Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater Mesh Vest

The breathable mesh body of our fly fishing vest features the same pocket systems as the solid version. Best lightweight choice with an abundance of storage space. Fly fishing vest available in olive. 65% polyester/35% cotton poplin. Washable. Imported. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52), XXXL(54-56).
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (26 reviews)
5 stars
20
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
25 of 26(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Review 1 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great vest,
15 July 2014
By: wyokt
from Cheyenne, WY
"I have one, and I bought one for my wife. They are light, fit well, and have just the right number of pockets. The only thing that would make it better would be an old-school wool patch on the shoulder to keep an extra fly or two at hand, but it is pretty darn good as is."
Review 2 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Highly recommended Mesh Vest,
13 June 2014
By: 1RAJ
from Charlottesville, Virginia
"This vest is comfortable, light, durable and the reason I bought it - well ventilated to stay cool. It has various sized pockets; just the right number to keep me from carrying everything. All at a good price. I used it fishing with a friend and he bought one the next day."
Review 3 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gear for upcoming trip!,
03 June 2014
By: Montanapacktrips
"I purchased the mesh vest for my son to wear on our pack trip in Montana- wish I had ordered two!!! I really get hot in mine this should be much cooler for those long days on the water! I also got him the encounter outfit- I have many rods an this one has a great feel an casts like a dream!"
Review 4 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Fishing Vest,
11 April 2014
By: HottyToddyFlies
from Mississippi
"I purchased this vest a while back, and it has far exceeded my expectations. It is extremely light, breathes very well during warmer weather, and keeps all of your gear at hand without having to fool around with a heavier vest or sling pack."
Review 5 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fishing vest,
19 December 2013
By: Jennifer10
from Virginia
"My husband has begun fly-fishing again and wanted this for Christmas. He loves it!"
Review 6 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
20 August 2013
By: Normski
from Dorset
"Excellent present for a fly fisherman with plenty of pockets for all the kit!"
Review 7 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Vest,
07 August 2013
By: CFHends
from Sudbury, ON
"The vest is light, yet durable. It is an excellent pairing with a waist pack. There is enough room for fly boxes, hemo's, and other essentials. The waist pack can carry all the rest. The back pocket is easy access and can hold a water bottle or two. Great Vest."
Review 8 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As advertised,
15 July 2013
By: Fishman2011
from USA
"Purchased the mesh vest as I wade fish in Florida during the spring & fall.
The vest is light weight and cut high enough as to not get wet while wading. There is ample room for a couple of sm-md fly boxes as well as accesories. Not nearly as hot as the normal vest.
"
Review 9 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Fair to poor performance,
12 July 2013
By: Guide77
"Item is WAY over priced . Only 2 pockets are zipped the larger inside Velcro pockets will Guarantee you will lose gear if vest is set down or if you take a spill. Standard Orvis Overpriced shipping and Slow delivery. Found a much better more secure vest for aprox 1/2 the price."
Review 10 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good Lightweight Vest,
20 May 2013
By: PBO1
from Raleigh, North Carolina
"Wore this vest last week for the first time. It was light weigh and comfortable. Enough pockets for my gear but not too much that you would carry more than you need.
Good Vest.
"
Review 11 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Vest,
29 May 2012
By: rickvi
from UP of Michigan
"light weight, enough pockets. love the clip connection instead of a zipper. ideal would be a small waterproof inside pocket for license, keys, etc."
Review 12 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
So light...,
28 March 2012
By: TurkishTrout
"I am a fly fisher woman and can not easily find fly fishing materials that are light in weight especially the vest.
Clearwater mesh vest is exactly what I was looking for. It is so light, I barely feel it. It has good amount of pockets and easily accessible.
I am very happy with my purchase.
"
Review 13 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best present ever,
22 March 2012
By: NJTN
from Chattanooga, TN
"I purchased this product because my sister-in-law gave me a gift card after seeing my old ratty vest while unpacking after a move. Honestly, I wasn't planning to go fishing until I became more familiar with the area but after I received the vest I had to go. This vest is super light weight and great quality and color. I wanted the mesh because I'm anticipating fishing in warmer weather and didn't want to be weighed down or get overheated. This vest totally delivered, it was like I was fishing in a T-shirt. Forgot to mention all the pocket space, because it was my first time out in a new place & I wasn't sure what conditions to expect; I brought just about a whole fly shop on me, including a snack. Can't wait to get out there to use it again."
Review 14 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mesh vest,
22 February 2012
By: Nugger
from Northamptonshire
"Excellent product gives good ventilation was on offer too !!"
Review 15 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
03 January 2012
By: Morg12
"Bought this vest for my boyfriend and love its. Uses it all the time and gets great use out of it."
Review 16 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great vest for warm weather,
26 July 2011
By: ggordyl
from Ormond Beach Fl
"It is light weight, cool in hot weather, numerous pockets for all equipment."
Review 17 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Purchase,
25 July 2011
By: outsidestignatius
from Nashville, TN
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have been extremely satisfied with this vest in every way. I purchased this to use primarily for bank fishing and wading; however, I find that it's ideally suited for kayak fishing as well. The vest has a number useful pockets and accessory rings that have more than ample space for a day's worth of fishing gear. Additionally, the mesh makes the vest very lightweight, comfortable, and cool. Most of the time I hardly realize I am wearing a fishing vest at all. I'm very pleased with the features and overall quality and I would highly recommend an Orvis vest to anyone in the market."
Review 18 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the vest, so do my friends,
05 July 2011
By: matt4433
from Denver, CO
"This vest is great. I am a beginner, so I can't comment too much on what vests should have. The mesh keeps you cool. A couple of my friends who are more "experts" in the fly fishing world loved it, and once is actually going to pick one up too. That endorsement was enough for me."
Review 19 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than I expected,
08 October 2010
By: Drew41
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great product that looks sharp and has all the features I want when I head to the river."
Review 20 for Clearwater Mesh Vest
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent and cool budget vest,
09 September 2009
By: Watchingripples
from South Wales
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This vest is not waterproof, but is of surprising quality for the price. The mesh which makes up most of the body of the vest keeps you cool even in the blazing sun.
The pockets are usefully sited and are of useful sizes (for my needs anyway, but I pack light for my river fishing trips). You do not want to over-pack the velcro-fastened pockets (i.e. all of the smaller ones) as you will end up losing stuff, but otherwise I have found with even a modicum of care they are secure. There are two bigger zip-up pockets large enough for the usual-sized aluminium dry fly boxes.
The vest sits very nicely when it is on, and a click-shut buckle across the chest ensures everyoing will remain in place should you take a tumble. The D-ring can take my heavy-ish wood-frame hand net without causing the vest to be pulled out of position - an annoying feature which caused the binning of my last (non-Orvis) vest. The lovely staff at the Orvis Stockbridge branch insisted that I attach a heavy net to reassure me to allay my fears before I made my purchase.
The construction and materials of the vest are of good quality, but this a lightweight garment, and I would be surprised of it would last much more than four busy seasons. But hey - it costs just £39!
I am a 42" chest (male!) and I was very pleased to find that I needed the medium, and indeed it was a toss-up whether to go for the small! Be aware of this, particularly if you order over the internet - Orvis is a US-based company, and account needs to be taken of (what has been described to me as) the "burger factor" - a "medium" in the US is not a "medium" in the UK!
One other thing of note - my vest did not come with a fleece pattch like the one in the Orvis website photo.
A very decent vest for the price, and although it is not waterproof, it dries out quickly."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.