has been, by far, the best reel I have used yet. It is very durable. I have dropped my reel and rod about a million times going through some brush and pretty rough waters and it has hit rocks, and all sorts of stuff and still works like a charm. not to mention it goes really well with my 6wt Sage Launch. Best reel yet. If you are searching for the right reel for you, I HIGHLY recommend this one!"
Review 14 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
could not be happier,
28 June 2011
By: rainbowtheclown
from Hazleton Pa.
"Presently own 2 madison reels. Recently my son built me a custom 9" 5 wt. rod for fathers day, and I just had to top it with a battenkill reel. As always I was more than pleased with the reel and its performance. Orvis products are the very best you can but hands down. The proof is in a hat I purchased in 1974 and has been with me on every fishing trip since then and is still going strong. Your products are the best from flytying materials to tippents.. Simply the best. Thank You."
Review 15 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
15 June 2011
By: AlaskaFlyFisher
from Eagle River, Alaska
"This is the 3rd orvis reel I have purchased in the last 15 years. Each one has met all my expectations and I have had a great experience with each one. I would highly recommend this reel to anyone."
Review 16 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Wow",
15 February 2011
By: Ohioflyfisherman
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I've been fly fishing for about 20 years. I've always gone the "budget" route on reels. After several disappointments and lost days on the river from "budget" reels, I decided to spend a few more dollars on a quality product. The Orvis Battenkill certainly exceeded my expectations. I now have a reel that I know will not fail me and that will last a lifetime. Plus, the reel came with a handsome zippered case! A touch of quality and class from a classy company. All I can say is "wow." I'm so pleased with my new Orvis Battenkill reel. Worth every penny."
Review 17 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timeless Reliability,
09 February 2011
By: MBBC05
from New England
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I have had this reel for over 15 years. The BK III has gratefully helped bring in many fish and has endured the extremes of weather conditions, even the dreaded drop on the rocks. It has stood the test of time and has never failed me. Although it doesn't have the flashy finish of the newer reel models, it has maintained its condition well and the drag system performs as well as the day I bought it."
Review 18 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
30 January 2011
By: BKill
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Probably the most reliable and copied reel offered by any company in the past twenty years. Can't go wrong with this one ..."
Review 19 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill disc drag fly reels,
22 October 2010
By: dryflyaustralia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I own a complete range of the disc drag reels and two have been with me for about 20 years. Most of my fishing has been in New Zealand on their beautiful lakes and streams where wild trout of trophy standards are common and fish around the 3lb, the norm. In all that time and literally thousands of fish, these reels have never failed me. One showed signs of wear, but replacement parts were readily available. Value for money and reliable service; they are simply the best."
Review 20 for Battenkill Disc Drag Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill Reels,
14 October 2010
By: FireFly2
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have owned Battenkill reels for over 20 years. Day in and day out they are the best reel for the money. These reels match up perfectly with my Far and Fine rods. I bought my fourth Battenkill reel this past summer and it preforms as well as my first reel. The Battenkill will be the only reel I buy when I purchase more rods."