Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur

These women's hunting boots are worn by European royalty and gamekeepers alike. Made of natural latex, which is strong, durable, and supple. They're made by hand as they have been since 1927. Lined with full-grain leather so they will never leave you clammy. Leg is full-length zipper gusseted. Soft, aggressive tread grips on most surfaces. Women's hunting boot in olive. European whole sizes. Boot shaft is 15" tall, 15" around. 1.25" heel. France.Women's boot sizes: (U.S. size) 36(5½), 37(6), 38(7), 39(7½), 40(8), 41(9), 42(10)
Average Customer Rating:
4.933 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Review 1 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOP product for any Nature Lover!,
13 November 2014
By: MariettesBackToBasics
from Dublin, GA
"On purpose I have waited longer so I can judge these Le Chameau fairly after almost one year. They do run a bit larger and I ordered a size 7½ and usually I have shoe size 8. Their fit is very comfortable, even with socks.
If you Google: {Sunshine Walk & Deer Tracks} you will find more information.
Highly recommended and the good thing is that these high quality boots will last a lifetime!
"
Review 2 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
La Chemeau boots,
18 July 2014
By: BLewis
"I have been looking at these for some time now and when I found them on your website I just ordered them. I love them and they are exactly what I needed. I can not only use them in the fields but also just in everyday normal things when it is raining or just muddy out. They are super comfy."
Review 3 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very happy with these boots,
11 February 2014
By: Blueskies
from Philadelphia PA
"I have been considering this purchase for some time, and finally decided to go ahead. I bought them in my usual size 7.5 (38) and was concerned that they would be too narrow for my wide feet. I was pleasantly surprised that the 7.5 M was fine (even though I always buy 7.5 W in other shoes).
Sorry I waited so long to try these! They are very comfortable right out of the box and I'm sure I'll enjoy them for a long time to come.
"
Review 4 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Duchess boots available!,
08 February 2014
By: HoustonMom77024
from Houston, TX
"My new boots are amazing. I get complements from all my stylish friends! The boots were worn by Princess Kate in famous pictures and I evoke her when I wear them. One only needs a good pair of rain boots once in life and these are it! I wear them for hours on the polo field and when picking my son up from school. They are timeless."
Review 5 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect boots for everything,
18 September 2013
By: Dashgrl
from Anchorage, AK
"I love well-made outdoor gear and these boots are high quality. Have used them walking the goldens, archery practice and will hunt in them. I have large calves, can't wear most boots but these fit with room for socks/pants. Wear a 6 and ordered the 5.5. Get your regular size if you use insoles. Beautiful boots!"
Review 6 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
my Manolos,
09 July 2013
By: WesternNYgirl
from Buffalo, NY
"I am 5'8" and usually wear size 9 shoes. I originally bought size 40 and they were a tiny bit too small. I upgraded to the size 41 and they are a bit too big, but will work with heavier socks. I wish there were 1/2 sizes. The height of the boots comes up to about 2" below my knee. The boots are comfortable, but I wish there was a bit more arch support. (I will add an insert.) I will use the boots for what they are intended... mud, water, barns, dog walks... I think they are about $200 too expensive, but I will have them for the next 20 years and wear them daily. The leather lining is especially nice. I used to have Hunter Wellies, which were 15 years old. The Hunter boots were lighter weight, but the tread is better on the LeChemeau boots."
Review 7 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice boot,
14 March 2013
By: np75005
from Chicago
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"The boot does run a wee bit big as others have noted. I generally wear a US6 in a boot however I order the 5.5/36. The heel was a bit loose (never have that problem), so I put in a Dr. Scholl's insert that was a 3/4 foot pad w/ a heel cup (actually meant for pumps). This added the security to the heel and additional arch support w/o making the toe-box tight.
At 5 foot tall, I'm just squeaking by in this boot. BARELY. I would not have been able to get away with wearing this boot had the shaft of the boot been any taller. In fact, the insert helped by about 1/8 to 1/4 inch. Beware ladies, if you're petite like I am, this boot will be a push depending on your calf height. I'm barely making it.....
