Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.735 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (238 reviews)
5 stars
189
4 stars
40
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
1
234 of 238(98%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy,
08 April 2015
By: reelgator
"I thought this to be a gimmic, boy was I wrong. Easy to practice with and affordable before spending much more just to see if is worth the expense of a quality rod, reel, and all the associated gear."
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
very useful,
01 April 2015
By: MTMike
from Bozeman, MT
"The PractiCaster is very good tool. I bought it to teach my 4 yr. old son to cast...I'm proud to say he looks like a Pro and has fun doing it. I too use it and it has helped me tighten my loop by understand the very basics of the cast."
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointed,
31 March 2015
By: 1OldGoat
"Not at all what I expected. 4 foot rod with yarn. Would.be good for kids to learn to cast. Just not what I wanted. Returned and am still waiting for a refund."
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing,
27 March 2015
By: Mattfromca
from Upland, Ca
"This thing is absolutely awesome! I like that I can cast without having to drive to the park, or the local pond. I Thought I wouldn't use it much..... To my surprise I do.... But the only issue I have is that I can't get it before my dad does."
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cast Away!,
23 March 2015
By: RiverNe55
from Inverness, scotland
"Great product and surprisingly well made given the price. Very happy with quality and easy to recommend"
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Learning To Fly Fish,
20 March 2015
By: AdoptedColorado
from Florence, CO
"Great tool for a beginner. It made a significant difference in my casting. Now using it to learn how to cast across my body."
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Teaching Tool,
06 March 2015
By: JerryDi
"I bought the Practicaster as a way to introduce my grandson to fly fishing. It is a great tool to teach you kids the mechanics of using a flyrod. The fact that it helps with their gross motor skills is just an added benefit!"
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Practice,
12 February 2015
By: Flyfishrook
from New Jersey
"Purchased the Orvis PractiCaster in advance of buying my first fly rod (just to make sure I could form a loop first) and I could not be happier with the decision. Even for an experienced fly fisherman, the PractiCaster would be great just to refresh the muscle memory of casting. You can feel the rod load just as a regular fly rod would (I think you could actually fish with it). I Would recommend this to anyone from a veteran to a rookie (like me) to practice honing their craft of casting."
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great product,
12 February 2015
By: moosie61
from Australia
"Fantastic product. arrived in excellent order.
Should improve casting
"
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
10 February 2015
By: Blob
from Coorado
"Bought this to teach my 4 year old grandson how to cast. We have a blast with it and I use it all the time."
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ideal gift,
05 February 2015
By: Rossmac342
from Glasgow, UK
"I bought this for my father to get him into fly fishing. After a few minutes with this for he was casting really well. We can't go by his house without seeing him in the garden casting away. Absolutely fantastic."
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My son,
27 January 2015
By: Marvin967
from Pepper Pike, Ohio
"I gave my PractiCaster to my son. He is using it to land imaginary flies on top of my grandchildren. He loves it and if he ever lets go of it he will teach his children how to cast."
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improving My Casts by Fishing for Cats,
20 January 2015
By: PastryWizard
"The Practicaster has helped keep my casting sharp during the cold winter months with the added bonus of great entertainment for our cats!"
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Can't hold up to the elements,
13 January 2015
By: RyanFischer
"I was so excited to receive this in the mail and put it to good use. I am not much of fly fisher, so i thought this would really help me practice and become a better fisherman. Unfortunately, it was the opposite. I spent the better half of an hour just trying to tie a fly on to the tip of this gol-darn thing! Then once i got it tied on, the yarn split while i was casting and i lost my fly, so i had to repeat the whole process over again. Finally after several attempts, i got my fly in the water and drifted it like a champ. Hooked in to a trophy 12-13" brown, and then the yarn broke again! I was so frustrated that i packed up and left the river, i will never use that rod again!"
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great to improve your casting.,
12 January 2015
By: Jeffnc59
from Charlotte, N.C.
"Bought the PractiCaster to improve my casting and learn some others. This helped a great deal. You can feel the rod while casting and it helps to get the feel of your rod during various cast. Using the Orvis website, the casting videos will help tremendously. Great product."
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Practicaster,
09 January 2015
By: EdinScotland
from Scotland
"Was a tad sceptical however an American friend told me i wouldn't look back. He was right, it's a very nice tool and really does allow you to perfect your cast, or even better, to video it on your phone and see the problems, i had many!
For the price of a casting lesson, or less even this will allow you to prepare for the season ahead
"
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practice if you want to be perfect,
02 January 2015
By: Nate1969
from Maryland
"I don't have enough time to be on the water. I bought this and find the action really realistic and fun. I recommend you get one to make the best of your time on the water."
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Useful Tool,
02 January 2015
By: OldGuide
from Tillamook, Oregon
"I have purchased this product for my own use and as gifts. It works as described."
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun and Educational Too!,
01 January 2015
By: JoeMemphis
"The Practicaster is the perfect winter gift for any fly fisher. I enjoy using it indoors on a cold rainy day or outdoors in the sun. Great Purchase!"
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good action,
31 December 2014
By: Byers
from Colorado
"casts well
don't forget to turn off the ceiling fan
"