Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater

The broken-herringbone pattern of this men's cashmere pullover sweater highlights the quality of our pure double-ply cashmere yarn while avoiding the straight lines of a conventional herringbone pattern, a trick we gleaned from a 1920s design book. Cashmere goats are so ornery that centuries ago, Mongolian villagers gathered the wild animals' soft underfur from the scraggly bushes that surrounded their high hillside villages rather than risk physical harm. The best cashmere still comes from the region, where only slightly more domesticated goats roam the high valleys. Men's cashmere sweaters in camel. Pure cashmere. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (62 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
59 of 62(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch,
27 December 2014
By: Fudgeman
"I could not be happier. My wife gave it to me as a gift, after I threw hints around. It is a fairly heavy cashmere knit material with a soft and luxorious feel. I have had the brown version of this for a couple of years, and it wears very well."
Review 2 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finest quality,
26 December 2014
By: Joyski
from Oakland, CA
"A handsome sweater, not too heavy, but with a substantial hand. My husband loved it and looks wonderful in it."
Review 3 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dad's Favorite Sweater,
24 December 2014
By: jnew
"Dad, age 93, has been a sweater connoisseur for as long as I can remember. He was crushed when this sweater, his very favorite, was mistakenly thrown into the wash. Nonetheless, he continued to wear the sadly shrunken version for many months. He was overjoyed to have it replaced with a new one and says it is just PERFECT! Thanks Orvis for a quality product : )"
Review 4 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fit for a favorite son,
23 December 2014
By: camas
"This is a very nice addition to my son' s ward robe.....am sure he will have many compliment's"
Review 5 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxurious!,
15 December 2014
By: CyEs
from Annapolis, MD
"A beautifully made, luxurious fabric and warm wintry sweater."
Review 6 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful gift,
06 December 2014
By: LilaT
"I bought this sweater for my husband who is allergic to wool and he absolutely loves it. In fact, he likes it so much I went ahead and bought him the same sweater in another color. This fine cashmere does not seem to bother him. The sweater fits him fine and he looks great in it."
Review 7 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
You pay for what you get,
03 December 2014
By: Retired2cornwall
"But not this time. Far from luxurious it was very disappointing and has been returned. Quality and size skimpy."
Review 8 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wearing right now,
28 November 2014
By: Desidarius
from Dallas, Texas
"Bought sight unseen (tho I saw one in a smaller size). Hope I won't wear it out, but delightful so far!"
Review 9 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Want to look professional?,
09 April 2014
By: jim1938
"You will feel good, look good, and keep warm in this cool looking cashmere sweater."
Review 10 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury,
07 April 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"Warm,soft, comfortable. And stylish. What more could you ask for?"
Review 11 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
03 March 2014
By: Amit
from Montreal, Quebec Canada
"The fit and quality are excellent while size runs true. Additionally, the sweater seems to be robust."
Review 12 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cashmere Really is a wonderful thing!,
28 February 2014
By: Imperialbullelk
from Estes Park, CO
"The relationship between the promotional pic and the actual product was "true" and reinforced the confidence we have in ordering on-line. Aggressive return policy helps dispel our concerns as well. Lastly the logistics of shipping, time of arrival and tracking worked just as advertised."
Review 13 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
26 February 2014
By: 4wheeler
"Very nice. Received many complements when wearing it. Comfortable and fits well."
Review 14 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great customer service.,
24 February 2014
By: NYCdeirdre
from New York, New york
"I love Orvis and have shopped both on-line and in their NYC stores for over 20 years. I have never been disappointed and my husband adores the clothes. Perfect fits and amazing quality. Truly classic!"
Review 15 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Valentines gift ever,
20 February 2014
By: audri1
from Bugtussle, OK
"Purchased for valentines gift. He refuses to take it off. The fit is true to size, excellent quality cashmere and stitching. Looks fantastic with jeans and boots or slacks."
Review 16 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Item not as pictured,
17 February 2014
By: mickeycpa
from Fishers, IN
"I was disappointed with this sweater. Mine looked nothing like the picture, so I returned it."
Review 17 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Sweater,
10 February 2014
By: MJHOH
from Reynoldsburg, OH
"Warm and not heavy. Fits perfect even on my XXL executive cut fraame"
Review 18 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exceeded expectations!,
06 February 2014
By: 19grumpie37
"have admired this sweater for a couple of seasons. the physical object is totally satisfying, colors are great, comfort and "hand" are luxurious and workmanship is world class. it's very gratifying (and all too rare to have a piece of goods exceed one's expectations"
Review 19 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really warm & conforable,
06 February 2014
By: Alwayscold1235
from Stone Ridge, New York
"So happy to have a warm light soft sweater - well made and great fit.
Very comfortable to wear under a jacket - the V neck allows it to be worn with a tie for work.
With the incessant winter storms that we are having this winter it is an ideal addition to a winter wardrobe.
"
Review 20 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sentimental Journey,
04 February 2014
By: jvt55
from Marshfield, WI
"This sweater really struck a chord with me as it reminded me of one I used to wear as a child that had been knitted by my aunt. I was impressed when I received it because the herringbone detail is much more intricate than what can be appreciated on line. The cashmere is very soft yet substantial. It really is a "comfort sweater" in the that it is fully cut and the "V' neck is deep allowing easy layering with either a shirt or turtle neck. Ideal for the frigid weather we've had recently."