Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (339 reviews)
5 stars
272
4 stars
52
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
1
329 of 339(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good quality, but smallish,
16 February 2015
By: sbj1
from chicago, il
"It is on its way back to you. The Large ran very small, so we need a bigger size. A little pricey."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy 5 star vest,
16 February 2015
By: Roscoemix
from Wales, NY
"This is a 5 star product. It is warm when outdoors in foul weather yet it is comfortable when worn indoors. It is well made, the double zipper is a nice feature when driving, it is smart looking when worn with shirt & tie, especially French cuffs, and it is casual enough to fit in at construction, job site encounters. I plan on buying another one to keep in my mobile closest."
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Happy,
12 February 2015
By: VeryChoosy
"I am very picky about the clothing that I purchase-it has to be quality, good looking and meet my needs. I love the Mechanic's Foul Weather Vest. It is dressy enough that I can wear it out, but comfortable enough that I want to wear it at home."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm but stretches.,
12 February 2015
By: MitchW
from California
"This vest is lined and very warm.
But, after only a week, the bottom fitted area is stretching a bit.
"
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish vest for work or play.,,
10 February 2015
By: pilotarrow
from Olympic Peninsula, WA
"High quality workmanship on vests.
I purchased a beige and black vest.
I will use it for in-between weather.
Heavy duty material. Easily cared for and fits well. Looks sharp.
"
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
09 February 2015
By: TAsaP
from Sedona, AZ
"Better than even the description. Trim and shoulder patches look and feel high quality. Sizing was a bit large (XL), but gives room for sweater underneath."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always satisfied,
09 February 2015
By: Howd
from Easton, MD
"My words about Orvis products are now redundant. I am always satisfied, always pleased. Orvis provides first-class products, such that I have a tough time not ordering something each time I receive a catalogue, despite some chatter from my wife."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Vest,
03 February 2015
By: ajh2201
from Columbus, Ga.
"This is a nice warm vest that can be worn on the field or casually. Thanks for providing great products for the outdoors-man."
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not good for foul weather,
03 February 2015
By: NorthEasterner
from Upstate NY
"Not any good for foul weather because it's no waterproof."
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps you warm and is well made,
29 January 2015
By: brandsxb
from Washington DC
"This is an excellent sweater vest. It is made out of thick cotton and keeps me warm. You can wash it in cold water and hang it to dry. In addition it looks great."
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where did you get that vest?,
28 January 2015
By: underpar78
from S.L.C., UT.
"Great fit and style. I've never had so many inquiries into where I purchased an item of clothing."
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foul-Weather Vest,
28 January 2015
By: 1873
from Tx
"Have a lot of vests and this style is my favorite...in fact, I have the vest in both brown and black. The name, "foul-weather", is somewhat of a misnomer...true, the vest is appropriate for cold weather but it is a really handsome vest that looks awesome with dress slacks."
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
27 January 2015
By: Hannah8888
from Kansas City, MO
"I bought this as a gift for my husband because I was sure he would like it, and he absolutely does. It's warm. It's soft and comfortable, and it's well made. Most importantly, it looks good on and he will wear it often. He's hard to please when it comes to clothes, but this vest was a winner."
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good product,
26 January 2015
By: FWMH52
from Nottinghamshire
"This item came promptly and was the size I expected. It maintains the usual Orvis quality and I am pleased with it."
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice vest but not for my build,
26 January 2015
By: MichaelRelaxed
from Bluffton SC
"I think this vest looks good and is made well. However, I felt it made me look a bit "fluffy". I'm not small, but I thought the CFO down vest was a much more flattering fit for me. I think this vest would be really great on someone who was tall and a bit smaller in frame. The sizing is about standard Orvis."
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good vest,
26 January 2015
By: sweet2594
from Jeffersonville, IN
"I love wearing vests with long sleeve shirts, and I love this purchase. The only reason I did not give it 5 starts is I truly don't like the pockets. They are not deep enough and they're difficult to put anything in, and even more difficult to keep the items in. Example, I have an Iphone 6+, I have to get it at just the right angle to get it into the pocket where there is a chance of it staying. Regardless I would still buy it again, it just limits the items I can carry in it."
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for layering,
22 January 2015
By: Richie80PO
from Laconia, NH
"Bought this sweater to wear under a winter jacket. It fits very comfortable for my purpose, which is to layer under a coat for those cold days and nights. My arms are still able to move freely and it does not bulk me up. Now I can wear my favorite jacket and remain warm."
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
poor sewing,
15 January 2015
By: Orvis1fan
from Roanoke, VA
"I have returned two Foul Weather sweaters because of poor sewing. I ended up having a seamstress "fix" the mismatched zipper so I would not go through the agony of another try to get it right.
Not a happy camper!"
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest,
14 January 2015
By: David1361
from Ellington,CT
"I use it as a layer under my coat. it is well made.and very comfortable. attractive as well. maintains heat well. Attractive vest. what's there not to love about this vest?"
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Quality Product,
14 January 2015
By: HIW1121treetop
"I recently purchased the Mechanic's Foul a Weather Vest after looking at it in four months previous catalogs.
It is classy looking with leather trim
And is very warm.
The stitching at the waistline is close knit and holds its shape. I would highly recommend it to anyone. Overall rating: 5
"