Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Bison Leather Winter Gloves

Soft and supple, but also incredibly durable, bison leather is the ultimate for comfort and style. The micropile lining keeps hands comfortable in colder conditions. Cinches at cuff with rawhide lace and antiqued-brass grommet to keep out the wind and snow. Men's winter leather gloves in tobacco. Bison, lambskin, rawhide, brass. Please note: Due to the natural variations in the hides used to make our gloves, the texture may vary from what is shown in this photograph. Imported.Sizes: M(8½), L(9-9½), XL(10-10½).
Average Customer Rating:
4.325 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (77 reviews)
5 stars
51
4 stars
12
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 star
3
64 of 77(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Review 1 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
over priced,
17 December 2014
By: purpleheartmedal
from okla
"these gloves look lighter in the product picture but upon arrivel they have this lack luster look .leather seems to be thick enough and will probley out last liner"
Review 2 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Very disapointed,
17 December 2014
By: DPro
from Albuquerque
"After looking at these gloves for 2 years and trying to order them last year (out of stock) I finally received a pair only to be very, very disappointed. The main reason I ordered the gloves was the rich, deep, distinctive texture of the bison hide shown in the numerous catalogs I've received from Orvis. The pair sent to me had a smooth texture, totally devoid of the rich, rugged look I was expecting. I would like to exchange them for a pair with the grain as advertised. If that's not possible, I'll just keep the ones I have and be very dissatisfied. With this one exception, I've been totally satisfied with the numerous purchases I've received from Orvis."
Review 3 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Winter Gloves,
15 December 2014
By: Elle1234
from New Hampshire
"Purchased these gloves for my husband last year. He goes through gloves like no one I know. He loves them!!! They are so warm and they look like dress gloves but are durable and can take some punishment. I just bought him 2 pair for this year. He wants to keep one pair to wear with his leather coat. The second pair he will wear when using the snow blower and going to work. He thinks they are the best gloves ever!"
Review 4 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gloves,
15 December 2014
By: Sandlapper
"I bought these for my husband to go with an Orvis bison jacket. Leather is very soft with quality stitching. He is very pleased!"
Review 5 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great value, well made,
13 December 2014
By: vlmf
from vancouver, b.c. Canada
"Bought gloves for my husband for Christmas and took a look at them before wrapping. Super durable and well made but soft and supple to the touch. I can't wait for him to try them on Christmas morning!"
Review 6 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bison Leather Winter Gloves,
08 December 2014
By: KaliCav
from Iowa
"The picture online is not a good representation of the gloves. They appear rugged online but are more like a winter driving glove. Having said that, the gloves are very nice. They are warm in the cold (20+ F) as long as you are not out for any lengthy period of time."
Review 7 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Just not the same as pictured,
03 December 2014
By: Steve613
from New York, NY
"The gloves in the picture look textured and think. The actual gloves much be from a different batch because they are smooth, not particularly thick, but the worst part is the lining feels cheap and fake. I LOVE ORVIS...but this one got away from them."
Review 8 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Better Before,
22 November 2014
By: EJGVCO
from WI
"I first purchased these gloves a couple of years ago, and loved them! Unfortunately I lost one last year, and had to order new ones. The previous pair were heavy weight shrunken bison leather with solid stitching and trim, exactly like the picture. The new pair are nice, but the leather is lighter and smoother and the finish isn't quite as good. Oh well, nothing stay's the same I guess."
Review 9 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hot Hands,
12 November 2014
By: Flycaster2014
from Sussex
"I neede a new pair of gloves and chose these after I had seen them in the Orvis catalouge.
Having received them they are beyond my expectation.
I have owned many pairs of gloves in my time but these are comfortable, warm and fit like a glove! (but then I suppose they should)
"
Review 10 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor quality,
08 November 2014
By: Jules36
"I agree with Simpson1 (or Simson 1) not worth it. I will return them.
The thumb is gigantic. Are Martians living along us?????
"
Review 11 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Disappointed, frankly,
28 October 2014
By: Simpson1
from Arlington Heights, Il.
"This is my first case of being disappointed in an Orvis purchase. For one thing, the product was on back order, so it took a long time before it was shipped to me. More importantly, though, the gloves completely lacked the textured look that was portrayed in the catalog. It has none of the character I was expecting."
Review 12 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tight,
22 February 2014
By: BNB60
from Central, OH
"These run a little small. I am a ML and ordered medium. Tough to get on, but waiting to see if leather stretches. The leather around the wrist is worthless, but looks nice."
Review 13 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what I was hoping for!,
21 February 2014
By: Kandace
from Dayton Ohio
"The gloves looked nice, but the fauz sherpa lining appeared to be shedding. Not worht the price. I returned the gloves and was credited in a timely manner, but Orvis did not credit shipping charges as other companies do when the return is of inferior quality. Probably won't be ordering from Orvis again."
Review 14 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Leather Gloves,
19 February 2014
By: Scol
"Bison gloves are the best leather gloves I have ever owned by far. Sherpa lining is great and warm. Leather is the best quality. Would by again. Highly recommended."
Review 15 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Look good but not for respectable hands,
11 February 2014
By: MichaelRelaxed
from Blufftpn SC
"These gloves do look good. I have "respectable" hands and could not put them on. I would say they are a bit smaller than a true XL and not the usual one up Orvis sizing. I think I would order again if offered in a larger size. I don't think I can give 5 stars to something I returned."
Review 16 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellt gloves,
31 January 2014
By: Spangler
from Boise, Idaho
"They are warm, well made, and they fit like a glove! Exactly what I was after. I like the leather, too."
Review 17 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hubby LOVES!,
17 January 2014
By: reddd
from Chicago, IL
"My husband loves these gloves. He is very picky - and these are the ONLY ones he will wear . I would highly recommend these!!!"
Review 18 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
13 January 2014
By: Idahoanagain
"well made, fits well, color lighter than in catalog"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
02 January 2014
By: KendalB
from North Carolina
"Bought these as a Christmas gift for my dad. He loved them! They smell wonderful and are great quality. The only thing he doesn't like is the leather toggle closure."
Review 20 for Bison Leather Winter Gloves
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gloves,
21 February 2013
By: Egan1
from Boston, MA
"The Bison Winter Gloves are super warm, nice looking (someone complimented, asked where purchased) and reasonably priced."