Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest

Keep your dog's toys organized and at the ready with this handcrafted toy box storage bin. Built from retired white oak wine barrels and white pine, it features a wide opening that makes it easy for your dog to retrieve toys. Putting them back is up to you. Dog toy box storage bin features smooth nickel-plated feet protect your floors. 12"H x 28"L x 14"D. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.542 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (24 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
22 of 24(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Review 1 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toys! Toys! Toys!,
17 April 2014
By: DP35
from Staten Island, N.Y.
"Great idea! Great product! Goes great with home decor! Nice to see the reuse of the wine barrel!"
Review 2 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great, but smelly,
30 March 2014
By: Lenalynn
"This is a very nice quality item. Much better than any other I have seen. I have a very large dog with lots of big toys, and there is plenty of room.
However, I should have paid more attention to the reviews concerning the smell of varnish. I put toys in the chest upon arrival and all of the toys soaked up the varnish smell. My dog won't go near the chest or the toys. I am now airing it out and washing all the toys.
"
Review 3 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
01 February 2014
By: Anth
from Arizona
"Our home is a ranch, and I needed a place to store all my catalogs with a Western/antique look. This is just perfect and looks perfect with our ranch decor. I have received many
complements. It can even hold fire
wood and look super. Vary glad I bought it and love it!!
"
Review 4 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond Expectation,
13 January 2014
By: Bullies
from Chamblee, GA
"Blends well with other den furniture and with a little coaching is easy access for both dogs to swap and return toys to their new resting place. Thumbs up for this purchase!"
Review 5 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy Solution,
13 January 2014
By: Donna13
from Reno, NV
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought two of these. I gave one to my daughter as we both have several dogs with lots of toys. This toy chest allows easy access for the dogs while allowing us to have a classy sturdy piece of furniture. The chest is heavy enough that the dogs do not knock it over or push it around. It's a great solution"
Review 6 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best toy box ever,
06 January 2014
By: PBBDBB
from Atlanta, Ga
"We have several toy boxes for the pups but this is by far the best quality and design of them all! The munchkins love it!"
Review 7 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Strong and solid,
27 December 2013
By: labradoodles
"I should have bought this first. After many other toy holders that the puppies chewed to pieces finally I got smart. Love it. It looks great and classy."
Review 8 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
05 February 2013
By: Animallovers
from KY
"This is perfect for the many toys my dogs have. It fits a ton of toys and it is fun seeing the dogs digging into it to get what they want. It fits into the decor nicely."
Review 9 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
29 December 2012
By: DogLoverTimes2
from Central, NY
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Perfect size for our two Shih-Tzu's toys! They can easily take the toys out. Others had complained about a strong stain odor, but we dind't really experience that. It was only a minor smell and was put in our house the day it arrived. Thanks for offering a great product!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Pleased with Product,
19 October 2012
By: OShopper
from Hiram, GA
"I must have looked at this item a half dozen times before I finally ordered. I hestitated due to the cost but am so happy that I finally made the decision to buy. My black lab can easily get to her toys and the chest is plenty big. My only wish from a personal perspective is that the stain was a little darker."
Review 11 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice!,
17 October 2012
By: OldWhiteBear
from Central Florida
"Aesthetically beautiful piece. More like a piece of furniture. Be aware that the barrel is fairly large and heavy. As several others have mentioned, the barrel has a fresh varnish smell right out of the box. I had to leave it on the outside patio for 5 days before I could bring it in the house with no odor. The dog took another 2 days before she would get her toys out of it. These barrels should be cured prior to shipment to the customer. Other than that I am very satisfied with the product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Looking Wine Barrel Toy Chest,
19 July 2012
By: Camisano
from Northern Italy
"The Wine Barrel Toy Chest makes a nice accent piece in any livingroom, family room--anywhere. Ours is in our country kitchen just below the fireplace. Our German Shepherd Max enjoys looking in and picking out the toy he wants us to play with him with or just to entertain himself. Now we've got to figure out a training plan to get him to put the toys back when he's done ;-)"
Review 13 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Toy Chest,
11 April 2012
By: LuvLabsx3
from Michigan
"I was a bit apprehensive to purchase this wine barrell toy chest due to it's price...I was absolutely delighted when we received it! Beautiful!! I wish I had a small dog in order to purchase the wine barrell dog bed!!"
Review 14 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Toy Box,
10 March 2012
By: Mongolfrog
"Looks great! Solid, quality construction. Holds plenty of toys."
Review 15 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
09 March 2012
By: tec1
"I loved the toy chest. It was well made and looked terrific. Unfortunately, it was too large for the space I was hoping to place it in. There were no dimensions provided. So I ended up returning the toy chest. I would recommend the item for others who have a larger space. It took a few days for the item to lose the varnish smell. Otherwise 2 thumbs up."
Review 16 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
It's okay, but not WOW,
01 February 2012
By: Cavimom
from Tampa, FL
"I had been dreaming about owning this toy box for 18 months; ever since I brought the dogs home as pups and started spoiling them with toys. When two separate baskets had reached maximum capacity I made the pitch to my husband "it sure would be nice to have a toy box that could hold all the toys in one place".. My husband being an operations manager and always looking for ways to make our house-hold run more efficiently, fell for it just as I'd planned. He even gave me the money to buy it for the pups as a Christmas present from Papa..
