Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Featherweight Lambskin Jacket

Perfect for warmer weather, our men's featherweight leather jacket is the distinctively handsome way to shrug off cool breezes. Ultrasoft lambskin, paired with subtly contrasting leather on the collar, placket, and cuffs, ensures absolute comfort and long wear. Plaid mini-ribbed pure cotton body lining with polyester sleeve lining for easy on-and-off; lightly elasticized sides provide an ideal fit. Two exterior pockets; four interior pockets (three with secure zip closure). Snap cuffs. Full-length cut-brass front zipper. Men's lambskin leather jacket in dark brown. Genuine lambskin leather shell with pure cotton body lining and polyester sleeve lining. Professionally clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 29" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.646 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (113 reviews)
5 stars
91
4 stars
14
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
106 of 113(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Review 1 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket!,
23 March 2015
By: GreyHawkOne
from Michigan
"Very light weight and extremely comfortable to wear. Kept waiting for it to go on sale, finally bit the bullet and ordered. First one was a bit snug, sent it back and got a larger size delivered within days. I am very pleased with the purchase. Some things just make you feel good when you wear them - this is one of those things!"
Review 2 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
nice jacket,
10 March 2015
By: cwallinwhg
from Wheeling, WV
"Nice quality, lightweight, (definitely not cold weather). Although good quality, too pricy for an "extra" jacket."
Review 3 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent quality,
05 March 2015
By: DLW1
from Florida
"Soft lambskin leather and lightweight lining make this an ideal jacket for cool evenings. It has a high quality feel and appearance."
Review 4 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Get rid of the elastic waist band,
18 February 2015
By: pete3726
from Minocqua, WI
"The jacket was very well made with soft leather and it was very light., which is what I was looking for..
However, when I zipped it up, it pushed out the front and did not look or feel good.
The jacket would have been perfect if had a straight bottom with no elastic.
"
Review 5 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
absolutely perfect,
01 February 2015
By: rdhd
from LV, NV
"I bought this jacket for a 'special' birthday for my husband. The leather & lining are unbelievably yummy; the jacket is extremely nicely finished inside and out. So this is not a 'work on an outdoor project' garment; it is refined & serves well with a dress shirt & tie or for nice casual wear. And it is the perfect weight for in-between seasons. A winner all around!"
Review 6 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality & Style, but......,
15 January 2015
By: dbdan
from Diamond Bar, Ca.
"I really liked the look & feel of this quality jacket. Based on most of the input on previous reviews I did order a size smaller than usual. This 'large' jacket fit close to perfect except too tight & restrictive when moving & raising arms. I was apprehensive to try the XL as I feel it would have been too large in other areas. It's a shame I was caught in between sizes & regretfully returned the jacket. Great customer service and original presentation of the jacket being nicely shipped inside a garment bag. The other factor is that the leather is a bit too shiny for my taste & made the jacket feel a little more formal than casual for me."
Review 7 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasant Surprise!,
03 January 2015
By: CarolynA
"Ordered at last minute for my husband. The coat came in a zipped garment bag on wooden hanger. There was no coat in my hometown that could compare....exactly as described online.....light weight and absolutely gorgeous leather. Fit perfectly."
Review 8 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fine jacket,
30 December 2014
By: Pitchen
from Baden-Baden/Germany
"I purchased this jacket from ORVIS (UK) after it came up there for sale. After about two weeks of absolutely chaotic (on ORVIS UK's side! ) exchange of e-mails and telephone calls (Customer Service) I finally received "my" jacket and - - I love it!
Very light, indeed, well made - and size "M" fits my statur (174 cm/5'9" - 174 kg/165 lbs) well, if the arms are a little (maybe 1") long. Still, I like this better than too short - and maybe they'll "ride up with wear.." as they say about textiles.
The lovely dark-chocolate color is, as one critic said, indeed a little "plain", as though " the whole jacket had been dipped in a bucket of leather dye..". Well, it's not all that bad - and the "stand-up" collar gives it a "touch of elegance".
I've been wearing the jacket in the house(!) a few times, just for fun (!) and because I like it, and I'm looking forward to wearing it also "outside" come spring!"
Review 9 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great gift!,
29 December 2014
By: ChristmasGG
from Kansas City, Mo
"It was a Christmas gift for my husband and he loves it! Of course, he thought it was unnecessary, but he really likes the lightweight feel of the jacket. The collar is a little high as he does not have a really long neck, but it can be turned down and is workable."
