Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.747 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (305 reviews)
5 stars
246
4 stars
45
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
0
296 of 305(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIts great, warm and cozy,
16 December 2014
By: kbigelow
from California
"Great vest, fits great, its warm and cozy without being too cumbersome. Very well made. Looks great too."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best thing since sliced bread,
15 December 2014
By: MWinVA
from Virginia
"I have two of these vests. Excellent quality and workmanship. Nice to have something that fulfills your expectations."
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great vest,
13 December 2014
By: Novieking
from NY
"Quality material and very functional as a layer or by itself. Waiting to see how it will hold up after a number of washes. Two way "ykk" zipper is a great touch. If it withstands the washes my review changes to 5 stars."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I have bought 3,
10 December 2014
By: VestFanforlife7
from Katy , Texas
"Best jacket/vest I have ever owned. I have bought 3 and will continue to purchase for myself and friends."
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best fitting vest by far.,
09 December 2014
By: Workplace
from NE Colorado
"First purchase out of a catalogue so a bit cautious. It far exceeded expectations!"
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Vest Ever,
08 December 2014
By: Rancher66
from S. W. Oklahoma
"I like my vest because I get to hot with a coat on most the time. This Vest is the best ever that I had."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
08 December 2014
By: clarcling
from OSC Rke, VA
"I purchased this vest in black for my dad for his birthday and it was a hit. He absolutely loves it and the vest looks great. My father stays cold all the time and this is just the right weight to keep him warm."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always Orvis under the tree...,
07 December 2014
By: BevJBo
from Tampa, Florida
"I purchase from Orvis for my two boys every year...looking for something unique...when they see UPS drop the Orvis package off, expectations arise!! Quality always meets expectation; pricing meets quality and I know that I can expect superior customer service!"
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
2nd Color,
01 December 2014
By: Manny06419
from CT
"This is my 2nd color. Bought my first last year. Love it's flexibility & warmth. The lining is a nice barrier. The patches provide unique appealing character. Excellent service, as this one arrived with a missing zipper pull tag. The replacement was shipped very expeditiously. I guess I might even go for the 3rd color soon. Earth tones are nice, but wish it was offered in purple!!"
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Comfortable, roomy vest.,
28 November 2014
By: Bob12
from Northeast PA
"It is good looking and is full cut with generous arm holes. It has a comfortable, warm and versatile cotton construction which works well over a t-shirt or over a flannel shirt."
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beats the Weather!,
26 November 2014
By: RHYN
from Plymouth, MA
"A high quality vest without the bulk of other filled vests. Very comfortable and smart-looking."
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking and practical,
22 November 2014
By: TPep
from Staten Island, NY
"Bought this for use in the office. Keeps me comfortable and have received compliments on its looks.
Fit and finish are usual Orvis standards. Great product."
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Knitted Gilet,
21 November 2014
By: thimblewalking
from Dorset
"The gilet/waistcoat is just what I hoped it would be and I can see that it will wear well and be warm.
I cannot comment on the sizing. It is a Christmas present for my husband and he hasn't yet tried it on!
"
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MY VEST,
14 November 2014
By: BCHBUM
from FORKED RIVER, NJ 08731
"MY VEST BRINGS A LOT OF MEMORIES FROM MY TOUR OF DUTY, IN GERMANY, ALONG WITH MY SWEATER WHICH I HAVE PURCHASED THE SAME TIME! BOTH OF THESE ARTICLES LASTED ME OVER 50 YEARS, AND NOW , I CAN RELIVE MY OLD MEMORIES ! THANK YOU ORVIS,FOR BEING THERE!"
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great cold weather garment,
14 November 2014
By: Sammy408
from Staunton, VA
"For an outer wear garment, the Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest provides the versatility of movement and protection from colder temperatures. Another quality garment of its type offered by Orvis!"
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice vest,
10 November 2014
By: BF2013
from Arkansas
"The light colored vest is very nice. It is a great fall look and goes with just about anything. It isnt as light as a wool vest because its a knit but if a knit vest is what you're looking for then this is a great one. I got both the boiled wool vest and this knit one and I am pleased with them both."
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice,
10 November 2014
By: gnc2
from kansas
"excellent comfort and quality vest.
Highly recommended."
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
03 November 2014
By: Badge
"This is the nicest vest sweater I've seen. I now have to have one of each color!"
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice,
03 November 2014
By: BF2013
from Arkansas
"Very nice vest. The weather here just turned cold and this is the perfect weight to keep you warm. Looks very nice, clean, look and feel to it."
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Homerum success,
28 October 2014
By: Louis2
from Orangeburg, NY
"Once again ORVIS maintains the utmost quality in all the garments and clothing that you manufacture.
Love the sweater and it was a very big success with friends and colleagues.
"