We were slightly disappointed to find out that it wouldn't ship for 3 weeks after ordering, but thought "I've waited for 18 months, what's another 3 weeks?".. So finally the shipping date arrived on 1.13.12. I clicked on the link to check the status and it showed that it still hadn't shipped so I checked again on Monday, still nothing.. I sent a chat message to Orvis and received a very prompt reply and was told that the manufacturer was behind and now it wouldn't ship until 1.20.12. So now more disappointed as the anticipation through the holidays only grew stronger with each new toy the dogs received as gifts, the nice person at the other end of the chat said he would waive the shipping charges for having been inconvenienced. I was appreciative for his thoughtfulness of offering without my having asked, I of course graciously accepted Orvis’ generosity and thanked him for doing so. However I was only again disappointed when my delivery arrived and shipping invoice showed that I had still been charged for shipping.. Why did they offer to waive the charges if they were still going to charge me??
At any rate, now to tell you about the toy chest…. All the other reviews warning about the overwhelming smell of varnish holds true in our case too. I had to put the chest out on the lanai for a week to air out before we could bring it in the house; we tried the garage but by the next morning the fumes were so obnoxious that they would come into the house every time we opened the door leading out to the garage..
….A week later, we moved the chest into the living room to finally put our new wine barrel toy chest to use. Unfortunately we quickly found out that as big, bulky and heavy as it is, it doesn’t hold very many toys, especially if the toys are stuffed animals. Now I realize my dogs have a lot of toys, but I thought for sure that what had fit in two small (6”X6”) baskets would easily fit into this toy chest, but we still have a slight overflow problem.. I ended up taking the two largest toys out so the small ones would fit without overflowing or climbing the wall.
On the positive notes, it is a beautifully made, hand crafted chest that has the rustic look I wanted in my living room. I was a little worried when I ordered it that Sofie & Grady wouldn’t be able to access their toys, we have 2 Cavalier King Charles Spaniels (they stand roughly 12” and are around 13 & 17 lbs) and they’re not the least bit inhibited by the size or height of their new toy box. They’re able to stand up on their hind legs to pull their toys out; they can even climb in it to dig through to find the toy they want so we’re happy that it’s functional for them.
I guess at the end of the day my husband and I expected more at this price point; i.e., on time delivery, follow-through on shipment charge waive, be able to use it right away, that it would hold all the toys..
We’re keeping it at this point only because we got rid of the box because of the smell and now it would be too much work to send it back…"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality - Fair Price,
18 January 2012
By: CMBT
from Poughkeepsie, NY
"I had been eyeballing this toy chest for about 6 months, however I was leery to order because there were no detailed dimensions listed and I was unsure if my French Bulldog could get to his toys. I knew my Labradors would have no issues, but I was concerned about my Frenchie. I called Orvis and the manufacture of this product emailed me dimensions, sounded perfect, so I ordered it.
I received this yesterday and it's much larger than originally told. Unfortunately my Frenchie can not get his toys...
However that aside, this is an EXCELLENT product. Very well made, and HEAVY! I have two rambunctious Black Labs and they don't move this! Their old toy box would be scooted all over the house. This chest has not moved.
As for cost, this is very fairly priced. The quality is there. Married to a carpenter I know the cost of materials & labor - The detail is nicely done, right down to the little bass feet (You can't see them, they are under the bottom lip of the chest) - There was a smell of varnish, but I didn't think it was bad. I immediately placed it in my living room last night, and I don't smell it anymore this morning (maybe I'm just used to that smell).
Overall, I'm thrilled with this purchase, and I would purchase a second without hesitation.
If anyone is curious, if you have little dogs, here are the dimensions of my piece. Although because they are made to order, I assume these will vary slightly from piece to piece.
10" high at lowest point in front
(this was my point of concern, I was told it was 6" high - it's indeed 10")
12" high at back - (The entire back section)
27" long (side to side)
14" in depth (front to back)
We have an obscene amount of dog toys, and they ALL fit, with room to spare."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please read,
30 December 2011
By: BarleyZeke
from Fort Lauderdale, FL
"This item had high ratings across the board but the item shipped to me was disappointing, poorly done and over priced. Stain still wet , home smelled of stain, barrel stain everywhere on hardware barrel, dripping/ barrrel shipped while stain still wet based on smell and sight"
Review 19 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool storage container,
30 December 2011
By: Treycaz
"The item is great. Well designed and looks cool. Only problem was the finish was applied right before shipping and the smell is too much to bring into the house from the garage. I assume it will go away in the next weeks."
Review 20 for Wine Barrel Dog Toy Chest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great doggie toy chest with one drawback,
18 October 2011
By: pdxsharona
"We have 3 dogs who have many many toys that are usually scattered all over the floor. These wine barrel toy chests were the best looking by far of any that I have seen online. They are heavy, so the dogs can't move them around, and lower in the front so the dogs have easy access to the toys. And they hold a lot of toys!
The one drawback, is that they have an overpowering smell of varnish or shellac (not sure what the builder used to seal these). The smell was so strong that I had to put them out in the garage, hoping the smell would dissipate in a few days.
It has been a week, and the smell is weaker, but still too strong to put these toy chests in our living room.
"