Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Cattleman's Sport Jacket

A leather sport jacket of extraordinary refinement for the rugged individual with a sense of style. A true sport jacket, but fashioned in rugged genuine leather—hand finished full-grain hides ensure that no two jackets are exactly alike. Same trim and stylish fit as a sport jacket, but with the rugged nature of a leather jacket. A combination statement that will say volumes. Double vented and fully lined with flap-over patch pockets and upper chest pocket. Three interior upper chest pockets; upper two are zip secure; lower left is welted for cell phone. Leather locker loop. Leather sport jacket in brown. 100% Nubuck leather. Lining 100% polyester. Professionally clean. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40). 33" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
3.422 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (45 reviews)
5 stars
12
4 stars
14
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 star
6
26 of 45(58%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Review 1 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
high quality jacket for heavy use,
28 May 2014
By: MrLeather
from NY
"Overall, I am very satisfied. What I got is rather monotone dark brown color, than the weathered-looking antique atmosphere jacket shown in the image picture on web site. The shape of the jacket is slim, tighter impression, which goes very well with its sedate color. I found couple of scratch/ shallow mark on surface, but even they add nice taste to it.
For a jacket it may be heavier, but for a leather outer it is light and soft. And as a leather product, I expect it becomes all the more soft and fit to me over time. I was looking for a nice tough long-use leather jacket for daily use, and this jacket fills my desire.
Only one point, I am 5'7" and 160lb Asian guy, and usually fit well with 36 or 38 for sport jacket. S size of this is a little bit tight around belly, and I feel this jacket is made longer than other jackets. I can say this longer silhouette add its smarter impression.
If this jacket worn out in the future, I would buy the same one again. Nice work by Orvis.
"
Review 2 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good But,
08 March 2014
By: jpFla
"Well made, better looking than the photo and quality up to Orvis' standards. Problem, the sizing is grossly inaccurate. I would recommend if you are tall and quite skinny, give it a try. I am fairly small and the medium was too tight around the hips and was very long."
Review 3 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A quality jacket, but not as pictured,
26 February 2014
By: DapperJim
from Northern California
"The jacket I received was a dark uniform brown. The picture gives the impression of a weathered look and of a stiffer leather. The leather is actually quite soft ( and comfortable). The large was equal to a slim cut 42. They do say each jacket may be different, so bear that in mind."
Review 4 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat!,
30 January 2014
By: Kody
from Colton NY
"This jacket arrived and was all that I thought that was! Unfortunately, I need a XXL which they were out of. The Lady whom I spoke with was great. She said that they would offer to give me the XXL at the sale price when they get a new shipment in. I could not afford this great jacket unless it was on sale and I am excited about getting it!"
Review 5 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not my color,
29 January 2014
By: Noodlehouse
"Saw this jacket on the internet. It looks good. The reviews were good as well. So, decided to purchase it. When it arrived, I put it on and quickly decided that it's not for me. I think the color would look better if it were darker."
Review 6 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
If you're really into leather...,
03 September 2013
By: TJJO
from NJ
"..maybe this will be ok. For me the sizing was frustrating, I am a 40R and neither the M nor L worked. Nice pocket layout and quality materials however, but unfortunately could not keep it due to sizing."
Review 7 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best of its type that I have seen,
07 July 2013
By: UpstateNYer
from Upstate NY
"This jacket fills a tricky niche in a wardrobe. Leather sport coats are difficult to pull off. This jacket is perfect - it fits perfectly (I wear a 40R at 5'11" 170, and the medium is perfect), and the look is casual without draping at all. The color is perfect - unlike some reviewers, I find the color to be a perfect medium brown (not olive). The interior lining is substantial but not too heavy. This jacket is well-made and durable, and it lives up to its goal of being a cross over between a sport coat and a casual leather jacket. Nicely done."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excellent jacket,
29 April 2013
By: ronaldmcdonald
from Peterhead Scotland
"I bought this from orvis in the USA in medium and had it shipped to the uk, i was unsure which size to pick so went or this size, and yes it was too small, Orvis UK found one in large and sent it to the Banchory shop in Scotland and it is perfect, well nearly, not as good condition as the medium but overall a fine jacket as i have ever worn, nice detail and well made, i did get it cheaper in the US even after posting as it was on sale,"
Review 9 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well made, nice leather,
06 April 2013
By: UpstateNYer
from Upstate NY
"I wear a size 40R, and the Medium fits perfectly. The nubuck is a nice material for this casual jacket. It is well made and rugged. Not too heavy. The lining is substantial and seems to be durable. I have owned this jacket for about a year and it holds up well. Plenty of pocket space. This wears well with blue jeans or whipcord wool, and it looks/feels good over a t-shirt or an oxford. Nice item for a reasonable price."
