Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Top Rated Product

CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel

The CFO fly fishing reel has been the choice of technical fly fisherman since 1971. Reengineered to be lighter, smoother, and tougher. Although this fly fishing reel is machined using the most modern of materials and state-of-the-art machining technology, the CFO disc drag fly reel is a reverent nod to fly fishing tradition. The reel's signature look and sound are synonymous for thousands of fly fisherman with great moments on the water. It matches as perfectly in spirit, looks and performance with Orvis Superfine or bamboo fly rods as it does with our high-tech Helios fly rods.
Average Customer Rating:
4.603 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (73 reviews)
5 stars
60
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
5
68 of 73(93%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Review 1 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Perfect match,
14 April 2014
By: MiddleForker
from Bradenton, Fl
"i had a 7 1/2 foot bamboo Battenkill and no reel, until i purchased this reel. it is a perfect match and unlike the original CFO reel that would have been with the reel it has a working disc drag not just a clicker drag. i am very pleased with both performance and appearance."
Review 2 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best small trout reel on the market,
11 April 2014
By: Gnatbagger
from Omaha, NE
"If you enjoy small stream trout fishing, you have to get this reel. I already had one which I purchased along with a Superfine rod last year. The combination makes fishing for small, illusive mountain trout an experience one remembers for a lifetime. The play, the feel, the sound...fly fishing at its most basic best. A 12 inch, one pound brown or cutthroat feel and act like one of the "big boys"! A truly one with nature experience when he grabs your homemade fly and fights to get away. I bought this spare reel when I saw Orvis was discontinuing the CFO for a new style CFO...probably will never need a second reel but just in case! I hope the new style is comparable with the old so more people can enjoy the thrill! Fantastic reel...thanks Orvis!"
Review 3 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Third one's the charm,
07 April 2014
By: hlud6
"I have two other CFO reels. When I heard they were going out of production, I just had to have another. Great al around reel."
Review 4 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The Best,
04 April 2014
By: tomasko123
from Monsey, NY
"i buy, and i am very happy. now i have the best reel. :)"
Review 5 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Timeless Piece,
01 April 2014
By: OTRW
from South Louisiana
"A great piece of engineering that brings one back to a simpler time...I love it...and it works flawlessly, too."
Review 6 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
There's a reason,,
29 March 2014
By: COTroutbum
from Ft. Collins, Colorado
"There's a reason I've bought several CFO reels in the past and this purchase is no different. They work, period. I'll be fishing it today on a Northern Colorado river and expect it to perform just like the others.
Looking forward to purchasing one of the new US made reels soon.
Well done, and thanks.
"
Review 7 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a long awaited purchase,
23 January 2014
By: Chetter
from Phoenix, AZ./
"Perfect balance with my frequent flyer rod, very smooth. Look at for many years at the store and catalogs, one day the wife said, " oh just go buy it". You know how fast I moved. Just received a spare spool for it. Great reel. I want to see and feel the new CFO."
Review 8 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love These Reels,
17 January 2014
By: Bdosser
from Baton Rouge, LA
"I have a CFO I on a 7 1/2 ft 3 wt Superfine Touch that I really love. This one is going on a Super Fine Touch 9 ft 5 wt I'm setting up for my go to dry fly rod. The Bronze Reel really compliments the Super Fine Touch, more than the new CFO or the new Battenkill IMO."
Review 9 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Functional and stylish,
06 January 2014
By: SpanFly
from Mooresville, NC
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I bought this reel in size 1 and was slightly skeptical. Well, I quickly set aside any skepticism once I hooked into some large wild fish and heard that reel scream. It was a beautiful sound. It held up time and again during their screaming runs and it still is running wonderfully in its third season. Thanks Orvis!
P.S. I also bought the 3 for my 4 wt. helios 1 bc I loved it so much. Great pair too."
Review 10 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
24 December 2013
By: Jpdrake
"Very smooth action with a classic design. Awesome pair with my St Croix Avid 3wt"
Review 11 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amazing engineering,
20 December 2013
By: Sands
from Cambridge, UK
"This is a really beautiful little reel. For years I have wanted an Orvis reel and I have not been disappointed by the quality."
Review 12 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic flawless design … less is more!,
06 December 2013
By: Selous
from Sweden
"I used to admire the CFO's in the early seventies however not within my reach due to my financial limitations as an teenager. I had to rely on a Shakespeare look - a -like .. Now , later in life, I've finally treated myself with a Superfine Touch and CFO combo (that weight's less than half the old Shakespeare reel), that will be the spearheads of my fly-fishing armory. Less is more!"
