Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover

Layer up for warmth. This substantial boiled-wool pullover sweater is capable of pulling double duty, serving as a toasty midlayer, or as a light outer layer on cool days when an insulated jacket is too much. Solid-brass snaps. Soft cowbelly-leather trim at placket and elbow patches. Rib-knit hem and cuffs. In moss. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
24
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0
29 of 33(88%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Review 1 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very good,
03 January 2014
By: KeithD
from Auchterarder, Scotland, UK
"Very nice looking. Sweater, well made and looks to be be very durable. As usual, it is what I have come to expect from all of Orvis products. Only one down side. Medium sizes tend to be bigger than what one would normally expect in the UK. Apart from that, excellent products."
Review 2 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Purchase,
21 November 2013
By: sidebyside
from Alexandria, LA
"This sweater kept me as snug as a bug in a rug on my recent pheasant hunt in Kansas. It is well made and holds it shape well even when damp."
Review 3 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
08 November 2013
By: NapolisWaterboy
from Annapolis MD
"I really like the quality and fit of this fine boiled-wool pullover. And the leather trim accents are very handsome."
Review 4 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pullover,
02 November 2013
By: KBUCK
from Townsend, MA
"Looks Good, Feels Good, Expensive, but worth the price. Many compliments on the pullover.."
Review 5 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Promises kept,
31 October 2013
By: BobcatGuy
from South Dakota
"In the catalog it looked good. In person it is even better. Fit is true, and the Orvis quality shines through. This one is a keeper!"
Review 6 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweater Review,
28 October 2013
By: menoah
"I like your clothes for the most part. Think about coming up with clothing that is fitted for thinner people."
Review 7 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
23 October 2013
By: MJK123456
from Boston, Ma.
"It's not easy shopping from a catalog and being unable to sample your purchase. But seeing that it was Orvis this was an easy purchase. This pullover is high quality and easy on the neck as well. Definitely recommend this!!"
Review 8 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All Round Sweater,
13 October 2013
By: sidebyside
from Alexandria, LA
"This sweater was a terrific purchase. It appears to be well made and it fits great. I bought it in charcoal grey and the sweater will compliment hunting or casual clothes nicely. I will be giving it a "functional" testing soon on a upcoming pheasant hunt. I think it will wear well with a Barbour on top and should keep me nice and warm in the field."
Review 9 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
zNot So Sure,
02 October 2013
By: drb4
from Missoula
"Sweater looks good and feels great but after only 3-4 uses wool is balling up on sleeves"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Softer than expected,
21 September 2013
By: jjbrown
from Montana
"Great product. I was a little skeptical at first because of the cost, but the quality of the product makes it worth it. I was expecting a scratchy wool, but this was very soft. The medium was roomy but that is what I was looking for. Overall, will be great come winter,"
Review 11 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Classic,
19 September 2013
By: Ltizz
"Great quality and feel but shoulders and waist too broad for a woman :("
Review 12 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
A quality product,
11 September 2013
By: Townhall
from Sheffield Yorkshire England.
"I like the pullovers because they are different, a refreshing change from the usual offering in our city stores.
Orvis provide a welcome choice of quality clothing in a higher price range."
Review 13 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sizing,
01 February 2013
By: ChefM
from Delaware
"Description said sweater was generously sized to fit over layers, so I ordered a large even though I typically order an XL. Had to return it for an extra large because the large was too tight over a thin short sleeved t-shirt and long sleeved flannel shirt. The extra large was just right."
Review 14 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best gift for my husband this year,
21 January 2013
By: Artis
"He is thrilled with this pullover - warm, stylish, wearable to the office. There are some inconsistencies in sizing but he loved the second one so much he waited for the replacement."
Review 15 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worth the money,
15 January 2013
By: teams
"Bit higher than I wanted to spend, but worth the money. Warm, comfortable fit, quality leather accents with sturdy snaps that acts as a built in scarf - has become my husband's go to favorite - glad to see him out of a sweatshirt. My brother liked it so much, he asked me to get him one for his present - in a different color (ok he split the cost since it was more than I wanted to spend). Nice to see him out of a hoodie too."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
31 December 2012
By: JBWingshooter
from Ohio
"This pullover is great for layering and serves as an outer layer for mild weather. The boiled wool is wind proof and repels water. This is one of those items that you might wear every day of the week. It's that good!"
Review 17 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cold-weather comfort in a great sweater,
31 December 2012
By: wodmitch
from Beautiful Northern California
"This sweater is a great addition to your active cold-weather lifestyle. The boiled wool body is tightly knitted, providing some wind resistance. The leather accents are functional and attractive, making this a unique fashion statement. The fit (size Large) is close to the body on my 6 foot, 190 pound frame, making it ideal for layering under a soft-shell outer layer for active winter sports."
Review 18 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fantastic wool sweater,
29 December 2012
By: dcpokey
"Purchased this for my fiance as a Christmas present - he has yet to take it off. The wool is soft, not scratchy, and has a tight wind resistant weave. Fit is true to size, and the length is proportionate. Great sweater for weekends and to wear to work. He loves it and I love how he looks in it."
Review 19 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really nice,
29 December 2012
By: PHX100
"Well-made, warm, nice leather accents, fits great!"
Review 20 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
He Loved It!,
28 December 2012
By: clownfish
from Birmingham, Al
"Purchased this for my husband, he loved it! A truly sharp looking sweater that will keep this man warm."