Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product
This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt

Our extremely popular original Montana Morning® men's sweatshirt is constructed of a hefty jersey-knit 10.5-oz. cotton/polyester-blend fabric, brushed to a soft fleece inside to keep you warm and comfortable outside. Ribbed waist and sleeve cuffs for wind resistance. Handsome Sahara-washed waxed-cotton poplin inside neck. Underarm gussets for freedom of movement. Men's sweatshirts have side-seam pockets. 80% cotton/20% polyester. Washable. Sizes: S(34-36), M(38-40), L(42-44), XL(46-48), XXL(50-52). Tall sizes 1½" longer in sleeve and body.
Average Customer Rating:
4.195 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (292 reviews)
5 stars
162
4 stars
76
3 stars
20
2 stars
17
1 star
17
237 of 292(81%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Review 1 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality Excellent,
20 January 2014
By: Eruz27
from internet
"The quality of the product was excellent while the price was somewhat higher than it's value"
Review 2 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great go to sweatshirt,
16 January 2014
By: Henry8
from Hopewell, NJ
"Glad I was able to purchase the older model with the barely noticeable pockets. Just the perfect sweatshirt. Only disappointment is the newer model has no pockets if I ever need a replacement."
Review 3 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Montana Morning Ziip Sweatshirt,
15 January 2014
By: coconutlady
from Eatonton, GA
"Nicely cut for a large man. Rugged look yet still dressy."
Review 4 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
not quite as expected,
15 January 2014
By: sweaterweather
from Minneapolis, MN
"Sleeves a bit short and when washed, the collar looses its shape. recommend going up a size if you purchase."
Review 5 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Missed your deal by less than24 hours,
25 November 2013
By: WacoustaWoman
"I ordered two of these yesterday and today they're on sale for $30 less. I'm sure they're very nice or I wouldn't have ordered them, but I think you should take $30 off my bill. My order was over $1000, that's pretty good customer loyalty!"
Review 6 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Layer Shirt,
21 November 2013
By: Flattop
from Madison, MS
"This shirt fits a little large so instead of my normal XXL, an XL fits me just fine. It's just the right weight to work as a top shirt in our moderate climate or use as a layer in the dead of winter hunting, in the camp lodge or when we travel north or to the mountains during the Holidays. Great buy."
Review 7 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect all occasion sweatshrt,
20 November 2013
By: BoilerBK
from Carmel IN
"I love the overall look and feel of the Montana Morning Sweatshirt. It is well designed and made with quality fabric and stitching and offers terrific color opions. Perfect for a casual evening out with friends or lounging at home. I wear it all of the time because it is a great combination of easy to wear style and comfort too."
Review 8 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Casual Sweatshirt,
12 November 2013
By: Perrysburger
from Perrysburg, Ohio
"Perfect for lounging around the house doing chores. Casual, not dressy. Just what i wanted."
Review 9 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Shirt,
21 October 2013
By: HunterDW
from Fenton, MI
"This whole series of "Montana Morning" shirts are my favorite for mid-autumn hunting. Excellent product."
Review 10 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Perfect Pullover,
17 October 2013
By: Johnyb123
"Great pullover, not to heavy but light enough to wear in the fall. Very comfortable"
Review 11 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hard to wear these out,
03 October 2013
By: TallToby
from Atlanta,Georgia
"Great sweatshirt ! I have several,and after seven or eight years,they're starting to wear out! Had to order another."
Review 12 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweet Sweatshirt,
05 September 2013
By: Troutman1
from Addison, Vermont
"This is my 3rd one in a couple of years- different colors. Extremely comfortable and wear like iron. Love these for causal wear, around the house or even when layering in cooler weather."
Review 13 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great puchase,
05 September 2013
By: klassygirl
from Wisconsin
"Bought this for my husband and he loves it. Great quality and looks good on him too. I think this will be his new go to sweatshirt:)"
Review 14 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
great buy,
10 June 2013
By: hollander7
from Lubec, Maine, Santa Monica, California
"Love it!! Fits well. Comfortable casual sweat shirt. Own 3. Wear it outside when we have parties. Not too dressy but just enough to to go to restaurant without the need to change."
Review 15 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My best sweatshirt ever,
30 May 2013
By: Woobster
from Oakland ,Maine
"Montana Morning sweatshirt is a well thought out product...right weight,side pockets, and zip neck make for a versatile sweatshirt. My second as I wore out the first.. Highly recommend to any active... Or inactive person.."
Review 16 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
a bit pricey but well worth it!,
29 May 2013
By: indigogarden
"i just purchased two of these to replace an ancient brown one that my husband wore, and wore, and wore. so although i found the price of these to be on the high side for a sweatshirt-type garment, i know it will be money well spent. we do find that we fight a bit with the collar - i think another reviewer noted this problem - but it's certainly not a deal-breaker."
Review 17 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Exasperated,
26 April 2013
By: RickfromBoston
from Boston
"I called before I ordered to get info on real sizing and was assured it was GENEROUSLY SIZED. Suggested I get the large, which I did and am extremely unhappy after trying it on today. Sleeves too short and waist too slim. Not a generous cut at all and not thrilled to pay return postage after original assurance of sizing."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team03 May 2013
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the issue with the sizing of this sweatshirt -offering a full refund or an exchange. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our clothing as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve our fit.

Review 18 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nice product,
19 April 2013
By: Ray605773
from Lincolnshire ,UK
"I was very pleased with my purchase, it fitted perfectly and is very nice to wear. It is soft on the inside and fading to a good look on the outside. I might buy another one :o)"
Review 19 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Color blotches,
28 March 2013
By: BMc5550
from Arlington, VA
"The first time I washed it, blotches of darker color showed up on the front. Same thing happened to last one I purchased. Not happy."
Review 20 for Montana Morning® Zip Sweatshirt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic Sweatshirt,
26 March 2013
By: MountainRiverScout
from Tennessee
"A Classic looking sweatshirt, and looks even better after a few months of wear and washes. This is my go to sweatshirt for early mornings and late evenings. I'm somewhere in between a Medium and a Large and the Medium fits me perfectly"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.