Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.74 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (273 reviews)
5 stars
220
4 stars
39
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
0
264 of 273(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great Vest,
23 September 2014
By: HarrisGrey
from Surrey B.C.
"This fits great...XXL, very warm, looks great, the only improvement would be the pockets, too shallow to store things...good for hands only."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
22 September 2014
By: RlwOhio
from Ohio
"I own the mechanics sweater. Love it so I came back to Orvis for the Mechanics Vest. Great fit good quality. My wife says it looks good on me!"
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Impressive Vest,
21 September 2014
By: RASairedale
from Northern New Jersey
"I am impressed with both the quality and the style of this vest. I was looking for a vest that will not only keep me warm but will look good and this product satisfies both issues."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality and Comfort,
17 September 2014
By: Pete9091
from St. Cloud, MN.
"Just the most comforatable and easy to wear with any style, any occasion."
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest to have in wardrobe,
12 March 2014
By: Hosschap
from Hermitage, TN
"The vest is everything as described on the website. The liner inside makes it comfortable in colder weather. I would definitely recommend this to my friends."
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as expected,
04 March 2014
By: ThomO
from Lynnfield,MA
"Just like I pictured it. Heavy knit, nice liner, wore it on a decent feb day downtown Boston,and was quite comfortable. Sharp looking."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandfather-Grandson Gift,
24 February 2014
By: BEKJRIV
from Tifton, Ga.
"I ordered this vest for my husband because he showed it to me in the catalog because he liked it. When he wore it on Thanksgiving my 16 year old grandson told me later that he really liked what Grandaddy was wearing. After mentioning it another time I decided to order him one too. I never dreamed he would want to wear something like his Grandaddy so this is an item that is great for all ages."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding choice!,
21 February 2014
By: ProfP
from Copake, NY
"This vest has great style. It is extremely well made and has great quality. Also, it is very warm - ideal for winter, fall and spring weather."
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vroom Vroom Vest!,
20 February 2014
By: Jtoo
from Memphis, TN
"This vest appealed to me not only because it is Orvis but the windproof lining it offered. Substantial fabric that is not too heavy but ideal for those 50°/60° days with a sweater underneath."
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great all-around vest!!,
13 February 2014
By: MattH83
from North Texas
"Great sweater. Very heavy though in weight but I like it because of the great warmth it provides. A little "full" in the mid section."
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Repeat Order,
12 February 2014
By: quaKe23
from Small town, Montana
"My husband was very happy with the first Foul Weather Vest that he received...so happy, in fact, that we purchased a second one recently. He is 77 years old and I think that he looks darn handsome in these vests!"
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mechanics Vest,
12 February 2014
By: RJpdx
from Vancouver, Washington
"This was my first purchase from Orvis and can't be more pleased. The quality of this vest is very good. It is thick and warm. The heavy weave looks and feels great. I have worn a turtle neck under it and keeps me warm in the Pacific NW. I will order more stuff in the future based on this initial purchase."
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very comfortable!,
11 February 2014
By: OrvisTD
"Normally wear a large but had to return this one for a medium - it runs large. Very distinctive, comfortable and a joy to wear. Nice accent features."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Buy,
11 February 2014
By: JimL4
from Hilton Head, SC
"Smart looking, well made, comfortable, excellent fit."
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
10 February 2014
By: DenG
"Very handsome looking vest, very warm and comfortable, allowing for freedom of arm movement."
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent sweater vest.,
10 February 2014
By: TJordan
from San Antonio, Texas
"I bought this vest to stay warm in a cold office, and I have not been disappointed.
It is thick, very warm and looks great. Received several compliments.
Very well made! Great job Orvis!
"
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
10 February 2014
By: gib84
from salinas, ca
"lack of adequate sized pockets, both number and depth detracts from over all satisfaction."
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanic's Vest,
04 February 2014
By: Dick3
from Lafayette, CA
"I purchased the olive-colored vest and it's great. First of all, it's much warner than I expected. I bought it for the look, which is exceptional, but it's functionality is equal to its looks. The ribbing and the suede trim at the shoulders and pocket really make this vest stand out. A guy really looks out-doorsy in it. Love wearing it when I take my dog for a walk."
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Vest,
04 February 2014
By: julie4321
from Connecticut
"This vest is nicely tailored but heavy and warm.It looks nice enough to wear for business casual or out to a bistro yet is very warm."
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Warm & comfortable,
03 February 2014
By: Dmbarn
"Very warm and comfortable. Stylish.
My only complaints are 1), the collar doesn't stay down all the time, and 2) the pockets can "lose" things while sitting.
"