Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

NonToxic Fly Wire

Replacing the need for lead wire, Fly Wire is safe for the environment, yet sinks fast. High density for weighting and easy malleability. Winds tightly and breaks off easily to avoid having to be cut, like other lead substitutes. Comes on a ½-oz. spool.Sizes: .015, .020, .025, .030. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.769 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
10
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
13 of 13(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for NonToxic Fly Wire
Review 1 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As expected,
26 March 2014
By: lespaul
from CT
"Standard wire for nymphs that are a bit heavier in the 10-14 size range. Help the eagles and osprey by buying lead-free wrap... We owe it to our kids and grand children!"
Review 2 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Right Thing to Do,
12 March 2014
By: VaTrout
from Fredericksburg, Va
"I prefer the properties of lead. However, I feel better using a material that will not jeopardize the quality of my favorite streams. This material wraps a lot like lead but its density does not."
Review 3 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
First Esperience with this Wire,
07 March 2014
By: Lockley
from Southern Louisiana Gulf Coast
"Really don't understand why a fish enthusiast would use any thing else. Purchased two sizes of wire and have found the actually more pleasant to use than lead which gets nasty after a while."
Review 4 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Wire,
11 February 2014
By: Almos
from Pa.
"Just starting to fly tie and purchased this for the nympths I wish to tie and have done several and the quality is
good and easy to work with. Price is right as well and have ordered more in different colors. Thanks Orvis for starting me out in the beginning.
"
Review 5 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish catcher,
27 January 2014
By: ChattoogaRiverTroutBum
from Easley, SC
"If you want to get your fly down deep, this is the way to go. Whether or not lead or lead-free makes a difference is a debate that is not for here. But nonetheless it still works."
Review 6 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Lead Substitute,
18 November 2013
By: NNCC
from San Jose, CA
"Non-toxic, sinks just as well as lead, and is easy to use for tying."
Review 7 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pretty good for being environmentally friendly,
28 December 2012
By: Limestoner
from Bucks County, PA
"Nice, eco-friendly alternative to lead wrap. However, I do not believe it is as heavy as actual lead. I guess that is the trade off..."
Review 8 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Why does anyone use lead???,
09 October 2012
By: mcflyfishing
from NE PA
"Lead is toxic, toxic, toxic. Orvis is one of the few retailers that do not sell lead. I applaud Orvis for this and I use their non toxic fly wire instead of lead. Weighted flies end up in the river, whether stuck on a rock or in a fish.
By the way, it has plenty of weight, and is flexible and easy to tie with. It sinks flies well. I can't tell the difference. Give the fish and the river a break - stop using lead.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok Product,
23 April 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"This works but I prefer the flat sheet lead , but if you like this it does a good job and gets your fly down"
Review 10 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
worth the weight,
02 March 2012
By: treedave
from Edinburgh. Scotland
"Bought this product expressly to tie sculpins for wich it is ideal. not as heavy as lead but really useful for bulking up on the hookshank. It also flatens quite well."
Review 11 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great alternative to lead,
30 December 2011
By: kcofohio
from Central Ohio
"Easy to use and good weight to it. A great substitute for the old lead wire."
Review 12 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This is good stuff,
23 November 2009
By: sharebaer
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I am new to this so I will keep it short.I have to totally agree with the florida guy and how much better this is for our enviroment and the future of fishing.Lead is really toxic stuff and if you think about it there must be tons of it laying in the bottom of lakes and streams so (A-MEN) to the non toxic wieght what a great idea and trend to start.I only hope Orvis will keep it on their product list for years to come,now this is something I can definately get behind, prompts to FL guy and to ORVIS FOR THINKING OF THE FUTURE and I will be to so this item has definately made my list of things to get after all my renzetti traveler is 1st. I loved that reveiw and I want one Now, as I said I have the terra rotary vise and it drives me nutz but I have never heard a bad thing about renzetti but now that I think about it I can buy almost everything on my list for the same price as my new vice how cool."
Review 13 for NonToxic Fly Wire
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LOVE PROTECTING THE ENVIROMENT AND USING TO,
20 November 2009
By: AJNFLORIDA
from I LIVE IN FLORIDA RIGHT ON THE GULF OF MEXICO
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"NOT A LOT OF PEOPLE REALIZE HOW MUCH LEAD IS LOST DUE TO FISHING AND IT IS SO GREAT THAT THERE IS NOW AN ALTERNATIVE TO TOXIC LEAD DPOSITS LEFT BHIND EVERY YEAR BY ALL FISHERMAN FLY OR BAIT CASTING.I FIND THAT ITS JUST AS TOUGH AS THE LEAD SPOOLS,I ALWAYS BREAK THE LEAD,HOWEVER SINCE I HAVE SWITCHED (NOTE THE 2 ROLLS)TO THIS THAT PROBLEM IS SOLVED AND (I GET HELP PASS THE WORD ALONG THAT THIS GREAT PRODUCT THAT IS SAFER FOR THE FISH AND THEIR HABBITATS AS WELL BECAUSE THERE WILL BE FAR LESS LEAD BEING LOST WHILE FISHING,AND OF COURSE OUR TOP RATED DEALER(ORVIS) HAS CAUGHT A RIDE ON THE ENVIROMENTLY TRAIN.GRAT JOB ORVIS"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.