Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

River Guard Clearwater II Boot

Built on the same last as the Easy-On Brogue, the new Clearwater® II fly fishing boot's lightweight, yet rugged synthetic upper resists damage from rocks and debris as well as rot, mildew, and ultraviolet radiation. The work and hunting boot welt construction minimizes sole torsion and provides complete, over-the-ankle protection and support. The boot is constructed from durable polyurethane and high-density nylon mesh to provide years of use. The toe cap and heel counter are wrapped in textured rubber to add additional protection in high wear areas. The Orvis-exclusive EcoTraX soles have a proprietary lug pattern with sharp leading edges to afford the angler better traction. Comes with 20 pre-installed PosiGrip Screw-In Studs for added security in slippery environments. Screen-covered drain holes. In charcoal and tan. In men's whole sizes: 6-14. Weighs 4 lbs 6oz. in size 9.
Average Customer Rating:
4.476 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
20 of 21(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Review 1 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Buy,
30 April 2014
By: Hazz711
from Scotland
"Very comfortable and a great fit, I contacted Orvis Chat to check the size I required, Dan worked this out for me. thanks Dan. Have only used once and these do the job. My only concern is the plastic top eyelets , I hope these are strong enough to last."
Review 2 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
why fit rubbish laces,
24 June 2013
By: troutman1966
"Orvis come on why fit rubbish laces to great wadding boots? I see from reviews i'm not the only person to have experienced this. the boot itself is great. oh one other thing not enough studs in them so add another £30 to the price because you will need to buy a box of studs"
Review 3 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
brilliant!,
19 February 2013
By: pikehunter
from Scotland
"best wading boots i have ever owned ,normaly i go through a couple of pairs a season these have almost completed there second year, very good value for money!"
Review 4 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
well made,
06 March 2012
By: studio42
from Ridgway, CO
"These boots are heavier than my old ones but seem very well made. They are generously sized, I ordered my normal size and they have plenty of room for wool socks and waders."
Review 5 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Real Deal on Rubber,
04 March 2012
By: spitter
from Naperville, IL
"Just took delivery of the River Guard. After seeing this deal on the web, I had to try on a pair at my local Orvis...
Of course, this particular boot wasn't in stock, so I tried on the Brogue - as they mention both boots are built on the same last... ordered my street shoe size and at delivery - perfect fit, same feel.
One criticism, as some have mentioned - cheap laces, and sharp corners on the upper grommets impaled the laces easily... so I rounded the corners - they we're deep enough to accept any lace, anyway. If necessary at some point, I'll buy a pair of the Brogue Laces for a couple bucks - I saved plenty on these boots...
For my first rubber wading boot, they are of excellent construction, the studs are ample in size and quantity - plus a couple spares and tool were included... makes for a great value compared to other brands - a real deal for rubber studded boots - as states crack down on felt... can't wait for Spring to get on water with these."
Review 6 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Jury is still out,
02 March 2012
By: Woodenshoeangler
from Teutopolis,IL
"This pair of wading boots is replacing my felt soled boots,which have been banned from my fishing stream. It looked like there were too few studs on the walking surfaces, so I bought extra studs to add 6 to each boots. I have not had a chance to use them in a stream yet but did try them on with my waders and they fee real comfortable. I will update after use in April. I Can't wait until I can try them out."
Review 7 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
01 March 2012
By: NESKERS
from Houston, TX
"Got these on clearance and couldn't ask for a better shoe at such a good price."
Review 8 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
River Guard Clearwater II Boot,
29 February 2012
By: ShoreWalker
from Maryland
"An exceptional value that fits and wears well over stocking foot waders, this boot is a great replacement for felts."
Review 9 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fit with my Simms waders,
22 February 2012
By: tquigs
from Ohio
"I like these boots. Good fit, and good traction in the Vermilion river."
Review 10 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best wading shoe,
17 February 2012
By: Browning1
from Shaftsbury, VT
"I purchased these to replace my felt soled shoes. They offer excellent traction and abide by all the new laws to protect our streams from didymo, rock snot, I would highly recommend these to any one who fly fishes"
Review 11 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice upgrade,
15 February 2012
By: Anonymous
from Chicago, IL
"My previous waders were RedBall. The River Guard boot has great construction and great foot support. The only drawback is the lacing system, wish they would have a better way to sty tied."
Review 12 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Boot,
10 February 2012
By: FRN22
from Midlothian, VA
"Excellent traction with or without the studs and the fit is perfect. I especially like the option to remove the studs when in-and-out of a drift boat, or to reinstall them when wading streams that are a bit too slipery without metal studs. Easy and quick to remove or reinstall the studs."
Review 13 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love 'em,
10 February 2012
By: jhop
from Upstate South Carolina
"Just got my new boots and love 'em. They fit perfectly, look great, and the studded soles performed well on my first use early this week (Feb, 2012). Glad I got them on sale, because they were a steal at the sale price. Highly recommend."
Review 14 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sweet wading boot,
09 February 2012
By: flyformerlyknownasprince
"the clear water II is an excellent boot for the price. It has great support, both foot bed and sides, yet was comfortable to hike in as well. The rubber sole with studs had as much traction on slippery rocks as my previous boots with felt and studs. Only 10 studs per boot or I would rate 5 stars."
Review 15 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
River Guard™ Clearwater II Boot,
09 February 2012
By: M123
from Portland OR
"Laces became impaled on top lacing cleats. They are very sharp at the tips. This occurred every time I tried them, on a different cleat, as I tried to see if I could avoid this problem. They were too big anyway so I returned them"
Review 16 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wading boots,
06 February 2012
By: Lotomo
from Arlington, VA
"I purchased these wading boots three weeks ago and have found them to be very comfortable, relatively light, and well-made. Overall, I'd say they are high quality boots that should last a long time."
Review 17 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Traction,
26 October 2011
By: marq
"The terrain in which i fish will punish all but the best quality boots I need reliability I need to know that the boot will grip whilst jumping from gulley to gulley on very slippery surfaces
The boots havent let me down
Comfortable Tough build I cant fault them
The only slight let down are the laces
"
Review 18 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A Good Value,
06 July 2011
By: Piwimaniac
"I've only used these boots a couple of times yet, so far, they're great. Good traction and a beefy boot that offers good ankle support. I think that the company ought to use laces with a denser weave since the stock laces tend to catch in the middle on the upper cinches."
Review 19 for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
good lookin boot,
30 December 2010
By: nonono
from upstate n.y.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"With all the new innovation in wadeboots this is an excellent boot, but for the price I would expect something other than regular shoe laces. I am not saying the one handed wire wheel on some other boots but maybe a plastic lace holder controller or some other new method of lacing. thank you."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Ratings-Only Reviews for River Guard Clearwater II Boot
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Would recommend? Yes 2 out of 2