Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Businessman's Backpack

Re-designed for business on the road, our improved backpack now has a larger main compartment with a laptop sleeve, an interior zippered security pocket, and ergonomic shoulder straps for comfortable hands-free carrying. In the office, hide the straps away and carry by the briefcase handle. Zippered front bellows pocket sized for a tablet. Two zippered slash pockets on front; leather-trimmed grab handle; side bellows pocket with brass stud/flap closure. Slip pocket for rolling suitcase attachment. Locking zippers on main compartment, brass hardware. Signature plaid lining. Laptop backpacks in green/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Weight is approximately 5 lbs. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Allow 2 extra days for delivery. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.617 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (94 reviews)
5 stars
73
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
3
89 of 94(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Businessman's Backpack
Review 1 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
11 April 2014
By: 1MMiler
"I travel internationally a lot for business. I'm very picky about my luggage and want something that is easy to handle, durable, versatile and high quality. (I already own two Battenkill duffles.) I needed a very sturdy (but light weight) back pack that will securely contain and segregate a variety of valuables (laptop, camera, passport, cellphone, toiletries). This fit the bill. It's comfortable on my shoulders and easy to carry. Also functions pretty well as a briefcase at my desk.
It's not a problem at airport security, is easy to stow in overhead space and does not seem to be as vulnerable to pickpockets as other, lesser-quality backpacks. Plus, it looks good. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
"
Review 2 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Multi-purpose backpack,
10 April 2014
By: CountryGent
from Chicago
"I purchased this backpack to use for my carry on bag for flights. It works well as the outside pockets are great for magazines, boarding passes, and keys. The side phone holder pocket is nice for phone and cables. I also use it on family outings for hikes and bike rides. Appears of high quality and worth the expensive price tag."
Review 3 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
What a disappointment,
07 April 2014
By: Paul67
"I seldom write with an issue, particularly with Orvis, but this Backpack will be returned in the next several days. I thought you would like an explanation. As background, I have the previous version which has been carried over many years and many miles. It has served me well and I have received many great comments. Last week I called a support person at Orvis to inquire about the current version. The call was somewhat helpful, the representative had limited information and with only two pictures available several questions concerning inside pockets etc could not be answered. So on faith, I ordered the backpack.
What a major disappointment! You have cheapened the product, not in materials but in what it has to offer. How can a business bag not have any pen loops? And that is a start. The front pocket is great for putting an IPad in it, but no organization pockets? It is a large void and cavern. The side zipper pocket is of no use - I have a relatively small hand and it does not fit. The other side pocket without a buckle - did anyone try to latch the strap and close it. The bag, on the opposite side, had a spot for a water bottle, but you eliminated the second pocket. You eliminated the back pocket which was great for magazines. And inside, nice try putting the calling card holder inside - I would need to open the large pocket to get at a business card - dumb. The computer slot only allows a notebook computer to be put on the vertical. I have a 13 inch MAC and it sits four inches above the sleeve. If indeed you are carrying a laptop, where does the charger go - without a buckle on the side, no secure place.
Looking at the backpack, my sense was you did everything to make it simple to manufacture and Cheap. Not at sure at all what your designers were thinking at all!! The reviews on the web are not indicative of the product, they must not have had the earlier version."
Review 4 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lots of space,
31 March 2014
By: Daddin
from Saint Paul, MN
"I recently purchased the backpack after using a messanger style bag for work for years. I love all the seperate compartments and options to keep work materials organized. My 13inch laptop fits perfectly in padded poccket. The materials are high quality, what I have come to expect from Orvis. Looking forward to traveling for the first time with the.new pack in April."
Review 5 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Businessman exact pack,
29 March 2014
By: Redtinibob
from Williamstown NJ
"This exactly what I was looking for and it's has lots of space to work with. I would like to add one idea the back of the pack has the slip to add to the wheeled bag put a zipper on the bottom and this could be used as a extra pocket in daily use."
Review 6 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Top Dog,
25 March 2014
By: Tallpines95
from Southern United States
"Great for traveling, well constructed and definitely would recommend for the traveler who enjoys the outdoors or hunting. Stores very well in overhead bins and underneath the seat in front of you."
