Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater Hook Assortments

Clearwater fly tying hook assortments come packaged in a 12-compartment (magnetic bottom with foam dividers) hook pallet. Total of 180 hooks per assortment. If purchased separately would cost more than $40. The most popular sizes and styles of each variety of hook. Example: In the dry selection you would receive sizes 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20 in both down-eye and straight-eye styles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.549 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (51 reviews)
5 stars
35
4 stars
12
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
48 of 51(94%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Review 1 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
As described,
02 June 2015
By: LFgear
"This item was as described on the site and well organized - good assortment."
Review 2 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful hook assortment,
29 May 2015
By: MDarren
from Dallas, OR
"These are great hooks for tying and fishing dry flies. The packaging was secure and holds the hooks separated from each other."
Review 3 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice set of hooks,
11 May 2015
By: Mlowe05
"Fast shipping from Orvis was a definite plus. All hooks are razor sharp and have used half the box already. Like not having bags to sort through and the labeling is great."
Review 4 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Selection,
07 April 2015
By: FishOn412
from Detroit, MI
"I was looking for something with a big hook size selection for tying since I typically like have a big range of sizes of a particular fly and this fit the bill. I really like the magnetic bottom to help keep the hooks in place. And on they even have recommendation for similar hooks from other manufactures on the case for if you are replacing or interested in how the hook compares to other brands."
Review 5 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great hooks,
24 March 2015
By: FlyFish96
from South Jersey
"I am a beginner at fly tieing and this seleciton of hooks packaged together was great for me to experiment with. the several sizes allows me to try different flies. I have not actually fished with them as it is still a little cold here, but am looking forward to trying my flies."
Review 6 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Hook Set,
30 January 2015
By: Castaway
from North Ga
"I just started out tying and this hook set is perfect! I would tell everyone to get all the hook sets. Orvis once again makes it easy for the customer!"
Review 7 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
22 October 2014
By: taxidermy1580
from Michigan
"I was really happy with the size selection of hooks as well as the quality of the hooks. Great for getting many sizes for a good price."
Review 8 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nirvana for beginner fly tiers,
15 October 2014
By: fdimegli
from New Jersey
"Helps with the confusion beginners have when deciding what hooks to use. Don't have to buy large quantities in various sizes; they're already provided in this assortment. You can closely match hooks presented in image and video demonstrations. You only have to decide what fly type(dry, wet, etc.)you need, or get multiple assortments to establish a hook bank."
Review 9 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Solid set,
11 October 2014
By: Clichtenauer
from Harrison, NY
"For any fly tier who wishes to correctly match the hatch without breaking the bank, this is a great set of hooks to provide the versatility you need."
Review 10 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great assortment and value,
11 September 2014
By: WNCHappyFisher
"Have purchased these sets more than a few times!
Bought as a gift for the 2nd time. They loved the set.
Easy to identify, great selection of sizes, easy to store.
Hooks stay organized in separate magnetized compartments."
Review 11 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Assortment,
04 August 2014
By: richardjac
from Idaho
"Been tying flies for a couple years now and these a hook assortments are great. You get a good variety of sizes and the quality is comparable to much more expensive brands."
Review 12 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hook assortment, just a few problems.,
15 July 2014
By: BKalpin
from Altadena,CA
"These hook set are great as far as the varieties offered. They are a good value for a fly tyer who is looking to tie similar patterns in different sizes. There are 2 problems with these assortments. One is that the labels printed on the outside of the box don't relate to anything as far as the hook style number. For instance instead of listing Orvis #1523 size 14 the label reads DF1 #14. If you're going to bother printing on the case why not put the hook style number instead of the meaningless designation of dry fly 1. The other problem I have is that when you get the assortment the case has been taped shut with packing tape. When you peel off the packing tape it takes the inked label off of the case. But if the labels mean nothing I guess my later gripe isn't as big of a deal."
Review 13 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
10 July 2014
By: Mook
from Boston, MA
"This product is great. The price is worth the value of the hooks alone, but the case is almost the best part. If you're like me you sit down to tie and have to look in 10 different places to find hooks, and then try to discern between two different pouches of size 18 hooks to try to figure out which one has the 2x shank. This case takes care of that problem. It's labeled and magnetic, so the hooks stay where you put them. This makes for less time and effort to stay organized,and far fewer discussions with my better half about why she keeps finding tiny fishing hooks with her bare feet..."
Review 14 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
10 March 2014
By: ColoradoFlyTie
from Keystone, CO
"I like the selection of hooks and the magnetic box in which the hooks come. It's a great way to keep hooks organized."
Review 15 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
as expected,
14 February 2014
By: studio42
from Ridgway, CO
"Most of the hooks were in the correct compartments, unlike many of the other reviews."
Review 16 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
16 January 2014
By: Cyberhag
from Nashville, TN
"Have purchased several of these sets. This is the only way I'll buy hooks from now on. Easy to identify, great selection of sizes, easy to store. Hooks stay organized in separate compartments. Great quality."
Review 17 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
box not refillable,
18 November 2013
By: drjcm
from Corning, NY
"The hooks are great, but what happens when you want to refill individual hook types? I went to the Orvis site, but the hooks are designated (SE3 #10) for example but you can't just go order that hook. You can guess, but there is no way to directly reorder individual hooks to replenish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A practical product,
12 November 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"Good hooks but the really useful part is the storage container - a really useful way to find the hooks I want easily and spot when the ones I use most often are running out.
A touch pricey... but then again, hooks are no matter which reputable company you buy them from."
Review 19 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 May 2013
By: rise2afly
"These are a great way to tranport hooks to the river, club meetings, or shows."
Review 20 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal on great hooks,
14 April 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"Very economical way to purchase very good quality hooks. I already have a hook box but this one will be great for travel when making flies on the go. Thanks Orvis for a great product!"