Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt

Crafted of bridle leather tanned by J&E Sedgwick & Co. in England, the world's premier saddle-leather tannery. Our leather belt's sporting look dresses up nicely and ages beautifully. Solid brass buckle. In brown, black, tan. 1⅜" wide. Made in USA.Even waist sizes: 32-46.Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.549 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
2
48 of 51(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Review 1 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love this belt,
03 October 2014
By: OliveFarmer
from Los Angeles, CA
"I ordered 1 size larger than waist size and it fit perfectly. Other reviewers have mentioned it is too stiff, I disagree, it is substantial, not stiff. Looks great with jeans, chinos and khakis; I ordered black and like the silver buckle as well. I expect this belt to hold up and look good for many years."
Review 2 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great belt,
19 August 2014
By: DrWhat4
from Minneapolis
"This is simply a very fine piece of leather that serves as a great daily wear belt. It looks great with jeans, khakis or even nicer dress pants. It does not stretch out. Take their advice and buy it 2" bigger than your waist size."
Review 3 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice belt,
28 May 2014
By: unclewest
from NC boonies
"Just as advertised.
Much more comfortable and better looking than my other work/casual belts.
I was skeptical about the price, but now think it was all worth it."
Review 4 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Belt,
27 May 2014
By: AUMAN
from Alabama
"I was in need of a quality black dress belt and despise narrow belts. The belt is of excellent quality and workmanship and I am pleased with the purchase. My only disappointment is that the stiching is a little more pronounced than I expected."
Review 5 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money,
12 May 2014
By: ShoTime
from Philadelphia, PA
"This belt is on the pricey side but is worth the extra money IMO because of the high quality construction. I get the feeling it will out last all of my other, cheaper belts. Sizing was perfect, just follow the sizing instructions that Orvis provides."
Review 6 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Worth the money.,
11 March 2014
By: Trumpet1
"High quality, long lasting belt. Bought the black one after owning the brown one for years and still wearing it. Well worth the price for longevity and durability."
Review 7 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great belt,
18 February 2014
By: RickG22
from Haymarket VA
"This will be my new favorite belt. Solid construction, much like my wife's riding tack. Stitching is rugged and looks great."
Review 8 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent,
13 February 2014
By: NICK2005
"This is an excellent belt, a bit on the pricey side, but it has a unique look and will last forever, so a few bucks extra is not a big issue for me."
Review 9 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Like it.,
25 January 2014
By: Oldcorn
from MN
"Belt is attractive although stiffer than most, but I appreciate what wears in and not out. I'm surprised how few belts I like but I like this one."
Review 10 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best belt I have ever had,
16 January 2014
By: Mase
from Milwaukee, Wisconsin
"This a terrific belt. I bought my first one thinking I would wear it with khakis or corduroys i.e.casual dress. I bought my second one when I found I was wearing it every day with any type of dress. This belt looks great and feels great with dress slacks, suits, khakis, or shorts. Next step is to buy one each for my two sons in law and my son. They will love it.
Last year, I bought what I thought was a high quality leather belt in Buenos Aires. The Orvis belt is of much higher quality.
"
Review 11 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Sedwick Belt,
15 January 2014
By: JeepGC
from Santa Barbara, CA
"The belt is okay. The name of the belt has the term "Bridle" so I was expecting a belt that is soft and pliable, oil tanned. The belt I received was stiff and inflexible. It will get better over time, but for the price was expecting something more broke in and flexible."
Review 12 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Belt Ever!!,
13 January 2014
By: Doby
from Iowa
"Of all the belts I've purchased from Orvis, this is the best ever!! A great fit, excellent leather, sturdy, and rich in color."
Review 13 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice purchase,
01 January 2014
By: kp40
from Conn
"Yes this belt does run a little small as others had said so order a larger size, but that said my son was very happy with this belt, very well made!"
Review 14 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jean Belt,
28 December 2013
By: Flytraveler2013
from Richmond,VA
"Excellent quality belt made with tradition but reflecting today's style and fashion. Use to dress up or down when about city or town."
Review 15 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a bit pricey,
07 December 2013
By: 50sbaby
from Illinois
"Fine belt but based on other bridle leather belts I have, it's a bit overpriced."
Review 16 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely smell.,
02 December 2013
By: SSSSSSSS
from Oxford, England.
"The brown version is a lovely deep colour. It is a little stiff as it is new but very well finished and slim enough to be worn with smart trousers.
One warning as suggested is to order at least one size larger than you think you need.
"
Review 17 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the belt,
06 November 2013
By: Cowtowner
from Columbus, OH
"Orvis is in love with BROWN belts! This is the only black belt in the catelog and it is great: great quality leather, solid bridle stitching and attractive enough for active or dress wear. Disappointed in shipping which took 7 days! Orvis could do better for the price."
Review 18 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing Quality; RUNS SMALL!,
21 October 2013
By: dthom02
from La Mesa, CA
"Amazing belts, top quality, well made, and worth the money. BE ADVISED: You need to order TWO SIZES UP from your pant size as these belts run small. I ordered one size up (as recommended in the Orvis description) and had to return that belt for a larger one. Also, the Orvis description does not to mention processes J & E Sedgwick & Co. Ltd uses to ensure the high quality of their leather goods. The following is from their website concerning these belts:
"Full vegetable tanned leather with a semi-aniline and greased grain to give a superb finish.
All belt leathers are traditionally pit tanned and hand curried to ensure that the fibres are strong and the leather is smooth.""
Review 19 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome purchase,
03 October 2013
By: clarcling
"I ourchased this belt for my husband and he absolutely loves it. Fit it good and it is a handsome accessory to jeans or casual wear. Very happy indeed."
Review 20 for Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Black Sedgwick Bridle-Leather Belt,
01 October 2013
By: Kennagirl
"It is so hard to find a black casual belt. This one was perfect. It was for my husband's birthday and he loves it. The 2" rule for buying a belt was true to size."