Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.537 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (259 reviews)
5 stars
185
4 stars
44
3 stars
18
2 stars
8
1 star
4
237 of 259(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
08 October 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Like They Used to Make,
28 June 2015
By: Phantom3
from Adirondacks, NY
"Blazer is the same excellent Orvis quality as my 25 year-old blazer. The old blazer had been through a lot a was showing some wear on the buttons & lining - but is still usable in a pinch! The new one fits perfectly and hopefully will last another 25 years (even if I don't)."
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great value,
27 June 2015
By: BBinLA
from New Orleans, LA
"Looks like the quality is ip there with much more expensive Blazers. Haven't Ben able to make it wrinkle either. Nice coat."
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply the best,
21 June 2015
By: cocoakalula
from Scotland
"The blazer is well made, fits my husband like a glove and best of all he will be wearing it with his Orvis chinos walking his daughter up the isle in beautiful Barcelona - thanks"
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel blazer,
16 June 2015
By: lkay
"My husband loves this blazer.
So much that this is our 3rd blazer order.
"
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Very Useful coat,
10 June 2015
By: wrldtravlr
from Lynchburg, VA
"This is my third hopsack blazer over the years. I have used them very extensively for domestic and international travel. There is no better product!"
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love,
09 June 2015
By: Loa2533
from Roanoke, VA
"My husband travels extensively and often has to hop off a plane and run to a meeting. This jacket is absolutely perfect for him and I'm seriously considering buying him a second one!"
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice fitting blaazer,
02 June 2015
By: Bobby1789
from North Carolina
"I looked high and low to replace my trusted 3-button navy blazer, and decided to try the Orvis Traveler's Hopsack Blazer. It was a good decision. I am an old school 3-button guy. The fit is perfect,which is to say relaxed. The lapels are shaped the way I've always preferred. The fabric is very smooth and soft.
While it is described as a travel blazer, it is first a very nicely tailored, good looking blazer. If it travels well, so much the better."
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Needed a Travel Blazer,
26 May 2015
By: dick7044
from Fort Worth ,Texas
"I made the correct choice. Orvis makes it easy - online, at the store, on the phone. I always look forward to the next catalog. Thanks Orvis."
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Blazer,
18 May 2015
By: JustJayne1
from Oregon Coast
"I bought this jacket as a gift for my nephew who is starting a new job as an area manager. It looks like a great jacket that resists wrinkling. He is tall and getting it in a tall size made it the perfect match for him."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A homerun ... as always with Orvis.,
17 May 2015
By: 2PeopleCanHaveOneNickname
from Arizona
"Travel is what I'll be doing -- to a wedding -- and I wanted something that would stand out but not look formal. The Hopsack Travel Blazer is the perfect answer. The workmanship is elegant. Every stitch perfect, no hint of a wrinkle."
Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Informal Travel Blazer,
07 May 2015
By: TROF
from Arnold, MD
"Built to a purpose, this blazer is more functional than beautiful: the material is a little synthetic/shiney (45% wool) and it has patch pockets. I found the 44R tight and got a free exchange for a 44L which fits (lowered the chest measurement a bit). I would buy it again, but I think it is going to be pretty durable and I am not young."
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The Travel Blazer,
04 May 2015
By: JBM1945
from Solana Beach, CA
"While I don't travel all that much, and certainly don't jump out of cars to catch fish in road side water spots I did want a jacket I could wear to work on a daily basis. A jacket that would not get all creased while being worn in the car driving to and from work sites and offices. The coat was delivered in a timely manner. It looks good. I like the coat except that I had to have the selves shorten to fit properly. A tailor had to make that correction.. Also the middle button of the jacket fell off the second day I wore it. My wife was able to correct that. I am interest to se what it will look like after a years hard wear."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for the price!,
04 May 2015
By: MTgoat
from Kalispell, MT
"Fit was as expected. I am 6' 2" with monkey arms and the 44L fit perfect. I have worn it once to a local function but haven't traveled with it yet, but will soon. The fabric seems durable."
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
04 May 2015
By: Gilc
"I recently wore the blazer for the first time and I was extremely pleased with the garment.It fits well and most important there was no need to worry about it wrinkling even though it was thrown into the back of my car..The pockets within the blazer was another excellent feature especially when traveling and the need to carry a wallet and a passport."
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Had To Return,
04 May 2015
By: preach
from Columbus, IN
"I really like the looks of this travel blazer. However, I had to return for larger size. I typically wear a 42L and the coat a bit tight and sleeves just a tad short, so I am hoping the 44L will not be too large/long. I wish it was offered in 43L. Jury still out...waiting to receive the 44L to see how it fits."
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Buttons,
03 May 2015
By: NormanHugh
from Netherlands
"The jacket is very smart, even my father liked it. I have worn it from east to west on the globe and like it very much.
But one of the buttons was constantly breaking off. My tailor in Singapore told me that it is the "square" pattern of the button "mount" which slowly wears into the thread and cuts into it.
So always carry a spare button."
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Well Made Jacket,
30 April 2015
By: ATexan
from North Texas
"Very surprised this jacket was so well made for the price. It is a good year round weight, and the material is beautiful. Importantly, we took it out of the delivery box, held it up, and it did not have a wrinkle in it. He loved the fit. I had been looking at this jacket for a while, after he noticed it in your catalog. I ordered it quickly when we received a catalog with special discounting. It's an early Father's Day gift, and wrinkle free will be great for traveling this summer."
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
As Advertised,
29 April 2015
By: EmeraldIsle
from Lake Geneva, WI
"Exactly as advertised. Easy to wear and the buttons gleam like you just made Admiral of the Fleet. The Coat arrived folded in a garment bag that was boxed. The coat was immediately able to be worn with a full passing grade for no wrinkles or creases."
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent sizing and quality,
28 April 2015
By: powders
from North Carolina
"The size fit me exactly and the quality was perfect for traveling and more formal use."