Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.574 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (657 reviews)
5 stars
483
4 stars
106
3 stars
40
2 stars
18
1 star
10
607 of 657(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fall and winter coat,
31 August 2015
By: Zhunter63
from Eau Claire, wisconsin
"Should be a great coat for braving the Wisconsin winters.. fits great and looks good..."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Misleading,
28 August 2015
By: returntosenda
from Santa Monica, CA
"The photos of this item aren't accurate. While the build is nice, the "Olive" color option portrayed online is completely inaccurate. It's more of a dark brown. The fit is boxy and the material is stiff. It wore like a big parka. It appears more tailored in photos. I returned it, and due to the shipping costs (receiving/returning), I won't try for another. If you can go to an Orvis location and shop in person, I recommend you do so."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Traditional quality and style,
14 August 2015
By: Will3333
from Columbus, Ohio
"Nicely fitted with traditional field jacket features and styling. Perfect olive color and heavy weight quality fabric."
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Field Coat,
12 August 2015
By: Jimbo3448
from Spring Hill, TN
"Just received this coat and it fits perfectly. 5' 9" and 185 lbs. Still too warm yet to wear but look forward to the cooler weather coming up."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
field coat,
10 August 2015
By: cep2015
"Looks great and fields great ,I'll be wearing this in the U.K. in about 2 weeks up north in Scotland"
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
excellent all around,
10 August 2015
By: jimjer
from Sioux Falls, SD
"Very nice coat. Good for both hunting and daily wear purposes in cooler weather. Well constructed."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He won't stop raving!!,
31 July 2015
By: Wombatpup86
from Miami, Florida
"My 48-year-old son hasn't stoppped raving about the Heritage Field Coat
I gave him this month. His only regret is that it's a Fall item and New York is too hot at the moment for this sort of coat. If he tells me once more how luxurious the red lining is I think I'll scream.
"
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He won't stop raving!!,
31 July 2015
By: Wombatpup86
from Miami, Florida
"My 48-year-old son won't stop raving about the Heritage Field coat I gave him this month. His only regret is that it is a Fall item and it is too hot in New York at the moment to wear it. If he tells me once more how luxurious the red lining is I think I'll scream!"
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Notch Coat,
31 July 2015
By: bluboy69
from Essex,MA
"I usually feel confident when buying from Orvis and was not disappointed with this purchase. A Heavy weight jacket I would say, warm enough for everything but the coldest day. I am 5ft 9in 195 lbs and it fit perfectly. I will have this for many years."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NOT SURE,
31 July 2015
By: Pagosagirl
from Pagosa Springs, CO.
"GOOD STYLE, BODY FIT GOOD. SLEEVES ABOUT 2" TOO LONG. FOR ME THIS IS A NORMAL PROBLEM WITH ORVIS SHIRTS, ETC.
HAVE NOT WORN IT YET, OTHER THAN TO TRY IT ON, SO THE REST IS TO BE DETERMINED."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poor Fit,
30 July 2015
By: Pantiles
from Worcestershire
"Very poor fit sleeves ridiculously too long at least 4" too long, body poor fit"
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Color Not Even Close to Picture,
29 July 2015
By: Sandro
"I ordered and will be returning the "Dark Khaki" version of this jacket because the color appeared grey in the picture--a color you don't see at all in field coats. When the jacket arrived it was a dull, dark brown.
I have a tan version of this jacket which I love despite it looking like every other tan field coat in America. Orvis should get imaginative and produce a light grey version. They already have the picture."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Waiting for hunting season,
05 July 2015
By: Tappari
from Helsinki, Finland
"The coat seems very good even it's quite warm to really test it - so far so good"
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Annoying trifles,
26 April 2015
By: RossshireBuff
from Scottish Highlands
"This jacket can be used for both rifle & gun shooting; & isn't too hot & heavy (but can be used with the layer concept in colder weather).
However, a number of other reviewers have had the same problem I experienced - viz., two buttons came away after less than two months light wear. This is disappointing in what is otherwise such an admirable coat.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brilliant Product,
21 April 2015
By: DavidTN
from Gippsland Australia
"I ordered this jacket and it arrived in perfect condition in Australia within a week. It is very hard to find this sort of quality in Australia without paying huge sums of money and impossible to find service this good. I am 6'1 and 100kg - the Large fits perfectly. I suspect this jacket will last a lifetime and it certainly won't be the last item of Orvis clothing I buy. Congratulations on your levels of quality and service"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did not meet my expectations...,
20 April 2015
By: Walkerguy
from Georgia, USA
"Barely acceptable for cold, wet, windy weather. Very sturdy and solid coat, but the bottom button came off. The coat's a bit difficult to "get into", with all the buttons and zipper, once it's on, you're in for the duration if you are wearing gloves. The collar flaps around and offers little or no protection, so to protect my neck I bring along a scarf. Hope I can talk my wife into letting me buy something better next fall!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Quality,
17 April 2015
By: VanIsle3549
from Sidney, British Columbia
"I received this jacket about 2 weeks ago--just as we are having a long spell of warm weather. May have to wait until the fall and winter to really put this coat through it's paces.
One thing I can do is comment on sizing. Reading other reviews, finding the right size crops up quite a bit. Overall, I find Orvis clothing tends to fit on the large size.
I am 5'9" and am fit, I have a 44" chest and a 36 waist. My sleeve size is 34- 34 1/2"
Size Large has fit me perfectly in the shirts and coats I have purchased from Orvis. I usually wear an XL on most clothing bought in local stores. Hope that helps a little.
I'll check back in October and November when our damp and breezy west coast weather sets in
"
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
16 April 2015
By: BBAR2002
from Kentucky
"This is a well built, stylish and comfortable coat. As others have mentioned - the only downside is how poorly the buttons are sewn on. Other than that, I love it."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
06 April 2015
By: Cattrax
from Virginia
"Very pleased with coat. Repels rain and snow without the thick oily feel. Several people have complimented it as compared to the "other"brand."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Anglo-American Hybrid,
31 March 2015
By: Geodesy
from Hudson Valley, NY
"Imagine a cross between the sturdy simplicity of the American Carhartt work jacket and the style and features of the British Barbour Field and shooting jackets. Excellent materials that feel like you've worn the jacket for years. Water and wind resistant and cut with room for a heavy sweater for colder fall days. A Comfortable corduroy collar and trim. Generous outside pockets and separate and softly lined hand warmers. A zipped large interior pocket and a smaller pocket perfect for cell phones.
The perfect three season jacket with enough style for the club and rugged and utilitarian for fishing and bird hunting. The perfect balance of style and utility. Good looking and comfortable and suitable for most occasions. My favorite non-technical jacket.
"