Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover

Layer up for warmth. This substantial boiled-wool pullover sweater is capable of pulling double duty, serving as a toasty midlayer, or as a light outer layer on cool days when an insulated jacket is too much. Solid-brass snaps. Soft cowbelly-leather trim at placket and elbow patches. Rib-knit hem and cuffs. Pure wool. Dry clean. Imported.Sizes: M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52).
Average Customer Rating:
4.554 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (56 reviews)
5 stars
44
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
1
51 of 56(91%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Review 1 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprised,
19 November 2014
By: 4tlix
from Durham,NC
"My local store didn't have this so they ordered it and it shipped to my home. I wanted to see it first and was concerned ordering it as 1 review of the item expressed concern regarding durability. This is an outstanding garment. It is warm, cut for movement, and both times I've worn it someone has complimented me. It's a great layer because it's not bulky. I wish it was offered in more than 2 colors as I would buy another."
Review 2 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
19 November 2014
By: brooksypuppy
"warm and comfortable also very good looking!! Love it"
Review 3 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Superior product,
18 November 2014
By: KeweenawRocks
from UP, Michigan
"During cool weather, I wear one of these sweaters nearly every day. I walk 3 miles each way to work and they are perfect. I still haven't had them dry cleaned yet and they don't hold an odor after a significant amount of time. The leather trim and elbow patches add a touch of class. I have both colors."
Review 4 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SNAP-FRONT PULLOVER,
18 November 2014
By: JFSC
"i KNOW THIS A MEN'S SWEATER, BUT i REALLY LIKE THE CUT OF IT, SO I PURCHASED IT FOR MYSELF. lOVE IT!"
Review 5 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm and cozy,
14 November 2014
By: Goduke
"Medium fits as a snuggly boyfriend sweater for a girl as well! Great purchase."
Review 6 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top notch,
06 November 2014
By: Kehoeforshore
from Chester, VA
"I know this is a man's pullover but my teenage daughter fell in love with the look. Then Men's Medium is a perfect oversized look on her with leggings."
Review 7 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There's Nothing Like Boiled Wool,
05 November 2014
By: PeterPennsylvania
from Pittsburgh
"You can say that I am an "Orvis Man" because I am sadly in the thrall of Orvis. No, they don't pay me. They simply make all the stuff that I like. Wouldst that I were richer, I would own even more Orvis stuff. I became familiar with boiled wool because of another outstanding product - the Steinbock walking jacket that I bought 2 years ago. Nothing like it. This pull-over has the same feel of softness + lightness + wind-stopping density - almost seems like something Elves might make :)."
Review 8 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
One of the best purchase,
03 November 2014
By: ChrisJsr
"This sweater is perfect for the colder weather, it keeps you warm, with out breaking into a sweat."
Review 9 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
30 October 2014
By: gandydancer
from Newark, Delaware
"The "Boiled -Wool Sweater" is just what I was looking for to go with the "Boiled-Wool Vest". Both in navy blue, makes for a nice combination. The vest was offered a couple of years ago.
Ordered the medium, instead of a large, based on reviews and a Orvis rep. Fit is great, material first rate and the price on the mark.
"
Review 10 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Going orvis,
28 October 2014
By: Gussie123
from Lakeville ma
"I received this on time for the first
Cold snap.Because I had it I did not
Have to pull out an anorak-if I had what would I have worn later?
Those who knew my father and saw me in it said that it reminded them of him; leather patches and all-a very stylish man from Newfoundland.
"
Review 11 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warm, fits well,
23 October 2014
By: JonN345
from Dover, NH
"My first purchase for Orvis and I'm totally impressed. Bought a large and it fits perfectly, I'm 5'9" but have a wide frame from powerlifting so I'm thrilled to have found a sweater that fits me with some room to move.
Color looks exactly as presented on the website. My only issue is the collar could be stiffer, it tends to flop over very easily."
Review 12 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
not what I expected,
14 October 2014
By: pinotnoear
from sonoma co., calif.
"I sent it back to Orvis. Looked great in the catalog but close up, the material looked like fleece and the color was a yellowish green. Not what I was looking for. Problem was appearance, the quality seemed fine."
Review 13 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best yet!,
09 October 2014
By: Bronco1701
from Loveland, Co
"Great quality as usual. Makes me look forward to cooler weather, even though I love summer and fall!"
Review 14 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thin material and fits like a garbage bag,
08 October 2014
By: Kshellie
from Idaho
"I bought this for my son to use as a middle layer when he is hunting, and couldn't be more disappointed. The material is very thin, and the sweater fits VERY baggy. The length was fine, but unless you have lots of 'love' on you or have very broad shoulders (and don't plan on relying on this for serious use) avoid this product.
And, be advised, the leather trim is fairly thin and delicate feeling, I don't think I would stand up to very much.
"
Review 15 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
awesome product,
29 September 2014
By: Highlanderpiper
"Purchased one in green last year. I liked it so much and got so many compliments that I got one in blue this year."
Review 16 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Toughest, softest, best looking sweater,
29 September 2014
By: chenkins
from Arizona/Alaska
"Excellent sweater, soft next to skin not itchy. Keeps you warm in all temps, if you have to leave the house with only one outer layer to keep you comfortable in all weather, this is it."
Review 17 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Makes me look more sophisticated than I really am!,
17 September 2014
By: CaptSpaulding
"Quintessential Orvis. Leather trim and elbow pads make this a standout. Unique design you won’t find in up-scale stores. Impeccable construction. Excellent fit. Expensive and worth every penny."
Review 18 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice looking sweater,
16 September 2014
By: VinceBigSky
from Montana
"Over the years have collected many wool sweaters. But did not have one that looked like the snap front pull over. Think it will become one of my go to sweaters."
Review 19 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect!,
09 September 2014
By: Terri9999
from Colorado Springs, CO
"I bought this wool snap pullover in size medium for my 5 ft 4 inch tall 19 yo daughter for her birthday. She has wanted it since last Christmas. It is darling on her with leggings and boots ! She texted me a pic of her wearing it with a thumbs up , a huge smile and text that said its "perfect"! The smile alone is worth every penny! its great quality all the way around. She will wear it as an outer jacket in the fall."
Review 20 for Boiled-Wool Snap-Front Pullover
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classy for any kind of situation,
06 September 2014
By: HagMac
from Denver CO
"This sweater is now the best one in the sweater drawer -- hmm, wonder what I am going to do with the rest of them because I know I will be tempted to wear this one any time the air starts to cool. The wool is soft; the sweater hangs just great; and the leather trim looks classy. I am 6'3" and 220 lbs and the XL fits perfectly. I will look for more like this from Orvis."