Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket

This fleece-lined jacket's two-layer waterproof fabric keeps wind and moisture at bay, while the warm polarfleece lining retains precious body heat. Full-zip front closure; rib-knit cuffs and hem. Raglan sleeves. Two zip-closed handwarmer pockets. Fleece-lined waterproof. Polyester body. Washable. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), XXL(50-52). About 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (58 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
19
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
1
51 of 58(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Review 1 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very nice jacket, except....,
27 August 2013
By: SynergyFan
from Rothschild, WI
"Over the years I've purchased a number of items from Orvis..... They generally have excellent clothing. This time I received the jacket and had to return it, since it was a too small. To date, Orvis, size medium fit me just fine...... not this time. The return process takes an extra week and costs the consumer about $8, and some hassle, through no fault of their own.
It looks to be up to Orvis' quality standards.... I like the way the waterproofing on the inside of the shell looks.
"
Review 2 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Design Flaw,
02 June 2013
By: Maine44
from Randolph, Maine
"I ordered my normal size, a Men's medium. After reading some reviews that the jacket was more like a small I called Orvis service to change it to a large as it had not shipped yet. The Rep. assured me there was plenty of room and that it was designed to accomadate a sweater underneath. When the jacket arrived I put it on and immediately noticed it was very tight under the arms so that when I lift them it was quite constricting. Unfortunately the large in the color I wanted sold during the time I waited for shipping. I wished I didn't let myself get talked into going with the medium. A little disappointed in Orvis on this one."
Review 3 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent field jacket,
03 May 2013
By: dorr
from keystone heights, fl.
"with help from orvis staff I was able to exchange the bonedry jacket for a medium .The style and fit are excellent for field work."
Review 4 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abilio Review,
25 April 2013
By: Abilio
"I have purchased this Jacket, and I can say it was one of my best buys at Orvis.
The jacket is grea, fashion with stlyle and great for Spring and Autumn and some cold and winding days in summer.
Suberb Jacket"
Review 5 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Jacket but....,
23 February 2013
By: TezJK
from Hampshire, UK,
"This is a really great autumn/spring jacket, I like the feel and quality. But for me it is just let down by little attention to details, for a start it does not have a coat hook. I bought a rugby shirt at the same time which did come with a coat hook, but the coat itself did not? Also, the inside pocket is pretty ineffective bordering on redundant, put in a proper zipped inside pocket(s) - please!
Overall then I do like this jacket, but for the top end price I would expect these niggly little things to be ironed out - but they are not.
"
Review 6 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cascade Bone Dry Jacket,
25 January 2013
By: intrepidtraveler
from Rochester, NY
"I bought this jacket for my husband for a forthcoming trip to Patagonia. He is not an easy guy to please and he has already worn it and absolutely loves it!! According to him, it keeps the wind out and keeps him warm. Since right now it is winter in NY, he has not yet worn it in the rain however, since it is GORTEX I trust it'll keep him dry. I have a Gortex jacket and it has kept me dry as a bone. He certainly would recommend this jacket without hesitation."
Review 7 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Inside pocket without zip/button/velcro...,
23 January 2013
By: ezshift5
from west coast
".........closure (but IT IS DEEP)
Size S fits fine (I'm 5'8/160) and it worked well in todays northern CA rain.
The fieldstone color is understated and classy. The embroidered ORVIS logo is subdued.....(curved, small letters).
I wore it today while giving friends a tour of Sun City. I got a lot of positive looks.
4.0 Orvis (Navy for Well Done)
F. F. Fletcher CDR USNR RET"
Review 8 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Nice but not great,
23 January 2013
By: jlsjr
"The jacket is nice and fits well. However, the collar gets in the way too often."
Review 9 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Very disappointed,
10 January 2013
By: Nachos
from Pittsburgh, Pa
"Ordered the jacket online. The order was filled from the Orvis store in San Jose. Normally, a medium is a perfect fit for me. This jacket was more a large small than a medium, so it was too small for me. When I put my hand in the right hand pocket, I found a receipt from the Radio Shack in San Jose. Obviously, someone owned the coat before it was sent to me. Returned the coat to Orvis. Have purchased other clothing items from Orvis and been satisfied. Very disappointed in this transaction. Will be interested to see if I receive a letter of explanation from Orvis. Sent them the Radio Shack receipt with the jacket."
Review 10 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent Mid-Weight Jacket,
09 January 2013
By: PeaksnValleys
from Annapolis, MD
"I followed the advice of previous reviewers and ordered a Large vs. my normal Orvis Medium. The fit is roomy enough to enable me to wear additional layers underneath but not too large to look oversized. I wore it for a dog walk on a windy 48 degree day and was quite comfortable. I've also worn it under my Barbour Gamefair jacket and was very comfortable despite wind and sleet. Highly recommended."
Review 11 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent value,
01 January 2013
By: reggit
from Rancho Palos verdes, CA
"This jacket , the first purchase from Oevis, has exceeded expectations. It is warmer than might have been expected, yet very comfortable; wearing it regularly. Purchase price reflects excellent value when compared to others I have had. Also washes beautifully."
Review 12 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
as expected,
28 December 2012
By: abehonest
from ny ny
"Feel and designed were better than expected. Material grade was excellent and water proof material held up very well. Quite comfortable to wear."
Review 13 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy jacket,
28 December 2012
By: Bussy
"Well made - warm - slimming. Great shade of green. Casual but a little dressy too."
Review 14 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, but light,
26 December 2012
By: Quita
from Coronado, CA
"This jacket came just in time before the rain. The size is very true to size."
Review 15 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
21 December 2012
By: HMCS
"I love this jacket. It is really warm and lightweight. It repels water well and is windproof. It is snowing here in Tennessee with wind gusts 30 mph and 30 degrees. I did not feel cold at all."
Review 16 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Great Gift,
04 December 2012
By: Alloe
from Roanoke, VA
"My wife bought this jacket as my birthday present. She always proves to be a smart buyer. I am very satisfied with the jacket. It is well make and has no imperfections. It is of top grade material and workmanship. I would recommend it it to anyone including my friends. Al"
Review 17 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
David O'Connell,
04 December 2012
By: OldSport
"Good Quality Jacket. Sizing of the jacket is not consistent with other Orvis products. Most Orvis products are sized large. I normally take a medium which is quite roomy, but that is a good feature in a cold weather jacket. In this jacket, the medium fit is quite snug. Jacket could also use a coat hook loop."
Review 18 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ran a little small,
03 December 2012
By: 11235811
from Dallas, TX
"I am usually a medium fit for Orvis sweaters, shirts and polos but in this jacket I had to send it back and get a large. It is a little big but the medium was a little small. Just an FYI for future customers. It is a warm and allegedly water proof fleece/shell. I think it hits the target for wet Texas winters which I hope we get this year!"
Review 19 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Customer Service,
27 November 2012
By: MsAudrey
from Cheektowaga, NY
"The store was out of the size I needed for a gift but I picked up their store phone and placed the order. They even honored the coupon I had. Shipping was free. The item looks like quality and I'm sure my husband will like it very much."
Review 20 for Cascade Bone-Dry Jacket
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent !,
23 November 2012
By: Biffo
from Somerset
"A practical, comfortable and warm jacket without it being too heavy.
Nice not to have it as a fleece, but instead with a good outer waterproof layer.
Good fitting and true to medium size.
Really pleased with this purchase.
"