Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Pet Portrait

A captivating work of art and a touching way to memorialize a lost companion, these incredibly lifelike pet portraits are hand drawn in Conté crayon—a French technique dating back to the 1700s. Artist Diane Morrow, who's completed more than 2,000 portraits for Orvis customers over the past 20 years, only requires a photograph (or e-mailed image) to create your one-of-a-kind masterpiece. Photo will be returned. Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.917 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (72 reviews)
5 stars
69
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
70 of 72(97%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Pet Portrait
Review 1 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thanks to the artist,
15 October 2014
By: ELLIECHOWCHOW064
from Lake Placid NY
"Absolutely an amazing job from the artist. We love our pet portrait. I was so impressed when we opened it up.
Would recommend this product to all pet lovers.
"
Review 2 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I love it,
03 October 2014
By: KAYAVA
from Chesapeake, VA
"This artist is SO good. The portrait of my dog is nearly identical to the photo I sent. It was also completed very promptly and mailed in a nearly indestructible cardboard tube."
Review 3 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding - Very Sentimental Picture,
17 September 2014
By: TripJo
from Dallas, TX
"The artist captured our dogs picture just perfect! And the framing of the picture is a very nice, quality touch."
Review 4 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Completely satisfied,
06 August 2014
By: Billsd
"Pet portrait was BEAUTIFUL. Very professional. Complete likeness . Plan to have more portraits done."
Review 5 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very good portrait,
15 July 2014
By: Rickoh
from Columbus ,ohio
"We purchased a drawing of one of our Setters and it was outstanding and the service was excellent . Highly recommend this product."
Review 6 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautifully done,
25 June 2014
By: Dartexan
"There are no words to describe the joy the portrait has brought to my partner. The artist did an amazing job of capturing our dog's image. Orvis and the company were able to accommodate our requests."
Review 7 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It's awesome!,
27 May 2014
By: AMW1492
from Virginia Beach, VA
"This is the first time I've ever written a review on-line. Hopefully that will tell you what a great job the artist did on Ronan's picture.
I had been wanting to find a really nice picture of my pup that showed the life and sparkle in his eyes that I see every day. The artist NAILED it. When I opened the picture, tears literally sprang to my eyes. I will be ordering a second one in the very near future and expect the same excellent results. If you are thinking about doing this but aren't sure about the quality or the price, I would highly recommend you take a chance."
Review 8 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Special Purchase,
13 May 2014
By: funwithdogs
from Crowley, Texas
"What an amazing job the artist did! It was exactly what I hoped for! Thank you so much. We will cherish it always..."
Review 9 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Memorial,
02 May 2014
By: Dingos4ever
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Kula, our beloved 15 year old Carolina Dog passed away on Easter in 2013, and left a big hole in our lives. We wanted to memorialize him in the best way possible and chose to have his portrait drawn. Diane Morrow, the artist, captured his likeness and exceeded our expectations. We miss him terribly, but we still get to see him everyday."
Review 10 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rusty,
03 April 2014
By: NickandRusty1
from NC
"When I first removed the portrait of my mini-Aussie from the packaging tube all I could think of was, how could someone who has never seen my dog capture his spirit all accurately. It is absolutely beautiful!"
Review 11 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very pleased,
04 March 2014
By: WillieJ
from Cincinnati, Ohio
"Although the shipping got a little missed up, the end product was great. This was a birthday gift to my husband & a time to remember & honor our beloved black lab Coley. He had cancer & his dealth has left a big hole in our life. The portrait was from a photo & caught his essence. We received a touching note from the artist. Finally, the framing was first class. We were very happy & are grateful to Orvis."
Review 12 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Value I have ever purchased,
13 February 2014
By: Sharonjean
from Texas
"When I sent in the picture of our dog I knew he would not be with us much longer. He actually passed away in early January and the picture came today Feb. 13. I am giving it to my husband for our Anniversary/Valentines. I was so afraid I would be disappointed in that it is difficult to really capture the essence of a loved pet. It was absolutely beautiful and looked just like our Kasper. The artist had captured him from the picture I sent perfectly. I am very pleased and can't wait to give it to my husband. He will be touched. I didn't realize it would be as large as it is as it looks small in the catalog. It is really a great size and the frame is very nice. It was packed great and made it through the snow and ice from West Virginia to Texas without a scratch. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting to preserve the memory of their pet."
Review 13 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Project,
10 February 2014
By: jsw797
"Fantastic product! The quality of the product is unbelievable and the artist captured our dog perfectly. Such a great way to remember a beloved pet."
Review 14 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gift,
29 January 2014
By: OutdoorsmanChicago
from Chicago
"I bought this as a gift for my wife and I wasn't able to give to her for christmas but it was definitely worth the wait. Because it is so personal it takes a while to get but the artist did a fantastic job and really captured the personalities or our dogs. If you want to give a gift to someone special who loves their dog/s this is the perfect gift."
Review 15 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money must have for all pet owners,
07 January 2014
By: Clydemom
from Georgia
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This is a wonderful gift for yourself or any pet owner. Extremely realistic totally captures the animal personality. Great way to immortalize your four legged family members. This artist is very gifted totally exceeds expectations and the frame if you get it is absolutely beautiful and made in USA."
Review 16 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Picture!!,
07 January 2014
By: JBTB
"A family pet had to be put down after 14 years. Had the pet portrait done to memorialize him. It was just wonderful and so lifelike....certainly a tribute to our pet and the artisit.
Thank you.
"
Review 17 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas present ever,
03 January 2014
By: Bubfintree
"This is a gift I will cherish a lifetime.
The likeness to my pets was amazing,I'll always have them with me.
"
Review 18 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best purchase ever,
03 January 2014
By: BetieJane
from High Point, NC
"The memory of a pet that has passed on is God's greatest gift. Having a portrait is very different from a photo. A portrait by a talented artist captures the essence, the spirit, of the pet. The pet portraits I've purchased speak to me - through my Goldens' eyes' expressiveness - in a way a photo cannot."
Review 19 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Impressed,
05 December 2013
By: JHarford
from Huntingdon, PA
"Our two year old pointer-lab mix died this past summer very unexpectedly. It has been very rough on our family. The portrait that was created from a picture of her is awesome. I am sure that when my wife opens the gift at Christmas that she will be more than "over the moon" with joy.
Orvis you ROCK."
Review 20 for Pet Portrait
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Purchase Ever,
24 August 2013
By: jpb60
"Incredibly happy with my purchase. Had a portrait done in 2001 and was very happy with that purchase also. Orvis is great to work with."