Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.751 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (213 reviews)
5 stars
168
4 stars
39
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
211 of 213(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good pratice rod which is hard to put down,
19 December 2014
By: alfisher
"Not only fun but allows you to practice single and double hauling indoors."
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
practice rod,
17 December 2014
By: dennisthemenace
from wigan
"A very good rod for learning casting needs to be used outside or in a hall or school hall where it can be used for teaching children and adults to start fly fishing when the weather is bad outside."
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun x 2!!,
10 December 2014
By: jwesmc
"I have looked at this product many times but didn't pull the trigger and purchase. I finally did and could not be happier! Not only is it FUN to "play" with but it really feels like casting a fly rod. Now, I can have fun with my big boy toy and feel like I'm improving my casting. Definitely recommended!"
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MUST HAVE FOR ANY COACH/INSTRUCTOR,
09 December 2014
By: ALASDAIRF
from Scotland
"This has to be a must have bit of kit for any casting instructor/ angling coach. Makes teaching easier, when you are indoors. Ideal for those days when casting with a fly rod is not appropriate due to location, weather, time. This bit of kit can be used anywhere at anytime."
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
08 December 2014
By: Cecil23
"I purchased this for my husband as a birthday gift. He loved it!"
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practise makes perfect.,
05 December 2014
By: Orvisophile
from Boalsburg, PA
"Indeed practise makes perfect, and in the case of this Orvis product perfect has made practise."
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recommend it,
28 November 2014
By: Shap11
"I would recommend this to all my fly fishing friends. Great to keep your casting motion sharp during the cold snowy winter when you can't get out."
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fun way to practice,
18 November 2014
By: jpcromey
from Washington, DC
"Here's a product that can be used to practice casting indoors and during the winter. It works."
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
14 November 2014
By: Maoloop
from Como - Italy
"I am a TLT instructor and I use it when I have to explain the cast phases"
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practicaster,
28 October 2014
By: thstanley50
from Florida panhandle
"The Practicaster is exactly what I was looking for. I can use it indoors or outdoors. It is a great buy for a reasonably good price. I will suggest it to all of my fly fishing friends."
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practicaster,
28 October 2014
By: thstanley50
from Florida panhandle
"The Practicaster is a great value for a small cost. The quality is fantastic for such a good price. I use it indoors without damaging anything. I will recommend this item to all of my fly fishing friends."
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practicaster,
21 October 2014
By: beatingtheman
from LaGrange GA
"Great quality product. Great balance and simulates a full size rod very well. Excellent choice for a novice or veteran fly fisherman."
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great practice when at office,
08 October 2014
By: LAFlyFisher73
from Ruston, LA
"I received my PractiCaster on time and its very handy. Excellent at work with the higher ceilings. I have had physical therapy patients wanting to practice also. Great practicing tool for kids. It also helps them on timing and coordination. Time to go to your Orvis fly fishing school. Thanks Orvis."
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really surprising,
28 September 2014
By: japicka
"I was really surprised at how much it felt like my real rod. First night I had the thing I went out into the back yard and it has so helped me with figuring out longer casts and not messing up the cast. First night I caught our cat, and both our kids with it ;-).
Overall really great for the price. (Especially when I had a $25 off coupon I had just gotten in the mail)"
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great practice tool!,
26 September 2014
By: TimPavuk
from Chicagoland
"I can't always get outside to practice my casting and this fills the void! Great for working on your form. All you need is a little room it a hallway. Orvis make it look like an actual rod wih nice wraps and a cork grip which just adds to quality. Really makes you want to be on the water!!"
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indoor cat-fishing,
24 September 2014
By: Sisumaki
from Ohio
"I very much enjoy using the PractiCaster in the house. I knew when I bought it that the cats would like it too. What I didn't foresee was after they tire out and settle down, the line end must be placed in just the right spot to get them to 'bite' again. Great fun. Should keep my arm limber in the winter months."
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Practice Tool,
16 September 2014
By: SamuelCruz
from Greensboro, NC
"I bought this for my boss as a birthday gift and he absolutely loves it! He is an avid fly fisherman who loves to fish the Holston River in TN. He also has 2 boys, Jake and Ryley, and is using the practicaster to harness their casting skills. It's the best practice tool in his arsenal."
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great practice tool,
08 September 2014
By: SG211
"Great feel and provides the opportunity to get the Muscle memory turned back on after the off season."
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Aid,
05 September 2014
By: wayno221
from Olympia, Washington
"An excellent way to perfect your casting stroke when you can't be on the water."
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for beginners,
03 September 2014
By: Noviceflycaster
from Arkansas
"Great product, just as advertised. Helpful aid for improving loops and timing."