Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack

The perfect pack for the angler who fishes small streams or wades the flats. Gear stays out of the way and the weight is carried on the belt. Two compartments, lots of interior pockets, and a key clip for storage. Padded waist belt. Durable Hypalon patches for zinger attachment with magnetic tool anchor to keep tools secure. Convenient padded forceps pocket on back panel. Removable foam fly patches attach to top of pack or inside of front pocket. Front pocket opens wide for easy access to boxes. Keeper hardware for excess webbing. Comes with adjustable ergonomic neck strap for optional use as a chest pack or hip pack. 12"L x 6½"W x 4½"D; 351 cu. in. Weight: 1 lb. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.611 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (36 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
34 of 36(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Review 1 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
sorry orvis,
06 May 2015
By: Nickfb
from S.E. UK
"I have lots of orvis tackle, rods/reels/ lines/ flies etc...but
While this product is extremely well made, i bought it for my flats fishing as a box to carry 'it all' in just in case ..
but, i think its really heavy. So heavy that i could not foresee me taking it as all my tackle weighs lots anyway, so weight is of paramount importance,
Great box, too heavy.
"
Review 2 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis trout and flats pack,
28 April 2015
By: GeorgiaWill
from GA
"Just the right amount of room for a days worth of flies or two large fly boxes. Another fine quality product by Orvis. The belt fits nice and the zippers work great. Thanks again for a finely tuned piece of fly fishing gear."
Review 3 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect size,
31 March 2015
By: Ralph6
from Mid Atlantic
"Orvis sells several of these chest packs. I like this one because it's wide and flat and therefore doesnt obstruct my motion. Of course the quality is excellent."
Review 4 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome,
02 March 2015
By: Bighorncatchfish
from Black Hills of South Dakota
"The hip bag I received is just what the doctor ordered. It will work perfect. It big enough to hold a couple fly boxes, and has plenty of smaller pockets for my lic. and various odds and ends.
Thank you Orvis
Jim
"
Review 5 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
l love Safe Passage,
26 February 2015
By: Vlostlouis
from St Louis Mo
"I have an over the shoulder Safe Passage bag that came beautifully loaded. I will be starting fly fishing this summer. For now l use the casting bubble with a 5ft leader to fly fish with spinning real. So l have both flies and spinning baits in abundance. Therefore the two bags. One over the shoulder and the waist pack.for my gear l can walk distances with. Can also bring a thermos of coffee in my waist pack! Water proof so far, compartments, light and fits comfortably. Best, zippers are smooth and work easily one handed."
Review 6 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Review - Passage® Trout and Flats Pack,
26 February 2015
By: RKCDenver
from Denver, CO
"This pack is great! Fits nicely around the waist and can easily be pulled to the back to ensure that it doesn't inhibit casting, ect.,. The pack provides more than enough space, goes perfect with a lanyard. Highly recommended!"
Review 7 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great, small pack,
17 February 2015
By: qacwac
from Jackson, WY
"I was unsure this would carry the necessary gear for a day of fishing, but so long as you can limit yourself to a couple of fly boxes, it will also hold a bottle of water, snack, tippets, and other odds and ends. Works great for my purposes."
Review 8 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great bag,
16 February 2015
By: hockey
from Massena, NY
"lots of room in this pack . Two magnets to hold onto items , removeable flyhook pad , easily velcros to top of pack . switches from waist to neck bag easily . Can't wait t o try it out in spring , and a agreat savings ."
Review 9 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I really like this product,
13 February 2015
By: Jasontazz
from Portland Oregon
"The only thing I would fix would be the front pocket, to be bigger to fit thicker fly boxes."
Review 10 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Many Pack,
09 February 2015
By: GOOOOO
"This pack beats any vest I have ever used. Its Not overly big but has plenty of room for day trips."
Review 11 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great pack for the price,
30 January 2015
By: cwhtx
"Only have taken this out twice so far, but bags seems to be a great size to get everything you need with you. I would love to see a water bottle holder on the belt and some extra loops/D-rings for attaching tippet spools and other items, but overall very happy. The newer version of this pack looks like it has some of those features, but the price that I got this pack at makes it a better value. Highly recommend snagging this bag for a pack that is comfortable to wear and perfect size for getting everything you need in when on the water. Big enough to pack some bars to eat, but not really big enough for an entire day on the water as far as fitting enough food as well."
Review 12 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied with this pack,
26 January 2015
By: David0601
from Chesapeake, Ohio
"I've only had my pack a few weeks but its been out on the water twice now. After putting everything in it and fishing for 2 days straight I sometimes forgot I was wearing it. Very well made and has plenty of room for some serious gear. Orvis has done it again."
Review 13 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Value,
07 January 2015
By: wolfriverwayne
from Antigo, WI
"For any fly fisher this pack is a perfect blend of great value and functionality. Vests can so often put undue stress on the shoulders and cause pain in between the shoulder blades. A pack like this one immediately cures this problem.
There will be plenty of space for flies, tippet material, all the extras we so often carry. I highly recommend this pack.
"
Review 14 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Safe Passage Flat Pack,
06 January 2015
By: SpartanHurdler
from East Lansing, MI
"I absolutely love this pack, I recently bought a sling back from Simms and I found it a hassle to work with. You can load up this pack with all of your fly fishing essentials in a nice and easy caring form. And when you want some thing all you have to do is turn it 180o to get it. Very satisfied with this purchase!"
Review 15 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
More Than Expected!,
23 December 2014
By: RMilam
from Lincoln, Al
"Received product on time. Very satisfied with this purchase. The Safe Passage pack is even more spacious than I expected. Plenty of space for my fly boxes, tools and more. GREAT job Orvis! I will return.
- Tight Lines!
"
Review 16 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent pack,
17 December 2014
By: RandyRigatti4
from State College, PA
"This pack is an excellent way to pack everything lightly. I expected it to be a little bigger, however, it is perfect sized for a day out on the stream without any restricted movement. Plenty of storage and loops for tool retractors, tippet spools and more. Materials are heavy duty and buckles are solid. I highly recommend this to any fisherman who wants a good looking, light, comforable, and useful wastepack for fishing."
Review 17 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fly-fishing waist pack,
15 December 2014
By: MACANADA
from Kernersville, NC
"Excellent quality. Just the right size and very light weight. Several pockets and plenty of room."
Review 18 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits nicely,
14 December 2014
By: hojodo
from Cincinnati, OH
"The waste pack fits nicely. It has a very nice flat top with area for holding flies that is very convenient. I fished 7 hours yesterday for steelhead in Ohio. It was quite nice. Three fish too."
Review 19 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waist pack,
12 December 2014
By: Bushieee
"The pack is the perfect size to keep the necessities while on the river. Made with high quality material."
Review 20 for Safe Passage® Trout and Flats Pack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Waist Pack,
01 December 2014
By: Ncwildtrout
"This pack will suite my needs perfectly. It's a nice size that should do well for day trips (room for small sandwich and a few flies, tippet, etc..) I also like the adjustability of the straps which provide several options for how to wear the pack."