Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Tungsten Split Shot

Unlimited reusability sets this fishing split shot apart. Tungsten—non-toxic and heavier than tin—won't crimp your tippet. Instead, the tippet wraps around a groove in the shot for a super-secure grip. Split shot is removable, allowing you to get the most from each shot. 20 split shot per dispenser, 1g, (10 count) 1.6g (10 count).
Average Customer Rating:
1 out of 5
1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
0
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
10
0 of 10(0%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Tungsten Split Shot
Review 1 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
No description on the massive size of split shot,
25 December 2012
By: Petesalmonla
from On the beach with the massive tungsten split shot
"These tungsten split shot would be better used on the Beach for sea fishing not as described for nymph fly fishing. The description should show sizes or weights as the description includes neither - when I discussed with an Orvis Guide he agreed and offered a refund if I sent them back which is good but for £6 in the sale it's too much bother and I can use them for Cod fishing on Felixstowe Beach. Not one of Orvis's best product descriptions !!"
Review 2 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Waste of time and money,
03 July 2011
By: Norfolkngood
from Wiltshire
"These will not stay on! They do make a rather nice 'plop' sound though when they fly off the line and hit the water - and do a pretty good job of scaring any nearby fish off! Save your time and money and avoid these. They might be in the sale, but even if Orvis gave them to you, you still won't be able to use them."
Review 3 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Doesn't stay on line,
22 April 2011
By: Chardonfisherman
from Chardon Oh
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"I wish I would have read the reviews first. I went to Orvis and the manager said these are the best. Well they don't stay on the line as everyone else said. Sorry I spent the money. You would think with the Orvis quality they would have removed these from the selfs."
Review 4 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
add tubing,
05 July 2009
By: shotput
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I totally agree ... these do not stay on the line.
Slip a short section of 1/4 inch surgical tubing (such as that used for steelhead drift fishing to hold pencil lead) on your leader, then wrap on the shot and slide the tubing over it.
Inelegant but holds the shot on and protects the line at the shot."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team24 August 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the split shot did not stay on the line. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback. Due to this type of customer feedback, Orvis has decided not to carry this product in the future. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 5 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
what's up with this,
13 June 2009
By: YellowstoneDoc
from Yellowstone
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"Maybe I need an instruction manual but these split shot left my leader within two or three casts when fly fishing last week. I wrapped the line around in the groove the second time and same scenario. Very expensive shot to be throwing into the river even as discounted."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team29 June 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the split shot will not stay on the line. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback. Due to this type of customer feedback, Orvis has decided not to carry this product in the future. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 6 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Heart Broken,
25 April 2009
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I am a dedicated Orvis customer and this is the first product that I have not fallen in love with. It is a complete failure. I brought four sets of each size to share with my Fly Fishing friends and I was too ashamed to tell them that they do not stay on at all. sorry, Try something else along the same concept that stay put."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team15 June 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the split shot will not stay on the line. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback. Due to this type of customer feedback, Orvis has decided not to carry this product in the future. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 7 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
good idea, poor execution,
11 March 2009
By: Parshall
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
"These guys just won't stay on the line. Good company, but a bad product."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team15 June 2009
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the split shot will not stay on the line. Orvis thanked the customer for this feedback. Due to this type of customer feedback, Orvis has decided not to carry this product in the future. Orvis also offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 8 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very Dissapointed,
15 September 2008
By: Giants
"As with others - would not stay on no matter how many times I wrapped the leader around the split shot.
My record was 4 casts. a couple of casts was the norm before the split shot disappeared. At 1 buck per split shot this was pretty ridiculous.
I am not an Orvis hater. I have 3 Helios rods that I love.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team18 September 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the backseat split shot not staying on once casted. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business. Orvis has also passed the customers concerns on to the manufacture as they can be aware of the problem.
Review 9 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
useless,
07 August 2008
By: CanadianKiwi
from Canmore, Alberta
"Bought this product as it was touted by the retailer. As with the other review the tungsten shot never lasted more than 2 casts.
As I fish a lot in a National Park we cannot use lead shot so this seemed a good idea.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team18 August 2008
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the item not lasting but for a couple of times. Orvis offered to exchange this item or give a complete refund. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 10 for Tungsten Split Shot
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Won't stay on.,
03 March 2008
By: LubbockBear
from Lubbock, TX
"I fished the San Juan in New Mexico this past weekend, and I used these weights in hopes that it would cut down adjustment times between fishing spots. The concept is great, but in practice, these weights would not stay on. I followed the directions to a T, and not one weight made it through multiple casts. Save your money, and stick with plain old split shot."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team07 April 2008
Orvis Customer Service contacted this customer and offered a full refund. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.