Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Fish Flask

Distinctively Orvis, this compact engraved hip flask is handmade in pewter exclusively for us by master craftsmen in Sheffield, England. Holds 3 oz. Measures 5¼" x 2¼" x ¾".
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (21 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
4
16 of 21(76%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Fish Flask
Review 1 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Scratched Fish Flask,
05 August 2014
By: Quimby
from South Dakota
"Perfect 3 oz. flask. My only complaint is that I had my initials engraved on it. The engraver must have scratched the flask in the vise. I guess its not a huge deal as I'm sure ill drop it in the rocks a few times over the years. otherwise, I love it!"
Review 2 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loved it,
16 January 2014
By: Tennis7
"Bought this for my husband for Christmas. He absolutely loves it. I also had his initials put on it which made it more special. It was a nice addition to his New Year's Day fishing trip!"
Review 3 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fish Flask,
27 December 2013
By: Whec718
from New Jersey
"Very well constructed flask. Nice detail on the fish. Cap is a little tough to screw on.
I love taking it hiking or skiing!
"
Review 4 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sleek flask,
11 September 2013
By: CRoon
"Perfect for fitting into an inside pocket for a nip."
Review 5 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Quality,
13 May 2013
By: DelGriffith
from Fairfield, CT
"I bought six of these for friends in gratitude for their help in a building project. The flasks are great looking. However, one of the flasks (that I know of) leaked right out of the box. So, I asked for it back from my friend and returned it to Orvis. They sent me a new one at no charge. I inspected it when I received it and noted black soldering residue near the cap threads) I filled it up to test it and shook it - it leaked immediately. Upon closer inspection, I also noted that sealing material in the cap was a cheap styrofoam disk - as opposed to the rubber disk that was in one of the other flasks I bought. The flimsier styrofoam wasn't seated properly and so wasn't making a seal. Overall, the flasks are of inconsistent quality. On the positive side, Orvis did refund my money without argument."
Review 6 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fish flask,
28 December 2012
By: JulesB
from St. Louis, MO
"Fabulous classic flask. A true treasure. Looks great and will get plenty of use."
Review 7 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic!,
22 November 2012
By: ColoradoMountainMan
"I love this little flask. My kids bought it for me for Father's Day. I get positive and fun comments every time I pull it from my pocket! Perfect for the golf course, or for a quick fix when the opera is getting a little too long..."
Review 8 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cheers to Orvis!,
17 July 2012
By: NewtKiley
"I've had two of these flasks for MANY years and recently one started to leak.
I'm one of those weird folks that call the seller or manufacturer when I have a problem instead of complaining all over the Internet so in this case, I called Orvis first. I was shocked and delighted when they said they would happily replace my flask despite it being more than a few years old and yesterday I received my brand new replacement flask.
So I would say you can buy this flask with confidence despite a few folks having problems because Orvis stands behind what they sell. I plan to make my first toast from my new flask to Orvis customer service!"
Review 9 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Gift!,
09 May 2012
By: Mzsunshine
from Oakland, CA.
"Very Classy gift for a fisherman who likes a taste of wiskey now and then. Heavy, nice lettering, and just the right size for carrying on those special occasions."
Review 10 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gonna be a great gift!,
07 December 2011
By: lucid
from Pgh, PA
"Bought it for my dad for Christmas and cant wait to give it to him...I'm sure he's gonna love it!!!"
Review 11 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but not perfect,
26 July 2011
By: GeauxTiger
from Louisiana
"The fish design on the flask is very attractive but the quality is inconsistent. The first flask I ordered had a very small hole in the cap and leaked. Orvis immediately sent a replacement that was not flawed. The customer service is excellent but if ordering for a gift give yourself time to examine it after it arrives."
Review 12 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Met my expectations,
26 July 2011
By: shotawisky
"Great product and will stand the test of time. Just remember to use some type of funnel when filling so as not to waste your favorite libation. Purchase the personalized engraving, nice addition."
Review 13 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
beauty in the eye of the beholder but it dont last,
22 July 2011
By: jinxy
"I received this Sheffield made flask for my birthday last year. It is beautiful. I carried it with pride and filled it with my favorite single malt. One year later it began to leak along the bottom seam. Now it is still beautiful but non-functional. No one locally will patch it. Will Orvis repair it? no response"
Review 14 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality?,
05 June 2011
By: ChapAndrews
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"I received this personalized flask from my wife on father's day. What a cool, thoughtful gift......I can use this on the AuSable and hand it down when my fishing days come to an end. Not so fast, this past May, roughly 10 months into the journey, my vest had the distinct tang of Bushmills. Upon investigation, I noticed the scent stemmed from my flask pocket where a pin hole in my heirlooom emptied its contents. There was no outward sign of damage, just a pin hole. In my opinion this was caused by a defect in the manufacturing process or impurities in the pewter. I trust it will be replaced by Orvis as I've not had issues with any other Orvis products to date. Respectfully.....Chap"
Review 15 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great flask,
10 May 2011
By: Muliejim
from Central Oregon
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"This small "boot flask" is just the ticket for slipping into your raincoat or fishing vest on that cold rainy morning when you're chilled to the bone. Fill it with your favorite libation, mine is Irish Mist, and it will chase the cold away and warm you from the inside out. I would highly recommend this fine product since it has a classic feel and look to it."
Review 16 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very nice flask,
13 November 2010
By: Edflask
from Charlotte, NC
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Great heft to this small, easily carryable flask. Looks great and is a joy to use. Cap fits perfectly, totally liquid-tight and shows fine Sheffield, England craftsmanship.
I'm glad I got it. I recommend it for others."
Review 17 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
16 January 2010
By: SteveJr
from Richmond, VA
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"Love the look and feel of this little flask. However, from its first use, it leaked. The lid just didn't fit properly. Recently, the lid got stuck. It just would not turn. Tried several options to remove the lid only to scar it. Very Disappointed. I will be visiting my local Orvis shop for a replacement."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team19 January 2010
Orvis contacted this customer and expressed regrets that this flask arrived in less than satisfactory condition. Orvis also offered an exchange or full credit for the item. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 18 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great Customer Service,
09 December 2009
By: RSCFL
Meets Expectations: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
"I love the little flask. An Orvis Live Chat person was very helpful when I was deciding on whether to purchase the flask or not. I was a little disappointed though when I received my engraved flask and there was pitting on one side as opposed to the nice polished finish shown. The engraver should have noticed and chosen a different one to send out. I have contacted customer service to see if they will correct it. I have every confidence that they will."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team21 December 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately replaced the flask for the customer since the original was damaged.You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 19 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a great gift!,
11 April 2009
By: stuart
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My girlfriend gave me one of these and it really is nice. The size is fairly small but perfect for a little "luck" on the stream.
The flask is beautiful and unique, it has a special feel and size to it.
"
Review 20 for Fish Flask
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Nice but be careful,
19 February 2008
By: Rob1
"Looks very nice and small. This flask and cap are made from pewter, which is made out of tin and copper and up to 4 % lead. It is a very soft metal. Because of the 4% lead you can not keep any liquid that you intend on drinking in longer the 48 hours!
There is no cap clasp to hold the cap so you don't drop it. One drop of the cap and it will be out of round and not fit any more. ( I know because I did it.)
I gave it two stars only because it is a nice piece of work but not functional.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Serivce01 August 2008
Orvis has looked into the customer comments and can assure customers this item does not contain any amount of lead in the item. Pewter has not contained lead for many years, though leaded solder was used around 10 years ago. Since then both the pewter and the solder used to make the flasks are lead free.