Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater

A classic look for your next outing, this sweater combines a traditional cut and plush merino wool for comfort and warmth—a perfect pairing with chinos. Lightweight and easy fitting, the sweater layers warmly without bulk. Rib-knit neck, cuffs, and hem. Contrasting interior neckline knit. Pure merino wool. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.329 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (70 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
3
58 of 70(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WHAT A PRICE!,
15 April 2014
By: bunny76
from Glen Mills, PA
"It's rare to get this quality sweater from anyone else other than ORVIS. My husband wore it out to dinner last week when it was a little cool in the Northeast. In spite of being able to wash it we took it to the cleaners. My husband likes the feel of Merino wool."
Review 2 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
09 April 2014
By: trwtbum
from Naperville, IL
"I bought this sweater on an end of season "deal". Well worth the money, perhaps from a fit standpoint a tad long in the body/arms but otherwise this is a sweater that you can pack when you go away and get a fair amount of apparel flexibility out of it."
Review 3 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Royal Purple Gem,
02 April 2014
By: theoneiceman
from Birmingham, AL
"Your Merino wool v-neck sweater is just the ticket for cool spring nights. The royal purple color has induced several compliments. The customary quality that we return customers expect makes this item a real handsome addition to any man's wardrobe."
Review 4 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT WEIGHT SWEATER,
18 March 2014
By: JAYMW
from MARYLAND
"i ORDERED THIS SWEATER FROM THE CATALOGUE BECAUSE i LIKED THE COLOR PURPLE AND THE PRICE WAS REASONABLE.iT CAME WITHIN A FEW DAYS AND IS LIGHTWEIGHT AND PERFECT FOR THE COOL EVENING IN THE SUMMER OR FOR UNDER A JACKET IN THE WINTER."
Review 5 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice material but too big,
10 March 2014
By: RodinHB
"Sweater felt great, but it was too long and a little too big for the size. The size was inconsistent with other Orvis sweaters that I have ordered in the past."
Review 6 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable Comfort,
28 February 2014
By: sfstonejr
"I've now purchased two of these V-Neck Sweaters and wear them all the time. I'll be looking for more colors to purchase and add to my wardrobe."
Review 7 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice sweater,
19 February 2014
By: Wilroy
from Chicago
"This lightweight comfortable sweater fits perfectly in the medium size (I'm a 40 long) and holds its shape, doesn't show dirt (charcoal color) and goes well with dress or casual shirts. So far so good!"
Review 8 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sizing?,
16 February 2014
By: TCKM
from NC
"I'm 6'2" and wear 16/35 shirt. Orvis products in size L almost always fit me, but not this one. Body length was too long by 2-3 inches and sleeve cuffs lacked elastic, which made them too sloppy for work. I bought two and the fit was consistently long."
Review 9 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater.,
13 February 2014
By: JJW608
from Raleigh, NC
"This is a really nice sweater. Great weight and soft. Nice to wear for both casual and dressy occasions."
Review 10 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
OK,
11 February 2014
By: ProfessorFlyFish
from Kentucky
"This is a decent sweater. It is well-made, soft, and comfortable. I have one complaint related to sizing. The sweater is not designed for athletic, thinner builds, as the body is too wide in both medium and large sizes. I am 5'10" 175, size 34 waist, and I wear a 16 34/35 dress shirt. The body of the large was way too wide, and even the sleeves were too fat to look nice. It seemed designed to fit over a dress shirt, and even then for a very wide body. The medium fits me better, but the sleeves are barely long enough, and the body still makes me look fat when I wear the sweater over a t-shirt rather than a dress shirt. So be advised: this sweater does not fit with a trim, clean look by itself or with a thin undershirt for thinner builds. It is designed to fit over a dress shirt or for a wide body."
Review 11 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What It Should Be,
07 February 2014
By: College
from Oklahoma
"A crew neck sweater is a crew neck sweater, except when it is not. This is what you used to wear in college and still want to wear. No exotic material or styling. No skinny, scrimpy stuff for undernourished waifs. This is the right weight and texture. Put one on and breathe a sigh of contentment. Size is right in body and sleeves."
Review 12 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Great Color But Gauze-Like Wool,
06 February 2014
By: DirkDanger
from Alpharetta, GA
"I love Orvis clothes because they are normally well-made with classic colors, sturdy material, and correct sizing for men who don't like the recent form-fitting style for shirts, sweaters, and pants.The V-neck Merino Wool Sweater is a beautiful color of purple. However, Orvis dropped the ball, or maybe the grade of wool, with this particular sweater.. The wool is so thin that you can literally see the light shining through the material, as if it were gauze. The fit for the Large size is fine through the shoulders, and the arm length is appropriate.. However, the waist has been proportioned for men who are evidently bell-shaped. I'll keep it because of the color, and probably never take the jacket off that I'll be wearing with the sweater."
Review 13 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sewater vest...100% Merino Wool,
05 February 2014
By: Hookum
from Statesboro, Ga. 30458
"I am trying my best to purchase another couple vests but cannot find them listed anywhere in your catalogs...please help...they are lightweight and perfect for our climate.....
item # 2P45
843104
"
Review 14 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great lightweight sweater!,
31 January 2014
By: Applewomyn
from Atlanta, GA
"I bought this sweater and after wearing only twice, I accidentally washed it in warm water and shrunk it badly. Of course, I had to immediate buy a replacement and one extra for good measure! I love the way this sweater fits and while it's light weight, it's VERY warm. I live in Atlanta and there are very few winter days in this part of the country that this sweater would not be sufficiently warm. I'm female, but prefer the thicker neckline of men's v-neck sweaters... love this style! Wish there were more colors!"
Review 15 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wool Sweater,
27 January 2014
By: PattiA
from Cleveland, OH
"I had to order this because it was not available in the store. They run large and I was able to purchase a medium instead of a large. To fit is good, the feel is great."
Review 16 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Easy Jumper,
18 January 2014
By: MrsVZ
from Nr Stockbridge UK
"I bought this mans jumper for myself (female). Wanted a loose fitting garment to go with jeans etc. It is just the ticket, warm but not heavy. Feels soft and does not scratch like some wool. The sleeves are a little long (well it is a mans) but I can turn them over at the cuff. Colour is really a good choice. So comfy, easy to wear, I bought another in a different shade."
Review 17 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great looking sweater,
16 January 2014
By: tommys
from grafton, oh
"good fit and true to size.great with the orvis shirt i also bought."
Review 18 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweater Purchase,
16 January 2014
By: Smiley80
from Atlanta,GA
"Great fit. Very comfortable. Retains its shape. I would buy every color."
Review 19 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warmth for the Winter,
15 January 2014
By: CandySay
from Limerick PA
"Happily I can say that this was a good purchase and I am very pleased with quality and style of this sweater."
Review 20 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Sweater,
13 January 2014
By: stevet88
"Good quality sweater, well made, great color selection. Sized generously, the medium is a tad larger that I'd like for fit on me, but not enough to return."