Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Hydros All Rounder Saltwater

If you're looking for one line to accomplish many things, this is our best-selling all-purpose floating line for saltwater or freshwater big game. Works well for stripers and blues as well as bass and pike. Allows for close-in or long-distance presentations, and turns over heavy flies in the wind.
Average Customer Rating:
4.889 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (9 reviews)
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
9 of 9(100%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Review 1 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great starter line,
17 September 2014
By: Arrowman
from Missouri
"Great line to start on that give you lots of options. Hence the all round is properly named."
Review 2 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great flyline!,
03 June 2014
By: Kjartan
from Norge
"This is a great flyline! It is fantastic with my Orvis frequent flyer rod."
Review 3 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality line,
15 May 2014
By: Gillz
from St. Petersburg, FL
"This is the first time I've used the Hydros Allrounder line and I am very impressed. It is smooth on your hands and is easy to cast with. It definitely gets the job done!"
Review 4 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great line,
15 May 2014
By: desertbum
from Reno Nevada
"The line floats high in the water, mends great and casts with ease"
Review 5 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spoiled again,
15 April 2014
By: flunkywill
from Rockport, ma
"I purchase this line recently and do not have experience with other brands. good combo line for freshwater and saltwater. when they say long cast, they're not kidding."
Review 6 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hydros,
22 September 2013
By: KEVIN47
from S. Wales, UK
"Very pleased with my 9wt Hydros fly line. Smooth through the hand,no coils.Would definately buy another Orvis fly line"
Review 7 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Line Up for Fast Tip,
09 August 2013
By: SRCTom
from Gig Harbor, WA
"One thing right up front: Orvis has done an excellent job packaging their fly lines. No extra boxes; just a cardboard spool with a sleeve. Nicely done!
The line itself has excellent features: loops at both ends and the line ID near the tip.
I used the 6wt line with my 697-4 Helios 2 on a local beach. While the line worked, I think for the tip flex it was slightly too light for me - being only 173 gr. I didn't feel I could get the line to load the rod as well as I would have liked (and yes, that's probably more of a caster issue).If I had to do it again, I might go with the 7 wt line for the heavier head."
Review 8 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
value for money,
18 September 2012
By: JeLyBo
from Præstø, Denmark
"Initial fishing trip shows aline which really does match the capability of the Helios rod. Look forward to future trips with my new equipment"
Review 9 for Hydros All Rounder Saltwater
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best by Far,
11 July 2012
By: DarylW
"I felt compelled to write this review. I saltwater fly fish for Bass and also hunt the odd Pike or two. I've been through a few line manufactures. And I have been searching for a line as good as or better than a fishing shop own brand Big Fly line that I use. It's extremely cheap, only just creeping into double figures. The only down side of this line is it is bright orange, not good for fishing over a shallow reef for Bass. Other than that it is hard to beat. Well until now that is. I have to say that parting with £65 for a line made me wince but having just come in from testing the new Hydros Allrounder I have the biggest smile on my face. It really is worth it. A fantastic line. Shoots, turns over in wind, short or long range, doesn't coil. It does everything my normal line does but just that bit better. It's just great. And knocks into a cocked hat the +40 line I bought recently in the hope that it would do what this line actually does. Go and get one, it's worth it."