Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns

High-capacity boxes designed to make sure you don't leave home without the correct fly pattern. Two slim sizes—small and large—plus a thick version for bulky fly patterns. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.636 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
0
21 of 22(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Review 1 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Boxes,
15 October 2014
By: BKC1040
from McKinney, TX
"I purchased 2 of these boxes and they work as advertised. I like the easy snap closures and they hold a lot of flies.
I like to label my boxes and the white cover makes that a snap."
Review 2 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not so much ....,
26 September 2014
By: catchnofishAl
from Oriental, NC
"The first impression when seeing this box was; it's way overpriced! Pretty light construction for such a large box ....... if you sat or it got underfoot, it's a goner! Not much foam lining for keeping flies in place."
Review 3 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roomy and Floats!,
25 July 2014
By: BigBoy32
from Big Bend, FL
"This us a great box and sure enough - first time out I knocked it in the water. But it floats so it was easy to retrieve and everything inside was dry! Plenty of room for all you big streamers, etc. perfect box for saltwater fly fishermen."
Review 4 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I needed,
01 May 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Just the box I need to hold the streamers that I use in Louisiana water. Opens flat and appears durable. The only change I would make is to make the entire surface the same texture as the sides and edges. Sun Really reflects of the shine of the center,"
Review 5 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good, but not perfect,
24 September 2013
By: duncs406
from Helena, MT
"This is a sweet box for large streamers and big dries. The latches and hinge has worked flawlessly for me. However do not keep these boxes in the heat and direct sunlight. Whatever adhesive used to hold the foam on does stick to the box in these conditions. Otherwise these boxes would be a 5 star rating for me."
Review 6 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
durable and slim with high capacity,
28 August 2013
By: DaveMCL
from North Carolina
"I have this box in the small and it holds a suprising amount of streamers. It is relatively slim and lightweight, but has proved to be very durable. I highly recommend this boat box and will be purchasing more in the 'small' size."
Review 7 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best box for my flies,
16 July 2013
By: pikemaster
"THis box is perfect for my pike flies! Really easy to hook them in, and the background color on BOTH sides of the box makes it easy to see all the variations on each fly. It opens and closes simply. Best box ever."
Review 8 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good box,
26 June 2013
By: bugchecker
from Down south inTiger Land
"I got the medium sized boat box for all my bass flies. I t does a good job holding large flies. Medium is plenty big enough."
Review 9 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what you need for streamers,
29 May 2013
By: phlyphshrphil
from Hamilton Montana
"I am a guide who uses streamers a lot. I found the Orvis boat box to be exactly what I needed to keep my streamers organized and separated. Just the right size for me to keep a good supply of large flies in order."
Review 10 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A quality product,
22 April 2013
By: Nottoway
from Richmond, Va
"This is a high quality boat box and made in the USA. I plan to purchase the larger size also."
Review 11 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boxes,
05 March 2013
By: troutbum25
from Central, Pa
"I bought the medium style box and it is everything I can ask for. I bought the medium style because it is thicker and has foam on both sides of the box. It's big enough to handle a bunch of my musky flies but yet small enough to fit into my pack. If you need a box to pack away some big flies or a lot of flies, then look no further. Will probably buy more later for sure!"
Review 12 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just What I Needed,
24 January 2013
By: ESMan
"I tie lots of flies in my spare time. I have lots of boxes filled with lots of varieties. Keeping them neat and well organized is a real challenge. My streamers and terrestrials take up too much room in my smaller boxes. The Boatbox turned out to be exactly what I needed and wanted. This is the perfect box for the bigger flies is anyone's arsenal."
Review 13 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
29 December 2012
By: present2012
"This was a gift for an avid fisherman. He was extremely pleased with the quality."
Review 14 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Big Fly Box,
15 August 2012
By: woozyboy
from Flagstaff, AZ
"Good piece of quality gear. So far it seems to be well made, solid, with no issues. Would be nice to have an xtra piece of foam. I have the Medium size box. It is a bit big for freshwater but perfect for my saltwater flies!"
Review 15 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Accurately described,
31 May 2012
By: fionn
from Scotland
"The large model really is large. This is clearly going to last for years. It is not inexpensive but it is solidly constructed. Yes, it would be good for a boat but it will also fit in a hold-all type fishing bag. I also bought the small version, which will fit in all bags."
Review 16 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
02 September 2011
By: FishfulThinking
from Florida South West Gulf Coast
"Love this fly box. Good quality. I bought the medium size and it has lots of room, foam (top & bottom) to hold the flies in place with room to toss in a few packages of leaders and then some. What would make this even better is if they would throw in one loose flat piece of the foam ....I could double stack my flies in there and not ever need another box. Still....great box for my saltwater fly fishing."
Review 17 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waiting to See,
01 September 2011
By: Muzz
"I purchased these boxes to replace the green floating foam Orvis boxes that I have used for years. I see the following three advantages: 1) The small box fits perfectly, standing up, in the old gray Orvis waterproof bag, Great for float fishing. 2) The box is clear which means you can see the contents and do not need to label and 3) I am hopeful that these boxes will solve a problem I have had with the previous Orvis foam boxes i.e. flies that are spit out of the foam when they travel by air. I don't know what causes this but my old foam boxes were a mess when I opened them up after a flight. Other fly fisherman have had the same problem. Something to do with air pressure I am sure. I will know better how these boxes preform in a few weeks after my next flight."
Review 18 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Boxes,
30 August 2011
By: Tuko
"I recently purchased all three sizes in these boxes and they perform their function as advertised. Quality made and should last a long time."
Review 19 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Best streamer box ever,
11 May 2011
By: Tryme
"This box is fantastic for holding saltwater-streamer flies.Handy,waterproof and easy to open and stow.What a great product.Can't wait to use it on my annual flyfishing trip for lake trout this June"
Review 20 for Boat Box for Streamers and Saltwater Patterns
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Medium fly box,
15 November 2010
By: Onetahoe
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Great box for large saltwater flies. It is too thick to use for fresh water, unless you carry a lot of big streamers.
The medium box is twice as thick as the other two.
"