Review 10 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT JACKET,
18 February 2013
By: VG95
"Received this as a gift. I'm a 42L and
the leather jacket feels great on....
Size L in this cut feels just right!"
Review 11 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Poor Sizing,
03 February 2013
By: racecar667
"Very nice jacket but sizing leaves large gap between the medium and large sizes.
Medium was way too small and large was way too large.
"
Review 12 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
29 January 2013
By: 1musicman
"I bought this sport coat for a casual wear with blue jeans. I did not like the grade of leather and the overall appearence. I exchanged it for the Pesidential suede blazer."
Review 13 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
recommended (but...),
16 January 2013
By: SebastianG
from London UK
"The reviews for this product were largely negative, but the photo was so appealing - and leather blazer cut jackets are so hard to find - that I took the risk. These are the key points: (1) The jacket is NOT worth the full unrediced price of £670 or whatever it is. (2) Incredibly, Orvis advertize it as 'brown' but the jacket is, as other reviewers have noted, closer to olive than to brown. If you put the query to Orvis, they will refer to it as 'olive brown'. This is accurate: more olive than brown, but it depends on the light. The ambiguity of the colour is, to my eye, a plus. (3) The leather is NOT distressed, again contrary to what's advertized. In fact it is so uniform and smooth that it even looks, out of the box, somewhat plascticky, as another reviewer complained. However, my impression is that it does crease up quickly; it acquires a nice leathery texture. (4) The jacket is indeed extremely well cut and tailored, though (i) the sizing is somewhat on the small side, (ii) the interior pockets are rather too high and rather too narrow for fully comfortable use. (5) Please note, if ordering from the UK: there is a hefty additional charge from customs (£77 to be precise, in my case) which you will be forced to pay the delivery company on receipt, at the doorstep."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jacket,
02 January 2013
By: TravellingMan
"My second jacket form Orvis, and neither look anything like the pictures shown. Whilst I appreciate the "every jacket is different" tag the small print - this is an expensive purchase and should at least resemble the the visual shown. That aside it's beautifully made, and certainly a "one off""
Review 15 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Fit,
01 January 2013
By: keyes
from PA
"I bought this jacket for my husband and he loves it. The fit is great. A little longer in the body, which is good. He can wear it with jeans or dress pants. A great Friday casual look."
Review 16 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smooth Looking,
28 December 2012
By: hermanator
from Kernersville,NC
"Wanted a leather sport coat for quite some time and when the catalog showed up with this sport coat on sale I became a happy camper. Whenever I wear this I receive many compliments. If you wear a 40/ 42 order a large the fit is snug but it will expand."
Review 17 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not worth the $$$,
08 December 2012
By: Michael25
from Belgrade, Maine
"I've had my eye on this jacket for several years but didn't want to pay the full retail price.
Recently it went on sale so I picked it up.
The jacket in the picture looks great but the jacket in real life doesn't look anything like the picture.
The fit is poor and the color is way off. It looks like a cheap leather jacket from a thrift store that was purchased back in the 70's.
Now I have to pay the shipping of this jacket back to Orvis? Not happy.
If you're looking at this jacket think of this, it's marked down for a reason. Even at the marked down price it's still to much
"
Review 18 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
No match,
03 December 2012
By: 58Laboon
from Pittsburgh PA
"The actual jacket did not mirror the image in the promotion. It was suede, a solid brown and was small in size. I ordered a size up from what i would normally order (44 to 46) and it fit well. It is cut in an athletic cut so if you are less than 'fit' it will be tight in the waist. I was anxious to get the coat but disappointed once it arrived."
Review 19 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good quality,
19 November 2012
By: hats
"very nice jacket. the jacket was tight across the back and thru the chest,movement restricted. i exchanged the jacket for one size larger."
Review 20 for Cattleman's Sport Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good jacket cut small,
10 November 2012
By: Gandalf
from Oakland, CA
"I wear an Orvis large with room to spare. I ordered this jacket in a large and it turned out to be cut several inches narrower than the standard Orvis large. I like the jacket, although it is heavy enough that I won't wear it a lot in my climate. I kept it as it looks fine unbuttoned, but is too tight to button. I have noticed that Orvis sizing is becoming unpredictable. That is a problem Orvis should address."