Review 10 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacket was perfect gift,
29 December 2014
By: Myhusbandsgifts
"I never know if my husband will like a piece of clothing I buy for him. He is very particular about his clothing and I generally show him something before I purchase it. But this jacket was to be a gift. I took a chance. He loves it. He especially likes the soft leather. He is six foot five and the sizing is perfect. The arms were the perfect length and the length of the jacket itself was correct. Often sizes do not fit him when ordered on line. It is a very simple design which he also liked. And although it is lightweight, it is perfect for him in the cold weather with a sweater."
Review 11 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent buy,
20 December 2014
By: Andrei
from Bay Area, CA
"The coat is very light and the leather is thin, soft and flexible.
The zippers (1 in front, 3 inside) run very well.
This is a high quality product.
"
Review 12 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this jacket,
18 December 2014
By: RobG123
"I purchased this jacket for myself as a reward for losing over 50 pounds. I am 6"0" 178lbs and went from XXL to L/M sizes. I bought a medium after reading reviews and it fits me perfectly. Love the weight and coloring. Pockets all in the right places. Looking forward to years of enjoyment."
Review 13 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
18 November 2014
By: CapGun
from Delaware
"Wonderful leather, supple and well tailored. Medium is plenty roomy to fit over a sweater making the coat wearable most of the year despite it's light weight. Wish the sleeve lining were slipperier to make it easier to don."
Review 14 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome garment,
05 November 2014
By: Harrigan
"This jacket is a beautiful garment, extremely soft and comfortable overall. I chose this jacket after looking at many in the last year. I am very pleased with my choice. The zipper works so smoothly. The length of body and sleeves is perfect for my size 44. It is suitable for many occasions. It is everything I expected, a beautiful garment."
Review 15 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A classic jacket,
21 October 2014
By: tuna
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Soft luxurious leather is the first thing that greets you when you touch this lambskin jacket. Very well tailored, it flatters any figure. Just a tad longer than a standard jacket, it gives you a sophisticated yet casual look that goes great with any outfit. This jacket will suit your needs through Spring and all the way through late fall. Simply, a beautiful jacket."
Review 16 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Cool Weather Coat,
15 October 2014
By: reyg
from Spotsylvania, VA
"This coat looks great and fit is excellent. The lambskin is soft and very lightweight. With two outside pockets and two zippered inside pockets you have enough storage. True to size."
Review 17 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classiest Leather Jacket Ever!,
08 October 2014
By: TheBizDoc
from Houston Texas
"Since I live in Texas, it is hard to find lighter weight jackets that will work in the warmer but chilly weather. This new Lambskin Lightweight jacket is so perfect for this climate. I know I will get much wear from it and the styling is so Classy. Soft feel, expensive styling, light weight! It does not get better than this. So proud to own this one."
Review 18 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best yet,
21 September 2014
By: nutney
from Waynesboro, PA
"Excellent quality, perfect size and fit, soft buttery feel, color as shown, light weight for early Fall and Spring wear. excellent selection of coats."
Review 19 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor tailoring, baggy, long,
12 September 2014
By: FisherguyJones
from Santa Cruz, CA
"This jacket has some good qualities, but the few negatives are fatal. As others have noted, the sizing of the waistband is far out of proportion to the rest of the jacket. At an Orvis store, a salesman assured me that size medium would be much too small for my 5'11", 185 lb frame. I was quite specific about wanting a trim fit, wearing it over just a light shirt or t-shirt. The salesman said I probably would not even be able to zip up a medium. (The store had none in stock, so I had to order via the store's catalog phone, taking the advice to get a large.) When it arrived, I was immediately disappointed. The waistband billowed out quite a few inches from my body and draped down past my hips. The raglan sleeves gave no shape to the shoulders. I wanted "fitted" but got "baggy." I also noted that the finish on the soft leather was nice, but not as pictured. The color was uniformly dark brown with no variation, as if the entire jacket had been dipped in a bucket of leather dye after it had been sewn together. That was not necessarily the deal-breaker for me, but I mention it for further information. I decided to return the jacket instead of exchanging it for a smaller size. It was clear that the problem was not merely one of sizing, but also of design and construction. Note also that there is a shipping charge for a refund return unless it is brought back to a store."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Featherweight Lambskin Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buttery soft leather,
05 September 2014
By: Boston1
from Oklahoma City
"Good weight, excellent fit and finish. I can't wait for cool weather to arrive."