Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover

Layer up for warmth. This substantial boiled-wool pullover sweater is capable of pulling double duty, serving as a toasty midlayer, or as a light outer layer on cool days when an insulated jacket is too much. Solid-brass snaps. Soft cowbelly-leather trim at placket and elbow patches. Rib-knit hem and cuffs. In moss. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.455 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (44 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
39 of 44(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Review 1 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not what I expected,
14 October 2014
By: pinotnoear
from sonoma co., calif.
"I sent it back to Orvis. Looked great in the catalog but close up, the material looked like fleece and the color was a yellowish green. Not what I was looking for. Problem was appearance, the quality seemed fine."
Review 2 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best yet!,
09 October 2014
By: Bronco1701
from Loveland, Co
"Great quality as usual. Makes me look forward to cooler weather, even though I love summer and fall!"
Review 3 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thin material and fits like a garbage bag,
08 October 2014
By: Kshellie
from Idaho
"I bought this for my son to use as a middle layer when he is hunting, and couldn't be more disappointed. The material is very thin, and the sweater fits VERY baggy. The length was fine, but unless you have lots of 'love' on you or have very broad shoulders (and don't plan on relying on this for serious use) avoid this product.
And, be advised, the leather trim is fairly thin and delicate feeling, I don't think I would stand up to very much.
"
Review 4 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome product,
29 September 2014
By: Highlanderpiper
"Purchased one in green last year. I liked it so much and got so many compliments that I got one in blue this year."
Review 5 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toughest, softest, best looking sweater,
29 September 2014
By: chenkins
from Arizona/Alaska
"Excellent sweater, soft next to skin not itchy. Keeps you warm in all temps, if you have to leave the house with only one outer layer to keep you comfortable in all weather, this is it."
Review 6 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes me look more sophisticated than I really am!,
17 September 2014
By: CaptSpaulding
"Quintessential Orvis. Leather trim and elbow pads make this a standout. Unique design you won’t find in up-scale stores. Impeccable construction. Excellent fit. Expensive and worth every penny."
Review 7 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice looking sweater,
16 September 2014
By: VinceBigSky
from Montana
"Over the years have collected many wool sweaters. But did not have one that looked like the snap front pull over. Think it will become one of my go to sweaters."
Review 8 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
09 September 2014
By: Terri9999
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I bought this wool snap pullover in size medium for my 5 ft 4 inch tall 19 yo daughter for her birthday. She has wanted it since last Christmas. It is darling on her with leggings and boots ! She texted me a pic of her wearing it with a thumbs up , a huge smile and text that said its "perfect"! The smile alone is worth every penny! its great quality all the way around. She will wear it as an outer jacket in the fall."
Review 9 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy for any kind of situation,
06 September 2014
By: HagMac
from Denver CO
"This sweater is now the best one in the sweater drawer -- hmm, wonder what I am going to do with the rest of them because I know I will be tempted to wear this one any time the air starts to cool. The wool is soft; the sweater hangs just great; and the leather trim looks classy. I am 6'3" and 220 lbs and the XL fits perfectly. I will look for more like this from Orvis."
Review 10 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase,
22 August 2014
By: Pirate5
from South Texas
"Bought for the upcoming cooler months . Quality material . It should perfect for hunting or fishing and skeet."
Review 11 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Very good,
03 January 2014
By: KeithD
from Auchterarder, Scotland, UK
"Very nice looking. Sweater, well made and looks to be be very durable. As usual, it is what I have come to expect from all of Orvis products. Only one down side. Medium sizes tend to be bigger than what one would normally expect in the UK. Apart from that, excellent products."
Review 12 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superb Purchase,
21 November 2013
By: sidebyside
from Alexandria, LA
"This sweater kept me as snug as a bug in a rug on my recent pheasant hunt in Kansas. It is well made and holds it shape well even when damp."
Review 13 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great sweater,
08 November 2013
By: NapolisWaterboy
from Annapolis MD
"I really like the quality and fit of this fine boiled-wool pullover. And the leather trim accents are very handsome."
Review 14 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Pullover,
02 November 2013
By: KBUCK
from Townsend, MA
"Looks Good, Feels Good, Expensive, but worth the price. Many compliments on the pullover.."
Review 15 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Promises kept,
31 October 2013
By: BobcatGuy
from South Dakota
"In the catalog it looked good. In person it is even better. Fit is true, and the Orvis quality shines through. This one is a keeper!"
Review 16 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sweater Review,
28 October 2013
By: menoah
"I like your clothes for the most part. Think about coming up with clothing that is fitted for thinner people."
Review 17 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality,
23 October 2013
By: MJK123456
from Boston, Ma.
"It's not easy shopping from a catalog and being unable to sample your purchase. But seeing that it was Orvis this was an easy purchase. This pullover is high quality and easy on the neck as well. Definitely recommend this!!"
Review 18 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great All Round Sweater,
13 October 2013
By: sidebyside
from Alexandria, LA
"This sweater was a terrific purchase. It appears to be well made and it fits great. I bought it in charcoal grey and the sweater will compliment hunting or casual clothes nicely. I will be giving it a "functional" testing soon on a upcoming pheasant hunt. I think it will wear well with a Barbour on top and should keep me nice and warm in the field."
Review 19 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
zNot So Sure,
02 October 2013
By: drb4
from Missoula
"Sweater looks good and feels great but after only 3-4 uses wool is balling up on sleeves"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Softer than expected,
21 September 2013
By: jjbrown
from Montana
"Great product. I was a little skeptical at first because of the cost, but the quality of the product makes it worth it. I was expecting a scratchy wool, but this was very soft. The medium was roomy but that is what I was looking for. Overall, will be great come winter,"