Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.754 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (199 reviews)
5 stars
158
4 stars
35
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
0
197 of 199(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great practice when at office,
08 October 2014
By: LAFlyFisher73
from Ruston, LA
"I received my PractiCaster on time and its very handy. Excellent at work with the higher ceilings. I have had physical therapy patients wanting to practice also. Great practicing tool for kids. It also helps them on timing and coordination. Time to go to your Orvis fly fishing school. Thanks Orvis."
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Really surprising,
28 September 2014
By: japicka
"I was really surprised at how much it felt like my real rod. First night I had the thing I went out into the back yard and it has so helped me with figuring out longer casts and not messing up the cast. First night I caught our cat, and both our kids with it ;-).
Overall really great for the price. (Especially when I had a $25 off coupon I had just gotten in the mail)"
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great practice tool!,
26 September 2014
By: TimPavuk
from Chicagoland
"I can't always get outside to practice my casting and this fills the void! Great for working on your form. All you need is a little room it a hallway. Orvis make it look like an actual rod wih nice wraps and a cork grip which just adds to quality. Really makes you want to be on the water!!"
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Indoor cat-fishing,
24 September 2014
By: Sisumaki
from Ohio
"I very much enjoy using the PractiCaster in the house. I knew when I bought it that the cats would like it too. What I didn't foresee was after they tire out and settle down, the line end must be placed in just the right spot to get them to 'bite' again. Great fun. Should keep my arm limber in the winter months."
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Practice Tool,
16 September 2014
By: SamuelCruz
from Greensboro, NC
"I bought this for my boss as a birthday gift and he absolutely loves it! He is an avid fly fisherman who loves to fish the Holston River in TN. He also has 2 boys, Jake and Ryley, and is using the practicaster to harness their casting skills. It's the best practice tool in his arsenal."
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great practice tool,
08 September 2014
By: SG211
"Great feel and provides the opportunity to get the Muscle memory turned back on after the off season."
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Casting Aid,
05 September 2014
By: wayno221
from Olympia, Washington
"An excellent way to perfect your casting stroke when you can't be on the water."
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great for beginners,
03 September 2014
By: Noviceflycaster
from Arkansas
"Great product, just as advertised. Helpful aid for improving loops and timing."
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!!,
26 August 2014
By: Zanybuzu
from Medfield, MA
"Terrific learning/teaching tool for fly fishing. Provided hours of entertainment for family members as set up game of who could get closest to target. Translated beautifully to actual fly fishing. Thanks Orvis."
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Good,
20 August 2014
By: Tubs112
from SoCal
"It's good but unfortunately on the second day the yellow hi vis indicator came off with normal use. I have high ceilings, it it wasn't hitting anything on the backcast yet it still came undone. Disappointing"
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEST FLY-CASTING TOOL EVER,
30 July 2014
By: Ihuntfish
from San Antonio, TX
"I've tried them all...and the Orvis Practicaster is THE BEST FLY-CASTING TOOL EVER. I buy one for all the Beginner-Intermediate Clients I send on Fly Fishing Trips before they go when I give them a lesson."
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprising Casting Feel,
30 July 2014
By: Lanternshine
"I thought this was going to be just a gimmick but I was pleasantly surprised. It really does feel and cast like the real thing. This is a good item to keep the casting rust away for that upcoming trip to Montana or anywhere."
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It works.,
28 July 2014
By: PriFly
"It works. Our cat loves it which also gives you a chance to practice hooksets."
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good purchase to have to practice with,
16 July 2014
By: Chanlove83
from Westville ,NJ
"Good purchase I'm glad I got it for my husband to practice with couldn't ask for anything better"
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Little Teaching Tool,
09 July 2014
By: HinVA
"Bought this to introduce my grandchildren to fly fishing and it really works great. I think it is a great idea and can be used almost anywhere."
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great fun,
07 July 2014
By: ColonelPutt
from Redditch UK
"This thing is fun, fun, fun, great for casting practice, great for teaching the Grandson how to cast, it’s just fun to play with…"
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great fun learning tool,
05 July 2014
By: Bigcabezon
from Santa Cruz, CA
"This is the second Practicaster I have purchased.The first was for a friend who loved it. This one is for my granddaughter (4 years old) to learn the basics of casting. She was casting a fair line in just one hour. She will be trout fishing with me this summer. Can't wait."
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
19 June 2014
By: Oldpjs
from Massachusetts
"The orvis practicaster is a great toy for working on your casting stroke. Nicely priced, and quick setup make this easy to use anywhere and anytime you feel like throwing some tight loops. Also, great for teaching first time fly casters like my kids."
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Simplest but most useful to learn,
18 June 2014
By: swilcanbridge
from Yokohama, Japan
"This device is simple but most useful for beginners to learn the theory of casting fly rod.
As this doesn't require the large space, You can use it even at your home.
I am happy for what I paid even by importing from U.S.A."
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Drive your cat crazy!,
12 June 2014
By: YukonKid
from Fairbanks, Alaska
"Everything it says it to be! Great rod for practice casting. Only complaint is that there should be a lot more line as this rod shoots line like a dream. I guess that there would need to be some kind of reel if it had more line, Lots of fun!"