Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 32½" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.588 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (606 reviews)
5 stars
448
4 stars
99
3 stars
34
2 stars
17
1 star
8
562 of 606(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket!,
22 January 2015
By: Lnelson2011
from Houston, TX
"I bought this jacket for my husband and he absolutely loves it! It's well made, quality materials and the design is super "hunter-friendly".
Orvis quality just cannot be beat. We have enjoyed every Orvis product we have ever purchased.
Their customer service is outstanding as well."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great coat,
22 January 2015
By: Connor1
from Charlottesville, VA
"Terrific purchase. Runs a bit long but fits great around the shoulders and the sleeves are the perfect length. This coat is more than adequate for mild Virginia winters. Only drawback is that the buttons are poorly sewn, I've lost 3 on the front and one on the cuff already..."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Coat He Was Hoping For!,
20 January 2015
By: emvirginia
from Waynesboro VA
"My husband has had an Orvis coat for about 12 years, wearing it everywhere. It was perfect, with all the various pockets and the comfort and the style. When that coat finally reached its end, we hoped to find one similar, and we did! The coat I bought for him from Orvis not only has the comfort and pockets but has an even better style! He looks so handsome in it and is able to carry everything he needs and stay warm, too! This is the coat he was hoping for!"
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent style with functionality,
19 January 2015
By: CanadianCustomer1
from British Columbia, Canada
"Timeless design is mixed with high-quality construction and materials."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable & Stylish,
18 January 2015
By: BigRed11
from Bay Area, CA
"This is a very nice jacket. It is exceptionally comfortable. I especially like the courderoy cuffs and collar, nice accents. The pockets are great as well. My only complaint and it is significant, is that the coat is NOT very warm. Oddly enough, it feels substantial, it is just not very warm, not even for moderate California winters."
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Solid field coat,
14 January 2015
By: RWar
from St Louis, MO
"Nice weight and well constructed
Blocks wind very well
"
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Jacket,
14 January 2015
By: GavJ
"Searched Internet for a suitable jacket before deciding on this one and not disappointed.Fully waterproof and with numerous practical features this jacket can not be faulted. The contrasting coloured liner finishes off a quality item. The dry wax finish Of the outside is superior to the wet look of that other well known jacket maker and in my opinion the jacket is of better quality all round. The fit is true to size as stated on the Web site. The jacket is comfortable straight away and does not need 'breaking in' the look and fit will improve with use. A 5 star item."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love the coat,
09 January 2015
By: Bareft
"Love the coat but wish it had a zip out liner.I do recommend the coat."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
09 January 2015
By: james12
"The material this coat is made of is second to none. Very warm but not so warm you can't wear it year round. I highly recommend this coat."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
07 January 2015
By: davidjon
from West Lafayette, IN
"I have wanted this field coat ever since Orvis introduced it into their line. Like others who have written reviews about this coat, I have worn a number of waxed jackets, including Barbour's, for many years. This is a very nice coat that compares very favorably with Barbour's, although it's a different animal. Perhaps a bit boxier. Certainly heavier. It does fit large. I am 5'9" and 160 lbs, and went with the large for I like to layer and the roomier fit. I turn the sleeves up which is a nice look. I agree with one reviewer who commented the jacket doesn't look as pictured. The jacket is more finished than shown....almost too nice for a field coat, if that's possible. However, I like it very much and look forward to many years of wear. Orvis customer service on this purchase from the Carmel, IN store was absolutely first rate. You will not be disappointed in this coat."
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Second jacket,
06 January 2015
By: Tortolabob
from Virginia Eastern Shore
"I liked my first coat so much I bought a second. Improvements such as hanging loop, one snap pocket each side and lined hand warmer pockets make this a great coat for shooting sporting clays here in Virginia. Did note however , that the new version runs smaller than my original so I had to return the large and order an xl in this version. Otherwise a great jacket."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very Good Purchase,
06 January 2015
By: Tomhenry
from South Carolina
"This coat looks like the picture , fits well and is very well made. I received the coat in less than a week after ordering. I am very Happy with the purchase and have gotten several favorable comments from folks about the style of the coat."
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
old style,
06 January 2015
By: rudedogyates
from decherd, tn
"i have looked for this coat everywhere, it is the old style with the red fennel lining, i am not a fat man,but i have long arms. it is a great fit."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful Jacket,
06 January 2015
By: GreatJacket
"This jacket is the perfect weight for winter wear."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Handsome Looking Coat,
05 January 2015
By: GTNix
from Charlotte, NC
"I purchased this coat in tan for my college age son. He loves it and it looks great on. Runs a little large so I had to exchange the large I bought for a medium. It's warm but I do wish it had a zipper inside to add a quilted vest for added warmth. Without an added inside layer it's still perfect for mild North Carolina winters. Overall it has been a great purchase."
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Coat,
05 January 2015
By: WWM2
"The coat is everything that I expected. Comfortable and warm.
I tried one on in the store and then ordered a different color on-line and it was delivered on time as promised.
"
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Debated and Debated and the answer was, Yes!,
04 January 2015
By: KGK1025
"For weeks before Christmas as I kept looking at the Orvis Heritage Field Coat and wondering, "would my 22 year old son appreciate this coat as a Christmas gift?". I decided to go ahead & order the coat & let him give me the answer on Christmas morning. Well, I am so glad that I ordered the coat -- because the answer was, YES!! He loved the coat and was surprised by my good choice of a gift. However, the coat does fit a bit large, as he won't be layering with, so we reordered smaller size. But I am so glad that after waiting & debating I took the plunge & ordered this great coat. It is fine quality, great length and weight, very good looking, and should last for years to come. It is a WINNER! Thank you, Orvis, for a great coat & your customer service as well!!"
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well Received,
04 January 2015
By: jdpvmp
from Hailey, ID
"Given as a gift, and very well received by the recipient, my son-in-law."
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves it!,
03 January 2015
By: Swb61
from Savannah, Ga
"Saw jacket in store while recently in NYC. Husband looked at it but didn't buy it. While getting ready to leave for airport, he mentioned how he wished he had bought it. As soon as we arrived home, I went to the website and ordered it with guaranteed Christmas delivery. He was very pleasantly surprised on Christmas morning!"
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Heritage Field Coat,
02 January 2015
By: Tammzie
from South Carolina
"We ordered this jacket for our son for Christmas in Olive. He loves it. When placing the order everyone was very nice and helpful. We received the jacket within 2 days. Very fast shipping. We were impressed with the great service. We will be ordering from here in the future. Thanks again."