Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater Hook Assortments

Clearwater fly tying hook assortments come packaged in a 12-compartment (magnetic bottom with foam dividers) hook pallet. Total of 180 hooks per assortment. If purchased separately would cost more than $40. The most popular sizes and styles of each variety of hook. Example: In the dry selection you would receive sizes 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20 in both down-eye and straight-eye styles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.447 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (38 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
35 of 38(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Review 1 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
10 March 2014
By: ColoradoFlyTie
from Keystone, CO
"I like the selection of hooks and the magnetic box in which the hooks come. It's a great way to keep hooks organized."
Review 2 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
as expected,
14 February 2014
By: studio42
from Ridgway, CO
"Most of the hooks were in the correct compartments, unlike many of the other reviews."
Review 3 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
16 January 2014
By: Cyberhag
from Nashville, TN
"Have purchased several of these sets. This is the only way I'll buy hooks from now on. Easy to identify, great selection of sizes, easy to store. Hooks stay organized in separate compartments. Great quality."
Review 4 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
box not refillable,
18 November 2013
By: drjcm
from Corning, NY
"The hooks are great, but what happens when you want to refill individual hook types? I went to the Orvis site, but the hooks are designated (SE3 #10) for example but you can't just go order that hook. You can guess, but there is no way to directly reorder individual hooks to replenish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A practical product,
12 November 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"Good hooks but the really useful part is the storage container - a really useful way to find the hooks I want easily and spot when the ones I use most often are running out.
A touch pricey... but then again, hooks are no matter which reputable company you buy them from."
Review 6 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 May 2013
By: rise2afly
"These are a great way to tranport hooks to the river, club meetings, or shows."
Review 7 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal on great hooks,
14 April 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"Very economical way to purchase very good quality hooks. I already have a hook box but this one will be great for travel when making flies on the go. Thanks Orvis for a great product!"
Review 8 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Box,
21 February 2013
By: Limefish
"Box is magnetic so hooks stay put. Great gift item and box is good quality and will be reused."
Review 9 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Setup,
19 February 2013
By: pweise
from Virginia
"I love the way that the box is made and the magnetic bottom. Just wished that the hook guide that came with it told you what each hook in the pck was close to instead of a general one."
Review 10 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Assortment,
01 February 2013
By: ShoreWalker
from Maryland
"As a novice to fly tying, I needed a hook assortment to facilitate practice on many different fly types and sizes. This is a cost competitive way to do that and the storage box is great asset for re-stocking. The cross-reference lists also facilitate getting the right hooks for each recipe."
Review 11 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i got hooked!,
29 December 2012
By: appalled
from Akron,ny
"these hooks are very poor quality. I can bend them easily when pulling on my thread. Imagine what a trout would do.Will not buy them again."
Review 12 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great assortment,
28 December 2012
By: karlm
from Deerfield, MA
"I recently got back into fly tying and was looking for a mix of different hooks to try until I know what I'll use most often. The Clearwater assortments were exactly what I was looking for at a very reasonable cost"
Review 13 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Revolutionieses My Fly Bench,
28 December 2012
By: grizzly44
from Pacific Northwest
"I have way too many items on my fly tying bench, especially small containers of fly fishing hooks. Now, with the Orvis Clearwater assortment for dry flies, I can be more efficient and not lose hooks in the tying materials. The box is segregated with foam strips by hook size and the box is magnetized to help me prevent spillage. I enjoy have a variety and choice in sizes for each tying adventure. Thanks, Orvis.!!!"
Review 14 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice assortment,
28 December 2012
By: JohnInColorado
from Lakewood, CO
"I've been buying lots of hooks lately for all my fly tying so I was excited to find this assortment. Looking forward to lots of dry flying tying this winter!"
Review 15 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clearwater assortments,
05 November 2012
By: vintageflyguy
from Lynn, MA
"I ordered all six assortmants in three separate shipments. All hooks were in the correct bins and the orders arrived timely. The compact magnetic boxes are perfect for travelling to tying claves. If you tie flies, take advantage of these assortmants."
Review 16 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent selection,
17 October 2012
By: RIDRAGFREEDRIFTER
from Warwick, RI
"I recently purchased the Clearwater Hook Assortment - dry fly selection. This was an super buy, as it contains a selection of hooks to meet all needs in the dry fly area of fly tying. I have been out of fly tying for a bit and getting back into it now. This selection of hooks will help and it was VERY COST EFFECTIVE. Thank you ORVIS !!"
Review 17 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality as usual!,
30 May 2012
By: Ffforlife
from Northborough, MA
"Another great product that fly tiers will love. Arrived on time and all hooks were in correct bins. I love how small it is. Fits nicely with a travel kit. Hooks seem to be of well known Orvis quality."
Review 18 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scud hooks,
09 May 2012
By: kf5tk
"Good as it gets.. I am just learnig to tye. This is a great way to have a good supply of hooks."
Review 19 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hook assortment dry,
18 April 2012
By: flyfishingbear
from Bakersfield,Ca
"Orvis hooks are excellent, my only complaint is that when shipped the hooks moved into other compartments so my hooks are all mixed up now. But they ties well and make great flies that float high, hook well and stay sharp."
Review 20 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ignore Negative Reviews,
06 April 2012
By: MTManBrad
from Huson, MT
"I was almost scared off from ordering these assortments because of the reviews complaining about the hooks arriving all mixed-up in the containers. I went ahead on ordered anyway and all 6 assortments arrived without a single hook out of place. The containers are great and i am very pleased with the product."