Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Clearwater Hook Assortments

Clearwater fly tying hook assortments come packaged in a 12-compartment (magnetic bottom with foam dividers) hook pallet. Total of 180 hooks per assortment. If purchased separately would cost more than $40. The most popular sizes and styles of each variety of hook. Example: In the dry selection you would receive sizes 10, 12, 14, 16, 18, 20 in both down-eye and straight-eye styles.
Average Customer Rating:
4.463 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
26
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
38 of 41(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Review 1 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Assortment,
04 August 2014
By: richardjac
from Idaho
"Been tying flies for a couple years now and these a hook assortments are great. You get a good variety of sizes and the quality is comparable to much more expensive brands."
Review 2 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great hook assortment, just a few problems.,
15 July 2014
By: BKalpin
from Altadena,CA
"These hook set are great as far as the varieties offered. They are a good value for a fly tyer who is looking to tie similar patterns in different sizes. There are 2 problems with these assortments. One is that the labels printed on the outside of the box don't relate to anything as far as the hook style number. For instance instead of listing Orvis #1523 size 14 the label reads DF1 #14. If you're going to bother printing on the case why not put the hook style number instead of the meaningless designation of dry fly 1. The other problem I have is that when you get the assortment the case has been taped shut with packing tape. When you peel off the packing tape it takes the inked label off of the case. But if the labels mean nothing I guess my later gripe isn't as big of a deal."
Review 3 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
10 July 2014
By: Mook
from Boston, MA
"This product is great. The price is worth the value of the hooks alone, but the case is almost the best part. If you're like me you sit down to tie and have to look in 10 different places to find hooks, and then try to discern between two different pouches of size 18 hooks to try to figure out which one has the 2x shank. This case takes care of that problem. It's labeled and magnetic, so the hooks stay where you put them. This makes for less time and effort to stay organized,and far fewer discussions with my better half about why she keeps finding tiny fishing hooks with her bare feet..."
Review 4 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent choice,
10 March 2014
By: ColoradoFlyTie
from Keystone, CO
"I like the selection of hooks and the magnetic box in which the hooks come. It's a great way to keep hooks organized."
Review 5 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
as expected,
14 February 2014
By: studio42
from Ridgway, CO
"Most of the hooks were in the correct compartments, unlike many of the other reviews."
Review 6 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love these!,
16 January 2014
By: Cyberhag
from Nashville, TN
"Have purchased several of these sets. This is the only way I'll buy hooks from now on. Easy to identify, great selection of sizes, easy to store. Hooks stay organized in separate compartments. Great quality."
Review 7 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
box not refillable,
18 November 2013
By: drjcm
from Corning, NY
"The hooks are great, but what happens when you want to refill individual hook types? I went to the Orvis site, but the hooks are designated (SE3 #10) for example but you can't just go order that hook. You can guess, but there is no way to directly reorder individual hooks to replenish."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A practical product,
12 November 2013
By: HatchMatcher
from London
"Good hooks but the really useful part is the storage container - a really useful way to find the hooks I want easily and spot when the ones I use most often are running out.
A touch pricey... but then again, hooks are no matter which reputable company you buy them from."
Review 9 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
28 May 2013
By: rise2afly
"These are a great way to tranport hooks to the river, club meetings, or shows."
Review 10 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great deal on great hooks,
14 April 2013
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"Very economical way to purchase very good quality hooks. I already have a hook box but this one will be great for travel when making flies on the go. Thanks Orvis for a great product!"
Review 11 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Box,
21 February 2013
By: Limefish
"Box is magnetic so hooks stay put. Great gift item and box is good quality and will be reused."
Review 12 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Setup,
19 February 2013
By: pweise
from Virginia
"I love the way that the box is made and the magnetic bottom. Just wished that the hook guide that came with it told you what each hook in the pck was close to instead of a general one."
Review 13 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Assortment,
01 February 2013
By: ShoreWalker
from Maryland
"As a novice to fly tying, I needed a hook assortment to facilitate practice on many different fly types and sizes. This is a cost competitive way to do that and the storage box is great asset for re-stocking. The cross-reference lists also facilitate getting the right hooks for each recipe."
Review 14 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
i got hooked!,
29 December 2012
By: appalled
from Akron,ny
"these hooks are very poor quality. I can bend them easily when pulling on my thread. Imagine what a trout would do.Will not buy them again."
Review 15 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great assortment,
28 December 2012
By: karlm
from Deerfield, MA
"I recently got back into fly tying and was looking for a mix of different hooks to try until I know what I'll use most often. The Clearwater assortments were exactly what I was looking for at a very reasonable cost"
Review 16 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Revolutionieses My Fly Bench,
28 December 2012
By: grizzly44
from Pacific Northwest
"I have way too many items on my fly tying bench, especially small containers of fly fishing hooks. Now, with the Orvis Clearwater assortment for dry flies, I can be more efficient and not lose hooks in the tying materials. The box is segregated with foam strips by hook size and the box is magnetized to help me prevent spillage. I enjoy have a variety and choice in sizes for each tying adventure. Thanks, Orvis.!!!"
Review 17 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice assortment,
28 December 2012
By: JohnInColorado
from Lakewood, CO
"I've been buying lots of hooks lately for all my fly tying so I was excited to find this assortment. Looking forward to lots of dry flying tying this winter!"
Review 18 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
clearwater assortments,
05 November 2012
By: vintageflyguy
from Lynn, MA
"I ordered all six assortmants in three separate shipments. All hooks were in the correct bins and the orders arrived timely. The compact magnetic boxes are perfect for travelling to tying claves. If you tie flies, take advantage of these assortmants."
Review 19 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent selection,
17 October 2012
By: RIDRAGFREEDRIFTER
from Warwick, RI
"I recently purchased the Clearwater Hook Assortment - dry fly selection. This was an super buy, as it contains a selection of hooks to meet all needs in the dry fly area of fly tying. I have been out of fly tying for a bit and getting back into it now. This selection of hooks will help and it was VERY COST EFFECTIVE. Thank you ORVIS !!"
Review 20 for Clearwater Hook Assortments
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality as usual!,
30 May 2012
By: Ffforlife
from Northborough, MA
"Another great product that fly tiers will love. Arrived on time and all hooks were in correct bins. I love how small it is. Fits nicely with a travel kit. Hooks seem to be of well known Orvis quality."