Review 13 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Classic fly reel,
13 November 2013
By: jogger
from Bristol, UK
"I bought the CFO II reel in the Bath store a while ago. It was everything I expected in terms of build quality and function. When I decided to go for a 3 weight rod and line, I needed a spare spool, which I purchased online. This completes my reel requirement for the rivers. Also the spool was made in UK according to the box it came in, may be old stock but I'm happy with that."
Review 14 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The CFO lll reel is elegant,
12 October 2013
By: Robjcm14
from Brentwood Essex
"I've already been using a CFO l reel for some time so choosing this larger capacity model was an easy choice. I think matching the reel, in both size and appearance with the rod, is important; size to maintain a good balance and to keep weight to a minimum, and appearance, well... it's just so nice to have such a beauty of a reel attached to your beloved Orvis rod. The CFO is certainly unlike most reels you see in the catalogue and using one gives you the feeling that you're back in the good old days of a bygone fishing era (you could also buy a new VW Camper to get the same effect, but it will cost you a lot more money) . For me, the CFO lll, which can take 5-7 line with sufficient enough backing (advise you use gel spun Dacron to increase capacity) matches a number of my Orvis rods perfectly and, unlike some of those enormous large arbor reels, in my humble opinion, it looks great. The bronze metallic material withstands scratches and scuffs, the drag works just as you would want it to, so what more to say than the CFO is just a lovely looking, beautifully performing little gem of a reel."
Review 15 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Great spool and frame, poor gearing.,
27 September 2013
By: flyfishinginestonia
"Very disappointed to unbox and load up my new CFO reel, only to find that the pawl mechanism does not align correctly with the cog wheel - resulting in a poor quality feel and uneven grinding as the line is retrieved. The problem seems like a manufacturing issue. A great shame, because the frame and spool are beautifully made, and this should be a simple and perfect reel that lasts forever.
Orvis must improve the quality of the gearing in this reel, then I believe this will be a great product."
Review 16 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Excellent purchase,
02 September 2013
By: brookman
from Texas
"Very happy with the smooth operation of this reel and the light wieght. Evenly balanced and great looking reel."
Review 17 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fine CFO Disc Reel,
24 August 2013
By: FarandFine
from Alexandria, VA
"I purchased a CFO III when Orvis first introduced this version of its namesake traditional fly reel. This reel compliments several other versions of CFO reels that I own and use including the original spruce green disc drag, the bar stock spring-and-pawl and the current limited edition. For the price, this version is a good balance between classic performance, great looks, technical innovation and durability. I have paired this reel with an older Superfine 8-foot, 6-weight rod and a Hydros Superfine WF6F line. This combination has become a favorite when fishing for larger trout on still waters. Although rated for line weights 5-7, I suggest 6-weight lines as a practical upper limit on any CFO III size reel in order to retain a sufficient amount of backing. The current CFO III disc drag carries on the tradition of fine Orvis CFO reels."
Review 18 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
old v. new,
02 April 2013
By: deaddrift
from Bristol,Tenn
"All of the CFO reels I have bought in the passed have never failed me, I dont know what has been change to them. But the proformance of my recent purchase was very poor! I had only taken this reel out once, and had to be returned for repaired twice and the problem still exist. The triditional clicking sound doesnt work and thus the reel feels tight and binding."
Review 19 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Awesome gift,
25 March 2013
By: gato
from Yukon Canada
"I was so happy to receive such a nice gift. Aways wanted to have a nice and solid reel. This one is a combination of beauty, style, and quality. Im loving it."
Review 20 for CFO Disc Drag Fly Fishing Reel
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Love the feel and "that' sound!,
07 February 2013
By: FlybumMedia
from Cleveland, OH
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"When it comes to fly fishing, I can definitely be woo'ed by the nostalgia of the sport. Old reels, the sweet song they sing, the old traditional flies...they draw me. Well for me, the CFO hits that nostalgic spot. I looked at it for many years and finally decided that I needed it. It is just a gorgeous reel that has a beautiful click to it! It is most definitely set apart by it look and sound and as much as that appeals to me, the function has never been lacking! Mine was purchased many years ago and is often paired with what used to be the true "Trout Bum" rod in the superfine series...my 4wt. I also use it on my 2 wt for small trout both at home and abroad. I have had lots of great memories with that CFO singing the praise!"