Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat

Closely modeled on the classic US Navy deck coat that has been standard issue for decades, this jacket is sewn from a special 10.2-oz. corded-cotton fabric that we've heavily washed for an unmistakably vintage look and feel. Fully lined with a special blend of wool and alpaca—one of the warmest natural fibers in existence—this jacket is guaranteed to become your go-to layer in inclement weather. Zip-front closure with button-through storm flap. Button-through throat latch. Hidden rib-knit cuffs. In olive. Pure cotton body; wool/alpaca/nylon lining. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52); about 28" long in size large.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (32 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
26 of 32(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Review 1 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Almost Five Star,
28 May 2014
By: Jimpy
from Massachusetts
"Got this jacket for a Christmas present (after many not-so-subtle hints). I am 5'9" and 190 lbs. Generally I take a medium, sometimes a large. Got this coat in a medium. I agree with other reviewers that the cut is a bit boxy. The trim on the medium is perfect for me, but the fit is a bit snug. Since it is a winter jacket, snug is warmer than loose. The medium was a bit tight to fit a medium weight sweater, but it is a warm jacket. In New England's "Arctic Winter" this year, this was a very warm coat and mostly windproof. I am very pleased with this jacket and would recommend it. No interior pocket or drawstring keeps it from being five stars (not always important, but, like a parachute, when you need one, you REALLY need one!)"
Review 2 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Navy memories,
29 April 2014
By: Backdraft535
from Royal Oak, Mi.
"The jacket is an exact replica of my Navy deck coat of 52 years ago. How cool is that!"
Review 3 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice Coat,
08 March 2014
By: sfgeo1112
from San Francisco, CA
"Purchased the Navy N-1 Coat and I'm very pleased with it. Like all standard navy-issued clothing, it's well made of high quality material, roomy and comfortable. If you wanted a custom fit, you could always have it tailored at a naval base tailor shop when in port. This is an authentic Navy look and fit."
Review 4 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
worst orvis purchase ever,
26 February 2014
By: dissatisfiednj
from san francisco , ca
"was over priced. based on beauty shot in catalogue and $395(?) price i expected much more. the heavy twill fabric seemed cheap ( but sturdy) i wondered how it would look after it got a little dirty or wet. there were no inside pockets. none. outside pockets were crudely lined, the lining seemed like recycled blanket ( again cheap looking. boxy and ill fitting shape. just not worth $395"
Review 5 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
n1 Naval Deck coat,
26 February 2014
By: veverett
from Suffolk
"Very good quality coat.
The cut is a bit off because it doesn't have a drawstring at the bottom which the original jacket has. This spoils it sadly. The zip is not quite as robust as I was expecting.
I am happy with it but not 100% for the reasons given."
Review 6 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas Present,
28 November 2013
By: Jane626
from Northeast Michigan
"Purchased jacket for my husband for a Christmas present. After researching similar jackets selected this one. He already is wearing it. Fit is true to size. Material is great for cool winter days in northern MI."
Review 7 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Comfortable jacket,
06 October 2013
By: allneatstuff
from Cherry Valley, NY
"I love the look and feel of this jacket. It is a great fall and spring go to coat and it is cut so you can wear a sweater to add more warmth. My only criticism is the button were all loosely sewn and two fesll off after just a few wearings Orvis please check this before shipping this is not up to your quality level."
Review 8 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just what i wanted,
11 April 2013
By: rmongo
from Detroit Mi
"Number one-It fit- Im 270llb and 6' tall - the XXL fit great- warmer then it looks- Love the style- Just needs camp dry too help with rain- Nice Jacket"
Review 9 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Very Best Ever,
29 March 2013
By: RandyP
from Tyler TX
"Not only is this a tribute to WWII Navy Coats it is a real , well made, eye catching, warm coat, I had to order 2 to get the size right, but XL works well here when I ware a L on most Orvis products, so putting twice the money up front did the job & the coat is everything Orvis says it is. A True Orvis Product ! I have had size trouble with all 3 WWII coats & had to send the N-1 deck jacket back. But this one is the best yet on ALL fronts !"
Review 10 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Do not ware in a wind,
02 March 2013
By: Edward101
"Wind goes right through this coat. looks good and it's heavy, but not the warmest. It's not worth the money."
