Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

"50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"

It's the owner's manual no self-respecting modern man should be without. Learn how to master the skills to gain trust and respect, from shaking hands to paying a compliment to knowing when to remove your ear-bud headphones. This children's manners book is bound in genuine leather. Hardcover; 212 pages. USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.849 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0
72 of 73(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Review 1 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great book,
15 December 2014
By: Coastalred
from Savannah, GA
"This is a no nonsense easy read. Great purchase for my son."
Review 2 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great little book,
15 December 2014
By: Papi56
"I bought this book for my 11 year old grandson. I've read over the book and it provides some great information for doing the right thing in a variety of situations. I even learned a few things myself. It is written in language that kids will understand and will hold their attention. Appropriate for young men from around 10-18 years old."
Review 3 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good little book,
13 December 2014
By: nstitcher
"I bought this book for my son. While it is a good book fork any young man to read, it is a bit young for my 24 year old. This would be a great book for a young teen who needs some brushing up on manners and etiquette. It will still be a fun read and the information is always good to know."
Review 4 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A lesson for my grandsons,
06 December 2014
By: bart1
from Covington , LA
"Manors are important for living, for job success, for achievement in life. This little book gives every young man a manual to become a gentleman and achieve his dreams.."
Review 5 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Gentlemen Grandsons,
05 December 2014
By: Tulsadave
"Great life lessons for every young man. My son and his sons read and discuss a chapter at bedtime each evening. A great book for young men."
Review 6 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent little book!,
10 November 2014
By: edmorris
from Charlottesville, VA
"Grandson just turned 16. Thought this would be a good read for him, but after I got it and read it myself I concluded that it would be a great read for all of us! Manners and common sense that my family tried to impress on us as we grew up. Told my grandson that we would periodically have a review!"
Review 7 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Young men,
29 October 2014
By: Cobra419
"Got this for my son for 21st birthday I got something like it when I was his age"
Review 8 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sometimes "Corny",
22 September 2014
By: Papadean
from Palos Heights IL
"It is very hard not to set the book down. I know these "things", but now I know the importance! It is well written!"
Review 9 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gentleman's Etiquette,
25 August 2014
By: Grandmere
from Greenville, SC
"I have two grandsons whose parents are doing a terrific job of schooling them in the finer points of manners, but when I saw this book I realized what a great aid this would be to help them raise two more adult men with impeccable manners. Kudos to Orvis!!"
Review 10 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Manners, please,
16 January 2014
By: shamrock123
"This was a stocking stuffer for my son to share with his twin two year old boys in the future. Although the advice was for a younger audience, I'm sure my son will benefit from a "refresher course" himself. I knew it would be too advanced for the toddlers but it is an attractive book that appears to be able to stand the test of time."
Review 11 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know",
22 December 2013
By: Reedy
from S.C.
"The book advises the 21st century youths in the proper protocol for meeting social situations. From "thank you" to personal hygiene to the internet, the reader can easily learn the right way to act and react in daily life. Straight forward, reasonable documentation is given in the "Do's" and "Don'ts" paragraphs. Young guys will respond positively to the suggestions, a real help to Mom and Dad."
Review 12 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great concept,
20 December 2013
By: Sarah83
from MD
"This is the perfect subtle yet not so subtle way to drop a hint to the self involved young adult in your life!"
Review 13 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
50 things,
17 December 2013
By: Cobraf22
from Tampa, FL
"Outstanding book...should have bought this a long time ago for my son!"
Review 14 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Humorous and Profound,
14 December 2013
By: fleurducap
from Eastham, MA
""50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know" is a delightful exposition on proper behavior and its implications for any young man (or woman for that matter) in our society. I recommend it both for its accessibility and its basis grounded in respect for and recognition of universal dignity for all."
Review 15 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good idea. Stuffy execution.,
11 December 2013
By: PickyPolly
from Croton-on-Hudson, N.Y.
"I bought this for my 13-year old grandson, and I'm afraid he'll find it a bit condescending. Perhaps it might be more successful for a younger boy.
Also, the Introduction falls a bit short, in my view. I do not want the boy to have good manners "so that (he) will be a young man who gets into good schools and gets a good job.." but rather so that he will be at ease in the company of his peers and the adults around him, enjoy and respect their friendships, and recognize his responsibilities towards his fellow man.
I've decided to give the book to his mother and let her decide its appropriateness.
."
Review 16 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good gift,
11 December 2013
By: GiftHunter
"This book is a good price point for a gift. We have given it to 2 couples who just had little boys"
Review 17 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Book review,
21 November 2013
By: Cowgirl1
from Orange county Ca
"This book should be used in high schools to teach our kids good manners etc."
Review 18 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Book,
08 August 2013
By: Bigash53
from Crystal Lake, Illinois
"I gave this book to the son of my best friend who is 12. Before giving it to him I read the book myself and was thoroughly impressed. I would give as a gift to another young man in a heart beat. On another note I was sorry to see you discontinue your book How to be a Lady. 5E01-0000. When my daughters graduated from high school I gave every one of their friends a copy of the book. I still have 3 left but need more. Bring it back!"
Review 19 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rules to live by,
07 March 2013
By: QDGMA
"This is a great book for any young man. It does a good job of providing brief and concise, do's and don't's and the reasons why, for any young teenager or older male.
This book will help any male present himself as a thoughtful, polite, compassionate and well rounded person. It covers everything from a proper hand shake, proper grooming and how to order from a menu in a fine restaurant. All the courtesies of polite people in almost any situation.
"
Review 20 for "50 Things Every Young Gentleman Should Know"
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Gift for a Young Man,
06 March 2013
By: RBachman
"A perfect gift for any young man. This is especially the case at those points in life where our next generation face major leaps and the celebration of their accomplishments. Events such as High School and College Graduations, entering the military, receiving their first real gun----these occasions deserve a special gift, this book meets and exceeds that goal."