Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater

The broken-herringbone pattern of this men's cashmere pullover sweater highlights the quality of our pure double-ply cashmere yarn while avoiding the straight lines of a conventional herringbone pattern, a trick we gleaned from a 1920s design book. Cashmere goats are so ornery that centuries ago, Mongolian villagers gathered the wild animals' soft underfur from the scraggly bushes that surrounded their high hillside villages rather than risk physical harm. The best cashmere still comes from the region, where only slightly more domesticated goats roam the high valleys. Men's cashmere sweaters in camel. Pure cashmere. Hand wash. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.83 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
9
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
51 of 53(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Review 1 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Want to look professional?,
09 April 2014
By: jim1938
"You will feel good, look good, and keep warm in this cool looking cashmere sweater."
Review 2 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Luxury,
07 April 2014
By: SEC45
from TX
"Warm,soft, comfortable. And stylish. What more could you ask for?"
Review 3 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value,
03 March 2014
By: Amit
from Montreal, Quebec Canada
"The fit and quality are excellent while size runs true. Additionally, the sweater seems to be robust."
Review 4 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cashmere Really is a wonderful thing!,
28 February 2014
By: Imperialbullelk
from Estes Park, CO
"The relationship between the promotional pic and the actual product was "true" and reinforced the confidence we have in ordering on-line. Aggressive return policy helps dispel our concerns as well. Lastly the logistics of shipping, time of arrival and tracking worked just as advertised."
Review 5 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
26 February 2014
By: 4wheeler
"Very nice. Received many complements when wearing it. Comfortable and fits well."
Review 6 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great customer service.,
24 February 2014
By: NYCdeirdre
from New York, New york
"I love Orvis and have shopped both on-line and in their NYC stores for over 20 years. I have never been disappointed and my husband adores the clothes. Perfect fits and amazing quality. Truly classic!"
Review 7 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Valentines gift ever,
20 February 2014
By: audri1
from Bugtussle, OK
"Purchased for valentines gift. He refuses to take it off. The fit is true to size, excellent quality cashmere and stitching. Looks fantastic with jeans and boots or slacks."
Review 8 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Item not as pictured,
17 February 2014
By: mickeycpa
from Fishers, IN
"I was disappointed with this sweater. Mine looked nothing like the picture, so I returned it."
Review 9 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Sweater,
10 February 2014
By: MJHOH
from Reynoldsburg, OH
"Warm and not heavy. Fits perfect even on my XXL executive cut fraame"
Review 10 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
exceeded expectations!,
06 February 2014
By: 19grumpie37
"have admired this sweater for a couple of seasons. the physical object is totally satisfying, colors are great, comfort and "hand" are luxurious and workmanship is world class. it's very gratifying (and all too rare to have a piece of goods exceed one's expectations"
Review 11 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really warm & conforable,
06 February 2014
By: Alwayscold1235
from Stone Ridge, New York
"So happy to have a warm light soft sweater - well made and great fit.
Very comfortable to wear under a jacket - the V neck allows it to be worn with a tie for work.
With the incessant winter storms that we are having this winter it is an ideal addition to a winter wardrobe.
"
Review 12 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sentimental Journey,
04 February 2014
By: jvt55
from Marshfield, WI
"This sweater really struck a chord with me as it reminded me of one I used to wear as a child that had been knitted by my aunt. I was impressed when I received it because the herringbone detail is much more intricate than what can be appreciated on line. The cashmere is very soft yet substantial. It really is a "comfort sweater" in the that it is fully cut and the "V' neck is deep allowing easy layering with either a shirt or turtle neck. Ideal for the frigid weather we've had recently."
Review 13 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
17 January 2014
By: Blackbird
"Sweater is beautifully made and looks great with casual slacks and dress slacks!"
Review 14 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
16 January 2014
By: Popsadoddle
from South Jersey
"Easy to wear, comfortable, goes well with dress pants or jeans. Good quality cashmere."
Review 15 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Broken-Herringbone Cashmere Sweater,
30 December 2013
By: Tigger11
from Wayne PA
"Both of my sons received this sweater for Christmas and love it."
Review 16 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Sweater,
17 December 2013
By: Bizprof
from Western PA.
"This sweater was an early Christmas present from my wife. Once I saw it I had to try it on, and once that happened, it wasn't going under the tree! It's soft, fits well, goes with everything from jeans to dress slacks, and it's warm!"
Review 17 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very fine gift of great quality,
11 December 2013
By: topogigio709
from Brooklyn, New York
"Beautiful design, classy style and color, amazing softness and warmth..."
Review 18 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good looking, well made,
28 October 2013
By: Marklin
from Colorado
"Looked as advertised, delivered promptly. Attractive color and pattern."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweater feels great, looks good,
07 October 2013
By: ohiosportsman
from ohio
"So far have played golf in this sweater twice. The sweater is super soft and allows for a free swing. The color can be paired with most any other colors. Very light weight for the warmth it provides."
Review 20 for Broken–Herringbone Cashmere Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fabulous sweater,
29 December 2012
By: omaa
from Rhode Island
"This sweater has everything one wants, looks, feel, and fit. The sweater wears well, fits well over a shirt and under a jacket. The colors and yarn make it suitable for all occasions. It can be worn with everything. I don't want to be without this sweater, I hope it's available for a long time. After all, everything wears out in time, especially when It's worn everywhere."