Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Vintage Chronograph

Based on the model sent by the Red Cross to POWs in WWII of which only a handful are known to exist. This men's chronograph watch has a quartz movement with second and hour secondary dials and a date indicator. Italian leather in a richly textured croc print. Mock gold case. Men's quartz chronograph watch has a 42mm case diameter. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
3.783 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
13
3 stars
6
2 stars
5
1 star
4
33 of 46(72%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage Chronograph
Review 1 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Dad loved it!,
25 March 2014
By: smran
from Santa Ana, CA
"This is a very nice vintage looking chronograph watch. It's a nice size, not too large. It's the perfect, sporty, classic accessory."
Review 2 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great watch,
11 March 2014
By: danfos
from Washington, Il
"Looks good and feels good. Keeping accurate time so far. Many people have commented on the watch - all positive."
Review 3 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
eye catching,
06 March 2014
By: Rick48
from Worcs
"Particularly like the retro/antique look and finish.
Comfortable to wear for a large watch
"
Review 4 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Classic time piece,
04 March 2014
By: WesleyA
from California
"Only drawback is that it is difficult in low light to see the numbers on the dark watch face."
Review 5 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Watch,
27 February 2014
By: steelheadman1
"I am a watch nut. I don't need another watch, but when I saw the Vintage Chronograph in the online catalog, I had to have it. I normally would not make a purchase like this on line, but I took a chance and wasn't disappointed. The look, the feel, the weight and the quality of its manufacture were just right, Signed, Very Satisfied Customer"
Review 6 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It Tells Time!,
26 February 2014
By: Aggie2013
from Dallas, TX
"I received this watch for my birthday this year and was initially frustrated because it wasn't keeping time. I took it into the Orvis store and asked them if I was doing something wrong and they told me they will just replace it since it was running slow. No questions asked.
I received my new one, it works great and looks great. I'm very happy with this watch."
Review 7 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good all around watch,
11 February 2014
By: Howe
from New Hampshire
"Caught my eye in the brochure.....it looks great and doesn't disappoint.
Time piece size is up to date and not too large like some of the new watches on the market.
"
Review 8 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vintage Chronograph Watch,
07 February 2014
By: Bobb68
from The Woodlands, Texas
"Excellent decision for me to buy this watch. I own a Rolex and wanted something a little different and exciting. It's dressy and casual and it comes in a beautiful exactly as is shown in the ad. Good job Orvis.
Bob Hebert"
Review 9 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift ever!!,
15 January 2014
By: Sunflower1223
from New Jersey
"This watch was a gift for my boyfriend, and he loved it. He had never even heard of Orvis until I got him this watch, and now he is all about it. Great quality, durability, and style. I could not find this vintage looking style anywhere else."
Review 10 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Vintage chronograph was a bit disappointing,
15 January 2014
By: drewnardo
"The watch was pretty much as described but differed from the photo shown on the website. I'm a vintage chronograph nut and my favorite style are the older round waterproof pushers which were shown in the photo. When I received the watch, the pushers were changed and did not match the photo. I was able to return the watch with no problems. I do appreciate Orvis for offering some interesting watches though. Keep it up!!"
Review 11 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Excellence!,
28 December 2013
By: HBCA
from HB,ca
"Gorgeous, classy timepiece. Well crafted, masculine, easy fit, comfort. Completely tasteful for all occasions."
Review 12 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love my watch!,
25 December 2013
By: CWM1
from Greenville, AL
"Watch arrived in a timely manner and exceeded all my expectations. I would certainly recommend Orvis to all my friends and family."
Review 13 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not so good,
14 December 2013
By: RobertN
from Fairfax Station VA
"Stops when it should not. More difficult to read than I expected. Bezel has lots of possible uses but does not turn. It is apparently for show rather than use. Overall not what I expected and if problems continue, especially either stopping or losing time! I will return."
Review 14 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Vintage Chronograph,
04 December 2013
By: RDub
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This is the third watch I have received from Orvis. Two Field Chronograph which the second hand stopped on both watches. I got a gift certificate after returning the second Field Chronograph. I then bought the Vintage Chronograph, and now the second hand on the Vintage has stopped. Needless to say I am very disappointed with Orvis watches, considering the excellent quality of all other products. I will not order any other watch."
Review 15 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vintage Chronograph,
04 September 2013
By: TBruce
from Austin, TX
"I am very pleased with this vintage watch. When I wear it someone will always give me a compliment on the good looks of the watch.
One should keep in mine that the face of the watch is dark and a little hard to see at night.
"
Review 16 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Unfair,
03 July 2013
By: Jimfred
"This is a watch my daughter picked for her graduation. But the band was extra long and Orvis would not replace it with a shorter one, nor would they allow us to return it. So we are stuck with a beautiful, extra long, useless, expensive watch band. This is bad business, especially for a long-time client."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team11 July 2013
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer, apologized that the band lenght on our Men's Vintage Chronograph did not meet expectations. Our goal is to make sure everything you buy from us is absolutely right. You can always shop with confidence at Orvis—everything we sell is backed by our unconditional 100% satisfaction guarantee.
Review 17 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great watch. Confirm other reviews.,
08 April 2013
By: RKWexfordPA
"The watch is excellent in terms of appearance and fit. As other reviewers have pointed out, the color scheme makes the watch difficult to read when f background lighting is not bright."
Review 18 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
A Disapointment,
12 February 2013
By: drobb
"Great package, looks as discribed but the second hand zero's on the number 7. Not an every day watch, it's not water proof and feels fragil but works OK for a weekend or dinner watch."
Review 19 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice character,
01 February 2013
By: Stingray25
from Leonardtown, MD
"I like the look and style. The band could use one or two more holes in it so it doesn't fit so loosely."
Review 20 for Vintage Chronograph
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a man's man kind of watch!,
29 January 2013
By: flyfishinfun
from Three Bridges, NJ
"This is a watch for a real man! Not the guy with a lot of gel in his hair, but with a fishing rod in his hands. Looks rugged, and is! Now you will always know what time it was when you landed the big one--enjoy!"