Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

The Businessman's Backpack

Re-designed for business on the road, our improved backpack now has a larger main compartment with a laptop sleeve, an interior zippered security pocket, and ergonomic shoulder straps for comfortable hands-free carrying. In the office, hide the straps away and carry by the briefcase handle. Zippered front bellows pocket sized for a tablet. Two zippered slash pockets on front; leather-trimmed grab handle; side bellows pocket with brass stud/flap closure. Slip pocket for rolling suitcase attachment. Locking zippers on main compartment, brass hardware. Signature plaid lining. Laptop backpacks in green/brown. 18"H x 14"W x 7"D; 1,750 cu. in. Weight is approximately 5 lbs. Personalize with embossing on leather or engraving on a brass plate, up to 6 letters. Specify the characters in the order they should appear. Imported.
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (116 reviews)
5 stars
95
4 stars
12
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 star
3
111 of 116(96%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Businessman's Backpack
Review 1 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great pack for traveling,
03 October 2014
By: Charlie9
from Baldwin County, AL
"Great backpack for traveling with laptop/tablet and all other necessary business gear. I purchased before an overseas trip out of frustration with the hassle of my current soft sided briefcase. This was perfect. Everything was in it's place and right where it should be."
Review 2 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fancy backpak,
27 September 2014
By: scientist
from Yokohama, Japan
"I was looking for a backpack in replace of the long used old one for weekly commuting with IPAD and others. This pack has more functionality, durability and many outside pockets including one for an umbrella.
I like its fancy design, too.
"
Review 3 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Student,
26 September 2014
By: TSSCI
from So. California
"After perusing catelogs and websites of numerous brands of backpacks, I opted for Orvis. It was for my grandson's 18th birthday and I wanted a quality product.
I was concerned that he might be put off by an unknown brand name for folks of his age, but he was delighted that it was something different than the everyday backpack that everyone else has.
Quality is impressive and I plan to order one for myself.
Certainly, the durability will be put to the test with grandson's daily activities.
"
Review 4 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great backpack,
15 September 2014
By: Hencor
from greenwich, ct
"great color and l love the outside pockets. Perfect for key and sunglasses."
Review 5 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great tote bag,
10 September 2014
By: DLOB
from Findlay, Ohio
"I was looking for tote bag to carry aboard flights and it does the job as well as for other travel applications.Plus it is nice looking."
Review 6 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SUPERB PIECE OF MERCHANDISE,
04 September 2014
By: SOPHIEINEUROPE
from NORMANDY FRANCE
"I received my bag 1 week after ordering. I am pretty impressed with the quality. I cannot honestly find any fault with this product. I love the look and design of the whole thing. If you have not tried Orvis before, you will not be disappointed."
Review 7 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect quality business backpack,
03 September 2014
By: Yman
from Richmond,VA
"Everything that comes from Orvis is
ideal.I needed this pack to travel with an overnight set of clothes, MacBook, and tolietries. I chose this item for it's style, functionality and durability. One of many things Orvis delivers is a product that actually looks better than the picture in the catalog.
"
Review 8 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT Businessman's Backpack,
28 August 2014
By: chrismbwv
"Absolutely love this backpack. It has ample room for everything that I need to carry to work."
Review 9 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simply Outstanding Item,
08 July 2014
By: JerryUK
from Cambridge, UK
"I am a weekly commuter by train and air as I work three days a week at my office abroad and two days per week at home. Hence I need to pack for either a two or three night hotel stay each working week. Anything, literally anything, that I can do to make the commute (between four and five hours door to door including 90 minutes in the air) more bearable is of huge importance to me.
For the past year or so I'd been struggling along with a wheelie bag, and a struggle it was with stairs and escalators galore on the London underground and DLR, together with ramming the thing (a Tumi - it was not cheap either) into an overhead locker on regional jets and turboprop aircraft. It was getting to be a real pain. Part of the problem of course is the standard issue of having too much space, encouraging too much packing.
A recent visit to the wonderful new Orvis store in London saw Jimmy (a real brand ambassador for Orvis if ever there was one) eulogise for a long time on a quiet Sunday morning about how good the Businessmen's back-pack was. Well Jimmy, you are 100% right. My life is transformed.
For an average three night stay, this gem takes a pair of trousers, three shirts, underwear, socks, an Orvis sweatshirt and some Orvis swim shorts all packed neatly into a packing cube (hint, eagle creek makes a perfect large cube which fits this backpack an absolute treat). The internal pockets takes a tie (never normally needed), hides my passport away safely, and could even take my MacBook if I could be bothered to lug it back and forth. Plenty of space for iphone chargers, alarm clock and wash bag, although to speed up airport security, the liquids go into their plastic bag and into the cavernous front pocket, with my Kindle in the brilliantly positioned padded sleeve behind. Someone has really been thinking here when designing this - it is simply brilliant.