Review 7 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Favorite "Man Bag"!,
19 February 2014
By: BTraveler
from Florida
"Yes, that's right...I will call this my "Man Bag". Whether I am going hunting, a road trip, or flying for business, I don't leave home, mostly, without it. My work requires me to travel quite a bit. My company has provided me a few "free" backpacks but this is the one that I use...always. It acts a foot locker under the seat on planes. I have used spray water repellent on it after a few years. Just because I carry my laptop constantly with me of use and cannot allow it to be compromised but it has been very durable and it looks great after a little use. I have owned this back for at least 4 years. The compartments allow me to always know exactly where everything is. The pockets fit everything I need. This backpack with the Battenkill Expandable Rollercase, I can travel for a week or so with ease. I always get compliments on it as well. I will purchase another when this one finally wears out but I still have another couple years until then."
Review 8 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
businessman's book bag,
13 February 2014
By: Pirate81
"exactly what I wanted. much better than pulling a carry on behind you."
Review 9 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent for travel,
03 February 2014
By: petrum
from Maryland
"Very elegant and easy to carry- You can bag a lot of stuff in a very simple way - I have a friend who bought one and he gave me the idea of buying one also for me-"
Review 10 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Smart,
03 February 2014
By: TRHotSprings
from Hot Springs, AR
"I was pleasantly surprise when I got his product. There was great thought put into the design the only problem is the key ring it is too long and would be nice for it to drop in a pocket"
Review 11 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Battenkill-Can't do without,
28 January 2014
By: Rusty67
from Downunder
"Don't be fooled Girls. This pack is fantastic for the ladies too. If your like me and always have some kind of bag with you, this might be the one that's missing from your collection. I've found great versatility with this pack. When a hand bag or shoulder bag are not ideal, I go to the back pack. Gone is my artificial nylon/mesh backpacker's bag of old, in with my new battenkill. It's style plus, it's practical, useful and very roomy. Easy to wear too, even when fully loaded. Water bottle, umbrella, laptop, magazines, phone and a change of clothes, this was my recent use of the pack, on a weekend trip via bus, train and coach, it was just prefect. It's great with the business attire as it soo looks the part, or the relaxed weekend away in jeans. It's your typical Orvis Quality,inside and out. Fully lined with several compartments, This is a great back pack. Lets share boys!"
Review 12 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great purchase!,
24 January 2014
By: RockyTop
"I have been using the backpack for about a month now and really like it. It has enough pockets to handle everything I need to carry around and you can tell when you pick it up that it is durable/sturdy. The padded straps are very comfortable and the carry handle makes it easy to grab and go."
Review 13 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Businessman's Backpack EVER!,
23 January 2014
By: SmithTwins
from San Francisco, CA
"Traveling for work every week, coast-to-coast, this backpack has been a lifesaver! It's rugged and holds so much - 2 laptops, a tablet, file folders, phone and even more. The best aspect is even with all this it still fits under the airplane seat in front of me. The icing on the cake are the compliments I receive on it. Well worth the money spent."
Review 14 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
02 January 2014
By: Chuck7890
from Pulaski, TN
"The back pack is everthing I wanted it to be. Very roomy, versatile and overall good looking. I love it."
Review 15 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Husband loves it!,
01 January 2014
By: jimmy1lisa1
from Columbia, SC
"My husband loves the backpack! It matches the luggage that he uses when travels. The luggage and backpack are very sturdy and durable. Some of his luggage is 20 years old and still going strong! I was happy to find the backpack to add to his collection."
Review 16 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best backpack made,
31 December 2013
By: Landa
from Gonzales, tx
"Excellent construction! Got this for my son that just graduated from college. He wanted a rugged backpack but one that was higher end. This fit the bill. Thanks Orvis."
Review 17 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent gift,
29 December 2013
By: Sbrast
from Houston, tx
"Bought for my husband for Christmas. My dad liked it so much I am going to buy him one for his birthday. Perfect quality!"
Review 18 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A great find,
24 December 2013
By: LWVQS
from Vieques, PR
"I wanted something for a young businessman who is not the briefcase type. This backpack is perfect. Plenty of space for a multitude of needs, well organized, and very well made. Perfect."
Review 19 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gift,
17 December 2013
By: Grandma4022
"Bought as a gift, excellent customer service, anxious to see how he enjoys it (looks great!!)."
Review 20 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happy Hubby,
14 December 2013
By: Kekyra
from Angus , Scotland
"My other half has always said that it he won the lottery he' d buy the contents of the entire Orvis catalogue. I ordered the backpack for him as a surprise before we go on holiday and he loves it. None of the main packing is done but the backpack is already filled and good to go.
Tons of different options in the backpack, its the right size for taking on a plane and its great quality as always.Thanks Orvis !
"