As for comfort. THEY ARE GREAT!!!!!! I love this boot. Yes, it's a little tall on me. Yes, it's not the most fashionable boot (like) everyone is wearing. However, I love that it's comfortable and that NO one has this boot. I live in downtown Chicago and there are ladies in rain boots EVERYWHERE! I have yet to see anyone in this boot. Love that....
So far, no cons. These are NOT winter boots however they are doing well w/ Chicago snows/rains the last couple weeks. They are good for approx 1 to 1.5 hours max. walking at 32+. Mind you I think I am part polar bear. If you don't like the cold I would say you'll probably be comfortable at 40+. Any colder than you will need to switch to a different boot if you're going to be out for hours+.
The zipper is very high quality/heavy duty. Similar to the zippers on boating canvases. They do supply a wax. You'll need it. Good news for me is that I can get in/out of the boot w/o unzipping :-).
Hope this helps...."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cool boots,
31 January 2013
By: Vandym
from Georgia
"These boots are very soft on the inside and wearable. Fit true to size."
Review 9 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fabulous boots,
19 December 2012
By: Londongirl12
"Absolutely love these boots - perfect for all outdoor activities, very comfortable, and look great."
Review 10 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
15 August 2012
By: Littlledragonfly
"Had to go down one full size from 41 to 40. Usually wear a woman's 10 or 10.5 in designer shoes. I wear a 10.5 in running shoes. The 41 was way to big even with thick socks."
Review 11 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
functional luxury,
24 July 2012
By: AF22
from Ayr
"Having recently purchased this product I am overjoyed at the quality and functionality. I especially love the slim fit as I have found all other boots to be uncomfortably wide."
Review 12 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really well made boots,
30 December 2011
By: sjs1129
from Adirondack Mountains, NY
"The women's Le Chameau boots are very well designed and constructed. I've never had boots that fit as comfortably and provided such impressive performance in use. They get great traction while providing warmth and comfort on long walks through the forest. No leather boots are as waterproof or fit this well. I'd get a second pair but I expect this pair to last at least 10 years."
Review 13 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best boots ever,
26 October 2011
By: 3DogOregonGirl
from Oregon coast
"My husband and I like these boots so much that we own two pairs each! Why? I teach field courses in marine biology. I spend most of the summer tromping through mud, working on rocky shores, or standing in the classroom. In fall and winter, we hunt pheasants. In the last 30 years, we have gone through many pairs of boots....until we tried these. No other boots compare to the comfort and rugged performance of the Chameau Chasseur boots. They have held up for years in and around seawater, mud, and all types of terrain. These are ALL DAY BOOTS."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Comfort Ever,
24 October 2010
By: LHaspel
from Louisiana
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I have a pair of these ladies' Chasseurs and they are the best boots I've ever owned. They are unbelievably comfortable. I've used mine for hunting, fishing, and just walking around in the field. What's neat is that the boots came with a mini-size silicone spray that is good for spraying on the zipper to make it easier to zip. Also good for shining them up! I hope Orvis will carry other Le Chameau boots for ladies in the future! Did I mention they are the most COMFORTABLE boots ever?"
Review 15 for Womens Le Chameau Leather-Lined Chasseur
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can NOT be beat for serious boots!,
26 October 2007
By: Shiner
from Black Oak Savannah Texas
"Having done more than my share of slogging through muddy fields, fishing on cold wet mornings, , and general mucking about in my life, necessity has required me to always have a comfortable pair of good, durable, water-proof boots at hand. I started with Red Ball rubbers in a boy's size 4, years ago when they were about the only ones I could find at my local farm supply store. It wasn't until eight years ago that I learned of Le Chameau boots. When I did, I scoffed at the price. To my *thrifty* way of thinking, no boot in the world could possibly be worth $400! Then someone bought me a pair and, I must confess, having put these boots to the test, I am now "sold" on them. If a tornado came bearing down on my farm tomorrow, the first thing I'd grab would be my Chameau boots - they really are THAT good!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.