Work note books normally find a home in the main laptop sleeve in the main body of the bag, and could share this space with a laptop as it is huge. the expandable side water pocket even accommodates the irritating 750ml bottle size which seems to be all that is available in European airports. Boarding cards go in the zip pocket on the top flap. A pair of deck shoes can also sit in the main pocket with clothes, but I don't normally bother. I can however squeeze in a blazer rolled up and duty free purchases too. This is a real little tardis, and best of all, fits really comfortably on my back thus revolutionising my commute.
Well done Orvis and Jimmy, brilliant item which I am completely awestruck by. Before others think I'm exagerating, I'm an XXL shirt size too, so even with the extra materiel I'm lugging around this backpack just makes light work of it whilst still sliding into small overhead lockers with ease. Very highly recommended, particularly for regular travellers like me."
Review 10 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Need another Computer Bag,
27 June 2014
By: gunknifefan
from Northeast Florida
"I was looking for a Backpack for my computer and the Orvis Businessman's Backpack was what I needed. Regular computer briefcases get heavy when traveling. I have a laptop that is just over 16" long and it fit on the provided storage slot. There was lots of space for my chargers and other accessories. Another great produce from Orvis."
Review 11 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect as a carry-on,
21 June 2014
By: Barb67
from Clarksburg, Pa
"I bought this for my husband to take on an international flight. It was perfect to fit a change of clothes, electronics, his medicine, toiletries, paperwork, magazines, snacks, etc. Lots of zippered compartments to keep everything organized."
Review 12 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Convenience with Style,
19 June 2014
By: CrackerMan
from Alabama
"My wife and I have a trip planed in the near future. She thought we needed a backpack rather than lugging a briefcase with us. I was skeptical that this backpack would meet our needs. How wrong I was. This backpack has multiple pockets in very strategic locations that can hold far more that would appear at first glance. It is stylish and functional. I will be using it not only for travel but for my business needs for years to come."
Review 13 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Efficient and Durable Back Pack,
19 June 2014
By: Tigerstatic
from SC
"Used it earlier this week on an overnight stay. Satisfied all my needs. Will also use it as s supplemental piece when using a larger matching piece on a longer trip."
Review 14 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly as advertised!,
03 June 2014
By: ScottyB
from Lake Mary, FL
"This pack is exactly what is advertised. Plenty of storage, quality material and stylish. I am writing this this review from the airport and my Orvis pack is riding shotgun with me. I would recommend this product without hesitation!
Scott-Lake Mary, FL"
Review 15 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great pack for almost everything,
02 June 2014
By: MattM03
from Boston, MA
"I've been using this pack for weekend trips,work and grad school for about 8 years now. It goes everywhere with and has been through the ringer, It's extremely durable and hasn't shown much sings of a gaining other than the color fading a bit. After a few years it's developed a nice weathered looked. It fits a surprising amount of things and there is a spot for everything. It's a classic rugged pack that's just at home on Cape Cod as it is in an office. Great product."
Review 16 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent backpack,
02 May 2014
By: Steelheading2
from Michigan
"I do a lot of traveling for work and fishing. The backpack makes carrying computers, cameras, etc., easy and more comfortable when trying to get from one wing of the airport to another."
Review 17 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis back pack,
24 April 2014
By: JackWA
"Nice looking and lots of room. I use it for a briefcase and when I travel there is room for a change of clothes too.
Lots of compliments!
"
Review 18 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The ALL occasion bag!,
23 April 2014
By: Ls321m
from Portland, OR
"This is a great bag for men AND women (ladies it holds everything!) and is true to the item description on the website. I use it for frequent business trips as well as weekend getaways. I also travel with my friends and our horses. Our luggage often gets tossed into the back of a pickup truck so it needs to be rugged. Space is usually limited due to the amount of equipment needed for the horses, so personal items need to be packed carefully and cover a small footprint. This bag does it all and looks good doing it! Oh, and it's great to take to work when you want a change of clothes for after work fun!"
Review 19 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stylish, roomy and practical,
22 April 2014
By: Brownbread
from West Sussex
"A perfect mix: luxurious leather, plush interior, room for iPad, laptop, documents and even my lunch! A big
thumbs up from me!
"
Review 20 for The Businessman's Backpack
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Exactly what I was looking for,
11 April 2014
By: 1MMiler
"I travel internationally a lot for business. I'm very picky about my luggage and want something that is easy to handle, durable, versatile and high quality. (I already own two Battenkill duffles.) I needed a very sturdy (but light weight) back pack that will securely contain and segregate a variety of valuables (laptop, camera, passport, cellphone, toiletries). This fit the bill. It's comfortable on my shoulders and easy to carry. Also functions pretty well as a briefcase at my desk.
It's not a problem at airport security, is easy to stow in overhead space and does not seem to be as vulnerable to pickpockets as other, lesser-quality backpacks. Plus, it looks good. I am very satisfied with my purchase.
"