Orvis Ratings and Reviews

Rooster Squeak Toy

This crazy rooster toy of synthetic materials is a riot of colour, attitude, and sound to keep your dog enthused for hours. Soft, cuddly, and safe with embroidered eyes that stay put and can't be swallowed, this squeak toy is loved by dogs. In fact, one of our associates is embarrassed to admit that his purebred German shorthair prefers the squeaky chicken to the real thing. Reinforced stitching for added longevity. In red. 6"H.
Average Customer Rating:
3.441 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
32
4 stars
7
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 star
17
43 of 68(63%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Stories:
Customer Reviews for Rooster Squeak Toy
Review 1 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not as robust as I hoped,
23 January 2013
By: MadMaddie
"My doodle loves this but within a few days it has lost some of its stitching and isn't going to last much longer. Disappointing when it was expensive and the reviews had suggested it might be more robust."
Review 2 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The best dog toy ever... probably.,
22 January 2013
By: Deejaybee
from Gtr Manchester
"I have just purchase another two Roosters - my third and fourth purchases.
These are the most played with and robust toys my dogs have amongst quite a collection.
The squeeker lasts and despite a heck of a shaking, they have lasted far better than other toys. So, they are value for money.
He's easy to hold, easy to throw without damaging the house and looks good too.
We have named them Rocky from the film Chicken Run. The 2nd, we called Rocky II - The Squeekquel (sorry!)."
Review 3 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jasper loves it,
21 January 2013
By: Flatcoat
from London UK
"This toy is a nice size for a retriever who likes to pick up, carry around and mouth soft toys. It has a squeaker but not a particularly annoying one and my dog uses the toy without squeaking it most of the time. Don't buy this toy if your dog is destructive; it is very well made and robust for a soft toy but when all is said and done, it is a soft toy. My dog loves it!"
Review 4 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed,
30 April 2010
By: TinaP
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"I was disappointed in this toy. It was not strudy. I supervised my dog and only allowed her to play with it 3 times. 3rd time head started coming off. I had to take it away from her. It is now waiting for repairs. Much cheaper toys have lasted longer and I let her play with the cheaper toys unsupervised."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team10 May 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the toy. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 5 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Bit disappointing,
13 April 2010
By: TerrierOwner
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"This isn't terrier proof (mind you what is?). I bought a small rooster for my West Highland terrier this afternoon and within 10 minutes it only had one wing left. I've just had another look and its tail is looking rather less fluffy than previously, I doubt it will last the day!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team27 April 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the toy. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 6 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
She loves her Chicken !,
10 April 2010
By: myk9sniper
from Corrales, NM
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought the 6" chicken for my German Shepherd Dog from a recommendation by a friend. Sniper loves her chicken. We play hide-and-go-seek and sqeek the chicken and she loves hunting for it and then gets to play with her Chicken. Greatest toy and it's durable, even by German Shepherd standards."
Review 7 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
great dog toy,
05 April 2010
By: supatroopa
from Worcestershire UK
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer Images
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have now had two toy chickens and my tibetan terrier and his friends love them. The are played with most days. The chickens are now gettinga bit beyond thier sell by date, but intend to order more."
Review 8 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thought I'd give it a try...,
15 March 2010
By: TwoPugs
from Wisconsin
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"I thought that Orvis would sell a good quality toy that is consistent with the dog nests that I have been buying for over 10 years. I bought the rooster despite the reviews-- I assumed that most of the Orvis pets are big hunting dogs, as shown in the ads. I have a cute, 20 pound pug dog.
My rooster came in the mail today. 50 minutes after opening the package, the rooster has been ripped apart at the neck seam, with the poly fill fluff coming out. It is back in the package, ready to be mailed back. For the rather steep price of this dog toy, I really assumed the quality would be much better.
"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team30 March 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the toy. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded this feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 9 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rooster,
10 March 2010
By: lucygoosey
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"my dog is a 6lb yorkie.
she ripped the sqeeker out in less than 45 minutes :(
not a good bang for the buck"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team11 March 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the toy. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded the customer's feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 10 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Not what expected.,
14 January 2010
By: Harley08
from Los Angeles, CA
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"After a few days my dog chewed through the seams and all of the cotton contents came out on the floor. This is not the first toy that this has happened to. I was told by a friend that this toy was different. I wish someone could manufacture a dog toy that had seams that could not be chewed through."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team18 January 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy ripped at the seams so easily. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service forwarded the customer's feedback to our product developers for possible future improvements to the item. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 11 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Too hard to squeak,
14 January 2010
By: Kinobay
from Tip of the Mitt (Michigan)
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We gave our three year old Standard Poodle the chicken for Christmas last year and it quickly became his favorite toy. He loves to fetch a toy he can squeak. He never destroys a toy but after so much chasing, squeaking and chewing, the toy was looking dirty and ragged so we ordered a new one for this Christmas. This one looks the same but it is so tightly stuffed that it can hardly squeak and when it does make a sound, it's very weak. We are very disappointed."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team18 January 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and offered an exchange or full credit as the toy does not perform as expected. You can always shop at Orvis with complete confidence. We will cheerfully exchange or refund your purchase at any time, for any reason. Our 100% Satisfaction Guarantee is the strongest in the business.
