Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes

Indestructible, floatable fly boxes. Up to 75% lighter than other boxes. Damaged, they pop back into shape. Specify ripple/ripple, ripple/flat (shown).
Average Customer Rating:
4.497 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (145 reviews)
5 stars
105
4 stars
22
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
5
132 of 145(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Review 1 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Large box,
27 August 2015
By: FlyfishingnLA64
from South La. Mash :-)
"I do a lot of salt water fly fishing in Louisiana...I just bought two more of the large boxes!...great product for storing my large salt water flies!"
Review 2 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish and Functional,
17 August 2015
By: Horibop62
from Canberra, Australia
"Finally found a fly box that puts functionality over form. Light, good looking and easy to operate every time, these boxes will continue to occupy a place in my vest and freshwater tackle bag."
Review 3 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
17 August 2015
By: warrent423
from Tennessee
"boxes are great, light, easy to open and flies fit in easily. Place for info on back very helpful if lost."
Review 4 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Practical Product,
05 July 2015
By: KokosingBob
from Uniontown, OH
"The Lightweight Floating Fly Box will allow the user to significantly reduce the weight carried in his or her vest. I carry two of these boxes. A large size for streamers and a small size for nymphs and dry flies. I recommend the ripple/ripple style.
I am prone to back problems, and using these ultralight fly boxes helps reduce the strain on my back!
"
Review 5 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Useful,
30 April 2015
By: Victoira
"I'm not a fly fisher, but bought this as a gift. It seems very useful, and I had great fun populating it with the flies I also bought. Loved the service, delivery, and quality of everything I purchased."
Review 6 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very good,
14 November 2014
By: jeneny0
from uk
"always buy orvis products
customer service the best
always pay that more and you get a good product
which will last for years
"
Review 7 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Box,
13 November 2014
By: PaulWilkinsFromScotland
from West Lothian, Scotland
"I like this because it can float if dropped. I have purchased waders so I've been looking for a fly box like this."
Review 8 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fly Box,
17 September 2014
By: LucyLu0711
from Midlothian, VA
"Very secure and easy to open. Nice product I purchased one in each size."
Review 9 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Small Fly Box,
16 September 2014
By: CastingDoubts
from NE Ohio
"This little box fits everywhere and holds a good amount of flies. The magnetic closure is very strong and holds the box shut tight. The box is easy to grip and has a curved back to fit into a pocket."
Review 10 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great purchase,
17 July 2014
By: Teachmehowtofish
from Georgia
"This is a solid inexpensive little fly box. Perfect for taking a few flies down to the river or lake on a nice afternoon"
Review 11 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly box,
16 July 2014
By: John731
from North Jersey
"This is the second on of these fly boxes that I have purchased. They close very securely and fit nicely in my vest. Also, if you should drop it, it will float"
Review 12 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good buy,
26 June 2014
By: bigkimbrell
from South Carolina
"I purchased the large one and it fits in the back pocket of my jeans while I am walking the edge of the pond. Easy open and secure closing. Held all my bass flies with ease."
Review 13 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fly Box Review,
26 June 2014
By: fishingDL
from Idaho and Florida
"These fly boxes are great. Very light with a contour which makes them more comfortable in the vest pocket. They also float if you should drop them on the water. You just have to decide on the size you want. I like the ones with the ripples on both sides for fresh water and for saltwater using larger flies I like the ones with ripples on one side and the flat surface on the other side for my larger flies."
Review 14 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flies "safe",
06 May 2014
By: TerryG
from Midwest
"It is small; lightweight; has a magnetic closure; is hi-visibility; and floats. . .Any more features and fish will jump in your arms."
Review 15 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for hoppers or streamers,
20 January 2014
By: Andrssonevn
from Baltimore, MD
"This is a decent box for hoppers or streamers. It can be tough to get smaller hooks to stay in the ridges so bigger hooks work better in this box. It is easy to open since it has magnetic closures which is nice when your trying to get it open on the water."
Review 16 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid buy,
17 January 2014
By: Otron16
from Kingston, ON
"I'm just starting out in the fly fishing/tying, my friends have them and recommended. they're a solid box, priced well, and they float too!"
Review 17 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent profuct,
16 January 2014
By: Sr3281
from California
"I was looking for an inexpensive, light-weight, spacious flybox and this is just that!"
Review 18 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Box...BTW it floats!,
28 December 2013
By: Kinzuakrusher
"An inexpensive box with a great functional design. The magnets are strong, the contour on the back panel convenient, and the large ID tag on the back is a fantastic touch. I gave them as gifts, I think I will buy one for myself!"
Review 19 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good gift.,
24 December 2013
By: Willibe
"It was what my grandson wanted and he was pleased."
Review 20 for Orvis Lightweight Floating Fly Boxes
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly box,
23 December 2013
By: millcon
from north bend wa
"these are the nicest fly boxes I have yet. I have five now and they continue to be my favorite. great storage arrangement magnetic latch and they float"