Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover

Layer up for warmth. This substantial boiled-wool pullover sweater is capable of pulling double duty, serving as a toasty midlayer, or as a light outer layer on cool days when an insulated jacket is too much. Solid-brass snaps. Soft cowbelly-leather trim at placket and elbow patches. Rib-knit hem and cuffs. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.576 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
52
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
60 of 66(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Review 1 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm & Cozy,
16 December 2014
By: DavidMaine
from Maine
"A great addition for a cooler weather sweater. The leather trim is a nice touch."
Review 2 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Handsome sweater,
13 December 2014
By: Bulldog1
from Upstate New York
"This is a light sweater that is meant to be layered. The sweater looks as great in person as it does on the website picture. The leather and snap buttons give this sweater a special and distinctive style similar to the Orvis Malpai shirts. The leather trim is butter soft and I am very happy with my purchase."
Review 3 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very nice,
10 December 2014
By: danielsflygirl10
from Wyoming
"I am giving this pullover to my husband for chirstmas and think he is going to love it! The pullover is high quality and very appealing to the eyes, I love the elbow pads. Think this would be a good investment to make for yourself or a loved one."
Review 4 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Color is not as depicted,
07 December 2014
By: Gnotte
"Color appears olive on line and is actually pea green"
Review 5 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good Purchase,
06 December 2014
By: bri92
from Milwaukee, WI
"Matched the description on the website. Durable and warm. Great for walking to class."
Review 6 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally a gift the husband wants to wear!,
06 December 2014
By: Caitthegreat
from Burlington, VT
"Perfect pullover for the cold New England winters, it's stylish and functional. The XL fits my 6 foot plus wide shouldered husband like it was a custom made sweater. It's his go to for the mornings and finally I pickec a gift he doesn't mind wearing!"
Review 7 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wanted for so long! Finally got it!,
01 December 2014
By: Cheesehead22
from Waukesha, WI
"Although this is intended to be a Men's sweater my mom got this for me as a gift because I've wanted it for a long time. I am a 20 year old, 5'5" female college student with a slim athletic build, and I got a medium. It definitely is baggy for me but the arm length is perfect and it is so warm! It is perfect for anything from sitting in a cold lecture hall to layering under a shell jacket for some early winter backpacking out on the ice age trail. But can also be used to look a little nicer for family dinners or a coffee date.
The extra room in the sweater doesn't bother me because I don't like my sweaters to be tight anyway, it's also nice to layer under on cold mornings.
The boiled wool is of very nice quality and it is felted which gives it a little bit more wind protection. This sweater goes perfect with leggings and boots or jeans. I cannot say enough good things about this sweater! The price is worth the quality you get with this sweater.
I would say that a small size should be available for both men and woman of smaller stature.
"
Review 8 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic Pullover,
01 December 2014
By: GARDEN14U
from Gloucester. U.K
"I was reluctant to purchase this pullover as it is an expensive item and would it offer value for money. I liked the look of it in all the pictures and descriptions I saw so eventually took the plunge and bought one. I totally love it and feel great wearing it as it is very smart, rugged, warm and not to thick or heavy therefore it can be worn as an outer layer or as a secondary layer. In short it is the best pullover I have ever purchased and I am now 65yrs. Many thanks for a fantastic pullover."
Review 9 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Signature Orvis,
27 November 2014
By: alabamadmd
from Birmingham, AL
"If you've never bought anything from Orvis and are considering it, I would start with this piece. Classic Orvis with the leather trim and elbow pads. It's also very soft and comfy unlike a lot of wool fabrics. Not quite as comfy as the Ultra-Ragg sweatshirt, but surprisingly close."
Review 10 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A wonderful sweater,
26 November 2014
By: HenLine
from Camp Hill, PA
"A well-made, perfectly fitting sweater that ought to wear very well. A touch of class in the styling that'll make it tougher to "see yourself" at social events. I don't think the dense wool will pill easily."
Review 11 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprised,
19 November 2014
By: 4tlix
from Durham,NC
"My local store didn't have this so they ordered it and it shipped to my home. I wanted to see it first and was concerned ordering it as 1 review of the item expressed concern regarding durability. This is an outstanding garment. It is warm, cut for movement, and both times I've worn it someone has complimented me. It's a great layer because it's not bulky. I wish it was offered in more than 2 colors as I would buy another."
Review 12 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
19 November 2014
By: brooksypuppy
"warm and comfortable also very good looking!! Love it"
Review 13 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior product,
18 November 2014
By: KeweenawRocks
from UP, Michigan
"During cool weather, I wear one of these sweaters nearly every day. I walk 3 miles each way to work and they are perfect. I still haven't had them dry cleaned yet and they don't hold an odor after a significant amount of time. The leather trim and elbow patches add a touch of class. I have both colors."
Review 14 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SNAP-FRONT PULLOVER,
18 November 2014
By: JFSC
"i KNOW THIS A MEN'S SWEATER, BUT i REALLY LIKE THE CUT OF IT, SO I PURCHASED IT FOR MYSELF. lOVE IT!"
Review 15 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and cozy,
14 November 2014
By: Goduke
"Medium fits as a snuggly boyfriend sweater for a girl as well! Great purchase."
Review 16 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch,
06 November 2014
By: Kehoeforshore
from Chester, VA
"I know this is a man's pullover but my teenage daughter fell in love with the look. Then Men's Medium is a perfect oversized look on her with leggings."
Review 17 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There's Nothing Like Boiled Wool,
05 November 2014
By: PeterPennsylvania
from Pittsburgh
"You can say that I am an "Orvis Man" because I am sadly in the thrall of Orvis. No, they don't pay me. They simply make all the stuff that I like. Wouldst that I were richer, I would own even more Orvis stuff. I became familiar with boiled wool because of another outstanding product - the Steinbock walking jacket that I bought 2 years ago. Nothing like it. This pull-over has the same feel of softness + lightness + wind-stopping density - almost seems like something Elves might make :)."
Review 18 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchase,
03 November 2014
By: ChrisJsr
"This sweater is perfect for the colder weather, it keeps you warm, with out breaking into a sweat."
Review 19 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
30 October 2014
By: gandydancer
from Newark, Delaware
"The "Boiled -Wool Sweater" is just what I was looking for to go with the "Boiled-Wool Vest". Both in navy blue, makes for a nice combination. The vest was offered a couple of years ago.
Ordered the medium, instead of a large, based on reviews and a Orvis rep. Fit is great, material first rate and the price on the mark.
"
Review 20 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Going orvis,
28 October 2014
By: Gussie123
from Lakeville ma
"I received this on time for the first
Cold snap.Because I had it I did not
Have to pull out an anorak-if I had what would I have worn later?
Those who knew my father and saw me in it said that it reminded them of him; leather patches and all-a very stylish man from Newfoundland.
"