Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Buffalo Nickel Belt

A pair of genuine buffalo nickels distinguishes this handsome brown leather belt. Worn from years of handling, one nickel displays the standing buffalo; the other showcases the Native American silhouette. The buffalo nickel, designed by James Earle Fraser, was introduced in 1913. Fraser used three different Native Americans as models and based the buffalo on Black Diamond, who lived in the New York City Zoo. Braided inlays. Engraved silver buckle. Rawhide stitching. Men's leather belt in brown. 1¼" strap width tapers to 1". ImportedMen's even waist belt sizes: 32-46. Order one size larger than pants size.
Average Customer Rating:
4.371 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (151 reviews)
5 stars
106
4 stars
19
3 stars
8
2 stars
12
1 star
6
129 of 151(85%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Review 1 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite belt,
04 November 2014
By: Canalwalker
from Cape Cod,Ma.
"Love it,love it,love it. Beautiful,and ruggard. You do not want to hide this belt with a shirt,so tuck it and wait for all of the compliments that your going to get. I would buy another for a gift."
Review 2 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
25 October 2014
By: datdat
from Ohio
"Great looking belt wears nice with various slacks."
Review 3 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Poor quality,
13 October 2014
By: Flysl1nger
"Bought this belt awhile ago but cannot wear it any longer. Belt tore apart where the buckle meets the hole."
Review 4 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lousy leather lining,
19 September 2014
By: Tropicbirder
from Boston MA
"Good looking belt but wore about 20 times and the inside leather lining both where the buckle is riveted to the belt and at the hole the belt buckles to totally separated. Only the outer leather layer of the belt now holds it together, requiring a trip to the Orvis store to return it.
Good return policy though."
Review 5 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My favorite belt,
19 September 2014
By: HunterFisher
from Avon, Ct
"As an avid outdoorsman, sportsman and guide, I depend on quality, good looking and functional gear. I wear a lot of clothes from Orvis.
This belt is my second such, having passed one along to a friend. I have other belts from Orvis.
It compliments my look and fits perfectly."
Review 6 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Overpriced,
08 September 2014
By: TDMac
from Texas
"The belt is more limp than I would have figured. There is also no silver tip on the end of the belt.
Nice enough belt, just a little over-priced for the quality.
"
Review 7 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Poorest quality belt,
10 August 2014
By: DonM46
from So California
"I have owned two of this particular belt and have been extremely disappointed with the quality. I wear the same belt no more than 2x a week unless on a trip. Neither of these belts lasted a year. They rip apart at the hole where the buckle goes in, the leather actually just shredding. I have bought other belts (elsewhere) at less than half the cost that just don;t seem to wear out! I have several other Orvis belts and they all seem to be a soft leather that wears too fast."
Review 8 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My new favorite casual belt,
01 August 2014
By: Maximai
from Over the Pond
"If you like the style in the photo, you will love the belt. The feel of the leather is excellent, and it is just a well made belt with some unique style ideas. I love it."
Review 9 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spot on!,
31 July 2014
By: RickSteele943
from San Francisco
"As I've aged the years I spent on a ranch as a boy have returned vividly to me; they were the finest of times. This Buffalo Head Nickel belt hints at its cowboy roots without shouting "Texas!" It takes me back without parody and I wear it proudly."
Review 10 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality item!!!!,
13 July 2014
By: Biffothebear
from Smallfields England
"I have now worn this belt for a while it's very comfortable . Robust and very stylish, a very handsome item which will last a very long time another winner from orvis !!!! You can't beat quality."
Review 11 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Quality,
10 July 2014
By: bcdavis80
from Washington, DC
"I purchased this belt as a gift for my Dad for Father's Day. He loves it! Great quality and it seems like it will hold up for years. He typically wears a size 36 pant so I got him a size 38. However, that was too small so we had to exchange it for the next size up. Other than that, it's a great, quality purchase."
Review 12 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PURCHASE,
03 July 2014
By: POLE
from OHIO
"FIT IS FINE GREAT LOOK AND COMMENTS ARE WHERE DID YOU GET A BELT LIKE THAT. THANKS ORVIS. JIM"
Review 13 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BUFFALO NICKLE BELT,
16 June 2014
By: BRANCH47
from SHELBYVILLE TN.
"I LIKE THE BELT A LOT . WOUD LIKE TO SEE FULL LENGTH PICTURE OF BELTS TO SEE FULL DESIGN. I WAS WONDERING HOW MANY DESIGNS WERE ON THIS BELT TILL IT CAME AND I SAW THERE WERE THREE. FULL LENGHT PICTURE OF BELT WOULD HAVE SOLVED THIS."
Review 14 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pikolino Shoes,
28 May 2014
By: jansherl
from Greenville, S.C.
"My Pikolino walking shoes are great. Good looking and very comfortable, they take the stress out of my usual walks. Looking forward to trying them on longer routes;"
Review 15 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun Belt,
28 May 2014
By: jansherl
from Greenville, S.C.
"This is my second "nickel belt." I like the Western motif. Many of my golfing friends ask where I got the belt and I am only too happy to tell them. Its a hit with e and others.."
Review 16 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
What I wanted,
14 May 2014
By: Katie13
from Big spring, tx.
"It was a gift and just what I wanted. He loved it, it looks nice and quality workmanship."
Review 17 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great belt,
07 May 2014
By: Jeanpierre
from Cape Cod, Ma.
"just got it so can't say anything about how long it will last but a good looking belt"
Review 18 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ELOQUENTLY RUGGED LOOK!!,
07 February 2014
By: OKIE53
from Charlotte, NC
"FANTASTIC LOOK FOR THE MANLY, RUGGED ELOQUENCE IN ACCESSORIES! A GREAT SENSE OF COMBINING OUR NATIVE AMERICAN HERITAGE WITH A SOPHISTICATED ELOQUENCE OF TODAY'S LOOK. YOU'LL ENJOY THE FEEL OF EXCELLENT QUALITY LEATHER AND CRAFTSMANSHIP."
Review 19 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great product,
16 January 2014
By: Zzzed
from Norfolk,Va
"Looks and fits great. Ordering one size up is perfect fit"
Review 20 for Buffalo Nickel Belt
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
16 January 2014
By: jaderose
from new york
"This belt was well received as a gift this season. It showed excellent quality materials and style. It can be worn both casual and dressy."