Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.723 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (249 reviews)
5 stars
198
4 stars
40
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
2
243 of 249(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Didn't last a week,
15 July 2015
By: Guilherme
from Sweden
"I received it on Monday and it broke while I was practicing normally. I may have been unlucky and gotten a defective product, but it is disappointing nonetheless. Otherwise, the product works as advertised and it is a great aid for practice indoors. I'm grateful that Orvis' rods are more durable than this, though."
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fun practice,
06 July 2015
By: Peter1910
from Ft Worth TX
"being new to fly fishing, I am enjoying using this for casting practice without braking anything at home"
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis PractiCaster is not just for practicing,
30 June 2015
By: flyfishingfanatic
"I bought the PractiCaster for one thing: to fish with. I have it rigged up with an Orvis Battenkill reel (attached to the rod by clear girls rubber hair bands), and a 1 wght line. What a fun little rod! I have caught a number of brown trout on it, and it's my go to ultra-ultra fly rod in small stream situations here out West!"
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good piece of kit,
14 June 2015
By: 1grocer
from Yorkshire
"It made casting practise easy on my small lawn, coupled with a wrist strap it cured my habit of breaking my wrist on the back cast."
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pretty good,
13 June 2015
By: JAZZAFLY
from Australia
"Love this item, better than getting my whole fly outfit out. The only thing is the rod is not good quality. Would recommend it to anyone that wants to improve on their casting."
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Investment,
10 June 2015
By: TroutTracker
from Virginia
"I guess you could say this was the first Orvis fly rod I had ever purchased. I picked this up in store to try and improve my casting technique and quickly learned to love and value this tool. Even months after purchase I still spend time using it; whenever I get bored I'll just go out to the yard and take a few casts. As a result, I cast tighter loops and have doubled my casting distance. I couldn't be happier with this investment and would even go as far as saying I enjoy casting my Orvis practice caster more than most of my actual not-orvis brand fly rods. Great tool, I highly recommend!"
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good purchase,
10 June 2015
By: vtmountainman
from northwest
"Nice size for indoor use for the days i can't make it out to the lake.like any sport practice makes you more proficient, I will be a better fly fishermen."
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing product,
02 June 2015
By: desertotter
from Arizona
"The PractiCaster is so much fun. Not too big, but not too small. I am able to practice my casts in the living room and the dog and cat go nuts. My fiance calls it "Cat Fishing." My only grip is that it is not real fly fishing line. The line that is supplied with it is almost like a shoestring and it has a heavier type of yarn at the end. After extensive use, the line started to fray and come undone at the joint, not a big deal as you can make your own with a little bit of different sized paracord. I only wish they had actual fly line like one of their competitors but most of us have old fly line hanging around. Overall, I will and have recommended it to all of my fishing friends and would give it 5 stars over and over again."
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for practice, practice, practice..,
27 May 2015
By: Hem74
"This is a great product to practice and teach the fundamentals. This certainly helps particularly in teaching timing, rhythm development, and casting techniques."
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Fun Office Toy,
27 May 2015
By: ColoradoFlyTie
from Keystone, CO
"I just bought one of these because of the long winters here. The practicaster is just okay for practicing accuracy with close targets, but insofar as getting the feel of a real rod and line, and getting the feel of when to make the powerstroke and snap and getting good loops, it has no value. So it's a great office toy."
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Totally Stoked,
27 May 2015
By: Anonymous
"The PractiCaster showed up in a great storage case ready to rock and roll. I tested it out immediately and entertained the heck out of my cats while working my cast."
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy,
08 April 2015
By: reelgator
"I thought this to be a gimmic, boy was I wrong. Easy to practice with and affordable before spending much more just to see if is worth the expense of a quality rod, reel, and all the associated gear."
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very useful,
01 April 2015
By: MTMike
from Bozeman, MT
"The PractiCaster is very good tool. I bought it to teach my 4 yr. old son to cast...I'm proud to say he looks like a Pro and has fun doing it. I too use it and it has helped me tighten my loop by understand the very basics of the cast."
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
31 March 2015
By: 1OldGoat
"Not at all what I expected. 4 foot rod with yarn. Would.be good for kids to learn to cast. Just not what I wanted. Returned and am still waiting for a refund."
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
27 March 2015
By: Mattfromca
from Upland, Ca
"This thing is absolutely awesome! I like that I can cast without having to drive to the park, or the local pond. I Thought I wouldn't use it much..... To my surprise I do.... But the only issue I have is that I can't get it before my dad does."
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast Away!,
23 March 2015
By: RiverNe55
from Inverness, scotland
"Great product and surprisingly well made given the price. Very happy with quality and easy to recommend"
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learning To Fly Fish,
20 March 2015
By: AdoptedColorado
from Florence, CO
"Great tool for a beginner. It made a significant difference in my casting. Now using it to learn how to cast across my body."
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Teaching Tool,
06 March 2015
By: JerryDi
"I bought the Practicaster as a way to introduce my grandson to fly fishing. It is a great tool to teach you kids the mechanics of using a flyrod. The fact that it helps with their gross motor skills is just an added benefit!"
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Practice,
12 February 2015
By: Flyfishrook
from New Jersey
"Purchased the Orvis PractiCaster in advance of buying my first fly rod (just to make sure I could form a loop first) and I could not be happier with the decision. Even for an experienced fly fisherman, the PractiCaster would be great just to refresh the muscle memory of casting. You can feel the rod load just as a regular fly rod would (I think you could actually fish with it). I Would recommend this to anyone from a veteran to a rookie (like me) to practice honing their craft of casting."
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
12 February 2015
By: moosie61
from Australia
"Fantastic product. arrived in excellent order.
Should improve casting
"