Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Orvis Heritage Field Coat

Its forebears hang in a thousand closets and have seen lifetimes in the field. We've brought this classic field coat back with subtle updates to become the favorite of yet another generation. Our dry-waxed cotton canvas turns away briars and repels rain. Traditional red brushed-twill lining. Lower bellows pockets with snap-closure pocket flaps. Two upper slash handwarmer pockets. Gusseted underarm panels with grommets for ventilation. Shooting patches on both shoulders and reinforced elbow patches. Adjustable button cuffs with corduroy trim. Corduroy collar. Rear-entry waterproof game bag with two side zips and interior lining. Bi-swing back for comfort. Full zip front with button-closed wind flap. Two interior pockets. Pure cotton. Damp sponge. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). About 31" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.55 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (398 reviews)
5 stars
287
4 stars
66
3 stars
28
2 stars
11
1 star
6
366 of 398(92%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Review 1 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Like it out of the box,
13 August 2014
By: Bart625
from Cincinnati Ohio
"Although I won't use the game pouch in back, I think it is a weight that will be right for two seasons. I like the look and feel of the jacket. Should shed rain well."
Review 2 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
13 August 2014
By: EricVA
from Virginia
"Exceptional quality, speedy shipping, fair sale price - Great coat! Not sure why the color is called "olive" though, as it appears to be more of a dark brown color rather than green in color."
Review 3 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
12 August 2014
By: tallgirltoo
from Milwaukee, WI
"This jacket is awesome! I ordered it for my husband and it fit perfectly! Great quality too. He loves to see Orvis bags at the door. He knows it's for him!"
Review 4 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Outstanding Product!,
12 August 2014
By: Mint427
from Seattle, WA
"I have searched for the "perfect" coat for Northwest and discovered this gem offered by Orvis. The jacket has plenty of pockets, solid zippers and is lined for warmth. I have used it outside during rainy weather around Seattle and stayed dry & warm. It comes a bit large - I usually wear XL and it was a perfect fit. This is an outstanding company with solid products."
Review 5 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reliable Durable,
11 August 2014
By: Viggy
from East Side of Detroit
"The way to describe the Heritage Field coat...reliable, durable, classic. This jacket will hold up, and look good for years!"
Review 6 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great quality..,
11 August 2014
By: mick52
from Alberta , Canada
"Near perfect fit, very well made, pockets for everything, comfortable to wear , allows great shoulder movement, warm and cozy.... I will value this coat for a long time.."
Review 7 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very High Quality,
06 August 2014
By: sneaksquatch
"Although slightly longer than expected, extremely high quality and durable. If you're looking for something to last a couple lifetimes out in the field, look no further."
Review 8 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Coats,
05 August 2014
By: TCColumbus
from Columbus, NJ
"I liked the coat so much that I purchased both colors. Great fit. Nicely tailored. Material is substantial but not bulky. Overall, much nicer than a similar competitor's coat, but also more money. Definitely worth the extra cash. Coat has looks, quality, and utility, a great combination."
Review 9 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch,
05 August 2014
By: JWrubell
from Toronto, ON
"It's a great coat, well made. There's no funny business with this coat, just well thought out design and useful features. The front pockets are very spacious, and the hand warmer pockets above are really soft and handy. Even though I don't hunt I can see the built in game pouch being very useful as I bike around town running errands. The stitching is solid and the build is sturdy without being rough and uncomfortable. The cut is a little roomy so I'm glad I selected a Medium rather than a Large. I'm 6'1", 190 lbs and the fit of the medium is perfect. I can already tell that this coat is going get a lot of use and can be dressed up or down to handle a wide range of weather and temperature. I'm looking forward putting this coat through it's paces for a long time to come."
Review 10 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond most coats,
15 July 2014
By: CTYankee53
from Southwestern CT.
"I've owned a number of barn coats, which this reminds me of, and this is the best all around coat I've worn. The water repellent shell puts it on my short list of best every day I have. Even nicer than my 2 Filsons because of the lighter weight and ease of motion.
I've actually thought of buying a second one and putting it away for future use when my first wears out.
"
Review 11 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Jacket,
02 May 2014
By: Lencok
from Dallas, TX
"The new jacket is everything I expected it to be, and, as always, the service from Orvis was great. Have never been disappointed."
Review 12 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
All around fantastic,
01 May 2014
By: ThatCDNGuy
from Champaign, IL
"Had this coat for a little over a week - I love it. Looks good, fits well (roomy, but that's how it's supposed to fit), repels water, blocks wind, more pockets than I know what to do with! I would highly recommend this coat to anyone - urban or rural - who wants a perfect mix of functionality and aesthetics."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
my new favorite jacket,
29 April 2014
By: Artie
from Boston, Ma
"great pockets and very comfortable with a heavy sweater, it's waterproof and looks good. glad I bought it."
Review 14 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fits like a glove,
23 April 2014
By: Laurent
from Quebec, Canada
"First time trial of an Orvis product. Fits like a glove. Very confortable. I am impressed."
Review 15 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Coat in my Closet,
04 April 2014
By: Flyfishmatt
from New Hampshire
"Bought this coat and it has become my favorite. I have two Barbor coats but this is my hands down favorite. If it was a hair longer I would wear it over a sport coat. The weight is great and the quality is very good. I will likely wear it until it is thread born and my wife won't be seen with me. Good in town ,in the field or just a long walk. Much better than any other barn/field coat I have tried (bought)!"
Review 16 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great coat, with one reservation,
23 March 2014
By: Dwplain
from Edinburgh
"This is a great casual coat, with excellent protection from the elements. Very comfortable cut and well made. One slight issue I have had is after only 3 months I have lost one cuff button, with another one working loose and have lost the large spare button from inside. Coat is worn every day, but really just light use - dog walking. This is not in keeping with the general high quality of the coat."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
21 March 2014
By: cfmccurdy
"I love this jacket. It's good for a day hunting in the field or nice enough to wear for a night out on the town."
Review 18 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Heritage Field Coat,
12 March 2014
By: sawrights
from Chicago
"Well made heavy duty coat that should last a long time. I've only had for a month so I don't know how it performs when wet. Sturdy hardware, stitching, and warm enough for most all weather. I plan on buying another when (if) this one wears out."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent snow & rain coat,
07 March 2014
By: gene35
from Evergreen, CO
"Use the coat walking my huskies in snow and rain three to four times a day. Very flexible and effective in light to severe weather."
Review 20 for Orvis Heritage Field Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Choice,
06 March 2014
By: TexasPanh
from Amarillo, Tx
"Just received the coat. 2XL fit me perfect as I am 52R. Blocks the wind and looks great. Perfect for 10 degrees to 40 degrees."