Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover

Layer up for warmth. This substantial boiled-wool pullover sweater is capable of pulling double duty, serving as a toasty midlayer, or as a light outer layer on cool days when an insulated jacket is too much. Solid-brass snaps. Soft cowbelly-leather trim at placket and elbow patches. Rib-knit hem and cuffs. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.605 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (81 reviews)
5 stars
63
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
75 of 81(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Review 1 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
On the money,
15 January 2015
By: Stinger3
"5 stars is rare for my evaluation because it would imply perfection. Yet, this garment will not abide a four. Quality leather, great dyes and superb wool makes this accurate fit a five or nothing.
Bravo!
"
Review 2 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater!,
06 January 2015
By: Ronna
from SC
"Classic and handsome! My son was thrilled with this sweater."
Review 3 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A really cosy sweater,
03 January 2015
By: Woodstock12
"Well made, really cosy sweatwr
Easy to wear , combining style with comfort. Would highly recommend it.
"
Review 4 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Not Too Shabby,
30 December 2014
By: ProfessorFlyFish
from Kentucky
"Overall, I really like this comfy, medium weight sweater. It is warm and very soft (not scratchy at all), and the size Medium is a roomy enough fit for me in the shoulders and arms (5'10", 170 lbs, 33" waist, 34" sleeve). The green color truly is a creamy pea green, quite a bit lighter than the web site photo. The material looks and feels like a very soft felted wool. It does pill a bit, even with light wear, but not too badly. And I would not wash this garment at home. It appears to be dry clean only. Finally, I did discover two stitching flaws within the first 2 weeks of ownership, both about 1 inch long. One was on an elbow patch, and the other in the armpit area. Both were due to poor quality control by whoever assembled the item. I repaired both myself, but am rather disappointed to encounter such issues with a rather expensive Orvis item."
Review 5 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
29 December 2014
By: Scoutdad51
from Wyoming
"The color and quality are very nice AND it is very warm without being bulky."
Review 6 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
quality material,
28 December 2014
By: ntjmom
"My son was very pleased with the wool sweater I purchased from orvis. It is a high quality item, very warm and perfect for everyday wear here in NY where temperature can sink into the teens throughout the winter."
Review 7 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wind Resistant and Comfortable,
27 December 2014
By: chilt
from NE PA
"A flannel shirt,this sweater and a vest were warm enough for an early morning dog walk in 30 degrees with a 10-15 mph wind. The color leans toward a yellow green. Fit is Orvis typical .in that a medium may be another companies large. Sleeves are not longer in proportion be advised
Reviewer comments about thinness indicate a lack of familiarity with boiled wool which by nature is thin due to the process which tightens the weave and reduces the bulk. The very properties which contribute to water and wind resistance. Many older ski sweaters were boiled wool and worn as an outer layer alone frequently.
To the comment it looks too much like fleece, well maybe a high end fleece but after years of wearing fleece for cold weather sports and activity, I switched back to wool. Jus an FYI."
Review 8 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lovely sweater,
25 December 2014
By: Vallgrl2
from Nebraska
"Bought this in a navy in an XL for my husband for his recent birthday. He likes the button style of this sweater and how it looks over his checked shirts. High quality of wool that will keep him warm through frigid winters."
Review 9 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bazzin' jumper,
25 December 2014
By: Jacklumber
from Manchester, UK, football paradise.
"I was a little concerned that it wouldn't fit, seeing as I'd lost 2 stone from 15.5 to 13.5, 5ft 10ins. Before, I was size "L", but now, who knew? I dillied and dallied, lost my way and din't know where to roam... but I ordered a blue medium, and it's actually just right. It's nice and warm over a t-shirt, under a coat and scarf, at about 8 degrees C. As it gets colder, I'll layer more below, like a proper shirt or a thermal vest. It looks really good, with a variety of standing/stationary positions available for the collar depending on how many studs are closed. It was expensive for a jumper, but It's nice and warm and light and will hopefully be in use for many years. I might even take it to Peru on holiday later this year. It gets cold near an alpaca's bottom."
Review 10 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic warmth,
19 December 2014
By: TheresaAnn
"This pullover is not only warm but has a very classy rugged look. It goes great with jeans, khaki pants or outdoor wear. I would recommend this to anyone!"
Review 11 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beautiful Jumper,
17 December 2014
By: Anrol
from chorley
"I bought this jumper for my Husbands Birthday and I must say it is fabulous quality and he is so pleased with it. We love the leather at the elbows and the neck line. Great buy. We could definitely recommend. Thanks"
Review 12 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great sweater!,
17 December 2014
By: hillary17
"This was a gift for my husband, and it is the perfect sweater for the winter. Highly recommend it!"
Review 13 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Fit, Warm, and Attractive,
17 December 2014
By: AmberWDE
from Auburn, AL
"I bought this for my boyfriend who is tall and thin (he usually has trouble with sizing) and the XL for perfectly. The leather accents make the pullover suitable for a casual night out or over a dress shirt at the office. We're very happy with the product overall! Bought the navy and am thinking about getting the green for my brother."
Review 14 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & Cozy,
16 December 2014
By: DavidMaine
from Maine
"A great addition for a cooler weather sweater. The leather trim is a nice touch."
Review 15 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome sweater,
13 December 2014
By: Bulldog1
from Upstate New York
"This is a light sweater that is meant to be layered. The sweater looks as great in person as it does on the website picture. The leather and snap buttons give this sweater a special and distinctive style similar to the Orvis Malpai shirts. The leather trim is butter soft and I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 16 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
10 December 2014
By: danielsflygirl10
from Wyoming
"I am giving this pullover to my husband for chirstmas and think he is going to love it! The pullover is high quality and very appealing to the eyes, I love the elbow pads. Think this would be a good investment to make for yourself or a loved one."
Review 17 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Color is not as depicted,
07 December 2014
By: Gnotte
"Color appears olive on line and is actually pea green"
Review 18 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
06 December 2014
By: bri92
from Milwaukee, WI
"Matched the description on the website. Durable and warm. Great for walking to class."
Review 19 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a gift the husband wants to wear!,
06 December 2014
By: Caitthegreat
from Burlington, VT
"Perfect pullover for the cold New England winters, it's stylish and functional. The XL fits my 6 foot plus wide shouldered husband like it was a custom made sweater. It's his go to for the mornings and finally I pickec a gift he doesn't mind wearing!"
Review 20 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanted for so long! Finally got it!,
01 December 2014
By: Cheesehead22
from Waukesha, WI
"Although this is intended to be a Men's sweater my mom got this for me as a gift because I've wanted it for a long time. I am a 20 year old, 5'5" female college student with a slim athletic build, and I got a medium. It definitely is baggy for me but the arm length is perfect and it is so warm! It is perfect for anything from sitting in a cold lecture hall to layering under a shell jacket for some early winter backpacking out on the ice age trail. But can also be used to look a little nicer for family dinners or a coffee date.
The extra room in the sweater doesn't bother me because I don't like my sweaters to be tight anyway, it's also nice to layer under on cold mornings.
The boiled wool is of very nice quality and it is felted which gives it a little bit more wind protection. This sweater goes perfect with leggings and boots or jeans. I cannot say enough good things about this sweater! The price is worth the quality you get with this sweater.
I would say that a small size should be available for both men and woman of smaller stature.
"