Review 11 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
01 March 2013
By: LonesomeGeorge1
from Lafayette, Louisiana
"The coat is sold to be an outdoor garment, and its configuration may be as the coat it was copied from. However, for me, the body of the coat reached my belt-line and exposed my backside when bending over. Increasing the length to sports coat length would make it much better and closer to its intended use as an outdoor garment."
Review 12 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful jacket with one problem.,
26 February 2013
By: Mxyzptik
from Alberta, Canada
"I thought a great deal before buying this coat and read all the reviews, which I find helpful.
When it came I immediately was very pleased. The quality of the material is exceptional. The colour is as shown, the thickness and warmth of the lining is exactly what I was looking for. It should make for the perfect 3 season jacket.
However one of the previous reviewers mentioned the very poor cut resulting in a less than satisfactory drape to it and I certainly agree. For a coat of such high quality and for the price ( it's not inexpensive ) there should be much more attention to the tailoring.
As my wife is a very talented seamstress I had her alter it instead of returning it . She simply got two buttons and some nylon strap the right colour and created a small cinch on each side at the waistband that look like they were there all along. This provides a little shape that should have been there.
So while I enjoy the coat a great deal there is really excuse for such poor tailoring on such an expensive coat"
Review 13 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome Jacket!,
24 February 2013
By: BeerFerry
from Halifax, Nova Scotia
"I waited several months before deciding to order this jacket, because with International Shipping charges, it became very expensive. Once it arrived, I couldn't have been happier. It was exactly what I expected from Orvis. Love the style, the fit and the compliments I receive from everyone. I was concerned about how the size might work for me, but at 5" 11" and 210 lbs, the Large was perfect."
Review 14 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
navy deck coat,
29 January 2013
By: swab
from Saratoga Springs, NY
"I purchased this jacket thinking it was a duplicate of one I wore in the Navy. I discovered, as a former petty officer, I had never worn this coat. I was an officers deck coat. I had worn one that looked just like it but it was a foul weather jacket. I found a replica of that coat on line and determined it was alpaca fur lined. A great coat. This Orvis reproduction of an officer's deck coat is a handsome well made coat but not what I was looking for. I might have kept it anyway but the price seemed too high for that jacket."
Review 15 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Nice!,
28 January 2013
By: JSinWA
from WA
"Very nice jacket, fits and feels great, worth the long wait. It's not quite perfect though: the wool/alpaca lining is just almost pinkish in color. Definitely not green/brown as shown in the catalog photo. I almost returned it for that but decided I could deal with it. The stitching is a little too green, compared to the material of the jacket. I wish they would have used matching olive-green thread. And the twill tape around the neck closure tab is even brighter green, and just doesn't look right. But it doesn't really show when it's buttoned to the side. Small things that were a little disappointing, given the price and the aim for authenticity. But overall, it is a great-looking and comfortable jacket that will get a lot of use and looks like it will last a long time."
Review 16 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just Like The Old One,
28 January 2013
By: AGSD
"This is indeed as advertised: a "go-to" jacket in harsh New England weather. I wore an orginal N1 for years; lost it and now it appears I have it back. Thank you Orvis for reintroducing this product. I feel 50 years younger and a good deal warmer."
Review 17 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality jacket,
28 January 2013
By: vietnam
from landing n.j.
"waited 6 months for this jacket. well worth the wait. great foul weather jacket. nice looking, great fit as with all orvis products"
Review 18 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Naval Deck Coat,
28 January 2013
By: seadog68
from Solebury, Pa
"I like the coat very much. Fit is good, quality is good, just wish it had an inside pocket. I plan to wear this coat out!"
Review 19 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
25 January 2013
By: JWII
"The item sounded and looked awesome in the catalogue and proved to be true in person. The only thing I didn't like was the fact the item was not really available at the time I ordered it. By the time I actually got the thing half the season was over. That ain't right..."
Review 20 for Vintage N-1 Naval Deck Coat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It makes the grade,
27 November 2012
By: peteali
from Long Island, NY
"A real "Go To" item. Very comfortable. I live on L.I. where it can get damp, cold and rainy (like today!) It meets the weather very well. Only "rap" is that the wool-alpaca lining and collar is beginning to pill. I expected more from a $400 item. I've had it a year and I would recommend it."