Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

PractiCaster

Practice fly casting anywhere including the comfort of your own living room with this practice fly rod. Practicaster perfectly imitates the cast and allows you to develop and improve the exact motion used in a real cast. You can immediately see results and understand the correct motion for perfect timing and loop formation. Two-piece rod in Helios olive with burgundy wraps, cork grip, and green line with orange fly for easy visibility. 47" overall length and comes in its own storage tube. Carry it anywhere, practice anywhere, and see immediate improvement.
Average Customer Rating:
4.731 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (223 reviews)
5 stars
175
4 stars
40
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 star
1
220 of 223(99%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for PractiCaster
Review 1 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Improving My Casts by Fishing for Cats,
20 January 2015
By: PastryWizard
"The Practicaster has helped keep my casting sharp during the cold winter months with the added bonus of great entertainment for our cats!"
Review 2 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Can't hold up to the elements,
13 January 2015
By: RyanFischer
"I was so excited to receive this in the mail and put it to good use. I am not much of fly fisher, so i thought this would really help me practice and become a better fisherman. Unfortunately, it was the opposite. I spent the better half of an hour just trying to tie a fly on to the tip of this gol-darn thing! Then once i got it tied on, the yarn split while i was casting and i lost my fly, so i had to repeat the whole process over again. Finally after several attempts, i got my fly in the water and drifted it like a champ. Hooked in to a trophy 12-13" brown, and then the yarn broke again! I was so frustrated that i packed up and left the river, i will never use that rod again!"
Review 3 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great to improve your casting.,
12 January 2015
By: Jeffnc59
from Charlotte, N.C.
"Bought the PractiCaster to improve my casting and learn some others. This helped a great deal. You can feel the rod while casting and it helps to get the feel of your rod during various cast. Using the Orvis website, the casting videos will help tremendously. Great product."
Review 4 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Orvis Practicaster,
09 January 2015
By: EdinScotland
from Scotland
"Was a tad sceptical however an American friend told me i wouldn't look back. He was right, it's a very nice tool and really does allow you to perfect your cast, or even better, to video it on your phone and see the problems, i had many!
For the price of a casting lesson, or less even this will allow you to prepare for the season ahead
"
Review 5 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practice if you want to be perfect,
02 January 2015
By: Nate1969
from Maryland
"I don't have enough time to be on the water. I bought this and find the action really realistic and fun. I recommend you get one to make the best of your time on the water."
Review 6 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Useful Tool,
02 January 2015
By: OldGuide
from Tillamook, Oregon
"I have purchased this product for my own use and as gifts. It works as described."
Review 7 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun and Educational Too!,
01 January 2015
By: JoeMemphis
"The Practicaster is the perfect winter gift for any fly fisher. I enjoy using it indoors on a cold rainy day or outdoors in the sun. Great Purchase!"
Review 8 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good action,
31 December 2014
By: Byers
from Colorado
"casts well
don't forget to turn off the ceiling fan
"
Review 9 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works as advertised,
25 December 2014
By: TroutCommanderX
from Denver, CO
"This product works as advertised. Would of gave 5 stars but there was a good sized crack in my cork grip. I didn't think it was worth returning/exchanging since it won't be exposed to the normal use and elements a fly rod would see. Great overall product just check your grip before using."
Review 10 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun AND Helpful!,
23 December 2014
By: gofysh
from On the White in Arkansas
"A gift for my husband turned out to be so much fun for of all of us including the cats! Its cold out and we don't want our casting skills to get rusty, so this is just the ticket. Well mad and well balanced."
Review 11 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good pratice rod which is hard to put down,
19 December 2014
By: alfisher
"Not only fun but allows you to practice single and double hauling indoors."
Review 12 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
practice rod,
17 December 2014
By: dennisthemenace
from wigan
"A very good rod for learning casting needs to be used outside or in a hall or school hall where it can be used for teaching children and adults to start fly fishing when the weather is bad outside."
Review 13 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun x 2!!,
10 December 2014
By: jwesmc
"I have looked at this product many times but didn't pull the trigger and purchase. I finally did and could not be happier! Not only is it FUN to "play" with but it really feels like casting a fly rod. Now, I can have fun with my big boy toy and feel like I'm improving my casting. Definitely recommended!"
Review 14 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MUST HAVE FOR ANY COACH/INSTRUCTOR,
09 December 2014
By: ALASDAIRF
from Scotland
"This has to be a must have bit of kit for any casting instructor/ angling coach. Makes teaching easier, when you are indoors. Ideal for those days when casting with a fly rod is not appropriate due to location, weather, time. This bit of kit can be used anywhere at anytime."
Review 15 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great gift!,
08 December 2014
By: Cecil23
"I purchased this for my husband as a birthday gift. He loved it!"
Review 16 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Practise makes perfect.,
05 December 2014
By: Orvisophile
from Boalsburg, PA
"Indeed practise makes perfect, and in the case of this Orvis product perfect has made practise."
Review 17 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I recommend it,
28 November 2014
By: Shap11
"I would recommend this to all my fly fishing friends. Great to keep your casting motion sharp during the cold snowy winter when you can't get out."
Review 18 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
fun way to practice,
18 November 2014
By: jpcromey
from Washington, DC
"Here's a product that can be used to practice casting indoors and during the winter. It works."
Review 19 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect,
14 November 2014
By: Maoloop
from Como - Italy
"I am a TLT instructor and I use it when I have to explain the cast phases"
Review 20 for PractiCaster
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Practicaster,
28 October 2014
By: thstanley50
from Florida panhandle
"The Practicaster is exactly what I was looking for. I can use it indoors or outdoors. It is a great buy for a reasonably good price. I will suggest it to all of my fly fishing friends."