Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bison Leather Winter Gloves

Soft and supple, but also incredibly durable, bison leather is the ultimate for comfort and style. The micropile lining keeps hands comfortable in colder conditions. Cinches at cuff with rawhide lace and antiqued-brass grommet to keep out the wind and snow. Men's winter leather gloves in tobacco. Bison, lambskin, rawhide, brass. Imported.Sizes: M(8½), L(9-9½), XL(10-10½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.362 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (69 reviews)
5 stars
46
4 stars
12
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
3
59 of 69(86%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Review 1 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Better Before,
22 November 2014
By: EJGVCO
from WI
"I first purchased these gloves a couple of years ago, and loved them! Unfortunately I lost one last year, and had to order new ones. The previous pair were heavy weight shrunken bison leather with solid stitching and trim, exactly like the picture. The new pair are nice, but the leather is lighter and smoother and the finish isn't quite as good. Oh well, nothing stay's the same I guess."
Review 2 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hot Hands,
12 November 2014
By: Flycaster2014
from Sussex
"I neede a new pair of gloves and chose these after I had seen them in the Orvis catalouge.
Having received them they are beyond my expectation.
I have owned many pairs of gloves in my time but these are comfortable, warm and fit like a glove! (but then I suppose they should)
"
Review 3 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
08 November 2014
By: Jules36
"I agree with Simpson1 (or Simson 1) not worth it. I will return them.
The thumb is gigantic. Are Martians living along us?????
"
Review 4 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed, frankly,
28 October 2014
By: Simpson1
from Arlington Heights, Il.
"This is my first case of being disappointed in an Orvis purchase. For one thing, the product was on back order, so it took a long time before it was shipped to me. More importantly, though, the gloves completely lacked the textured look that was portrayed in the catalog. It has none of the character I was expecting."
Review 5 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tight,
22 February 2014
By: BNB60
from Central, OH
"These run a little small. I am a ML and ordered medium. Tough to get on, but waiting to see if leather stretches. The leather around the wrist is worthless, but looks nice."
Review 6 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what I was hoping for!,
21 February 2014
By: Kandace
from Dayton Ohio
"The gloves looked nice, but the fauz sherpa lining appeared to be shedding. Not worht the price. I returned the gloves and was credited in a timely manner, but Orvis did not credit shipping charges as other companies do when the return is of inferior quality. Probably won't be ordering from Orvis again."
Review 7 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leather Gloves,
19 February 2014
By: Scol
"Bison gloves are the best leather gloves I have ever owned by far. Sherpa lining is great and warm. Leather is the best quality. Would by again. Highly recommended."
Review 8 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look good but not for respectable hands,
11 February 2014
By: MichaelRelaxed
from Blufftpn SC
"These gloves do look good. I have "respectable" hands and could not put them on. I would say they are a bit smaller than a true XL and not the usual one up Orvis sizing. I think I would order again if offered in a larger size. I don't think I can give 5 stars to something I returned."
Review 9 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellt gloves,
31 January 2014
By: Spangler
from Boise, Idaho
"They are warm, well made, and they fit like a glove! Exactly what I was after. I like the leather, too."
Review 10 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby LOVES!,
17 January 2014
By: reddd
from Chicago, IL
"My husband loves these gloves. He is very picky - and these are the ONLY ones he will wear . I would highly recommend these!!!"
Review 11 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
13 January 2014
By: Idahoanagain
"well made, fits well, color lighter than in catalog"
Review 12 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
02 January 2014
By: KendalB
from North Carolina
"Bought these as a Christmas gift for my dad. He loved them! They smell wonderful and are great quality. The only thing he doesn't like is the leather toggle closure."
Review 13 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gloves,
21 February 2013
By: Egan1
from Boston, MA
"The Bison Winter Gloves are super warm, nice looking (someone complimented, asked where purchased) and reasonably priced."
Review 14 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great except...,
17 February 2013
By: HoosierInMI
from Battle Creek, MI
"I love everything about the gloves except they apparently missed the final quality inspection because one of the wrist cinch straps was NOT sewn in at all. I would have returned them, but everything else is great and I did not think I needed the wrist cinch anyway so I cut them off completely and love them now."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team09 April 2013
We have contacted our customer to offer thanks for this review. We respect and welcome our customers’ comments, and we continually strive to improve the quality of everything we sell.

This issue has been reviewed by our Quality Assurance Department, and we have confirmed the problem; Orvis has taken action to correct the issue and make sure this item is absolutely right. You can shop with confidence at Orvis—we will happily refund or exchange any purchase that isn’t 100% satisfactory.
Review 15 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Gloves,
11 February 2013
By: JohnnyD888
from Massachusetts
"Heavy leather with warm lining. Nice cold weather gloves."
Review 16 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04 February 2013
By: JosephGA
"These are now my favorite gloves. The bison leather is substantial yet pliable.The stitching on these gloves is close and tight. I like the distinctive texture of the leather.Dressy enough to wear with an overcoat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Gloves,
04 February 2013
By: OregonAndrew
from Boise, ID
"These gloves are superb. very warm, very well made. i have recieved many comments from friends on how soft the leather is and how good they smell, etc. just a great pair of gloves that should last a lifetime."
Review 18 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Cold Weather Glove,
25 January 2013
By: craybar
"The leather is quite thick and the lining is cozy and warm, making a great cold weather glove. Even though very heavy duty, they are comfortable and it's easy to do all the outdoor cold weather things with them on. Expensive , but highly recommended."
Review 19 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gloves,
20 January 2013
By: MrJ2
from Greenwich , CT
"Nicely constructed and warm. I usually take a size medium but ordered a large due to the thick lining and it fit perfectly."
Review 20 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made like they used to be,
16 January 2013
By: Birddog5
from St. Joseph, MO
"I have vaselated over purchasing these gloves for 2 yrs. I finally decided my need outweighed the cost. They are crafted with frontier quality (palms, backs and vertical leather [ie. between fingers] are all separate leather). The stitching and lining are impecable. Not US made, but far superior to any gloves I have had the opportunity to wear for years. Excellent!"