Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Distinctive Sunglass Readers

These distinctive sunglass readers are handcrafted with top-grade optics and flexible hinges to stay comfortably in place all day. UV-protective lenses. Hard eyeglass case included. All styles also offered in hard-to-find sunglasses—great for reading at the beach, navigating while driving, or any outdoor activity. Bifocal sunglass styles offer no magnification in the top and a lined bifocal bottom with magnification of your choice. Sunglass readers available in 1.5, 2.0, and 2.5 magnifications.
Average Customer Rating:
4.05 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (20 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1
14 of 20(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Review 1 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bifocal sunglasses,
15 July 2014
By: Lauren02
from Dawsonville, Geogia
"As I have gotten older I need readers and with these sunglass readers combined with regular sunglasses I can do all activities that I normally due when wearing my regular readers. I can see my speedometer, read books, and read plant food and insecticide bottles while protecting my eyes from the sun, they are durable fashionable and something I would purchase again."
Review 2 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good purchase,
11 June 2014
By: bucky53
"very particular about eye wear, these fit the bill nicely, frames unique will most likely have my prescription into the frames"
Review 3 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
`Horrible and ill-fitting,
27 March 2014
By: Listo
"We returned these. Way overpriced and not at all what we wanted or expected. They were too small and not adjustable."
Review 4 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed,
01 January 2014
By: Craig1
from Windermere, FL
"I have a number of Orvis reading glassies. This particular pair was extremely small and did not really possess the quality I have come to expect. This may only be a "style" change but regardless, this pair of glasses did not meet my expectations. I have returned them."
Review 5 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice quality,
30 November 2013
By: Collage
"Nice bifocals and great quality including case but the glasses are small across the width even for my average head. Great returns service."
Review 6 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect for the job,
18 July 2013
By: DJMD
from London
"Stylish and strong - bi-focals - just what one needs to avoid carrying two pairs of glasses around."
Review 7 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Distinctive sun glass readers,
15 April 2013
By: cathoogie
from Tucson AZ.
"arrive in a case with a large label made in china . Not a good first impression
Glasses nice color a little weak for the Arizona sun.
Look good not terribly practical, ten dollars to ship an item that small is dubious."
Review 8 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Author doesn't have bifocal lenses..,
04 April 2013
By: Sixty
from Atlanta, GA
"The Author are very nice magnifying glasses, high quality, and very attractive. BUT... they are NOT bifocal! The whole lens is magnifying, rather than being a split lens with a magnifier in it (like the Pundit). The Author should be listed on a different page altogether. I wanted and needed a bifocal, so I was very disappointed with a whole lens of 2.0. (Where would I use that? Only reading at the beach, I guess.) Despite the quality and attractive design, I had to return them."
Review 9 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
19 January 2013
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"The Distinctive sunglass readers are "Perfect!"
They fit well, the distance and the reader part are perfectly in line where they are supposed to be.
The frames are very attractive and have that up-to-date "look."
They were worth the wait!
"
Review 10 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Distinctive Sunglass Readers,
10 October 2012
By: McDaulter
from St. Paul, MN
"These are my first pair of cheaters, I love them. They are slightly small for my head, but they are spring hinged such that they spread apart further and don't grab too tightly."
Review 11 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
good product,
31 July 2012
By: bjh08
from Boston, Ma
"I liked the glasses but was very disappointed in the color. It should have been more specific like gold or yellow. They do serve the purpose that I bought them for"
Review 12 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sun Shades,
23 June 2012
By: GRo55
from Bend, OR
"great style, great construction.
would prefer a darker, deeper shade of sunglass for better eye protection"
Review 13 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice But Too Small,
24 May 2012
By: Elevenn
from Virginia
"I had high hopes for these sunglasses when I ordered them. However, when they arrived it was immediately apparent that the frames were just too small for my melon of a head. The glasses themselves, with their clear, light golden colored frame, were very attractive. The case they came in was nice and sturdy. The incorporated reader lenses were a nice touch. All in all nice sunglasses, just too small for me. If the frames had been larger, I would have kept them."
Review 14 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish Beach Readers,
15 August 2011
By: Stretch
from Greenwich, CT
"I hate having to switch back and forth between sunglasses and readers. While it took me a while to get used to the bifocal lens, it is the perfect solution!"
Review 15 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
18 July 2011
By: meloman
"the glasses are very stylish and comfortable. Lens are optically clear with a nice tint.
great service from Orvis."
Review 16 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boardroom Readers,
30 March 2011
By: SheriffBell
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I really like the style of the Boardroom, but they were just a little small for my face. I think they would look great on a woman's face. The quality is good and they are comfortable. Sorry they didn't fit me.
Also, the website on these is somewhat confusing, which is unusual for Orvis. If you are considering buying any glasses from Orvis, please take the time to browse ALL their selections; they have many.
"
Review 17 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
great style, insufficient substance,
17 February 2011
By: viyellafan
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"As the style of these readers really appealed to me (and still does) I was sorely disappointed when mine arrived, with the frontal frame warped so that they did not sit squarely on my face. As I studied this situation, i concluded that this may have been caused by the fact that the case provided was in fact too small for the rather bulky "economist" and was squashing it, thus warping it."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team21 February 2011
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized that the Sunglass Readers arrived in less than satisfactory condition, offering a full refund or an exchange. Everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 18 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
14 October 2010
By: antiquelvr56
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I absolutely LOVE these sunglass readers. As your other reveiwer stated, they solve the problem of having to fumble around with changing from sunglasses to reading glasses, I've even used them inside in a pinch and they work wonderfully!!! They're made very well and are attractive on. I only wish that I'd found them sooner. Thanks Orvis!"
Review 19 for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
perfect for reading this summer,
06 May 2010
By: Doolie
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"For those of us with over 40-year-old eyes these sunglasses are perfect! Previously,. I would have to take off my sunglasses and put on my reading glasses to read by the pool. Or, much to my kids' horror I would wear my reading glasses and put big sunglasses on over them. Now I wear these sunglasses and problem solved!"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Distinctive Sunglass Readers
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1