Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PosiGrip Threader Fly Box

Hold all your go-to fishing patterns in an easy, organized fly box. Triangle cut foam secures flies. Special threaders make tying on flies easier.
Average Customer Rating:
4.513 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (39 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
0
37 of 39(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Review 1 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Another good orvis product,
12 September 2014
By: Viclacofd
from Long Beach , CA
"Bought this to carry my midges and nymphs. Does a great job
.
"
Review 2 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
19 July 2014
By: flymax
from Northern New York
"I have used a couple of these boxes in the small and medium sizes for the last two seasons and they work great. You can carry a whole range of sizes from 12 to 18 in the PosiGrip slots and then 20 and smaller on the threaders. Best part is it is less than half the price of the more expensive brands out there and comparable in quality."
Review 3 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Threader Dissapointing,
07 July 2014
By: piedmontpete
from Eden, NC
"I had high hopes for this box, but when I tried to get the threader into the eyes of my flies, #14 and smaller, I could not force the wire through the eyes of the hooks. I wound up holding the flies up against the evening sky and jabbing the tip of the leader over and over until finally getting it through. The box with the center spine, which holds the threaders, is too bulky for the number of flies it carries. I do like the slots for the flies and the grip of the outside of the box."
Review 4 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great medium size box,,
31 May 2014
By: Rickg303
from Toledo , ohio
"Have a hard time threading hooks? This is the box for you! Great buy and 100% satisfaction guaranteed."
Review 5 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simple, and I love the Threaders,
19 May 2014
By: anthonyp151
from Brackney PA
"The box easily holds many more flys than I expected and I especially like the threaders. Something I never tried before but will use a lot from now on"
Review 6 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great storage box,
04 April 2014
By: jim74
from Keene, NH
"I need a fly box that could give me most of what I was looking for. I needed it to fit in my wast bag and have enough flys with me where ever I go. Whether it was a river or lake and this box fit the bill.
Thanks Jim"
Review 7 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
27 August 2013
By: Oldbum
from Syracuse,NY
"This has made getting tricos and other tiny flies tied on so much easier.a blessing for aging eyes.Load em up the night before and go.Great product."
Review 8 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great box,
28 January 2013
By: TNBud
from Smoky Mountains, TN
"This is great for all types of flies. I love the idea of the threader built in. It sure beats stealing all of my wife's sewing threaders."
Review 9 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Help for the EYES,
15 January 2013
By: bummy
from Howard,PA
"Really helpful for threading the eye of the hook. My eyes are bad and this is a great product. No more fumbling the threader is just the trick I needed. I would recomend this for anyone who has trouble seeing or threading a fly."
Review 10 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good threaders, but box not water proof!,
13 January 2013
By: Newby49
from St. Louis, MO
"I am just getting into fly fishing, but was a little disappointed box was not waterproof....the 4 threaders that came with the box makes it a worthwhile purchase.....the box will be used to hold extra flies until I have space in my waterproof fly box."
Review 11 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Threaders are a great asset,
14 November 2012
By: Educator
from Alabama
"This box has become my main box. The slots are spaced well, but the main attribute is the threaders. They make putting the small flies on easy, especially when the fish are biting."
Review 12 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent purchase,
13 November 2012
By: Deleon
from Tacoma, Wa
"Nice product, well built. It wiil house ny best flies."
Review 13 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly box aids old eyes,
04 October 2012
By: Predatpr
from Molalla Oregon
"The fly threader box is a fantastic idea for us older fly fishermen. I bought it for low light situations, but it works everywhere for me, as I find myself using it for all my tiny flies."
Review 14 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
I like it!,
21 September 2012
By: Almona47
from Nanuet, NY
"I really like this fly box, and my eyes not being what they used to, the threaders are great...
I'd have given them five stars, but one of the two boxes i bought had a little problem with the hinge, but Orvis having such great customer service, they took it back and exchanged it for another.....
"
Review 15 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FLY BOX,
02 August 2012
By: Elbmarcsdrow
from Upstate, NY
"This is an excellent product. The small fly box is pretty big actually. It holds easily 20 flies that are organized with spaces between different flies. The 3 threaders that come with the box are excellent quality and come in handy when out in the stream and u need to change up your flies."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Too thick,
02 August 2012
By: ozarkloafer
from Mountain Home, AR
"Good box In most respects, but a little too deep for me. I would prefer the foam to be closer to the height of the sides, thus easier to place and retrieve flies. A thinner box would be better overall and still carry as many flies."
Review 17 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent value,
02 August 2012
By: msds
from Laconia, NH
"Nice fly box. I like having the threaders available for rapid access of flies and it makes getting the fly onto the tippet, especially the small flies, much easier. The real positive is the cost. This is one of the least expensive fly boxes I have found and it does the job better with more features. After buying 2, I later bought 2 more."
Review 18 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Well made box,
07 July 2012
By: Nutbeam
from Nova Scotia, Canada
"When fishing for brook trout I only carry one fly box - a medium size with flat and ripple foam. The flat side for streamers, wets and nymphs, and the ripple side for dries. The disadvantage of this setup is that the wings on the dries get crushed because the box is not deep enough.
I ordered a large size Posigrip fly box because the depth seemed perfect (as it does) to overcome this problem. It also has helped to organize my flies.
Unfortunately, because the Posigrip design does not allow for "staggering" the flies, many (about a quarter) of the slots go unused. I actually had to discard a half-dozen flies (ones that I had never used anyway).
The box is well made and easy to use. The slots hold the flies tightly, even weighted streamers.
"
Review 19 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product,
21 May 2012
By: ppark
"Good quality fly box. I got the small box and it still holds quite a bit of flies. Iike having the threaders. Very happy with my purchase."
Review 20 for PosiGrip Threader Fly Box
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a good flybox,
15 May 2012
By: rickz
from downingtown,pa.
"it's great for holding the fly's that you need but not to big to get in the way.it fit right in my vesy with no problems."