Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.776 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (165 reviews)
5 stars
134
4 stars
27
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
163 of 165(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for when you can't use a rod,
14 April 2014
By: upkrugerk
from Negaunee, MI
"If space is a problem for you and you want to practice your casting, this is perfect. Better with high ceilings indoors or if you have a backyard that is too small for a rod and reel. Just fun too. Great for all ages."
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
excellent learning tool,
08 April 2014
By: Gberg123
"I plan on using the PractiCaster for my fly fishing seminars and a new business I am starting on teaching people how to fly fish. I think its the best casting tool out here to demonstrate what a proper cast looks like."
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very helpful,
07 April 2014
By: Joehio
from Ohio
"This PractiCaster has the feel of a full size rod. Good for working on (casting) mustle memory in between times on the water. Fun to use indoors and out. Good purchase."
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PRACTICASTER FOR A NEWBIE,
27 March 2014
By: JPBDVM
from Bloomington, IL
"Bought this for my new "Friend" and her 12 year old son that I am introducing to the "Fly"....
Both are having a ball "fishing" in the snow:)!
"
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very satisfied.,
27 March 2014
By: Bagins
from Monticello, MN
"I am new to fly fishing so I was looking for a way begin learning this winter. The PractiCaster has worked great for me. Most importantly it turned out to be a lot of fun for me and my kids. They are now looking forward to fly fishing. Cant beat that."
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A PractiCaster Great Idea!,
23 March 2014
By: Bobalama
from Little Rock, AR
"Absolutely a great purchase! I actually purchased the PractiCaster in order to teach my grandson how to cast. Silly me - I should have bought two!
Casts easy and it is a great tool to regain timing and "hitting the right mark". Guess I am going to have to break down and purchase another one - for the kid!"
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
#1 Annoying fishing product,
18 March 2014
By: Ymichael699
from San Fernando, CA
"I love this product. My casting is becoming much more accurate. However, my wife and kids do not like this product, especially the back of their necks:)"
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The most practical fly casting training tool,
18 March 2014
By: JTW33
from Nashville, TN
"Overall:
I purchased the PractiCaster to better hone my fly casting skills and to partially feed my fly fishing addiction while indoors. I use the PractiCaster often as it satisfies both of my wants, in addition to being an incredible stress-reliever and mind-clearer after long hours at the office. The whole outfit also folds up easily in it's container tube, making it easy to store and keep on hand.
Use:
Its necessary to note that the indoor use of this product is limited to wide open spaces (there is only one spot in my entire townhouse where I can stand and cast without hitting walls, ceilings, lamps, etc.).
Quality:
The actual rod is as high of quality as you need for a 4' practice rod, and the cork grip is a nice touch vs. a cheaper material alternative. However, the yarn used as the "fly" fell apart within the first week of use. Tying on more yarn is an east fix but I was a little disappointed with having to replace it so soon (plus I had to go out and buy yarn, as it's not something I keep on-hand).
Conclusion:
I'm happy with the purchase and recommend the product for anyone looking to tighten their loops while loosening their stress off the water.
"
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boy Scout Fly Fishing Merit Badge Counselor,
12 March 2014
By: Kenfoxdale
from Long Island New York
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Received my Practicaster rod in mail today. Stopped what I was doing. Carefully open the package and assemble the rod. Went online to the Learning Center as the well written pamphlet suggested. People talk say," when I retire I'm going fishing'. I retired 2009. I boarded my fishing experience by adding fly fishing to the roster. Now, I freshwater and saltwater fly fish along with conventional fresh and saltwater fish. Fly fishing is the best experience. I'm a member of the North Shore Fly Rodders Club, Centerport Long Island New York. My casting has improved tremendously. Lefty Kreh casting technique and this Orvis Practicaster will improve by skill well enough to be a better Boy Scout Fly Fishing Merit Badge Counselor. This Practicaster will be a great tool to teach casting with. Now I need another one."
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good fun,
11 March 2014
By: f123
"Just learning to fly fish and this has helped to get the timing correct where space is an issue to try it with a full size rod"
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great feel,
03 March 2014
By: bluesmoke
"I bought this for my boys who are newbies to fly casting. I have found that I probably enjoy it just as much. It has a remarkable natural feel and can be used anywhere fast and easy. This practice caster is not a cheap rod but one that feels good enough to fish with. Good for novice and those who want to keep the feel of their fly cast between outings."
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Well worth the money,
01 March 2014
By: JP505
from Esopus, NY
"I bought the PractiCaster yesterday and I can already see improvement in my cast. I've even brought it to work today and spent some of my free time perfecting the skill. This is a great product - not only for practice, but also for assuaging the winter blues when the streams are covered in ice and snow."
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent to learn with this rod,
26 February 2014
By: PL67
from Ludlow UK
"Really pleased with this rod and excellent way to learn, with my granddaughter getting hang of it at 8 years of age. I have competition !!!"
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Off season fun,
11 February 2014
By: Riverine
"High quality rod sections. Works great indoors in rooms with higher ceilings--watch the fan. Works well outside in confined space.Has actually helped with my loop."
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Annoying Product,
11 February 2014
By: B51FlyFisher
from NJ
"The practice caster is awesome. I love annoying my wife and two dogs by practicing all over the house and trying to drop the fly right in front of them...Thank you Orvis"
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can't Do Without,
10 February 2014
By: AussieLuke
from Wagga Wagga, Australia
"Wow. This practice kit is awesome. It is so handy as it requires little setup prior to use. As I have a New Zealand trip in early 2015 planned, this rod has enabled me to finetune my limited casting skills so that I should be able to cast accurately to fish. I have been informed that the water is so clear that the trout are extremely wary."
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
New to Fly fishing,
05 February 2014
By: Rubka
from Barrington, RI
"I have been fishing for over 30 years and am now just teaching myself how to fly fish. I purchased the PractiCaster for my son and I to practice together. It is extremely well made and a lot of fun. We have already had hours of quality time together and we haven't even hit the water yet."
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practice Fly Rod,
03 February 2014
By: Phaedon
from San Francisco
"perfect for the office, either just taking a quick break and getting your rhythm back or annoying fellow workers with a tap on the shoulder. Seriously a lot of fun and for the price, one of the best ROI's available."
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wish it had a reel,
01 February 2014
By: FloridaBonefisher
from Florida
"Great fun to play with. It has very good action. The included "line" I'd very easy to see. It really helps you learn to cast a tight loop."
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great buy,
30 January 2014
By: Spencer1
from Milford,CT
"Starting using the practice caster right away love it and would recommend it."