Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Ripcord Wading Staff

Design was adapted from avalanche probe technology. Quick and easy to use, but can easily prevent a wading disaster. Four-section collapsible wading staff assembles in seconds. Built with light and strong 7075 aluminum and kernmantle climbing cord that won't absorb moisture, fray, or stretch. Accessory Kit includes Delrin tip, fly retrieval hook tip, and tip-removal tool. Non-slip EVA grip foam grip. Built-in gear keeper retractor attaches the staff to neoprene sheath that is easily attached to a wader belt. 54"L. Collapsed length 18½". Made in USA.
Average Customer Rating:
4.154 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
7
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
10 of 13(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Ripcord Wading Staff
Review 1 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent product,
16 July 2014
By: roussepa
"Used in river and rocky streams. Light weight but very strong construction to support full weight bearing pressure."
Review 2 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Failure of system to secure staff,
29 May 2014
By: JLHarrison
from Colorado
"The sleeve for the staff has a mesh loop for a wading belt. The mesh loop also has a retractor fastened to it with an O-ring which attaches to the staff. So sleeve is connected to belt, and sleeve is also connected to staff, preventing loss. However, the mesh loop that secures the entire system failed in two days of use. On the first day, I found that the O-ring that attaches the retractor to the mesh loop had almost worn through the loop. (Had I not discovered this, I might have lost the staff.) I moved the O-ring (and retractor) to a different portion of the mesh loop, but that portion also failed within a matter of hours. It appears that the O-ring rubs against the mesh loop and wears through it very quickly. Until this mesh loop is made to withstand the wear from the metal O-ring, I would not purchase this product."
Review 3 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ripcord staff plus/minus,
18 July 2013
By: PaulS37
from North Carolina
"I've been using the Ripcord staff for a number of months now. I originally purchased it for the interchangeable tip that included a hook for retrieving flies from trees, etc. It does a decent job as a wading staff but, it could be better. It uses a stretchable cord that must be pulled to extend a locking ball on the cord to engage a slot in the grip. That stretchable cord is going to be stretched if you're pulling a branch with the staff trying to get your fly out of a tree. That's not so good. A metal cable with a locking mechanism like another company's design would be better.
On my last outing I picked up the staff from the water only to find the aluminum tip GONE. It screws into the staff and has a flat on it to engage a small wrench that comes with the tip kit only, there is no flat or way to grip the staff shaft so you can hold it tight enough to take advantage of the wrench on the tip. The tip doesn't get tightened enough and comes loose and fell off. I guess I could carry a pair of vise grips with me but, they're heavy and would mark or damage the shaft eventually.
Finally the neoprene sheath for carrying the staff is so small in diameter that it's a real chore to get the staff back in it when I'm on the water.
It's the only staff that has the interchangeable tips but, it comes with some drawbacks.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Does the job,
12 July 2013
By: fishybez
from Kenilworth, United Kingdom
"I looked around for a good while before buying this staff, and I finally chose this one because it had a simple design suited to the job it was intended to perform. I particularly liked the non- stretch cord and the foolproof mechanical locking feature. It is a staff that is built to last. I've just returned from a fishing trip in the Alps and found myself wading in a thigh depth very strong flow in a forest with limited access and exit points. I can say from personal experience that this staff got me out of a potentially sticky situation. I recommend it unreservedly."
Review 5 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lost tip,
03 June 2013
By: JackCK
from Atlanta, GA
"Agree with other reviewers concerning the quality and strength.
However, I also had the tip unscrew somewhere while wading. Some kind of star or lock washer would make this perfect.
"
Review 6 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great stabilizing tool on a slippery river bed,
23 May 2013
By: jct133
from Pawlet, VT
"This is a great wading staff. We purchased it as a gift for my grandfather, 82, who's fished many long years. He's enjoyed using the staff since we got it for him for our trip up to the Miramichi. The collapsible design is really great for travel and staying out of the way when you're just trying to fish."
Review 7 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
My staff comforts me,
16 April 2013
By: FlySterling
from Stillwater River, MA
"I really like the staff. It's solid, it collapses small for travel, it has a nice extension for removing a fly from where it's hung up, and gives me peace of mind while I'm wading (important for a 69 year old whose balance isn't what it used to be). My only negative (bringing my eval down to 4 stars) is that the strap/buckle for attaching the staff to your body isn't easy to use, nor is its intended attachment mechanism obvious."
Review 8 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best stick,
29 December 2012
By: Oldman1
"Well made, perfect for the job. Bought a cheaper one and it only lasted on two fishing trips."
Review 9 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Very Stable,
04 October 2012
By: Snagger
"This wading staff is very strong and stable. I am a big guy and it never came apart nor bent like others I have used. When in the holster the handle does ride a bit high kind of jabbing you in the ribs while hiking. Other than that I would highly recomend this staff."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tip came off,
17 September 2012
By: bluegill26
"This wading staff is sturdy. However, on my second outing the tip came off in the water, which I did not realize until I returned to the car. Not sure what happened but I never touched the tip myself. It either came unscrewed or broke under pressure. Now I have to buy the accessory kit. Because of that failure I cannot recommend this staff. Otherwise it seems ok."
Review 11 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compare and you'll buy this one!,
09 June 2012
By: elkmtnsrider
from Western Colorado
"The internal cord locks this wading staff together. This means if you stick it in mud or between a couple of rocks it doesn't come apart, like all the others, when you pull it out for the next placement. Big increase in safety for wading in difficult situations. Usual great Orvis quality."
Review 12 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best staff ever,
05 June 2012
By: Chris195
from Kent, United Kingdom
"don't go fishing without it , this could save your life,"
Review 13 for Ripcord Wading Staff
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
best staff ever,
15 May 2012
By: pbond007
from utah
"This staff is tough. The shaft is heavy duty and built to support the weight of a big man like me.
The rip cord (on the inside of the staff) is tick strong material made to last years.
I am very pleased with this staff and would but again and recommend to a friend.
Can’t go wrong with this high quality product."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.