Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.508 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (183 reviews)
5 stars
129
4 stars
31
3 stars
13
2 stars
7
1 star
3
168 of 183(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
08 October 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good purchase,
23 July 2014
By: PADCO
from Indian Land SC
"Good value for the money, good style, great workmen ship."
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good for travel,
22 July 2014
By: JWalt
"I purchased this jacket for travelling and it's ability not to wrinkle easily. It does wrinkle some, but ithat is inevitable and it s good quality."
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Blazer,
17 July 2014
By: Franjo
from Minneapolis
"I needed to replace a navy blazer and looked in retail stores but was unhappy with the quality.
The Orvis blazer is exactly what I was looking for in a travel sport coat.
"
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Navy Blazer,
19 June 2014
By: papjojo
"The hopsack navy blazer continues to be a favorite in this family, both father and sons. Well made and quality fabric make it a lasting item in the wardrobe. The bright buttons add to its appeal. This family's first choice!"
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hard to Wrinkle, Great Fit,
17 June 2014
By: Mastiff7
"Exactly as advertised. A bit heavy for hot weather. Fit a standard issue middle age body without a need for alterations (well, at least to the jacket. The middle aged body is a different story.)"
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Does not feel like quality,
12 June 2014
By: jmarcus0014
"The blazer was shipped promptly and packaged well. Fit was true to size. Main problem was it did not feel like quality when I wore it and seemed to look cheap. I sent it back."
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pleasant surprise,
11 June 2014
By: vm75lx8
"The Orvis description of the hop sacker emphasized that it would not wrinkle. I was pleased to see that this is truly the case. What I was especially pleased with was the soft feel of the jacket material and how well it drapes, like a tailored fit. I would certainly recommend it to anyone who might be hesitant to order a jacket like this, sight unseen."
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Travel Blazer,
06 June 2014
By: wfvs
from San Antonio, Texas
"I bought this blazer based on both the Orvis name and need for a muti-pocketed travel blazer. After receiving the blazer I tried it on and the fit was perfect plus this blazer is designed to take a beating and keep looking good. If you travel a lot like I do, and even if you don't, this is a great blazer for everyday wear."
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as Advertised,
03 June 2014
By: Nutmegger921
from Glastonbury, CT
"After corporate retirement, I did a lot of traveling for the government in an advisory capacity and this jacket came out of the suitcase with no wrinkles at all. A colleague was so impressed, he asked me where I purchased the jacket, and he ordered one as well. This is my second one. Unfortunately, I caught my sleeve on something leading to an irreparable tear."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lapel problems,
30 May 2014
By: ftgguy
"The lapels on this jacket do not lie flat when the top button is done up. It almost appears that the button should be put on the underside so that it look proper."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team02 June 2014
Orvis respects and welcome our customers’ comments and we contacted this customer and let him know we were disappointed to hear our Traveler's Hopsack Blazer failed to meet his expectations. In response we discussed this with the product developer. The jacket by design is a three button that is pressed to roll to two buttons. The third button is a style feature that is actually under the lapel. It is not designed as a three button up. Please remember: Orvis will happily exchange or refund your purchase if any item does not meet your expectations.

Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Made as if it was hand designed and hand made,
25 May 2014
By: JavierG
"The item arrived to my place just in time, in perfect conditions.
Customer service treated me very well and every person I spoke to, was very helpful and attentive. I also qualify Customer service with five stars.
The product was in excellent conditions and its quality is just like it was advertised!"
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Travel Garmet,
20 May 2014
By: MacmanDan
from Los Angeles, CA
"I purchased the blazer primarily for travel. During my recent trip to Washington DC it came out of my garment bag ready to wear. Always looked fresh and I felt well dressed."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Performs as advertised,
20 May 2014
By: CU76SPE
from Saluda, SC
"I've seen the ads for years in the Orvis catalog and always thought it was typical marketing hype. But all of it is true. I bought the blazer as a travel coat when I would need a jacket for random business events. The jacket packs well in a roll-aboard and looks great when you take it out. I should have never doubted Orvis."
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great all-purpose blazer!,
19 May 2014
By: snappydresser
from Wooster, OH
"I needed a new basic blue blazer, and I wanted one that would travel well. The Orvis Navy Blue Hopsack Blazer fits the bill perfectly. My first order was a little small, and Orvis couldn't have made it easier to exchange for one size bigger--which fits perfectly. Highly recommended!"
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor workmanship,
17 May 2014
By: WMikeT
from New Jersey, USA
"Bought the blazer based on the ORVIS description and was pleased with the cloth quality and feel of the coat. Off for my first international trip with the jacket and found the coat side pockets (BOTH pockets) were not completely sewn to the jacket. A real disappointment - especially for the money. I have other ORVIS products and have been generally pleased but BEWARE"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Just what I need for travel,
09 May 2014
By: WildWillie75
from Northen New Jersey
"I have all ready traveled with wearing it on my outward leg and packed in my carry-on on my homeward leg, Upon hanging it up, it looked neat and trim as the day it arrived from Orvis. My only drawback for the jacket is it is a wee bit heavy in weight than I had anticipated........"
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than described,
07 May 2014
By: HoosierDude
from Indianapolis, IN
"An absolutely beautiful jacket, right out of the box that fit like a gem. Not only did I walk into a "business casual" interview and nail it but I looked and felt great. Buy this."
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great coat for wardrobe,
07 May 2014
By: jesatty
from bossier city, la
"Glad I finally purchased
Had looked at for long time
looks stylish
and very function
"
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nicely done Orvis,
06 May 2014
By: BuckJ
from Dallas, TX
"You can buy a cheaper coat and it will fit and look like a cheaper coat. Very nicely tailored...excellent quality...sizing is correct. It's what you expect from Orvis quality. Well done."