Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Traveler's Hopsack Blazer

The favorite travel blazer of Leigh H. Perkins, Orvis chairman, who has traveled the globe for decades for business and pleasure. You'll love as much as he does how the hopsack fabric of polyester/wool defies wrinkling, resists stains, and packs well for worry-free travel. Plus, you'll be glad the hopsack's interior sports our exclusive Orvis File System™, which includes button-tab pocket, zippered security pocket, and two utility pockets to keep your passport, plane tickets, and documents secure and on hand. Travel blazer details include lapel buttonhole, full lining, and unique Orvis buttons. Three exterior and four interior pockets. In navy. Polyester/wool. Dry clean. Made in USA.Regular even sizes: 38-54; about 31½" long in size 44 regular.Long even sizes: 40-54. Long sizes are 1¼" longer in body, 1" longer in sleeve.
Average Customer Rating:
4.518 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (224 reviews)
5 stars
159
4 stars
37
3 stars
17
2 stars
7
1 star
4
205 of 224(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Review 1 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Favorite Blazer,
08 October 2012
By: JohnfromMaryland
from Severna Park, MD
"I finally got the Navy Blue Blazer after debating for some time due to the cost. I have visited your store in Manchester over the past several years looking for one on sale but did not have any luck. I have one in Red that I got about ten years ago and one in gray and green that I got at the outlet. I guess the only one I don't have is the baby blue :-). I love these Blazers and have worn the gray one all over Africa during my travels the past four years. This Orvis product is probably my all time favorite blazer and and I generally wear suits every day. Well made, stylish without being overbearing, and classic as well as practical (particularly for traveling). Thanks"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 February 2015
By: cjbk
from CT
"Great fit. Very comfortable fabric. Ideal for traveling."
Review 3 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
what it is,
16 February 2015
By: 4WDFlyfisher
from Ostrander, OH
"Remarkable for the function it purports to serve. Amazingly wrinkle-proof. Not your navy-blue blazer for more formal occasions, but more than serviceable for a very wide range of situations. I wear a 44R Orvis and a 46R Brooks, so it is an "executive" fit, and tends a little toward the more "boxy" and less "fitted," but manages a sweater-vest or V-neck nicely. Nice crossed-rods brass buttons, and lots of well-placed pockets inside. One should last a lifetime (or what's left of it)."
Review 4 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really is wrinkle-free,
16 February 2015
By: MJF1956
from CT
"Jacket was delivered the day before a trip. Came out of the box with no wrinkles, got rolled up and packed into a duffle. Still looked great."
Review 5 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
26 January 2015
By: DShaw
"the blazer is exactly as advertised and fits perfectly. The quality of the product is outstanding...best blazer I have every owned. I purchase most of my clothing from Orvis for their great service and quality. This purchase was no exception."
Review 6 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will not wrinkle! REALLY!!,
05 January 2015
By: Brangus
from Montgomery, TX
"Rolled it up and put in carry on. Took it out and after 9 hours and put it on. Looked like it did when I packed it. Really is some Blazer. This is my second one and certainly not disappointed."
Review 7 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfy travel sport coat,
04 January 2015
By: SRBS
from Michigan
"With it's many pockets, this coat is perfect for travel. It fits well, is comfortable, and wears well."
Review 8 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrific travel blazer,
29 December 2014
By: Totqhlp
from Florida
"Wrinkle free, very well made wool blend jacket. You can wad it up, crush it into a carry on, sit on it, mash it into the overhead, pull it out, put it on and look like a million. For that price range, you can't beat it."
Review 9 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He loves it!,
26 December 2014
By: Alphonsine2
"When we were in Europe last fall, my husband wore his traditional navy blazer often. He complained though that he needed a jacket with a similar look and more pockets. When I saw this jacket on the Orvis site, I was hopeful that it would be the perfect solution. My husband is delighted and the 42 long fits him perfectly. He looks forward to wearing it for travel."
Review 10 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice jacket,
26 December 2014
By: SharonB
from Berkshires, MA
"I gave this jacket to my frequently traveling husband, and he could not have been happier. He would never have spent the money on himself but was so pleased when he opened it. He wore it on Christmas Eve and received many compliments."
Review 11 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Sport Coat,
17 December 2014
By: DLMinVA
from Richmond, VA
"No wonder this blazer is a favorite with Orvis Chairman, Leigh Perkins, it looks and feels great, and truly does resist wrinkles and stains. Air travel usually destroys my jackets. Not so with this marvelous blazer. Now I wish it would come in grey and green colors. That's a hint, Orvis folks."
Review 12 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Got a new favorite,
15 December 2014
By: RyeNick
from Upstate NY
"Fits fine. Stiffness left quickly after one wearing. Like the extra inside pockets."
Review 13 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality sportcoat,
13 December 2014
By: drake73
"I was pleased with the excellent construction and details. Plenty of room in the coat. Nicely packaged with a coat hanger and travel bag."
Review 14 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Blazer for te Money,
02 December 2014
By: rmmilleriii
"Outstanding blazer. This is actually the second one of these I've owned. The first one has accompanied me for the past five years on countless business trips and has held up like a tank while looking great!"
Review 15 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nice Blazer,
25 November 2014
By: Cogswell
from Minnesota
"I thought it was a quality Blazer and I can see how it would shed wrinkles easily. As other reviewers have mentioned, it might not be your best options for warmer climates."
Review 16 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Obvious quality and fit from 1st try,
24 November 2014
By: ImCazador
from Egg Harbor, WI
"I am thrilled to have this jacket in my wardrobe! It fits to size and as described with precision by the Chat Rep online. Stitching and fabric are way-above the rack stores. This jacket slides on like custom. It travels like the road warrior who wears it... any-time/any-where. The inside button-flap pocket easily fits an iPad Mini 3 with a Zagg keyboard case - PERFECT Orvis! Thanks."
Review 17 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
13 November 2014
By: RevNC
from Charlotte, NC
"This old school blazer is my new favorite! Multiplied thanks, Orvis!"
Review 18 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smart & Comfortable,
13 November 2014
By: October86
from Edinburgh
"Equally suitable for smart & casual wear.
Wears easy on the body, stays wrinkle free after a long day's wear, still looking smart.
Ample pockets, making it the ideal travel wear.
"
Review 19 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great,
04 November 2014
By: Lebo
"The Hopsack Blue Blazer not only looks great but also it absolutely will not wrinkle. Great for travel, but also for all other occasions."
Review 20 for Traveler's Hopsack Blazer
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not the best,
13 October 2014
By: butterwood
from Dayton OH
"The quality of the material was great, however the top button hole was on the lapel. Have never seen a sport coat with a button on the lapel."