Review 12 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Squeak!Squeak!Squeak! Etc.,
07 January 2010
By: Pepper
from Upstate NY
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Features: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"I bought this for my son's Frenchie for Christmas and he loves it. The small size was just perfect for him and we now consider the squeak sort of like a Christmas carol... Attractive and durable."
Review 13 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Not too durable,
02 January 2010
By: ToyFixer
from Rochester, NY
Good Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
"We have a lab puppy that "loves" toys.. On vacation this summer we stopped by the Orvis store and bought him a chicken (guess it's really a rooster)... I've repaired it at least 5 times, the seams do not hold, and it stopped squeaking after the first month. He's not picky & still loves it, but we're disappointed and thought we would get better quality by buying from Orvis."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team07 January 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the squeaker in this toy no longer works and has had to be repaired so frequently. Orvis also offered to refund the customer for the purchase of this toy. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded the customer's comments to the buyers of the product so they are aware of this issue.
Review 14 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
2 minute warning,
20 December 2009
By: carabenz
from memphis
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a great looking toy! But it took 2 minutes for our dog to get into it and start pulling the stuffing out."
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Care03 January 2010
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized for the fact that the toy was able to be ripped open so easily. Orvis greatly appreciates your feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded the customer's comments to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.
Review 15 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Better than a drumstick!,
16 December 2009
By: Anonymous
Good Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My husband bought this chicken for our dog 3 years ago. I was a bit mad that he spent $19 on a stuffed animal but, truthfully, now I realize it was a good deal. Our dog carries it everywhere around the house proudly. We tug it and throw it (when we hide it and say "go get your CHICKEN!" she hunts around wildly looking for it. The wing only just came off after 3 years of non stop (and I mean non-stop) use. She will not go to sleep without it. This stuffed animal has brought our dog much happiness - it is a great buy and we just ordered another one for her! Nice quality Orvis - keep up the good work with your product selection and quality."
Review 16 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This Rooster Cannot Be Destroyed!,
11 December 2009
By: laceylacey
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"We had this rooster with us when we picked up our golden when he was 7 weeks old. Now at the age of two and a half he's managed to destroy many of his squeaky toys. I am amazed that this rooster he's had since he was a puppy is still lying around - it's one of his favorites - he chews it all the time and it's literally indestructible. I've gotten two more in the past year - all still in tact."
Review 17 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
My Golden's Love it,
09 December 2009
By: Marker
from Fairfield County CT.
Good Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This is a wonderful product it get a lot of rough play and stands up better than any stuffed animal I've purchased elsewhere. Looks good as new when I through it in the washing machine"
Review 18 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Awesome dog toy, inconsistent quality,
29 November 2009
By: ElizaBelle
from California
Good Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Features: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"My dog loves, loves, loves her chicken. She has had many toys, and they all pale in comparison with the Chicken. She was given one as a gift, and for months she carried it around like the tiny, fluffy, feral little dog she is. It was hands down her favorite toy. Any toy degrades over time, though, so we have needed replacements. The quality of those replacements has been less than consistent. Of the three I ordered last December, the first was shredded within hours. The second chicken lasted until late November (almost a year later) and could keep going, but it looks shabby and is missing a beak. So with much fanfare, we are bringing out the third of our trio of chickens. We'll see how it goes this time. I think this is a great toy, and certainly highly appealing to dogs, and I hope that they continue to be made. But I wonder about quality control. At the time chicken #1 fell apart on us, I thought about contacting the company. Wish I had--it seems like they offer good support."
Review 19 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Millie loves it,
16 November 2009
By: Paulite
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Appearance: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
"This will be the third year in a row that we are purchasing this same toy. Our Whippet loves it. The down side is that she has it opened and sans fillings within a few days. It's probably the squeak that she's after but she still plays with the "skin" the rest of the year."
Review 20 for Rooster Squeak Toy
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Disappointed,
10 November 2009
By: DrKiaih
from Pittsburgh, PA
Good Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Meets Expectations: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Features: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Appearance: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
"The rooster is advertised as being built to last a long time. It took my Golden exactly 3 minutes to have the stiching open and pulling the stuffing out. I know that no toy is indestructable, but lasting for only 3 minutes was disappointing!"
Response from Orvis:By Orvis Customer Service Team23 November 2009
Orvis Customer Service immediately contacted this customer and apologized that the toy was torn open so easily and also offered the customer a full refund for the toy. Orvis greatly appreciates customer feedback about our pet items as we are constantly trying to find ways to improve them. Customer Service also forwarded the customer's feedback to the product developers so they are aware of this issue.