Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

Shearling Hat

This sheepskin hat features the same shearling used in our World's Finest Shearling Coat, the warmest natural material on earth. A plush, comfortable hat to insulate and keep you warm in the cruelest cold. Constructed in a classic style. Contrast band. Shearling sheepskin hat in brown. Genuine sheepskin leather with shearling lining. Professionally clean. Imported of USA shearling.Sizes: S(6⅞-7), M(7⅛-7¼), L(7¼-7½), XL(7⅜-7¾), XXL(7⅞-8).
Average Customer Rating:
4.259 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (27 reviews)
5 stars
17
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
1
24 of 27(89%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Shearling Hat
Review 1 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent,
17 December 2014
By: ChrisvH
from UK
"Purchased for a mid-winter trip to Eastern Europe. Warm, comfortable and easily packed. An excellent product"
Review 2 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value for money,
22 November 2014
By: Dpug39
from Cprnwall
"The prodiuct lived up to descriptio
As you would expect from Orvis.
Usual excellent service with a first class product."
Review 3 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm, Classic & practical,
01 March 2014
By: SLPP
from New Jersey
"Bought if for my husband and he couldn't be happier with his new hat. It is soft and warm and he loves the classic look. It matches so well with his Orvis sherling coat."
Review 4 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Funny Fit,
03 February 2014
By: shippedoutofluck
from MD
"Loved the hat but returned them both. The XL was too big and the L was too small. Disappointed because I liked the style and got nothing except shipping costs."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
THEY CALL ME UNCLE BUCK!,
17 January 2014
By: sunlight1
from Iowa
"I had a hat like this in my youth that I literally wore out after 23 years. It was bought in Canada at a Sheep Ranch. this hat looks, and feels JUST like that one. Since I have had it, my head has NEVER approached being cold. NO MORE COLD EARS either. Love the Velcro strap instead of buttons or strings. EXCELLENT HAT for people that like the look and the warmth. Friends once again say I look like Uncle Buck."
Review 6 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Warm Hat,
15 January 2014
By: c47pilot
from Seattle, WA
"I have very short hair and as such my head gets cold. The hat is very warm and comfortable to wear. I live in Seattle and it appears to be holding up well even in our rain. I would think it would be even better in areas where it is much colder. I would highly recommend the hat. I have had many friends complement me on its looks."
Review 7 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cozy hat,
14 January 2014
By: 211sycamore
from Boston
"I purchased this hat as a gift. It is a wonderful hat for the worst of New England winter days. The lining flips down over the ears and neck when needed and flips up when weather is milder. This was a good purchase."
Review 8 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best Christmas gift ever,
02 January 2014
By: mgk51
from Newport KY
"My girlfriend gave me this hat for Christmas so I've only had it a week but the temperature has dropped to12 degrees,I wore my hat while shoveling the walk and clearing snow off the jeep. It fit well and kept my head and ears warm and toasty.
I have already recommended it to friends at work.
"
Review 9 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent cold weather hat,
26 December 2013
By: Rifleboy
from California
"The shearling hat is excellent quality. With ear flaps up, the lower part of head and the ears get the breeze and stay cool, but down, everything is toasty. The shearling is very comfortable. At first the hat sits more "on" your head, rather than the head being in the hat, but as the shearling compresses it sits well and is very comfortable. I have not yet used it in real cold, but can't wait. I know my head, ears, upper neck and forehead will be well protected from extreme cold and wind. I'm glad I bought it."
Review 10 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Winter Hat,
26 December 2013
By: Filtersure
"Warm, Stylish, Matches all my winter outerwear. Luv it !!"
Review 11 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Not As Pictured,
12 December 2013
By: Ianfromengland
from Manchester, England
"I was disappointed with this hat and will return it for a refund. The design of the hat is different from the picture shown here, the straps now have a square cut off end instead the illustrated round cut end, also the sheep skin itself is not 'fluffy' or soft.
Overall its a well made item but its simply not the item shown in the photo.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Worthless hat,
08 October 2013
By: SXSMak
from Charlotte, NC
"I bought this hat on a count of its good look from the photo and exagerated quality. This hat can not keep my head warm even in Charlotte nc which does not get all that cold. Not satisfied with it at all. Do not recommend it to ny one and I am ready to return it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shearling Hat,
23 February 2013
By: Chenry
from Sidcup, Kent
"Good quality well made product. A little on the expensive side.
Excellent service by company re delivery from time of ordering.
Orvis are an excellent company to deal with, offering quality goods. Prices reflect the quality"
Review 14 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
disappointing,
15 January 2013
By: coolcm26
"The hat was gorgeous, but did not fit. The XL was way too big. The L-size was way too small. Very frustrating."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not quite as pictured,
15 June 2012
By: Caduceus
from Hampshire, UK
"The picture shows rounded ends to the chin straps. The hat arrived with sharp cornered straps. I had to change the Large size, which was more than 1 inch larger than stated and floated very loosely, for a medium size which is somewhat tight. The front visor is sewn back rather than being snap fastened and so cannot be lowered in adverse weather conditions."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
If you want to get ahead, do not buy a Russian HaO,
21 February 2012
By: Therapod
from Beaconsfield
"I purchased a hat from Gum in Moscow which was very expensive.
When I got it back to UK the quality was very poor. When I saw your advert for a Shearling Hat i bought it and I am delighted.
Keep up the good work."
Review 17 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
A Non-Nerdy Nerd Hat,
10 February 2012
By: Ubaba
from Upstate New York
"I really needed a very warm "flaps down" Nerd Hat for a trip to Germany in February. This hat is designed so cleverly that you always have the "nerd option" at hand, while at other times, the hat looks like a warm, Russian-style fur hat. Very comfortable being a "secret Nerd!""
Review 18 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great Quality Hat,
09 February 2012
By: monty64
from Renfrewshire
"This is a great quality hat, the only problem is...not got one to fit yet....I opted for the small as per online advice, going by my cap size. But because of the sheepskin on the inside, so far the medium has proved too small also, now awaiting large!!"
Review 19 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
A "not quite" hat!,
01 February 2012
By: OldSweat
from Jersey, British Channel Isles
"Once had a genuine Russia Ushanka which I traded for a carton of cigarettes on the Berlin Corridor in the late 70's. Best hat I ever owned - had to wait until the deep mid winter for it to be comfortable to wear. This hat is similar in that quality - it is really warm. Sadly I had to return the original which I ordered Large because that is my size. It must have been measured over the outside of the hat because it perched on the top of my head and could not be squeezed on because of the thickness of the shearling. Sent it back for an Extra Large which fits. The depth of the crown is minimal and could be a bit more generous in depth; that old Ushanka was. I won't be sending it back but it isn't quite perfect. Good quality shearling."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Shearling Hat
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cosy head warmth in winter,
01 February 2012
By: Zhivago
from UK
"I was pleased to find this fine product made from natural materials which has arrived just in time for the late arrival of the English winter."