Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest

Our best-selling sweater is now available in an equally warm vest knit from pure cotton and lined with soft, warm French-rib Signature Softest® Sweatshirt material. Our men's knit cotton vest has rib-knit trim at arm openings and waist; durable faux-suede trim. Two exterior pockets. Two-way front zip closure. Pure cotton. Washable. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.744 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (347 reviews)
5 stars
279
4 stars
53
3 stars
10
2 stars
4
1 star
1
337 of 347(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Review 1 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice!,
23 April 2015
By: Grasshopperone
from Luton, UK
"This item is exactly as described by Orvis. Holds it's shape well and fits perfectly. Very nice value."
Review 2 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Satisfied,
08 April 2015
By: TopekaTom
"I was very pleased with this product. Properly sized and very top quality. Very comfortable."
Review 3 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Vest,
05 April 2015
By: OshkoshPlowBoy
from Oshkosh WI
"Great vest, like the style, comfort, and warmth. What it really needs is an inside pocket for a cell phone preferably on the left side, however right or both sides would work."
Review 4 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great purchase,
02 April 2015
By: DiamondDave
from Atl, GA
"Ordered the vest from the store based on sizing chart, delivered to the house in two days, opened the box and fit perfect. The overall quality is just what I excepted from Orvis. Great Purchase"
Review 5 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical Orvis Quality,
01 April 2015
By: Techdiver
from Wisconsin
"As with most of the products Orvis carries the quality was very good the item was delivered promptly and overall satisfaction with the item is very good. It was on sale making it a better purchase. I bought this for my Grandfather to keep warm on cooler days when a coat would be too much."
Review 6 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mechanics sweater,
31 March 2015
By: wollyburgerfisherman1
from Jamestown, N. C.
"Great comfort as well as warmth. I have wanted one for sometime. Great purchase. Great value and high quality. Very comfortable. Don't wait as long as I did. You will be pleased."
Review 7 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Vest,
11 March 2015
By: mor10son
from Oak Park, IL
"My Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest fits great, looks great and is warm and comfortable. Keeping my core warm on a cold day is the ticket and this vest does that beautifully."
Review 8 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mechanic's Vest,
05 March 2015
By: Dealin1
from West Plains Mo.
"Excellent Item. Very well made. Very warm and has that casual look."
Review 9 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good quality, but smallish,
16 February 2015
By: sbj1
from chicago, il
"It is on its way back to you. The Large ran very small, so we need a bigger size. A little pricey."
Review 10 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
classy 5 star vest,
16 February 2015
By: Roscoemix
from Wales, NY
"This is a 5 star product. It is warm when outdoors in foul weather yet it is comfortable when worn indoors. It is well made, the double zipper is a nice feature when driving, it is smart looking when worn with shirt & tie, especially French cuffs, and it is casual enough to fit in at construction, job site encounters. I plan on buying another one to keep in my mobile closest."
Review 11 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really Happy,
12 February 2015
By: VeryChoosy
"I am very picky about the clothing that I purchase-it has to be quality, good looking and meet my needs. I love the Mechanic's Foul Weather Vest. It is dressy enough that I can wear it out, but comfortable enough that I want to wear it at home."
Review 12 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm but stretches.,
12 February 2015
By: MitchW
from California
"This vest is lined and very warm.
But, after only a week, the bottom fitted area is stretching a bit.
"
Review 13 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish vest for work or play.,,
10 February 2015
By: pilotarrow
from Olympic Peninsula, WA
"High quality workmanship on vests.
I purchased a beige and black vest.
I will use it for in-between weather.
Heavy duty material. Easily cared for and fits well. Looks sharp.
"
Review 14 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
09 February 2015
By: TAsaP
from Sedona, AZ
"Better than even the description. Trim and shoulder patches look and feel high quality. Sizing was a bit large (XL), but gives room for sweater underneath."
Review 15 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Always satisfied,
09 February 2015
By: Howd
from Easton, MD
"My words about Orvis products are now redundant. I am always satisfied, always pleased. Orvis provides first-class products, such that I have a tough time not ordering something each time I receive a catalogue, despite some chatter from my wife."
Review 16 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Vest,
03 February 2015
By: ajh2201
from Columbus, Ga.
"This is a nice warm vest that can be worn on the field or casually. Thanks for providing great products for the outdoors-man."
Review 17 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not good for foul weather,
03 February 2015
By: NorthEasterner
from Upstate NY
"Not any good for foul weather because it's no waterproof."
Review 18 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keeps you warm and is well made,
29 January 2015
By: brandsxb
from Washington DC
"This is an excellent sweater vest. It is made out of thick cotton and keeps me warm. You can wash it in cold water and hang it to dry. In addition it looks great."
Review 19 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Where did you get that vest?,
28 January 2015
By: underpar78
from S.L.C., UT.
"Great fit and style. I've never had so many inquiries into where I purchased an item of clothing."
Review 20 for Mechanic's Foul-Weather Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Foul-Weather Vest,
28 January 2015
By: 1873
from Tx
"Have a lot of vests and this style is my favorite...in fact, I have the vest in both brown and black. The name, "foul-weather", is somewhat of a misnomer...true, the vest is appropriate for cold weather but it is a really handsome vest that looks awesome with dress slacks."