Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.743 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (319 reviews)
5 stars
258
4 stars
46
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
1
309 of 319(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for layering,
22 January 2015
By: Richie80PO
from Laconia, NH
"Bought this sweater to wear under a winter jacket. It fits very comfortable for my purpose, which is to layer under a coat for those cold days and nights. My arms are still able to move freely and it does not bulk me up. Now I can wear my favorite jacket and remain warm."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor sewing,
15 January 2015
By: Orvis1fan
from Roanoke, VA
"I have returned two Foul Weather sweaters because of poor sewing. I ended up having a seamstress "fix" the mismatched zipper so I would not go through the agony of another try to get it right.
Not a happy camper!"
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
14 January 2015
By: David1361
from Ellington,CT
"I use it as a layer under my coat. it is well made.and very comfortable. attractive as well. maintains heat well. Attractive vest. what's there not to love about this vest?"
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality Product,
14 January 2015
By: HIW1121treetop
"I recently purchased the Mechanic's Foul a Weather Vest after looking at it in four months previous catalogs.
It is classy looking with leather trim
And is very warm.
The stitching at the waistline is close knit and holds its shape. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Overall rating: 5
"
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He won't be workin in this!!,
12 January 2015
By: Geelover1
from Stockton Calif
"I purchased this sweater as a present for my cousin who live in Chicago... I'd told him "I'm sending you something to keep you warm while your at work" He's never heard of Orvis...Once he recieved the sweater he said " Hey Cousin I love the sweater!! I will not be working in this!!"
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
warm, cozy and looks good too!,
30 December 2014
By: lynwrn1987
from Exeter, NH
"We tend to keep the temperature setting fairly low in the winter and I wanted a sweater vest for my husband that was comfortable, warm and easily cleaned. Orvis' sweater vest fit the bill.... no regrets!"
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great vest,
30 December 2014
By: janea10
from Northern Virginia
"This vest is exactly what I wanted. Fits well also over a lightweight sweater. It's cotton but heavy and warm. Well made and although casual, it's stylish. I bought it in black."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Men's vest,
29 December 2014
By: GrifsSis
from Dallas, TX
"I thought my big brother would look quite handsome in this practical vest... Outdoorsy guy & all... Chose black one fir Christmas and it was a real hit!!! Yea!"
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Is that a sweater or a Vest?,
29 December 2014
By: FishingFrenzy13
from Eau Claire, WI - Go!! Packers!!!
"One of the most comfortable sweater vests I have had the good fortune of receiving from my bride for the holidays - Love the color and the 2-way zipper..! FB"
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
High Quality vest,
25 December 2014
By: GifterinCT
"lined pockets, nice- were the words of the receiver.....great quality, strong zipper, nice details around pocket, zip and shoulders"
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Extremely Pleased,
23 December 2014
By: JABC1947
from Wisconsin Rapids, WI
"The quality of the vest is superb and true to size."
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm and warm,
20 December 2014
By: Classinthecold1516
from Denver,Co.
"Nice quality and good looking. Could be used as a light coat with shirt or sweater."
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater seems nice,
19 December 2014
By: Romaine
"Will have to give later review as it is Christmas gift"
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIts great, warm and cozy,
16 December 2014
By: kbigelow
from California
"Great vest, fits great, its warm and cozy without being too cumbersome. Very well made. Looks great too."
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best thing since sliced bread,
15 December 2014
By: MWinVA
from Virginia
"I have two of these vests. Excellent quality and workmanship. Nice to have something that fulfills your expectations."
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great vest,
13 December 2014
By: Novieking
from NY
"Quality material and very functional as a layer or by itself. Waiting to see how it will hold up after a number of washes. Two way "ykk" zipper is a great touch. If it withstands the washes my review changes to 5 stars."
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have bought 3,
10 December 2014
By: VestFanforlife7
from Katy , Texas
"Best jacket/vest I have ever owned. I have bought 3 and will continue to purchase for myself and friends."
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fitting vest by far.,
09 December 2014
By: Workplace
from NE Colorado
"First purchase out of a catalogue so a bit cautious. It far exceeded expectations!"
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest Ever,
08 December 2014
By: Rancher66
from S. W. Oklahoma
"I like my vest because I get to hot with a coat on most the time. This Vest is the best ever that I had."
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
08 December 2014
By: clarcling
from OSC Rke, VA
"I purchased this vest in black for my dad for his birthday and it was a hit. He absolutely loves it and the vest looks great. My father stays cold all the time and this is just the right weight to keep him warm."