Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater

A classic look for your next outing, this sweater combines a traditional cut and plush merino wool for comfort and warmth—a perfect pairing with chinos. Lightweight and easy fitting, the sweater layers warmly without bulk. Rib-knit neck, cuffs, and hem. Contrasting interior neckline knit. Pure merino wool. Washable. Imported. Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.354 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (82 reviews)
5 stars
55
4 stars
14
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
4
69 of 82(84%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Review 1 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Comfort,
21 July 2014
By: daVinch
from New Boston, NH
"This merino wool sweater is one of my all time favorites. It is very soft and cozy to the touch and looks terrific. I soon bough a second one."
Review 2 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
21 July 2014
By: RTH2
from Philadelphia
"Color wqs as shown in catalogue and the fit was fiine"
Review 3 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Typical great Orvis quality,
21 July 2014
By: Ruddy
from Kitty Hawk, NC
"Love these Merino wool sweaters. Own several colors and am pleased with their fit and the way they hold up."
Review 4 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Sweater,
14 July 2014
By: paterjmc
from Havertown, PA
"Lightweight and comfortable, this sweater wears nicely over a shirt without feeling bulky. At 5'8" 165 lbs, the medium is a good fit."
Review 5 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Merino Wool Sweater,
25 June 2014
By: Jerrymlee
from Georgia
"The sweater is just what I was looking for. Soft and good fit."
Review 6 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortably well made,
21 June 2014
By: GreggM
from Birmingham, AL
"As usual Orvis quality in a adequately thick, cashmere-like feel and appearance. Large worked for 5'11", 185 lb, 38"waist, 17"x35 shirt size"
Review 7 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
10 June 2014
By: pumpus
from seattle wa
"good quality,something I always expect from ORVIS,
no problem in recommeding this product to my friends
"
Review 8 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
most comfortable,
06 June 2014
By: buckyy2k
from illinois
"very comfortable, light weight, perfect for all seasons"
Review 9 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great sweater,
03 June 2014
By: Joecanuck
from Kelowna, BC Canada
"My 2nd or 3rd of this type and just as good as the rest.. Good fit and excellent for holding it's shape."
Review 10 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nice and warm,
09 May 2014
By: Swempa
from New Zealand
"People ask me where I got it from as they never seen anything like it"
Review 11 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beautiful sweater, but a touch roomy,
05 May 2014
By: Russell18
"Having read prior reviews of this sweater, I was a bit hesitant to place an order, but went ahead anyway figuring that it might not be that big. Yes, it is indeed a bit "relaxed", though not so much so to be a problem. I prefer clothing that is slightly fitted rather than having enough free space to fit a friend inside. This sweater could be a bit snugger, but it's well within range of what works for me."
Review 12 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not up to orvis standards,
02 May 2014
By: tmcats
from manhattan, ks
"the sweater lacked 'substance. and it felt a bit like a design for a pear. i'm a flat belly, 6'3"/180#. so, i sent it back and would not recommend for anyone with a 36" or under waste."
Review 13 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WHAT A PRICE!,
15 April 2014
By: bunny76
from Glen Mills, PA
"It's rare to get this quality sweater from anyone else other than ORVIS. My husband wore it out to dinner last week when it was a little cool in the Northeast. In spite of being able to wash it we took it to the cleaners. My husband likes the feel of Merino wool."
Review 14 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
09 April 2014
By: trwtbum
from Naperville, IL
"I bought this sweater on an end of season "deal". Well worth the money, perhaps from a fit standpoint a tad long in the body/arms but otherwise this is a sweater that you can pack when you go away and get a fair amount of apparel flexibility out of it."
Review 15 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Royal Purple Gem,
02 April 2014
By: theoneiceman
from Birmingham, AL
"Your Merino wool v-neck sweater is just the ticket for cool spring nights. The royal purple color has induced several compliments. The customary quality that we return customers expect makes this item a real handsome addition to any man's wardrobe."
Review 16 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT WEIGHT SWEATER,
18 March 2014
By: JAYMW
from MARYLAND
"i ORDERED THIS SWEATER FROM THE CATALOGUE BECAUSE i LIKED THE COLOR PURPLE AND THE PRICE WAS REASONABLE.iT CAME WITHIN A FEW DAYS AND IS LIGHTWEIGHT AND PERFECT FOR THE COOL EVENING IN THE SUMMER OR FOR UNDER A JACKET IN THE WINTER."
Review 17 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice material but too big,
10 March 2014
By: RodinHB
"Sweater felt great, but it was too long and a little too big for the size. The size was inconsistent with other Orvis sweaters that I have ordered in the past."
Review 18 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Affordable Comfort,
28 February 2014
By: sfstonejr
"I've now purchased two of these V-Neck Sweaters and wear them all the time. I'll be looking for more colors to purchase and add to my wardrobe."
Review 19 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice sweater,
19 February 2014
By: Wilroy
from Chicago
"This lightweight comfortable sweater fits perfectly in the medium size (I'm a 40 long) and holds its shape, doesn't show dirt (charcoal color) and goes well with dress or casual shirts. So far so good!"
Review 20 for Merino Wool V-Neck Sweater
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sizing?,
16 February 2014
By: TCKM
from NC
"I'm 6'2" and wear 16/35 shirt. Orvis products in size L almost always fit me, but not this one. Body length was too long by 2-3 inches and sleeve cuffs lacked elastic, which made them too sloppy for work. I bought two and the fit was consistently long."