Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Businessman's Backpack

Re-designed for business on the road, our improved backpack now has a larger main compartment with a laptop sleeve, an interior zippered security pocket, and ergonomic shoulder straps for comfortable hands-free carrying. In the office, hide the straps away and carry by the briefcase handle. Zippered front bellows pocket sized for a tablet. Two zippered slash pockets on front; leather-trimmed grab handle; side bellows pocket with brass stud/flap closure. Slip pocket for rolling suitcase attachment. Locking zippers on main compartment, brass hardware. Signature plaid lining. Laptop backpacks in green/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Weight is approximately 5 lbs. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.667 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (141 reviews)
5 stars
115
4 stars
15
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
5
134 of 141(95%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Businessman's Backpack
Review 1 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Color fades badly & looks unprofessional,
25 March 2015
By: Mike8186
from Washington DC
"My wife gave me the green colored Businessman's Backpack for Christmas 2013. I use it to carry stuff to and from work while attired in a business suit. It originally looked great and impressed a co-worker so much, he purchased one himself. I walk about 300 meters to the Metro each way and that is the only sun exposure the pack has received, as I only use it for work. Nevertheless, in 15 months, the green color has faded badly, and now looks worn and is not suitable to carry for work. This is my only complaint, but it is a significant one. Others' reviews are universally positive, but the badly faded backpack has colored my experience negatively."
Review 2 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
travelmate,
09 March 2015
By: kingfisherphil
from Yotkshire, England
"I used this as my hand luggage for a trip to New Zealand and Australia. A great solution that enables you to take all you need for long journeys including a change of clothes. All the side pockets came in very useful, with added bonus of being stylish and well made. This is a smart buy and equally at home in a smart London hotel, thank you Orvis"
Review 3 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rugged but Professional,
04 March 2015
By: Huntr1
from California
"Perfect product for my frequent trips across the country for business that requires both lap top and I-pad. Features padding with numerous pockets for the electronic paraphernalia. The feature I have come to most appreciate is the in-pocket secure swivel hook for car keys. The leather and canvas make it durable but still professional looking for the boardroom."
Review 4 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HS Grad Gift,
20 February 2015
By: Jack4867
from Dalas Texas
"Bought this for a high school student bound for college. Of course, the quality is high and he will get many years use from it. It is super sturdy, attractive and functional. It is all the back pack a student needs! A great gift for man or woman, girl or boy."
Review 5 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love it!,
13 February 2015
By: Ducktillidie
"Good quality, love the style, functionally superior! Exceptionally well thought through!"
Review 6 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST BUSINESS BACKPACK,
09 January 2015
By: Frank957
from Spring Branch, TX
"I TRAVEL ON BUSINESS AND THIS BACKPACK IS GREAT- NICE SIZE FOR LAPTOP AND / OR TABLET, PLENTY OF GEAR POCKETS- AND GREAT LOOKING"
Review 7 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Backpack,
05 January 2015
By: Gdubs
from Suffern, NY
"After carrying a briefcase for thirty + years I thought I would try using a backpack, so I bought the tan version for myself. I was so pleased with it and my son admired it. I bought him the green Businessman's Backpack as a Christmas present. He loves it and thinks it looks more professional than a regular backpack."
Review 8 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Backpack for all ages,
02 January 2015
By: kindle
"This product was purchased for my older grandson when he studied in Europe one spring semester in college. He loved it and has gotten so many compliments on it. I then ordered it for another grandson who is a junior in high school. He was thrilled with the gift as he had always liked his cousins' backpack. It is durable and attractive."
Review 9 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Packing in style,
02 January 2015
By: Bawanna
from New orleans
"Function & style.
Lots of space well padded reinforced
Well made. Perfect for my son's trip to turkey and a spring semester in Italy. Thanks Orvis !!!
"
Review 10 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product; Well Made,
29 December 2014
By: trustofficer
from Wernersville, PA
"This is a classy backpack purchased to travel overseas. Not only does it look good, it is well made with plenty of room and storage pockets."
Review 11 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
not typical Orvis quality,
26 December 2014
By: Landa
from Gonzales, tx
"I have ordered many products from Orvis and have always been very happy except for this backpack. Not only was it not the item pictured in the catalog, it was NOT Orvis quality. I was very disappointed in the quality of this backpack."
Review 12 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Back pack,
19 December 2014
By: jlbrown22
"Great quality! My husband is very excited to use it."
Review 13 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Finally I have only one carry-on!,
17 December 2014
By: MonteL
from Columbia, SC
"I travel overseas a lot and for years have taken a backpack and a laptop case on the airplane. To have these combined into one item I can comfortably carry on my back, hands free, is a great advantage. I just made my first flight with my new Orvis Businessman's Backpack, and for the first time I also had more than ample room for all the things I needed to carry."
Review 14 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Businessman's Backpack,
08 December 2014
By: Drlong337
from Lafayette,La
"Battenkill® Duffle on Wheels was the first piece i bought. Then i bought the Hanging Travel Kit and, then bought the Businessman's Backpack. The quality of the Orvis products are unmatched by anybody on the market. I have used them all trust me. In my line of work i hunt and fish all over the world and, i could not be happier. The Businessman's Backpack is loaded with compartments. the quality is outstanding and, the design with leather and canvas is very masculine. I have converted a few of my fishing buddies to this bag, getting them away from the other substandard bags on the market. Keep up the GREAT work Orvis. I would also like to add , that the service department at Orvis is Outstanding!"
Review 15 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thumbs up to the Businessman's backpack,
07 December 2014
By: Jurong68
from London, UK
"I had one of these backpacks previously for 6 years and I replaced it recently. I use it mainly for work and it looks great, is extremely functional and stands apart from your average backpack. So much so, that I'm always being asked where I got it from! I should also add that Orvis' customer service is second to none too!"
Review 16 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Businessman' Backpack,
05 December 2014
By: Lambeau
"Very nice construction. Plenty of storage and good layout for my needs and use."
Review 17 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wonderful gift,
03 December 2014
By: colobuyer
from colorado
"This backpack was purchased as a "repeat" gift for my brother. He lives in China and finds this a great alternative to a briefcase or "climbing" backpack. He found that certain seams became weak over the course of a year, requiring this "repeat" purchase."
Review 18 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Backpack well organized,
01 December 2014
By: Deac
from Chesterfield, Missouri
"Really like the backpack. There are a lot of compartments to hold many items, and seem to be easy to access. Zippers and canvas are good quality.
Wish it would stand on its own, the only feature to add.
"
Review 19 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wonderful, quality and size,
26 November 2014
By: Ricardoz
from ct
"As usual Orvis has come through with a "travel" product hard to beat."
Review 20 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PERFECT FOR THE JOB,
16 November 2014
By: BOSS74
from NORFOLK
"IT DID WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED FOR AND PROVED VERY FUNCTIONAL ON A RESENT HOLIDAY LEAVING HANDS FREE TO DO OTHER THINS"