Orvis Ratings and Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Orvis.

Rooster Squeak Toy

This crazy rooster toy of synthetic materials is a riot of colour, attitude, and sound to keep your dog enthused for hours. Soft, cuddly, and safe with embroidered eyes that stay put and can't be swallowed, this squeak toy is loved by dogs. In fact, one of our associates is embarrassed to admit that his purebred German shorthair prefers the squeaky chicken to the real thing. Reinforced stitching for added longevity. In red. 6"H.
Average Customer Rating:
3.699 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (83 reviews)
5 stars
45
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
17
58 of 83(70%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Rooster Squeak Toy
Review 1 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PLEASE BRING IT BACK,
20 May 2015
By: ksam
"I keep hoping this rooster will be back in stock some day. My Springer Spaniel loved this toy for years - and it has held up wonderfully. We now have a 2 year old labradoodle - he in herited this rooster from our springer and it is his absolute favorite - his best friend! He carries with him everywhere and cries when he has it he is so excited. Would love a back up as this one has been around for years. Still holding up, but not sure it will last forever. Please, please restock it! It is the best toy! 2 dog approval in my house."
Review 2 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fun toy,
02 January 2015
By: rbmand
from Mpls, MN
"This is a repeat purchase because it is one of my Jack Russell's favorites. It's very well made and a good size for her to run around with."
Review 3 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good so far . . .,
29 December 2014
By: msquare
from Aiken, SC
"My dog has a collection of squeak toys, and this chicken has been a favorite since he got it four days ago. I wish the squeaker made a distinctive sound (like a chicken clucking)."
Review 4 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
golden love,
29 December 2014
By: kregan
from denver colorado
"Our 5 year old golden walks around with the rooster in her mouth and lays it down to eat, sleep and go outside...she loves it.."
Review 5 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bella loves her Chicken-buddy!,
27 December 2014
By: GaryMezo
"Great toy! Bella, our cavalier King Charles spaniel loves her chicken-buddy. Uses him as a pillow in her bed....and treats him very gently. Highly recommend this toy....her fav!"
Review 6 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Good buy,
15 December 2014
By: rainydaylady
"My dog loves this toy, but she would love it even more if the squeaker were louder. Still a good buy on sale."
Review 7 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
they ate the chickens,
15 December 2014
By: lablovercc
from corpus christi, Texas
"haven't given this to my two labs yet and am hopeful that when I do then my last chicken will be spared. The "chicken" looks like it may work and be more fun to play with than a real one. The dogs unexplainably took a disliking to three of the real chickens. Stay tuned!"
Review 8 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GREAT PRODUCT,
08 December 2014
By: KHAFRE
from SAN CLEMENTE, CA
"PURCHASED ROOSTER SQUEAK TOY AND AM ENJOYING IT VERY MUCH. LOVE THE SQUEAKER. UNFORTUNATELY, OUR DOG KEEPS TAKING IT AWAY FROM ME."
Review 9 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lab-Collie Loves It,
04 December 2014
By: COBear49
from Boulder, CO
"I bought this for my lab-collie mix. It's a soft and well -made toy. He loves it! Rather than tear it apart, he likes to carry it around and rub his nose on the fluffy tail. He really seems to enjoy the texture of this toy. As noted by others, the squeaker noise is not unpleasant. This was my first Orvis dog toy purchase. I will certainly be shopping here for my canine friends in the future."
Review 10 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Absolutely brilliant toy,
15 November 2014
By: StheC
"All the Orvis dog toys are amazing. They are incredibly well made, they last in spite of being "shaken, bitten, and chewed". They wash well and we have bought most of the toys in the range. The rooster is our golden retrievers most favourite toy! Absolutely recommend."
Review 11 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pet Supplies,
10 November 2014
By: RotMom
from Chicago, IL
"Rooster is a hit, my Rottweiller girl walks around with the Rooster in her mouth as if she was a Retriever. By this point, other similar toys are completely gutted but this one she likes to hold and squeak."
Review 12 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Best toy ever,
03 November 2014
By: Pouncer
from Texas
"My dog Bleu loves this toy. The one she had a a tear that I fixed a few times. I was thrilled to see you have them again and ordered it. She grinned when I gave her the package!
Love it! She carries it everywhere (but not outside no way).
"
Review 13 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mr Rooster,
09 October 2014
By: Navarre
from Wilmslow, Cheshire
"This is one of the best toys purchased for my Miniature Poodle to play with. From day 1 this toy has always been the first one out of the toy box. She has to have this toy around and Mr Rooster is the one she reached for recently after serious surgery. It has had expeditions through rain, mud and a little blood, then lately the washing machine and tumble dryer - and everything still works. Navarre says thanks and can she have a back up just in case this one should disappear - a travesty I would not be able to console her. So am ordering her emergency rations today."
Review 14 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
a favorite toy,
07 October 2014
By: sunset77
from ABQ NM
"We bought this rooster for our son's dog who promptly tore it up. But we also bought one for our daughter's golden retriever who loved one a year. Our daughter mended them so that they would last a year, then the dog got a new one. Always a favorite toy. This year we bought one for the new dog."
Review 15 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as robust as I hoped,
23 January 2013
By: MadMaddie
"My doodle loves this but within a few days it has lost some of its stitching and isn't going to last much longer. Disappointing when it was expensive and the reviews had suggested it might be more robust."
Review 16 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best dog toy ever... probably.,
22 January 2013
By: Deejaybee
from Gtr Manchester
"I have just purchase another two Roosters - my third and fourth purchases.
These are the most played with and robust toys my dogs have amongst quite a collection.
The squeeker lasts and despite a heck of a shaking, they have lasted far better than other toys. So, they are value for money.
He's easy to hold, easy to throw without damaging the house and looks good too.
We have named them Rocky from the film Chicken Run. The 2nd, we called Rocky II - The Squeekquel (sorry!)."
Review 17 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasper loves it,
21 January 2013
By: Flatcoat
from London UK
"This toy is a nice size for a retriever who likes to pick up, carry around and mouth soft toys. It has a squeaker but not a particularly annoying one and my dog uses the toy without squeaking it most of the time. Don't buy this toy if your dog is destructive; it is very well made and robust for a soft toy but when all is said and done, it is a soft toy. My dog loves it!"
Review 18 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
30 April 2010
By: TinaP
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I was disappointed in this toy. It was not strudy. I supervised my dog and only allowed her to play with it 3 times. 3rd time head started coming off. I had to take it away from her. It is now waiting for repairs. Much cheaper toys have lasted longer and I let her play with the cheaper toys unsupervised."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team10 May 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the toy. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 19 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bit disappointing,
13 April 2010
By: TerrierOwner
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This isn't terrier proof (mind you what is?). I bought a small rooster for my West Highland terrier this afternoon and within 10 minutes it only had one wing left. I've just had another look and its tail is looking rather less fluffy than previously, I doubt it will last the day!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team27 April 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the toy. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 20 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
She loves her Chicken !,
10 April 2010
By: myk9sniper
from Corrales, NM
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the 6" chicken for my German Shepherd Dog from a recommendation by a friend. Sniper loves her chicken. We play hide-and-go-seek and sqeek the chicken and she loves hunting for it and then gets to play with her Chicken. Greatest toy and it's durable, even by German Shepherd standards."